Table of Contents  Next

Archived - Introduction

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Canada's economic and fiscal fundamentals are rock solid, yet the world economy is experiencing turbulence and increased uncertainty.

Given this global economic uncertainty, now is the time to act. Our strong fiscal position provides Canada with an opportunity that few other countries have-to make broad-based tax reductions that will strengthen our economy, stimulate investment and create more and better jobs.

Today, the Government is taking bold new steps to build a better Canada. We are reducing taxes further for Canadians and ushering in a new era for Canadian business taxation, while further reducing the federal debt.

This Economic Statement provides a total of $60 billion in broad-based tax relief over this year and the next five years. This brings total tax relief provided by this Government since coming to office to almost $190 billion over the same period.

Canada is the greatest country in the world, a nation of enormous potential built through the imagination and dedication of ordinary Canadians. Canadians expect their Government to build on this legacy by setting clear goals, delivering results, being accountable and putting Canadians and their families first.

Highlights

Recent Economic Developments and Prospects

  • Notwithstanding weakness in the U.S., economic growth in Canada continues to be strong. Real gross domestic product (GDP) grew 3.4 per cent in the second quarter of 2007, following 3.9 per cent growth in the first quarter.
  • Private sector forecasters expect real GDP growth of 2.5 per cent in 2007, 2.4 per cent in 2008 and 2.7 per cent in 2009.
  • The private sector forecast for growth in 2007 is up from the 2.3 per cent forecast at the time of the March 2007 budget, balancing stronger-than-expected GDP growth for the first half of the year and weaker growth in the second half.
  • As well, GDP inflation has been revised up significantly to 3.3 per cent from 1.5 per cent at the time of the budget.
  • Stronger-than-expected growth in the first half of 2007 and higher GDP inflation mean that the level of nominal GDP-the broadest measure of the tax base-is now expected to be close to 1.9 per cent higher in 2007 than forecast at the time of the budget.
  • However, the risks to the Canadian economy are tilted to the downside.
  • A significantly weaker U.S. housing market and tighter credit conditions have added uncertainty to the U.S. economic outlook.
  • The Canadian dollar has traded above parity with the U.S. dollar for the first time in 30 years, due in part to continued increases in commodity prices and generalized U.S.-dollar weakness. This is increasing pressure on our trade sector.
  • The Government is determined to act from a position of strength to respond to the growing global uncertainties.

Fiscal Projections

  • The strength of the economy over the first half of 2007 has bolstered revenue growth and improved the overall fiscal position of the Government.
  • The Government is directing these higher revenues to tax reduction and debt reduction.
  • The Government plans to reduce the federal debt by $10 billion this year. This will bring total debt reduction since 2005-06 to over $37 billion, lowering the federal debt burden by about $1,570 per person. The Government will continue to plan on debt reduction of $3 billion in 2008-09 and each year thereafter.
  • This also means that the target for reducing the debt-to-GDP (gross domestic product) ratio to below 25 per cent will be achieved by
    2011-12, three years ahead of the original target date. This will mark the lowest debt burden since the late 1970s.
  • The Government's Tax Back Guarantee is ensuring that interest savings resulting from debt reduction are being returned to Canadians in the form of lower personal income taxes. Thanks to achieved and planned debt reduction, the Guarantee will reach $2.5 billion by 2012-13.
  • At this time of global economic uncertainty, the Government's strong fiscal position provides Canada with an opportunity that few other countries have-to put in place historic tax reductions that will bolster confidence and encourage investment, while at the same time remaining in a surplus position.
  • The tax reductions proposed in this Economic Statement total almost $60 billion over this and the next five years. As a result, the federal tax burden, measured by total federal revenues as a share of the economy, will fall to 15.1 per cent by 2011-12, the lowest ratio in nearly 50 years.
  • The Government is managing spending effectively through the new Expenditure Management System introduced this year, ensuring value for money and keeping program expense growth, on average, below the rate of growth of the economy.
  • After taking into account the tax and debt reductions proposed in this Statement, the planning surplus is $1.6 billion this year, $1.4 billion next year, $1.3 billion in 2009-10, and then rises to $4.5 billion in 2010-11, $7.2 billion in 2011-12 and $9.8 billion in 2012-13.

