Finance Canada
Reforming Canada's Financial Services Sector -- A Framework for the Future: 1
Français | Table of Contents | Next.


1   Introduction and Overview

Task Force on the Future of the Canadian Financial Services Sector

The legislation governing Canada's federally regulated financial institutions is subject to review every five years. At the time of the last review in 1996, Canada's financial services sector was undergoing rapid change. In recognition of this, the government announced that the Task Force on the Future of the Canadian Financial Services Sector would be established to provide advice on the future of the sector.

The Task Force's report was intended to serve as the basis for the next round of revisions to the legislation regulating the sector, scheduled for no later than 2002. Its mandate was to assess and evaluate public policies affecting the financial services sector and to make recommendations to enhance:

  • the sector's contribution to job creation, economic growth and the new economy;
  • competition, efficiency and innovation;
  • the international competitiveness of the sector in light of the globalization of financial services, while at the same time maintaining strong, vibrant domestic financial institutions;
  • the ability of the sector to take full advantage of technological advances as they occur and to meet the competitive challenges resulting from the introduction of new technologies; and
  • the contribution of the sector to the best interests of Canadian consumers.

In September 1998, after nearly two years of study and consultation, the Task Force concluded that Canada is, for the most part, well positioned to meet and benefit from the changes occurring in the sector. Still, it identified a number of measures that could be implemented to help Canadians and their financial institutions better meet the challenges wrought by change. To that end, the Task Force offered 124 recommendations for enhancing competition and competitiveness, improving the regulatory framework, meeting Canadians' expectations and empowering consumers.

The Task Force's Findings

"Canada is, on balance, well positioned to benefit from a healthy, dynamic, innovative and competitive financial services sector into the next millennium. For a small country in population terms, Canada has many relatively large and successful financial institutions. We believe that they, along with new entrepreneurs in the financial services sector, are capable of positioning themselves so that they will be positive forces in the Canadian economy in the years ahead." 1

The Task Force, however, recommended that:

  • Enhancing competition would make the sector more vibrant and dynamic.
  • Empowered consumers would provide an important discipline to competition and make the sector more responsive to their needs.
  • Strengthening the relationship between financial institutions and the communities they serve would make the sector healthier.
  • Making the regulatory framework more flexible and forward-looking would more effectively balance the need for continued safety and soundness with the need to facilitate competition and innovation.

1   Task Force on the Future of the Canadian Financial Services Sector, Change, Challenge, Opportunity: Report of the Task Force, September 1998, p.3.

The Task Force's report was the subject of intensive public consultations. Two parliamentary committees â the House of Commons Standing Committee on Finance and the Senate Standing Committee on Banking, Trade and Commerce â conducted nationwide public hearings on the Task Force's report.

Between the two committees, close to 200 individuals, firms, associations and consumer groups were consulted. Both committees tabled their reports in December 1998, and both were generally supportive of the majority of the Task Force's recommendations.

Payments System Review

In June 1996, the government also initiated a review of the payments system. The Payments System Advisory Committee was to conduct its review in parallel with the work of the Task Force. The payments system was examined separately because of its highly technical nature.

The purpose of the payments system review was to determine whether access to the system should be broadened, and whether modifications to its governance framework were needed to ensure that it would continue to develop in the public interest. The review identified three public policy objectives for the system: efficiency, safety and the consideration of consumer interests. Balancing these objectives is key to ensuring that the Canadian payments system remains an efficient component of the financial sector.

The government is grateful to the members of the Task Force, the Payments System Advisory Committee and the legislators for the time and study they devoted to the important public policy questions surrounding the Canadian financial services sector.

In the months since the tabling of their reports, the Department of Finance has met with many of the individuals and groups who participated in the Task Force and parliamentary consultations.

The Evolution of the Financial Services Sector

New information technology, globalization and demographic change are driving innovation and giving rise every day to new opportunities and demands in the Canadian financial services sector. The impacts of these changes on consumers, businesses and governments will continue to drive the evolution of the sector in the future.

Technological advances have revolutionized the financial services sector

A significant catalyst of change in financial services has been the development of new technologies, particularly new information technologies. Financial services are information-intensive businesses. Advances in computing and telecommunications continue to improve the speed, security, volume and quality of financial information processing, and to greatly lower the cost of transactions. These technological developments make possible new financial products and services, from telephone and Internet banking to index-linked guaranteed investment certificates (GICs).

