Territorial Borrowing Limits

What are territorial borrowing limits?

Pursuant to subsection 20(2) of the Northwest Territories Act, subsection 27(2) of the Nunavut Act, and subsection 23(2) of the Yukon Act, a territorial government has the authority to borrow money for territorial, municipal or local purposes up to a specific limit.

The maximum amounts that may be borrowed are set by the Governor in Council through an Order in Council for each territory.  Any borrowing beyond these maximum levels requires Governor in Council approval.

Currently, the borrowing limits are $800 million, $400 million, and $400 million, respectively for the Northwest Territories, Yukon and Nunavut. The Orders in Council establishing these limits are published on the website of the Office of the Privy Council.

What is the process for reviewing these limits?

The Government of Canada reviews a territorial borrowing limit following formal requests from the territorial government.

When a review is requested, the Government of Canada may change a territorial government’s maximum borrowing amount based on an assessment of the territorial government’s ability to carry future debt. This assessment is based on its economic and fiscal outlook, including federal transfer support.

Does the Government of Canada guarantee borrowing by territorial governments?

No. Borrowing by territorial governments are charges against their own Consolidated Revenue Funds and are not supported or guaranteed by the Government of Canada.

Further, the Government of Canada is not involved in territorial borrowing decisions. Within the established limits, territorial governments are fully accountable for their own borrowing decisions, which they make according to their own priorities and needs.

Plafonds d'emprunt des territoires

En quoi consistent les plafonds d'emprunt des territoires?

En vertu du paragraphe 20(2) de la Loi sur les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, du paragraphe 27(2) de la Loi sur le Nunavut et du paragraphe 23(2) de la Loi sur le Yukon, un gouvernement territorial a le pouvoir d'emprunter des fonds à des fins territoriales, municipales ou locales jusqu'à concurrence d'une limite établie.

Les montants maximaux pouvant être empruntés sont fixés par décret par le gouverneur en conseil pour chacun des territoires. Tout emprunt au-delà de ces niveaux maximaux nécessite l'approbation du gouverneur en conseil.

À l'heure actuelle, les plafonds d’emprunt sont de 800 millions de dollars, 400 millions et 400 millions respectivement pour les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, le Yukon et le Nunavut. Les décrets établissant ces plafonds sont affichés sur le site Web du Bureau du Conseil privé.

Quel processus utilise‑t‑on pour réviser ces plafonds?

Le gouvernement du Canada procède à la révision d'un plafond d'emprunt territorial lorsqu'un gouvernement territorial présente une demande officielle à ce sujet.

Lorsqu'une demande de révision est présentée, le gouvernement du Canada peut modifier le montant maximal d'emprunt du territoire en se fondant sur une évaluation de la capacité du gouvernement territorial d'assumer son endettement futur. Cette évaluation s'appuie sur les perspectives économiques et financières du territoire, y compris les transferts fédéraux.

Le gouvernement du Canada garantit-il les emprunts effectués par les gouvernements territoriaux?

Non. Les emprunts des gouvernements territoriaux sont portés en réduction de leur Trésor respectif, sans être soutenus ni garantis par le gouvernement du Canada.

En outre, le gouvernement du Canada ne participe pas aux décisions que prennent les territoires en matière d'emprunt. Dans le cadre des plafonds établis, les gouvernements territoriaux sont entièrement responsables de leurs décisions d'emprunt, et ils prennent celles‑ci en fonction de leurs propres priorités et besoins.