Broad-Based Tax Reductions for Canadians

This Economic Statement proposes broad-based tax relief for individuals, families and businesses of almost $60 billion over this and the next five fiscal years. Combined with previous relief provided by this Government, total tax relief over the same period is almost $190 billion.

  • To improve productivity, employment and prosperity in an uncertain world, a bold, new tax reduction initiative will reduce the general federal corporate income tax rate to 15 per cent by 2012 from its current rate of 22.1 per cent. The general corporate income tax rate will decline by 7.12 percentage points between 2007 and 2012-giving Canada the lowest overall tax rate on new business investment in the Group of Seven (G7) by 2011 and the lowest statutory tax rate in the G7 by 2012.
  • The Government is seeking the collaboration of the provinces and territories to reach a 25 per cent combined federal-provincial- territorial statutory corporate income tax rate, to make Canada a country of choice for investment.
  • To support small business, the reduction in the tax rate to 11% for small business, currently scheduled to be reduced in 2009, will be accelerated to January 1, 2008.
  • The goods and services tax (GST) will be reduced by a further 1 percentage point as of January 1, 2008, fulfilling the Government's commitment to reduce the GST to 5 per cent.
  • The GST credit for low- and modest-income Canadians will be maintained at its current level even though the GST rate is being reduced. Maintaining the credit, while reducing the GST rate to 5 per cent from 7 per cent, translates into more than $1.1 billion in benefits annually for low- and modest-income Canadians.
  • The lowest personal income tax rate will be reduced to 15 per cent from 15.5 per cent, effective January 1, 2007.
  • The amount that all Canadians can earn without paying federal income tax will be increased to $9,600 for 2007 and 2008, and to $10,100 for 2009.
  • Together, these two measures will reduce personal income taxes for 2007 by more than $400 for a typical two-earner family of four earning $80,000, and by almost $225 for a single worker earning $40,000.
  • In order to make businesses even more competitive, it is essential that Employment Insurance rates be reduced for employers and employees. The Employment Insurance Chief Actuary's 2008 Report forecasts the break-even rate in 2008 will decline by 10 cents per $100 of insurable earnings for employers and 7 cents for employees.
Table of Contents  Next

Table des matières  Suivant   

Archivé - Introduction

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Au Canada, les facteurs fondamentaux d'ordre économique et financier sont solides comme le roc, même si l'économie mondiale traverse une période agitée, caractérisée par une incertitude toujours plus grande.

Compte tenu du climat incertain de l'économie mondiale, le moment est venu de passer à l'action. Notre solide situation financière offre au Canada une possibilité dont peu de pays peuvent se prévaloir - celle d'instaurer des réductions d'impôt de portée générale qui renforceront notre économie, stimuleront l'investissement et mèneront à des emplois meilleurs et plus nombreux.

Aujourd'hui, le gouvernement adopte des mesures audacieuses pour bâtir un Canada meilleur. Nous allégeons encore le fardeau fiscal des Canadiennes et des Canadiens et nous ouvrons une nouvelle ère pour la fiscalité des entreprises au Canada, tout en réduisant davantage la dette fédérale.

Le présent énoncé économique prévoit des allégements fiscaux de portée générale totalisant 60 milliards de dollars pour l'exercice en cours et les cinq suivants. Ces mesures portent à près de 190 milliards de dollars, pour la même période, le total des allégements fiscaux instaurés par notre gouvernement depuis son entrée au pouvoir.

Le Canada, meilleur pays au monde, est une nation au potentiel énorme, bâtie grâce à l'imagination et au dévouement de Canadiennes et de Canadiens ordinaires. Les Canadiens s'attendent à ce que leur gouvernement poursuive sur cette lancée en se fixant des objectifs clairs, en obtenant des résultats concrets, en étant responsable et en se souciant avant tout des Canadiens et de leur famille.

