Archived - Report on Plans and Priorities

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Supplementary Tables

Horizontal Initiative: National Initiative to Combat Money Laundering (NICML)

Lead Department: Department of Finance Canada

Start Date:

June 2000

End Date: 2009–10

Total Funding Allocated:

$329,989 ($ thousands)

Description:

The NICML was formally established in 2000 as part of the government’s ongoing effort to combat money laundering in Canada. Legislation adopted that year, the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) Act (PCMLA), created a mandatory reporting system for suspicious financial transactions, large cross-border currency transfers, and certain prescribed transactions. The legislation also established the Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC) to collect and analyze these financial transaction reports and to disclose pertinent information to law enforcement and intelligence agencies. In December 2001, the PCMLA was amended to include measures to fight terrorist financing activities and renamed the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act.

Shared outcome(s):

To detect and deter money laundering and the financing of terrorist activities and to facilitate the investigation and prosecution of money laundering and terrorist financing offences.

Governance structure(s):

The NICML is a horizontal initiative comprised of both funded and non-funded partners. The funded partners included the Department of Finance Canada, the Department of Justice Canada, the Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC), the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA)—Immigration and Customs, the Canda Revenue Agency (CRA), and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP); non-funded partners include Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness Canada (PSEPC) and Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS). An interdepartmental ADM-level group and working group, consisting of all these partners and led by the Department of Finance Canada, has been established to direct and coordinate the government’s efforts to combat money laundering and terrorist financing activities.


Federal Partners Involved in each program Names of Programs Total Allocation[1] ($ thousands) Planned Spending for 2005-2006 ($ thousands) Expected Results for
2005-2006

Finance

NICML

3,000

300

Finance is responsible for the development of anti-money laundering and anti-terrorist financing policy, including the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act and its regulations. Finance coordinates the activities under the Initiative and has a key role in liaison and consultations with stakeholders. As well, Finance heads Canadian delegations to international anti-money laundering assemblies, e.g. the Financial Action Task Force (FATF).


Justice

NICML

11,400

1,200

Justice is responsible for undertaking prosecutions, specifically, in the case of the Initiative, those arising out of investigations to which FINTRAC disclosures have contributed. As well, Justice provides legal advice on policy issues and to police forces. In cases where law enforcement agencies desire additional information from FINTRAC, Justice takes the application for a production order to court to obtain approval.


FINTRAC

NICML

203,285

21,300

FINTRAC is an independent agency that receives, collects, analyses, assesses, and discloses financial transaction information to assist in the detection, prevention, and deterrence of money laundering and terrorist financing activities. FINTRAC operates at arm’s length from the police, federal departments and agencies, and international partners to which it can provide financial intelligence. FINTRAC is also involved in various outreach programs to raise awareness on money laundering and terrorist financing issues.


CCRA

NICML

29,284

0


CIC

NICML

2,820

0


CBSA[2]

NICML

22,500

4,500

CBSA Customs officers are responsible for the enforcement of the cross-border currency reporting program, which includes conducting searches, questioning individuals, and seizing non-reported or falsely reported currency and suspected proceeds of crime. In addition, FINTRAC discloses information to CBSA Immigration, which plays a key role in denying the use of Canadian territory to criminals and persons who pose security threats to Canada.


CRA[3]

NICML

11,000

2,200

FINTRAC discloses information to CRA when it suspects that the information would be relevant to an investigation or prosecution of money laundering or terrorist financing activities offences and if it determines that the information is relevant to a tax or duty evasion offence. The information received may serve as a lead for CRA to possibly initiate a new investigation or as additional information to an ongoing investigation.


RCMP

NICML

46,700

4,900

The RCMP, through its Money Laundering Units, is the major recipient of disclosures from FINTRAC. When intelligence is received, an investigative assessment is conducted to determine if a criminal investigation is warranted. The intelligence may add information on existing targets or provide new leads to existing investigations. The RCMP also provides voluntary information to FINTRAC to support its intelligence gathering process.

