Arrangement between the Government of Canada and the Government of Nova Scotia on Offshore Revenues

PDF Version [592 Kb]

To access a Portable Document Format (PDF) file you must have a PDF reader installed. If you do not already have such a reader, there are numerous PDF readers available for free download or for purchase on the Internet.

February 14, 2005

The Government of Canada recognizes the unique economic and fiscal challenges faced by Nova Scotia and the strong commitment of the province to improve its fiscal situation, as outlined in the correspondence received from Nova Scotia.

1. Recognizing that the obligations intended to be assumed by the Government of Canada, as outlined in this document, will require legislation, the Government of Canada will seek legislative authority from Parliament that will authorize additional payments to provide 100 per cent offset against reductions in Equalization payments resulting from offshore resource revenues.

2. This document reflects an understanding between the Government of Canada and the Government of Nova Scotia that:

  • Nova Scotia already receives and will continue to receive 100 per cent of offshore resource revenues as if these resources were on land;
  • the Government of Canada intends to provide additional offset payments to the province in respect of offshore-related Equalization reductions, effectively allowing it to retain the benefit of 100 per cent of its offshore resource revenues.[1]

3. Given that, under the new Equalization framework agreed at the October First Ministers' Meeting, Equalization payments are determined for 2004-05 and 2005-06:

  • For the fiscal year 2004-05, the value of the additional offset payment to provide this 100 per cent offset will be $30.5 million.
  • For the fiscal year 2005-06, the value of the additional offset payment to provide this 100 per cent offset will be $26.6 million.

4. Commencing in 2006-07, and continuing through 2011-12, the annual offset payments shall be equal to 100 per cent of any reductions in Equalization payments resulting from offshore resource revenues. The amount of additional offset payment for a year shall be calculated as the difference between the Equalization payment that would be received by the province under the Equalization formula as it exists at the time if the province received no offshore petroleum resource revenues in that year, and the Equalization payment for the province in that year under the Equalization formula as it exists at the time, net of any payments made with respect to the existing Accord or Equalization offset provisions.

5. If in any fiscal year in the period 2006-07 to 2011-12 the province does not qualify for receipt of an Equalization payment, no additional offset payment in respect of clause 4 will be made for that fiscal year. Should Nova Scotia not qualify for Equalization, it will be provided with transitional payments comparable to those in the Atlantic Accord, including an extension of the Part 1 provision to include the year 2011-12.

6. It is the Government of Canada's intent to provide the Government of Nova Scotia a payment equal to $830 million upon passage of legislation implementing this arrangement. This payment will allow the province to reduce its outstanding debt. Amounts calculated starting in 2004-05 under clauses 3 and 4 will not result in actual payments to the province until such time as their cumulative value exceeds $830 million.

7. A successor arrangement would be put in place for the period 2012-13 to 2019-20 if the province qualifies for an Equalization payment in 2010-11 or 2011-12 and its per capita net debt has not become lower than that of at least 4 other provinces.

Payments would continue to be calculated to provide 100 per cent offset for Equalization declines, as per clause 4, in any year in which Nova Scotia would qualify for Equalization.

Should the province not qualify for an Equalization payment in any year in the period 2012-13 to 2019-20, the province would receive, in that year, an offset payment equal to two-thirds of the previous year's offset payment and an offset payment equal to one-third of that previous year's payment in the following year, should it continue not to qualify for Equalization.

8. No later than March 31, 2019, and consistent with the existing review provisions in the 1986 Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Resources Accord (the Accord), the parties agree to review the current arrangement.

The review will address a) the extent to which the Accord objectives have been achieved, including the key objectives of the Accord that Nova Scotia be the principal beneficiary of its offshore; b) whether Nova Scotia has realized lasting fiscal and economic gains from its offshore petroleum resources revenues; c) the Equalization arrangements then in effect; d) the fiscal disparities that then exist between Nova Scotia and other provinces; e) Nova Scotia's undeveloped offshore petroleum discoveries; and will have regard to the 1988 Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Resources Accord Implementation Act, any legislation that implements the terms of this arrangement, and any other relevant considerations.

9. If, in the future, the Government of Canada enters into an arrangement with another province or territory concerning offshore petroleum resource revenues, which in Nova Scotia's view provides, on balance, benefits greater than those contained in this arrangement, Nova Scotia may elect to enter into discussions with the Government of Canada to revise this arrangement.

10. Signed in Halifax on February 14, 2005.

For the Government of Canada

The Honourable Geoff Regan,
Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, Canada

For the Government of Nova Scotia

The Honourable John Hamm,
Premier of Nova Scotia

 

 

 

[1] Defined as revenue received from the Government of Canada under the Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Resources Accord Implementation Act.

Entente entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Écosse sur les revenus tirés des ressources extracôtières

version PDF [657 Ko]

Pour consulter un fichier PDF (format de document portable), votre ordinateur doit avoir un lecteur PDF. Si vous n’en avez pas déjà un, il existe de nombreux lecteurs PDF que vous pouvez télécharger gratuitement ou acheter dans Internet.

Le 14 février 2005

Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît les défis économiques et financiers particuliers que doit relever la Nouvelle-Écosse et la ferme volonté de la province d'améliorer sa situation financière, comme l'indique la correspondance reçue de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

1. Attendu que les obligations que le gouvernement du Canada a l'intention d'assumer conformément au présent document devront faire l'objet de mesures législatives, le gouvernement du Canada demandera au Parlement de lui conférer les pouvoirs législatifs nécessaires afin d'autoriser les paiements additionnels pour compenser intégralement toute réduction des paiements de péréquation associée aux revenus tirés des ressources extracôtières.