Points saillants

Évolution et perspectives économiques récentes

  • Malgré le ralentissement observé aux États-Unis, la croissance économique demeure forte au Canada. Le produit intérieur brut (PIB) réel a augmenté de 3,4 % au second trimestre de 2007, après avoir connu une hausse de 3,9 % au premier trimestre.
  • Les prévisionnistes du secteur privé s'attendent à ce que le PIB réel augmente de 2,5 % en 2007, de 2,4 % en 2008 et de 2,7 % en 2009.
  • La prévision du secteur privé pour la croissance en 2007 dépasse le taux de 2,3 % prévu au moment du budget de mars 2007. La croissance a dépassé les attentes au premier semestre, mais devrait y être inférieure au deuxième semestre.
  • De même, la prévision de l'inflation du PIB, qui était de 1,5 % au moment du budget, a fait l'objet d'une importante révision à la hausse et s'établit maintenant à 3,3 %.
  • Comme la croissance au premier semestre de 2007 et l'inflation du PIB ont dépassé les prévisions, on s'attend maintenant à ce que le PIB nominal - la mesure la plus large de l'assiette fiscale - dépasse en 2007 la prévision budgétaire de près de 1,9 %.
  • Toutefois, les risques à la baisse pour l'économie canadienne sont prépondérants.
  • L'affaiblissement marqué du marché du logement et le resserrement des conditions de crédit aux États-Unis rendent plus incertaines les perspectives économiques de ce pays.
  • Le dollar canadien a dépassé la parité avec le dollar américain pour la première fois en 30 ans, en raison notamment de la montée soutenue des prix des produits de base et de la faiblesse généralisée du dollar américain. Cela exerce une pression accrue sur notre secteur du commerce international.
  • Le gouvernement est résolu à tirer parti de sa position de force pour faire face à l'incertitude croissante à l'échelle mondiale.

Projections financières

  • La vigueur de l'économie au cours du premier semestre de 2007 a stimulé la croissance des revenus et renforcé la situation financière du gouvernement.
  • Le gouvernement utilise ces revenus additionnels pour baisser les impôts et réduire la dette.
  • Le gouvernement prévoit réduire la dette fédérale de 10 milliards de dollars pour l'exercice en cours. Au total, depuis 2005-2006, il l'aura réduite de plus de 37 milliards, allégeant le fardeau de la dette fédérale d'environ 1 570 $ par habitant. Le gouvernement prévoit toujours réduire la dette de 3 milliards en 2008-2009 et lors de chacun des exercices suivants.
  • Grâce à ces réductions, l'objectif de ramener le ratio de la dette au PIB sous la barre des 25 % sera atteint en 2011-2012, soit trois ans plus tôt que prévu. Le fardeau de la dette sera alors à son niveau le plus bas depuis la fin des années 1970.
  • L'allégement fiscal garanti du gouvernement fait en sorte que les économies de frais d'intérêt découlant de la réduction de la dette sont remises aux Canadiens sous forme de réductions de l'impôt sur le revenu des particuliers. Grâce aux réductions passées et prévues de la dette, l'allégement fiscal garanti atteindra 2,5 milliards de dollars par année en 2012-2013.
  • Dans le climat incertain de l'économie mondiale, la solide situation financière du gouvernement offre au Canada une possibilité dont peu de pays peuvent se prévaloir - celle d'instaurer des réductions d'impôt sans précédent qui rétabliront la confiance et encourageront l'investissement, tout en continuant d'enregistrer des excédents.
  • Les réductions d'impôt proposées dans le présent énoncé économique totalisent près de 60 milliards de dollars pour l'exercice en cours et les cinq suivants. Elles feront en sorte que le fardeau fiscal fédéral, mesuré par le total des revenus fédéraux en proportion de l'économie, baissera jusqu'à 15,1 % en 2011-2012, soit le ratio le plus faible en près de 50 ans.
  • Le gouvernement gère efficacement les dépenses au moyen du nouveau système de gestion des dépenses mis en place cette année. Il peut ainsi assurer l'optimisation des ressources et maintenir la croissance des charges de programmes, en moyenne, à un taux inférieur à celui de la croissance de l'économie.
  • Compte tenu des réductions de la dette et des baisses d'impôts et de taxes proposées dans le présent énoncé économique, l'excédent aux fins de planification atteint 1,6 milliard de dollars pour le présent exercice, 1,4 milliard pour l'exercice suivant et 1,3 milliard en 2009-2010. Il augmente ensuite, s'élevant à 4,5 milliards en 2010-2011, à 7,2 milliards en 2011-2012 et à 9,8 milliards en 2012-2013.

