Ottawa, July 18, 2005
2005-049

Archived - Revised Legislative Proposals Released Relating to the Taxation of Non-Resident Trusts and Foreign Investment Entities and Other Technical Amendments to the Income Tax Act

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related documents:


Minister of Finance Ralph Goodale today released revised legislative proposals to amend the Income Tax Act. The legislation relates to the taxation of income of non-resident trusts and foreign investment entities as well as a number of other technical amendments. The legislative proposals, which relate to previously announced measures, are being released today to provide guidance to taxpayers in anticipation of the amendments being tabled in Parliament in the fall.

Non-Resident Trusts and Foreign Investment Entities

Draft legislation to implement changes relating to non-resident trusts and foreign investment entities was released for comment in 2000, 2001 and 2002, followed by the tabling of a detailed Notice of Ways and Means Motion in Parliament in October 2003. The revised legislative proposals released today are based on the Motion tabled in 2003 while reflecting comments received by the Department of Finance since that time. Generally, the proposals would take effect for taxation years that begin after 2002.

Reimbursement of Crown Charges

The proposals released today include amendments to the rules governing Crown charge reimbursements. These amendments, which were previously released for comment on December 21, 2004, have been modified in response to commentary received on the draft.

Technical Amendments

Today's release also includes a number of technical amendments to the Income Tax Act that correct or clarify the application of existing income tax provisions, implement measures that have already been announced or deal with other income tax situations that require a legislative response. These amendments were last released as Part 1 (General Amendments) of a package of legislative proposals released on February 27, 2004. Part 2 of that package, dealing with foreign affiliates, will be included in a separate legislative package to be finalized for tabling at a later date.

Revised explanatory notes are also being released. References to "Announcement Date" in the proposed legislation and explanatory notes should be read as referring to today's date. A backgrounder providing more details on the proposals is attached. Comments on these proposals should be submitted to the Tax Legislation Division of the Department of Finance by September 15, 2005.

The legislative proposals and explanatory notes are available on the Department of Finance website. Printed copies are available for $35 each and may be obtained by calling the Department of Finance Distribution Centre at (613) 995-2855.

___________________________________
For further information, media may contact:

John Embury
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
(613) 996-7861
David Gamble
Public Affairs and Operations Division
(613) 996-8080

If you would like to receive automatic e-mail notification of all news releases, please visit the Department of Finance Canada website at http://www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-eng.asp


Backgrounder 

Non-Resident Trusts and Foreign Investment Entities

The proposed measures dealing with non-resident trusts and foreign investment entities are designed to ensure that Canada taxes income earned by Canadians through foreign intermediaries in the same manner that that income would have been taxed if it had been earned directly. The proposals were first announced in the 1999 budget.

The proposals released today contain revisions made to the October 2003 Notice of Ways and Means Motion. Some of the more significant changes include:

  • Limiting the circumstances in which Part XIII of the Income Tax Act will apply to non-resident beneficiaries of trusts that are deemed resident in Canada.
  • Clarifying the circumstances in which interests in commercial foreign investment trusts, that are exempted from the deemed residency provision of the non-resident trust rules because of the "exempt foreign trust" rule, will generally be subject to the rules for foreign investment entities.
  • Clarifying the rules that provide relief from double taxation in respect of income earned by Canadians through foreign intermediaries such as foreign investment entities.

Reimbursement of Crown Charges

The proposals released today include amendments to the rules governing Crown charge reimbursements. The modifications include a provision permitting a taxpayer to increase certain Crown charge reimbursements made to a partnership before September 17, 2004. In addition, these proposed amendments provide for an addition to the adjusted cost base of a partnership interest in circumstances where a member of a partnership reimburses a Crown charge imposed on the partnership.

Technical Amendments

Today's release includes a number of proposed technical amendments to the Income Tax Act. The majority of these proposed amendments were first released in December 2002, and were reissued with certain additional measures in a package of draft legislative proposals released in February 2004. The technical amendments released today also include:

  • A number of changes to the proposed rules providing for a tax deferral in respect of amounts transferred from a deceased taxpayer's registered retirement savings plan in circumstances where the funds are used to acquire a qualifying life annuity that is payable to a trust, the beneficiary under which is a mentally infirm spouse or common-law partner of the taxpayer or a mentally infirm, financially dependent child or grandchild of the taxpayer.
  • Measures to avoid the triggering of inappropriate and non-economic ("phantom") losses as a result of the technical application of the rules in section 132.2 of the Act to transactions that were not contemplated at the time the rules were drafted.

Ottawa, le 18 juillet 2005
2005-049

Archivé - Publication de propositions législatives révisées concernant l'imposition des fiducies non résidentes et des entités de placement étrangères et d'autres modifications techniques de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes :


Le ministre des Finances, Ralph Goodale, a rendu publiques aujourd'hui des propositions législatives révisées visant à modifier la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu. Les propositions portent sur l'imposition du revenu des fiducies non résidentes et des entités de placement étrangères, ainsi que sur un certain nombre de modifications techniques. Les propositions législatives, qui font suite à des mesures déjà annoncées, sont publiées aujourd'hui afin d'orienter les contribuables en prévision du dépôt des modifications au Parlement à l'automne.