Total

329,989

34,400


Results to be achieved by Non-federal Partners (if applicable): Not Applicable

Contact:

Lynn Hemmings (613-992-0553) 

Approved by: Diane Lafleur 

Date approved: February 6, 2006

National Initiative to Combat Money Laundering, Allocation by Year ($ thousands):


Department/
Agency

2000–01

2001–02

2002–03

2003–04

2004–05

2005–06

2006–07

2007–08

2008–09

2009–10

Total


Finance

300

300

300

300

300

300

300

300

300

300

3,000

Justice

600

1,200

1,200

1,200

1,200

1,200

1,200

1,200

1,200

1,200

11,400

FINTRAC

17,985

22,500

20,000

15,000

21,300

21,300

21,300

21,300

21,300

21,300

203,285

CCRA

5,284

6,000

6,000

6,000

6,000

0

0

0

0

0

29,284

CIC

20

700

700

700

700

0

0

0

0

0

2,820

CBSA

0

0

0

0

0

4,500

4,500

4,500

4,500

4,500

22,500

CRA

0

0

0

0

0

2,200

2,200

2,200

2,200

2,200

11,000

RCMP

2,600

4,900

4,900

4,900

4,900

4,900

4,900

4,900

4,900

4,900

46,700


Total Allocation

26,789

35,600

33,100

28,100

34,400

34,400

34,400

34,400

34,400

34,400

329,989


 


Notes: 

1. See table below for breakdown by year of the total allocation. [Return]

2. CBSA planned spending for 2006–07 includes funds originally allocated for Citizenship and Immigration Canada and the former Customs operations of Canada Customs and Revenue Agency. [Return]

3. The Customs operations of the former CCRA have been transferred to the CBSA. [Return]

Archivé - Rapport sur les plans et les priorités

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Tableau supplémentaires

Initiative horizontale : Initiative nationale de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent (INLBA)

 Ministère responsable : Ministère des Finances Canada

Date de début

 : juin 2000 

Date de clôture : 2009–10

Total des affectations

 : 329 989 $ (en milliers de dollars)

Description :

L’INLBA a été lancée officiellement en 2000 dans le cadre des mesures systématiques prises par le gouvernement pour lutter contre le blanchiment d’argent au Canada. Une loi adoptée cette année-là, la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité (LRPC), mettait en place un système de déclaration obligatoire des opérations douteuses, des mouvements transfrontaliers d’espèces de grande valeur et de certaines opérations interdites. La LRPC établissait également le Centre d’analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada (CANAFE), chargé de colliger et d’analyser des rapports sur ces opérations financières et de communiquer l’information pertinente aux organismes d’exécution de la loi et de renseignement. En décembre 2001, des modifications ont été apportées à la LRPC, qui allait désormais comprendre des mesures visant à lutter contre le financement des activités terroristes et porter un nouveau nom, Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes.

Résultats partagés :

Détecter et décourager le blanchiment d’argent et le financement d’activités terroristes et faciliter les enquêtes et les poursuites pour blanchiment d’argent et financement d’activités terroristes.

Structure de gouvernance :

L’INLBA est une initiative horizontale regroupant des organismes partenaires dont certains sont financés par l’État, d’autres pas. Le ministère des Finances Canada, le ministère de la Justice Canada, le Centre d’analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada (CANAFE), l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) – Immigration et Douanes, l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) ainsi que la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) sont les partenaires financés par l’État. Sécurité publique et Protection civile Canada (SPPCC) et le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS) sont les partenaires non financés par l’État. Un groupe interministériel des SMA/groupe de travail auquel sont représentés tous les partenaires et que dirige le ministère des Finances Canada a été mis sur pied pour coordonner les mesures gouvernementales de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent et le financement d’activités terroristes.


Partenaires fédéraux participant à chaque programme

Nom des programmes Total des affectations[1] (en milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues en
2005-2006
(en milliers de dollars)
Résultats prévus en 2005-2006

Finances

INLBA

3 000

300

Le ministère des Finances a la responsabilité de l’élaboration de la politique de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent et le financement des activités terroristes, notamment de la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes et des règlements connexes. Le ministère des Finances coordonne les activités entreprisese en vertu de l’Initiative et joue un rôle de premier plan en matière de liaison et de consultations avec les parties prenantes. De plus, le ministère dirige les délégations canadiennes à des tribunes internationales de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent, par exemple le Groupe d’action financière sur le blanchiment de capitaux (GAFBC).


Justice

INLBA

11 400

1 200

Le ministère de la Justice a la responsabilité d’intenter des poursuites et, plus particulièrement, en vertu de l’Initiative, des poursuites découlant d’enquêtes pour lesquelles le CANAFE a communiqué de l’information. De plus, le ministère de la Justice donne des avis juridiques sur les enjeux stratégiques et des conseils juridiques aux forces policières. Lorsque les organismes d’exécution de la loi souhaitent un complément d’information de la part du CANAFE, le ministère de la Justice présente une requête en ordonnance de production devant les tribunaux, pour obtenir l’approbation voulue.


