Archived - Fiscal Reference Tables
October 2013

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

- All years -

Excel Version - [1.16 MB]

PDF Version - [887 KB]

To access a Portable Document Format (PDF) file you must have a PDF reader installed. If you do not already have such a reader, there are numerous PDF readers available for free download or for purchase on the Internet.

See also:


Preface

The Fiscal Reference Tables provide annual data on the financial position of the federal, provincial-territorial and local governments. The data are presented on both a Public Accounts basis—corresponding to the accounting conventions used to report financial information to the respective legislatures—as well as on a National Accounts basis—as prepared by Statistics Canada and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.

The Fiscal Reference Tables for the Federal Government—Public Accounts have been revised to reflect the following changes:

  • Historical revisions to the Canadian System of National Accounts released on October 1, 2012 by Statistics Canada.
  • The reclassification of prior years’ results to reflect the Government’s adoption of a new accounting standard of the Public Sector Accounting Board regarding the presentation of certain tax expenditures. The adoption of this standard has resulted in the reclassification of certain refundable tax credits previously netted against tax revenues to transfer payments, with no overall impact on the budgetary balance.
  • A restatement of the 2011-12 opening balances of other liabilities, net debt and the accumulated deficit to reflect the Government’s recording, for the first time, of an obligation for accumulated sick leave entitlements. This accounting change has also resulted in a restatement of the 2011-12 budgetary deficit.
  • The reclassification of certain figures to conform to the current year’s presentation.

The Fiscal Reference Tables— National Economic Accounts have been revised to reflect the following changes:

  • The adoption of the Government Finance Statistics (GFS) accounting framework, developed by the International Monetary Fund (IMF)—an internationally accepted accrual accounting framework, fully integrated with the United Nation’s System of National Accounts. Note that public finance data back to 1981 on a Canadian System of National Accounts (CSNA) basis are also available from Statistics Canada’s CANSIM Table 380-0080.
  • National Balance Sheet Accounts tables have been reclassified, with a greater focus on presenting assets and liabilities by type. Further disaggregation is available from Statistics Canada’s CANSIM Table 378-0121.

For information or clarification, please contact Nicholas Leswick at 613-995-6391, Fiscal Policy Division, Department of Finance, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0G5.


Table of Contents

Federal Government—Public Accounts

Provincial and Territorial Governments—Public Accounts

National Economic Accounts

International Fiscal Comparisons

Archivé - Tableaux de référence financiers
octobre 2013

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

- Toutes les années -

Version Excel - [1.76 Mo]

Version PDF - [878 Ko]

Pour consulter un fichier PDF (format de document portable), votre ordinateur doit avoir un lecteur PDF. Si vous n’en avez pas déjà un, il existe de nombreux lecteurs PDF que vous pouvez télécharger gratuitement ou acheter dans Internet.

Voir aussi :


Préface

Les Tableaux de référence financiers fournissent des données annuelles concernant la situation financière du gouvernement fédéral et des administrations provinciales ou territoriales et locales. Les données sont présentées selon les Comptes publics, suivant les conventions comptables utilisées dans la présentation de renseignements financiers aux différentes assemblées législatives; elles sont également présentées selon les comptes nationaux, telles que colligées par Statistique Canada et l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques.

On notera que des révisions ont été apportées à la section « Comptes publics – Gouvernement fédéral » afin de tenir compte des éléments suivants :

  • La révision historique du Système de comptabilité nationale du Canada publiée par Statistique Canada le 1er octobre 2012.
  • Le reclassement des résultats des années antérieures afin de tenir compte de l'adoption, par le gouvernement, d'une nouvelle norme comptable du Conseil sur la comptabilité dans le secteur public portant sur la présentation de certaines dépenses fiscales. Par suite de l'adoption de cette norme, certains crédits d'impôt remboursables qui étaient auparavant déduits des revenus fiscaux ont été reclassés comme paiements de transfert. Cette modification n'a eu aucune incidence globale sur le solde budgétaire.
  • Les soldes d'ouverture des autres passifs, de la dette nette et du déficit accumulé de 2011-2012 ont été redressés par suite de la comptabilisation, pour la première fois, d'une obligation au titre des congés de maladie acquis et non utilisés. Cette modification comptable a aussi résulté en un redressement du déficit budgétaire de 2011-2012.
  • Certaines données ont été redressées en fonction des conventions de l'exercice en cours.

Les Tableaux de référence financiers – Comptes économiques nationaux ont été révisés afin de tenir compte des changements suivants :

  • L'adoption du cadre comptable des Statistiques de finances publiques (SFP), élaboré par le Fonds monétaire international; il s'agit d'un cadre de comptabilité d'exercice reconnu à l'échelle internationale, entièrement intégré au système de comptabilité nationale des Nations Unies. Il est possible de consulter les données antérieures des finances publiques jusqu'à l'année 1981, présentées selon le Système de comptabilité nationale du Canada, dans le tableau 380-0080 du Système d'information socio-économique (CANSIM) publié par Statistique Canada.
  • Les tableaux tirés des Comptes du bilan national ont fait l'objet d'un reclassement, en portant une attention particulière à la présentation de l'actif et du passif par catégorie. Les données sont disponibles à un plus grand niveau de détail dans le tableau 378-0121 du CANSIM, publié par Statistique Canada.

Pour obtenir des détails à ce sujet, prière de communiquer avec Nicholas Leswick, Division de la politique budgétaire, ministère des Finances, Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0G5, au 613-995-6391.


Table des matières

Comptes publics — Gouvernement fédéral

Comptes publics — Provinces et territoires

Comptes économiques nationaux

Comparaisons financières internationales