Des réductions d'impôt de portée générale pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens

Le gouvernement propose dans le présent énoncé économique des allégements fiscaux de portée générale totalisant près de 60 milliards de dollars pour les particuliers, les familles et les entreprises, dans l'exercice en cours et les cinq suivants. Jumelé aux allégements antérieurs accordés par le gouvernement, le montant des allégements fiscaux pour la même période s'élève à près de 190 milliards.

  • Afin d'accroître la productivité, l'emploi et la prospérité dans un monde incertain, une nouvelle initiative audacieuse de réduction d'impôt est lancée, laquelle ramènera à 15 % d'ici 2012 le taux général fédéral d'imposition du revenu des sociétés, qui se situe actuellement à 22,12 %. Le taux général d'imposition du revenu des sociétés diminuera ainsi de 7,12 points de pourcentage entre 2007 et 2012, conférant au Canada le plus faible fardeau fiscal global sur les nouveaux investissements des entreprises du Groupe des Sept (G7) d'ici 2011 et le taux d'imposition prévu par la loi le plus bas du G7 d'ici 2012.
  • Le gouvernement sollicite la collaboration des provinces et des territoires pour atteindre un taux combiné fédéral-provincial-territorial d'imposition du revenu des sociétés de 25 %, afin de faire du Canada un pays de choix pour les investissements.
  • Afin de soutenir les petites entreprises, la réduction du taux d'imposition des petites entreprises, qui devait passer à 11 % en 2009, sera devancée au 1er janvier 2008.
  • Le gouvernement s'acquittera de son engagement de réduire le taux de la taxe sur les produits et services (TPS) à 5 % en abaissant cette taxe d'un autre point de pourcentage le 1er janvier 2008.
  • Le crédit pour la TPS sera maintenu à son niveau actuel, même si le taux de la taxe est réduit. Le maintien du crédit à son niveau actuel, malgré que le taux de la TPS soit réduit de 7 % à 5 %, se traduit par des avantages fiscaux annuels de plus de 1,1 milliard de dollars pour les Canadiens à revenu faible ou modeste.
  • Le taux inférieur d'impôt sur le revenu des particuliers sera réduit de 15,5 % à 15 % en date du 1er janvier 2007.
  • Le montant que les Canadiens peuvent gagner sans payer d'impôt fédéral sur le revenu sera haussé à 9 600 $ pour 2007 et 2008, et à 10 100 $ pour 2009.
  • Au total, ces deux mesures se traduiront, pour l'année d'imposition 2007, par une réduction de l'impôt sur le revenu des particuliers de plus de 400 $ dans le cas d'une famille type de quatre personnes à deux revenus gagnant 80 000 $, et de près de 225 $ dans le cas d'un travailleur célibataire qui gagne 40 000 $.
  • Afin de rendre les entreprises encore plus concurrentielles, il est essentiel de réduire les taux de cotisation des employeurs et des employés à l'assurance-emploi. D'après le rapport de 2008 de l'actuaire en chef à la Commission d'assurance-emploi, le taux d'équilibre en 2008 diminuera de 0,10 $ par 100 $ de rémunération assurable dans le cas des employeurs et de 0,07 $ pour les employés.
Table des matières  Suivant