CANAFE

INLBA

203 285

21 300

Le CANAFE est un organisme autonome dont la mission est de recevoir, recueillir, analyser, évaluer et communiquer des renseignements sur certaines opérations financières pour la détection, la prévention et la répression du blanchiment d’argent et du financement d’activités terroristes. Le CANAFE est exploité sans lien de dépendance avec les services policiers, les ministères et organismes fédéraux et les partenaires internationaux, auxquels il peut communiquer des renseignements de nature financière. Le CANAFE participe également à divers programmes de sensibilisation aux enjeux du blanchiment d’argent et du financement d’activités terroristes.


ADRC

INLBA

29 284

0


CIC

INLBA

2 820

0


ASFC[2]

INLBA

22 500

4 500

Les agents des douanes de l’ASFC appliquent le programme de déclaration des mouvements transfrontaliers d’espèces, c’est-à-dire qu’ils font des fouilles, interrogent des individus et saisissent les espèces non déclarées ou faussement déclarées ainsi que les produits présumés d’activités criminelles. De plus, le CANAFE communique de l’information à l’ASFC (Immigration), qui joue un rôle de premier plan lorsqu’il s’agit de ne pas accepter sur le territoire canadien des criminels et des personnes qui présentent des menaces pour la sécurité du Canada.


ARC[3]

INLBA

11 000

2 200

Le CANAFE communique de l’information à l’ARC lorsqu’il juge qu’elle serait pertinente aux fins d’une enquête et/ou d’une poursuite pour blanchiment d’argent ou financement d’activités terroristes et s’il détermine que l’information en question concerne une évasion fiscale ou douanière. L’ARC peut se servir de l’information ainsi reçue pour entamer une nouvelle enquête ou à titre de complément d’information dans le cadre d’une enquête en cours.


GRC

INLBA

46 700

4 900

La GRC, par l’intermédiaire de ses unités anti-blanchiment d’argent, est le principal destinataire des divulgations du CANAFE. Lorsqu’elle reçoit des renseignements, la GRC juge s’il y a lieu ou non d’ouvrir une enquête criminelle. Les renseignements reçus peuvent s’ajouter à l’information déjà réunie sur certaines cibles ou représenter une nouvelle piste pour une enquête en cours. De plus, la GRC fournit volontairement de l’information au CANAFE à l’appui de son processus de collecte de renseignements.


Total

329 989

34 400


Résultats que doivent obtenir les partenaires non fédéraux (le cas échéant) : inapplicable

Personne­ressource :

Lynn Hemmings (613­992­0553) 

Approuvé par : Diane Lafleur 

Date de l’approbation : Le 6 février 2006

Initiative nationale de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent – Affectations selon l’année (en milliers de dollars) :


Ministère / organisme

2000-2001

2001-2002

2002-2003

2003-2004

2004-2005

2005-2006

2006-2007

2007-2008

2008-2009

2009-2010

Total


Finances

300

300

300

300

300

300

300

300

300

300

3 000

Justice

600

1 200

1 200

1 200

1 200

1 200

1 200

1 200

1 200

1 200

11 400

CANAFE

17 985

22 500

20 000

15 000

21 300

21 300

21 300

21 300

21 300

21 300

203 285

ADRC

5 284

6 000

6 000

6 000

6 000

0

0

0

0

0

29 284

CIC

20

700

700

700

700

0

0

0

0

0

2 820

ASFC

0

0

0

0

0

4 500

4 500

4 500

4 500

4 500

22 500

ARC

0

0

0

0

0

2 200

2 200

2 200

2 200

2 200

11 000

GRC

2 600

4 900

4 900

4 900

4 900

4 900

4 900

4 900

4 900

4 900

46 700


Total des affectations

26 789

35 600

33 100

28 100

34 400

34 400

34 400

34 400

34 400

34 400

329 989


 


Notes :

1. Le tableau qui suit présente la ventilation par année du total des affectations. [Retour]

2. Les dépenses prévues de l’ASFC pour 20062007 comprennent des fonds qui avaient été attribués à l’origine à Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada et aux activités douanières de l’ancienne Agence des douanes et du revenu du Canada. [Retour]

3. Les activités des Douanes de l'ancienne ADRC ont été transférées à l'ASFC. [Retour]