Canadians are among the fastest adopters of new information technologies

At the same time, the convergence of communications and computing technologies leads consumers to expect real-time access to financial services anywhere, at any time. And Canadians have shown themselves to be among the fastest adopters of such new technologies â 57 per cent of Canadian shoppers indicate that they prefer to use debit or credit cards rather than cash in making purchases.

The new information technologies have also accelerated the trend toward freer trade around the world, leading to a truly global market for capital and financial services. As a result, firms now have access to more consumers who, in turn, enjoy greater choice of products and services from enhanced competition.

The trend toward freer global trade has presented tremendous growth opportunities for innovative, competitive firms, and allowed the Canadian financial services sector to make a greater contribution to Canada's export performance. It has also meant that foreign providers of financial services can make greater inroads into the Canadian market.

At the same time, demographic trends in Canada and throughout North America have been further shaping the financial services market, just as they have other markets. In particular, the aging of the "baby boomer" population is having a visible impact on the evolution of the financial services marketplace. Financial institutions are placing increasing emphasis on wealth management services as this generation shifts from its borrowing to its saving years.

The growing ranks of small-business owners and the self-employed also create new markets for financial services since these individuals tend not to be covered by group pension and insurance benefit plans.

A particular challenge for Canada is the shrinking population in small communities. This has implications for how financial institutions maintain national pricing policies while ensuring adequate access to financial services in smaller remote and rural communities.

The sector's responses to these forces are having an impact on consumers, competitors and regulators, simultaneously reinforcing and accelerating change.

Today, financial institutions use sophisticated information technologies to understand their customers, sell their products and, sometimes, sell the products of other firms. While financial institutions prize "brand loyalty" in their customers, many commonly used services, such as deposit accounts, mortgages and GICs, are becoming interchangeable commodities.

As economic borders fall between countries and business lines overlap, firms seek out more strategic alliances to remain competitive. As well, in the drive to achieve scale economies and reduce costs, businesses seek out opportunities for mergers and acquisitions.

These forces will not diminish. The rate of change will not slow. Indeed, it could accelerate. Therefore, it is incumbent upon the government to provide a policy framework that allows this evolution to proceed to the benefit of all Canadians, while preserving the health and strength of the sector.

An overview of the current structure of the financial services sector is provided in Annex B.

Shaping the Financial Services Sector â Guiding Principles

Strong, efficient and profitable financial institutions are vital to Canada's economic success. Over and above their important direct contribution to economic activity, financial institutions are in some way involved in virtually every transaction in the economy: processing payments, pooling savings, financing investment or managing risk.

The men and women who work in Canada's financial institutions are the people Canadians turn to for financial services and advice, and the success of each institution depends on them. As such, they have much to be proud of, for they have ensured that these institutions remain among the most innovative and dynamic companies anywhere in the world. This has occurred in the face of a rapidly changing global environment.

Canada is also widely acknowledged for having one of the safest and soundest financial sectors in the world. This is a valuable asset in a rapidly changing global economy. Although it is not the responsibility of government to effect change within the sector, it is incumbent upon government to put into place a policy framework that allows the sector to evolve, while preserving its soundness and ensuring that its evolution benefits consumers.

Canada is widely acknowledged for having one of the safest and soundest financial sectors in the world

In shaping financial services sector policy, the government has been guided by four fundamental principles. They are that:

  • financial institutions must have the flexibility to adapt to the changing marketplace and to compete and thrive, both at home and abroad, in order to retain their role as critical sources of economic activity and job creation;
  • vibrant competition is necessary to ensure a dynamic and innovative sector and that individual and business consumers have a range of choice at the best possible price;
  • consumers, regardless of their income or whether they live in an urban or rural area, and individual businesses, whether they be large or small, should receive the highest possible standard of quality and service; and
  • the regulatory burden should be lightened wherever possible, consistent with prudential and public interest objectives.

Reforming the Financial Services Sector â A Framework for the Future

This paper sets out a comprehensive, balanced package of four interrelated components. They are:

Promoting efficiency and growth with:

  • A new definition of widely held ownership that allows strategic alliances and joint ventures with significant share exchanges.
  • A new holding company regime to provide greater structural flexibility.
  • A transparent bank merger review process with a formal mechanism for public input.
  • An examination of capital taxation policy with the provinces.