Fiducies non résidentes et entités de placement étrangères

Des avant-projets de loi visant à mettre en oeuvre les modifications touchant les fiducies non résidentes et les entités de placement étrangères ont été rendus publics pour avis en 2000, en 2001 et en 2002. Ils ont été suivis d'un avis de motion de voies et moyens détaillé qui a été déposé au Parlement en octobre 2003. Les propositions législatives révisées rendues publiques aujourd'hui sont fondées sur la motion déposée en 2003, mais tiennent compte des observations transmises au ministère des Finances depuis ce temps. De façon générale, elles s'appliqueraient aux années d'imposition commençant après 2002.

Remboursement de droits à la Couronne

Les propositions rendues publiques aujourd'hui comprennent des modifications touchant les règles relatives aux remboursements de droits à la Couronne. Ces modifications, qui ont été publiées pour avis le 21 décembre 2004, ont été révisées pour tenir compte de préoccupations exprimées pendant la période de consultation.

Modifications techniques

La publication d'aujourd'hui comporte également un certain nombre de modifications techniques de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu qui ont pour objet de corriger les dispositions en vigueur ou d'en préciser l'application, de mettre en oeuvre des mesures qui ont déjà été annoncées ou de traiter de questions fiscales qui exigent une réponse législative. Ces modifications figuraient à la partie 1 (Dispositions générales) des propositions législatives rendues publiques le 27 février 2004. La partie 2 de ces propositions, qui portait sur les sociétés étrangères affiliées, fera l'objet d'un ensemble distinct de mesures législatives qui sera déposé à une date ultérieure.

Des notes explicatives révisées sont également rendues publiques. Il est à noter que la mention de la date de publication dans les propositions législatives et les notes explicatives vaut mention de la date d'aujourd'hui. Un document d'information qui donne plus de détails sur les propositions figure en annexe. Les commentaires au sujet de ces propositions doivent être présentés à la Division de la législation de l'impôt du ministère des Finances d'ici le 15 septembre.

Les propositions législatives et les notes explicatives sont affichées sur le site Web du ministère des Finances. On peut en obtenir des exemplaires imprimés au coût de 35 $ chacun, en s'adressant au Centre de distribution du ministère des Finances au numéro (613) 995-2855.

________________________________________________________
Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

John Embury
Directeur des communications
Bureau du ministre des Finances
(613) 996-7861
David Gamble
Division des affaires publiques et des opérations
(613) 996-8080

Si vous désirez recevoir un courriel vous avisant automatiquement à chaque émission d'un communiqué de presse, veuillez visiter le site Web du ministère des Finances Canada à l'adresse suivante : www.fin.gc.ca/scripts/register-fra.asp


Document d'information 

Fiducies non résidentes et entités de placement étrangères

Les propositions concernant les fiducies non résidentes et les entités de placement étrangères font en sorte que le revenu gagné par des Canadiens par l'intermédiaire d'entités étrangères soit imposé au Canada de la même manière que s'il avait été gagné sans intermédiaire. Ces propositions ont été annoncées initialement dans le budget de 1999.

La publication d'aujourd'hui reprend les dispositions de l'avis de motion de voies et moyens d'octobre 2003 avec révisions. Certaines des révisions les plus importantes ont pour objet :

  • de limiter les circonstances dans lesquelles la partie XIII de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu s'applique aux bénéficiaires non résidents de fiducies qui sont réputées résider au Canada;
  • de préciser les circonstances dans lesquelles les participations dans les fiducies de placement étrangères commerciales - qui sont exclues, par l'effet de la règle sur les « fiducies étrangères exemptes », de la disposition sur la présomption de résidence énoncée dans les règles sur les fiducies non résidentes - seront assujetties, de façon générale, aux règles applicables aux entités de placement étrangères;
  • de préciser l'application des règles qui empêchent la double imposition du revenu que gagnent les Canadiens par l'intermédiaire d'entités étrangères telles les entités de placement étrangères.

Remboursement de droits à la Couronne

Les propositions rendues publiques aujourd'hui comprennent des modifications touchant les règles relatives aux remboursements de droits à la Couronne. Elles comportent une disposition qui permet aux contribuables d'augmenter le montant de certains remboursements de droits à la Couronne effectués à une société de personnes avant le 17 septembre 2004. En outre, elles permettent de majorer le prix de base rajusté d'une participation dans une société de personnes en cas de remboursement par un associé de celle-ci d'un droit à la Couronne imposé à la société de personnes.

Modifications techniques

La publication d'aujourd'hui comprend un certain nombre de modifications techniques proposées à la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu. La majorité de ces modifications proposées ont d'abord été rendues publiques en décembre 2002 et ont été émises à nouveau dans un ensemble d'avant-projets législatifs rendus publics en février 2004. Les modifications techniques rendues publiques comprennent aussi :

  • un certain nombre de changements aux règles proposées permettant un report d'impôt au titre de sommes transférées du régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite d'un contribuable décédé dans le cas où les fonds servent à acquérir une rente viagère admissible qui est payable à une fiducie dont le bénéficiaire est, par rapport au contribuable, son époux ou conjoint de fait ayant une déficience mentale ou son enfant ou petit-enfant à charge ayant une telle déficience;
  • des mesures pour empêcher que l'application technique des règles énoncées à l'article 132.2 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu à des opérations qui n'étaient pas envisagées au moment de la rédaction des règles ne donne lieu à des pertes inappropriées et non économiques (dites « fictives »).