2. Le présent document confirme une entente entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Écosse en vertu de laquelle :

  • la Nouvelle-Écosse touche déjà et continuera de toucher la totalité des revenus tirés de l'exploitation des ressources extracôtières comme s'il s'agissait de ressources exploitées sur terre;
  • le gouvernement du Canada a l'intention de verser à la province des paiements additionnels pour compenser la réduction des droits de péréquation associée aux revenus tirés des ressources extracôtières, lui permettant ainsi de conserver la totalité des revenus tirés des ressources extracôtières[1]

3. Attendu que, en vertu du nouveau cadre pour la péréquation dont il a été convenu à la réunion des premiers ministres d'octobre, les paiements de péréquation sont déterminés pour les exercices 2004-2005 et 2005-2006 :

  • pour l'exercice 2004-2005, le paiements compensatoire additionnel pour assurer cette compensation intégrale sera de 30,5 millions de dollars;
  • pour l'exercice 2005-2006, le paiement compensatoire additionnel pour assurer cette compensation intégrale sera de 26,6 millions de dollars.

4. À compter de 2006-2007 et jusqu'en 2011-2012 inclusivement, les paiements compensatoires annuels versés équivalent à 100 % de toute réduction des paiements de péréquation associée aux revenus tirés des ressources extracôtières. Le montant des paiements compensatoires additionnels pour un exercice donné correspondra à la différence entre le paiement de péréquation que recevrait la province en vertu de la formule de péréquation en vigueur si elle ne tirait pas de revenus des ressources pétrolières extracôtières durant l'exercice et le paiement de péréquation auquel elle aurait droit pour l'exercice en vertu de la formule de péréquation en vigueur, déduction faite de tout paiement versé dans le cadre de l'Accord en vigueur ou des dispositions de compensation de la péréquation.

5. Pour la période de 2006-2007 à 2011-2012 inclusivement, si, au cours d'un exercice donné, la province n'est plus admissible à un paiement de péréquation, aucun paiement compensatoire additionnel visé à l'article 4 ne lui sera versé pour cet exercice. Si la Nouvelle-Écosse n'est pas admissible à la péréquation, elle recevra un paiement transitoire comparable à celui prévu par l'Accord atlantique, incluant une prolongation de la disposition de la partie 1 afin d'inclure l'exercice 2011-2012.

6. Le gouvernement du Canada a l'intention de verser au gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Écosse un paiement équivalant à 830 millions de dollars au moment de l'adoption de la loi de mise en œuvre de la présente entente. Ce paiement permettra à la province de réduire l'encours de sa dette. Les montants calculés, à compter de l'exercice 2004-2005, de la manière prévue aux articles 3 et 4 ne donneront pas lieu à des paiements à la province tant que leur valeur cumulative n'aura pas dépassé 830 millions de dollars.

7. Une nouvelle entente sera mise en place pour la période de 2012-2013 à 2019-2020 si la province a droit à des paiements de péréquation en 2010-2011 ou en 2011-2012 et si sa dette nette par habitant n'est pas devenue inférieure à celle d'au moins quatre autres provinces.

Les paiements continueront d'être calculés de manière à compenser intégralement toute réduction des paiements de péréquation, conformément à l'article 4, pour tout exercice au cours duquel la Nouvelle-Écosse aura droit à un paiement de péréquation.

Si, pour un exercice donné compris entre 2012-2013 et 2019-2020 inclusivement, la province n'est pas admissible à un paiement de péréquation, elle recevra, au cours de cet exercice, un paiement compensatoire équivalant aux deux tiers du paiement compensatoire de l'exercice précédent, et, pour l'exercice suivant, un paiement compensatoire équivalant au tiers du paiement de cet exercice précédent, si elle n'est toujours pas admissible à un paiement de péréquation.

8. Au plus tard le 31 mars 2019, et conformément aux dispositions d'examen en vigueur de l'Accord Canada–Nouvelle-Écosse sur les hydrocarbures extracôtiers de 1986 (« l' Accord »), les parties conviennent de revoir la présente entente.

Cet examen portera sur les questions suivantes : a) la mesure dans laquelle les objectifs de l'Accord ont été réalisés, y compris l'objectif principal de faire en sorte que la Nouvelle-Écosse soit la principale bénéficiaire de l'exploitation de ses ressources extracôtières; b) la question de savoir si la Nouvelle-Écosse a réalisé des gains économiques et financiers durables grâce aux revenus tirés de ses ressources pétrolières extracôtières; c) les arrangements de péréquation en vigueur à ce moment; d) les disparités financières constatées à ce moment entre la Nouvelle-Écosse et les autres provinces; e) les ressources pétrolières extracôtières découvertes mais non exploitées de la Nouvelle-Écosse. De plus, l'examen portera sur la Loi de mise en œuvre de l'Accord Canada–Nouvelle-Écosse sur les hydrocarbures extracôtiers de 1988, sur toute loi mettant en œuvre les dispositions de la présente entente et sur toute autre considération pertinente.

9. Si le gouvernement du Canada conclut ultérieurement une entente avec une autre province ou un territoire concernant les revenus tirés de l'exploitation des ressources pétrolières extracôtières qui, de l'avis de la Nouvelle-Écosse, prévoit, tout compte fait, des avantages supérieurs à ceux prévus par la présente entente, la Nouvelle-Écosse pourra amorcer des discussions avec le gouvernement du Canada en vue de réviser la présente entente.

10. Signé à Halifax, le 14 février 2005.

Pour le gouvernement du Canada


L'honorable Geoff Regan,
ministre des Pêches et Océans du Canada

Pour le gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Écosse

L'honorable John Hamm,
premier ministre de la Nouvelle-Écosse

 

 

 

[1] Revenus reçus du gouvernement du Canada en vertu de la Loi de mise en œuvre de l'Accord Canada–Nouvelle-Écosse sur les hydrocarbures extracôtiers.