Fostering domestic competition by:

  • Encouraging new entrants with liberalized ownership rules and lower minimum capital requirements.
  • Facilitating the ability of the credit unions to compete by allowing a restructuring of their system.
  • Expanding access to the payments system to provide additional competition in deposit-like services.
  • Allowing foreign banks to offer services to businesses and individual consumers via branches, in addition to subsidiaries.

Empowering and protecting consumers of financial services with:

  • Measures to improve access to financial services regardless of income or place of residence, including a standard low-cost account and a process to govern branch closures.
  • A Financial Consumer Agency to strengthen oversight of consumer protection measures and expand consumer education activities.
  • An independent Canadian Financial Services Ombudsman.
  • Measures to prevent coercive tied selling and improve the information consumers receive when purchasing services or making investments.
  • Public Accountability Statements for financial institutions to report on their contributions to the Canadian economy and society.
  • More and better statistics on and analysis of small and medium-sized business financing to provide a better understanding of their needs.

Improving the regulatory environment by:

  • Improving the governance of the payments system.
  • Reducing the reporting burden relating to Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation standards.
  • Providing the Superintendent of Financial Institutions with new powers to deal with the potential risks arising from increased competition.
  • Streamlining the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions' regulatory approvals process.
  • For clarity of exposition, throughout this document the legislative proposals which the government will be bringing forward for the consideration of Parliament are or may be described as if they were already adopted or in force. These are, of course, simply proposals and will have no force or effect unless and until they are passed by both Houses of Parliament and receive Royal Assent.

 

Français | Table of Contents | Next.

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web Canada.ca!
Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Finances Canada
La réforme du secteur des services financiers canadien -- Un cadre pour l'avenir : 1
English | Table des matières | Prochain.


1 Introduction et aperçu

Groupe de travail sur l'avenir du secteur des services financiers canadien

La législation régissant les institutions financières sous réglementation fédérale est revue tous les cinq ans. Lors du plus récent examen, en 1996, le secteur des services financiers canadien traversait une période de changement rapide. C'est pourquoi le gouvernement avait annoncé la mise sur pied du Groupe de travail sur l'avenir du secteur des services financiers canadien, chargé de fournir des conseils concernant l'avenir du secteur.

Le rapport du Groupe de travail devait servir de point de départ pour la prochaine ronde de modifications de la législation régissant les institutions financières, prévue pour 2002 au plus tard. Le Groupe de travail avait pour mandat d'examiner les politiques publiques s'appliquant au secteur des services financiers et de faire des recommandations pour renforcer :

  • la contribution du secteur à la création d'emplois, à la croissance économique et à la nouvelle économie;
  • la concurrence, l'efficience et l'innovation dans ce secteur;
  • la compétitivité internationale du secteur, compte tenu de la mondialisation des services financiers, tout en maintenant des institutions financières canadiennes solides et dynamiques;
  • la capacité du secteur de tirer pleinement profit des progrès technologiques et de relever les défis qu'entraîne, sur le plan de la concurrence, l'instauration de nouvelles technologies;
  • la contribution du secteur au mieux-être des consommateurs canadiens.

En septembre 1998, après avoir mené des études et des consultations pendant près de deux ans, le Groupe de travail a conclu que, pour l'essentiel, le Canada est bien placé pour tirer profit des changements que connaît le secteur. Néanmoins, il a déterminé un certain nombre de mesures qui permettraient d'aider les Canadiens et les Canadiennes ainsi que leurs institutions financières à mieux relever les défis qu'entraîne le changement. C'est pourquoi le Groupe de travail a formulé 124 recommandations visant à renforcer la concurrence et la compétitivité, à améliorer le cadre de réglementation, à répondre aux attentes des Canadiens et à accroître le pouvoir des consommateurs.

Conclusions du Groupe du travail

« Le Canada est, dans l'ensemble, en bonne posture pour bénéficier d'un secteur des services financiers solide, dynamique, novateur et compétitif jusqu'au prochain millénaire. Pour un petit pays sur le plan démographique, le Canada possède plusieurs institutions financières relativement importantes et performantes. Nous estimons que ces institutions, de même que les nouveaux participants au secteur des services financiers, sont en mesure de jouer un rôle positif dans l'économie canadienne au cours des années à venir1. »

Le Groupe de travail a néanmoins fait les recommandations suivantes :

  • Le renforcement de la concurrence rendrait le secteur plus vigoureux et dynamique.
  • L'accroissement du pouvoir des consommateurs exercerait un important effet de discipline sur la concurrence et rendrait le secteur plus attentif à leurs besoins.
  • Le renforcement des relations entre les institutions financières et les collectivités qu'elles desservent contribuerait à l'assainissement du secteur.
  • Le fait de rendre le cadre réglementaire plus souple et mieux adapté aux réalités futures permettrait de concilier plus efficacement la nécessité d'assurer la solidité et la stabilité du système financier et le besoin de faciliter la concurrence et l'innovation.

1 Groupe de travail sur l'avenir du secteur des services financiers canadien, Changement, défis et possibilités : Rapport du Groupe de travail, septembre 1998, p.3.

Le rapport du Groupe de travail a fait l'objet de consultations publiques approfondies. Deux comités parlementaires – le Comité permanent des finances de la Chambre des communes et le Comité sénatorial permanent des banques et du commerce – ont tenu des audiences à l'échelle nationale sur le rapport du Groupe de travail.

Ensemble, ces deux comités ont consulté près de 200 particuliers, entreprises, associations et groupes de consommateurs. Ils ont chacun déposé leur rapport en décembre 1998 et, dans l'ensemble, ils ont tous deux souscrits à la plupart des recommandations du Groupe de travail.

Examen du système de paiements

En juin 1996, le gouvernement a également lancé l'examen du système de paiements. Le Comité consultatif sur le système de paiements devait procéder à son examen parallèlement aux activités du Groupe de travail. Le système de paiements a été étudié séparément en raison de sa nature très technique.

L'examen du système de paiements visait à déterminer s'il fallait élargir l'accès au système de paiements et si le cadre établi pour la régie du système de paiements devait être modifié afin que le système continue d'évoluer en servant au mieux l'intérêt public. Cet examen a permis d'établir trois grands objectifs pour le système de paiements : l'efficience, la sûreté et la prise en considération des intérêts des consommateurs. Il est essentiel de concilier ces objectifs pour que le système de paiements canadien demeure un élément efficient du secteur des services financiers.

Le gouvernement remercie les membres du Groupe de travail et du Comité consultatif ainsi que les législateurs pour le temps qu'ils ont consacré à l'étude des importantes questions de politique publique entourant le secteur des services financiers canadien.

Au cours des mois qui ont suivi le dépôt de ces rapports, le ministère des Finances a rencontré bon nombre des particuliers et des groupes ayant participé aux consultations du Groupe de travail et des comités parlementaires.

Évolution du secteur des services financiers

Les nouvelles technologies de l'information, la mondialisation et les changements démographiques sont les moteurs de l'innovation. Ils suscitent chaque jour de nouvelles possibilités et exigences dans le secteur des services financiers canadien. Les répercussions de ces changements sur les consommateurs, les entreprises et les gouvernements continueront de guider l'évolution du secteur dans les années à venir.

Les progrès technologiques ont révolutionné le secteur des services financiers

Le développement des nouvelles technologies, plus particulièrement celui des technologies de l'information, constitue un important moteur de changement dans les services financiers. La prestation de ces derniers constitue une activité à forte utilisation de l'information. Les progrès en informatique et en télécommunications continuent d'ajouter à la rapidité, à la sûreté, au volume et à la qualité du traitement de l'information financière et réduisent grandement le coût des opérations. Ces changements technologiques ouvrent la voie à de nouveaux produits et services financiers, des services bancaires par téléphone ou sur Internet aux certificats de placement garanti (CPG) indiciels.

Les Canadiens sont parmi les plus empressés à adopter les nouvelles technologies de l'information

De façon parallèle, la convergence des communications et des technologies informatiques incite les consommateurs à réclamer l'accès en temps réel aux services financiers, partout et en tout temps. De plus, les Canadiens sont parmi les plus empressés à adopter ces nouvelles technologies, 57 % des consommateurs canadiens préférant régler leurs achats par carte de débit ou de crédit plutôt qu'en espèces.

Les nouvelles technologies de l'information ont également accéléré la libéralisation des échanges commerciaux à travers le monde, donnant ainsi naissance à un véritable marché mondial des capitaux et des services financiers. Par conséquent, les entreprises ont maintenant accès à un plus grand nombre de consommateurs, qui profitent à leur tour d'un plus vaste choix de produits et de services résultant d'une concurrence plus vive.

Cette libéralisation du commerce mondial a présenté d'énormes possibilités de croissance pour les entreprises innovatrices et concurrentielles, et a permis au secteur des services financiers canadien de contribuer davantage à la performance du Canada sur le plan des exportations. En outre, les fournisseurs étrangers de services financiers ont pu accroître leur présence sur le marché canadien.

En même temps, les tendances démographiques ont continué de modeler le marché des services financiers au Canada et dans toute l'Amérique du Nord comme elles l'ont fait ailleurs. Plus particulièrement, le vieillissement des baby-boomers a une incidence visible sur l'évolution du marché des services financiers. À mesure que les membres de cette génération cessent d'emprunter pour se tourner vers l'épargne, les institutions financières accordent une plus grande importance aux services de gestion du patrimoine.

Le nombre croissant de travailleurs autonomes et de propriétaires de petites entreprises ouvre également de nouveaux marchés pour les services financiers puisque ces clients ne sont en général pas couverts par des régimes collectifs de retraite et d'assurance.

Le dépeuplement des petites collectivités constitue un défi particulier auxquel est confronté le Canada. Ce phénomène a une incidence sur la façon dont les institutions financières maintiennent des politiques nationales de fixation des prix tout en garantissant un accès adéquat des collectivités isolées et rurales plus modestes aux services financiers.

Les réponses du secteur à ces facteurs ont des répercussions sur les consommateurs, la concurrence et les organismes de réglementation. Elles ont pour effet de renforcer le changement tout en l'accélérant.

De nos jours, les institutions financières utilisent des technologies de l'information de pointe pour comprendre leurs clients et vendre leurs produits et, parfois, ceux d'autres entreprises. Alors même que les institutions financières privilégient la « fidélité à la marque » de la part de leurs consommateurs, de nombreux services courants – qu'il s'agisse des comptes de dépôt, des prêts hypothécaires ou des CPG – deviennent interchangeables.

À mesure que les frontières économiques internationales s'estompent et que les secteurs d'activité se chevauchent, les entreprises cherchent à multiplier les alliances stratégiques pour demeurer concurrentielles. En outre, soucieuses de réaliser des économies d'échelle et de réduire leurs coûts, les entreprises sont à l'affût des occasions de fusion et d'acquisition.

Ces forces ne s'atténueront pas. Le rythme de changement ne ralentira pas. Au contraire, il pourrait s'accélérer. Il revient donc au gouvernement d'établir un cadre stratégique qui permette la poursuite de cette évolution au profit de tous les Canadiens, tout en préservant la vigueur et la solidité du secteur.

On trouvera à l'annexe B un aperçu de la structure actuelle du secteur des services financiers.

Façonner le secteur des services financiers – Principes directeurs

La prospérité économique du Canada dépend d'institutions financières solides, efficientes et rentables. Outre leur importante contribution directe à l'activité économique, les institutions financières participent, d'une manière ou d'une autre, à pratiquement toutes les opérations économiques, qu'il s'agisse du traitement des paiements, de la mise en commun de l'épargne, du financement des investissements ou de la gestion des risques.

C'est vers les hommes et les femmes qui travaillent au sein des institutions financières du pays que les Canadiens se tournent pour obtenir des services et des conseils financiers, et c'est d'eux que dépend le succès de chaque institution financière. À ce titre, ils ont de quoi être fiers puisqu'ils ont fait en sorte que ces institutions demeurent parmi les entreprises les plus innovatrices et les plus dynamiques au monde, et ce, dans un contexte mondial en rapide évolution.

Le Canada est reconnu partout pour avoir l'un des secteurs financiers les plus sûrs et les plus solides au monde.

Le Canada est aussi reconnu partout pour avoir l'un des secteurs financiers les plus sûrs et les plus solides au monde. C'est là un précieux atout dans une économie mondiale en rapide évolution. Même si ce n'est pas au gouvernement d'instaurer des changements à l'intérieur du secteur, il doit mettre en place un cadre stratégique qui permette au secteur d'évoluer, tout en préservant sa solidité et en veillant à ce que cette évolution favorise les consommateurs.

En élaborant sa politique sur le secteur des services financiers, le gouvernement s'est appuyé sur quatre principes fondamentaux.

  • Les institutions financières doivent disposer de la marge de manÅ“uvre nécessaire pour s'adapter au marché en évolution, ainsi que pour demeurer concurrentielles et prospérer au pays comme à l'étranger, afin de conserver leur rôle de source névralgique d'activité économique et de création d'emplois.
  • Il faut une concurrence vigoureuse pour disposer d'un secteur dynamique et innovateur et pour veiller à ce que les particuliers et les entreprises aient accès à un vaste choix au meilleur prix possible.
  • Les entreprises, quelle que soit leur taille, et les consommateurs en milieu urbain ou rural, quel que soit leur revenu, devraient bénéficier des plus hautes normes possible de qualité et de service.

Il convient d'alléger le fardeau réglementaire dans toute la mesure du possible, en accord avec les objectifs de prudence et d'intérêt public.

La réforme du secteur des services financiers canadien – Un cadre pour l'avenir

Le présent document expose un ensemble équilibré de quatre volets complémentaires.

Promouvoir l'efficience et la croissance des institutions financières canadiennes par l'entremise :

  • d'une nouvelle définition de propriété à participation multiple propice aux alliances stratégiques et aux coentreprises assorties d'importants échanges d'actions;
  • d'un nouveau régime de société de portefeuille offrant une plus grande souplesse organisationnelle;
  • d'un mécanisme transparent d'examen des fusions bancaires prévoyant la participation formelle du public;
  • d'un examen des politiques d'impôt sur le capital avec les provinces.

Favoriser la concurrence intérieure en :

  • encourageant l'entrée de nouveaux intervenants grâce à des règles de propriété plus souples et à des normes de capitalisation moins rigoureuses;
  • facilitant la compétitivité des coopératives de crédit en permettant la restructuration de leur système;
  • élargissant l'accès au système de paiements pour accroître la concurrence sur le marché des services de type dépôts;
  • permettant aux banques étrangères d'offrir leurs services aux entreprises et aux particuliers par l'intermédiaire de succursales, en plus des filiales.

Accroître le pouvoir et la protection des consommateurs de services financiers au moyen :

  • de mesures pour améliorer l'accès aux services financiers sans égard au revenu ou au lieu de résidence, y compris un compte bancaire type à prix modique et un processus régissant la fermeture des succursales;
  • d'une agence des consommateurs de produits et services financiers pour renforcer le contrôle des mesures de protection des consommateurs et élargir les activités d'éducation des consommateurs;
  • d'un bureau indépendant de l'ombudsman des services financiers canadiens;
  • de mesures pour contrer les ventes liées avec coercition et pour améliorer l'information que reçoivent les consommateurs lorsqu'ils achètent des services ou effectuent des placements;
  • de Rapports sur les responsabilités envers le grand public, grâce auxquels les institutions financières feraient état de leur contribution à l'économie et à la société canadiennes;
  • de statistiques et d'analyses plus nombreuses et de meilleure qualité sur le financement des petites et moyennes entreprises, afin de mieux comprendre les besoins de ces dernières.

Améliorer le cadre de réglementation en :

  • améliorant la régie du système de paiements;
  • réduisant le processus de compte rendu relatif aux normes de la Société d'assurance-dépôts du Canada;
  • conférant au surintendant des institutions financières de nouveaux pouvoirs pour faire face aux risques éventuels découlant de cette nouvelle concurrence;
  • rationalisant le processus d'approbation réglementaire du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières.

Par souci de clarté, les propositions législatives mentionnées dans le présent document, que le gouvernement soumettra à l'examen du Parlement, sont ou peuvent être décrites comme si elles avaient déjà été adoptées ou étaient déjà en vigueur. Évidemment, il s'agit de simples propositions qui seront sans effet tant qu'elles n'auront pas été adoptées par les deux chambres du Parlement et n'auront pas reçu la sanction royale.

English | Table des matières | Prochain.