- News Release 2005-078 -

Archived - Explanatory Notes
Relating to the Income Tax Act

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Published by
The Honourable Ralph Goodale P.C., M.P.,
Minister of Finance

November 2005

PDF Version - [45 KB]

To access a Portable Document Format (PDF) file you must have a PDF reader installed. If you do not already have such a reader, there are numerous PDF readers available for free download or for purchase on the Internet.

Preface

These explanatory notes describe proposed amendments to the Income Tax Act. These explanatory notes describe these amendments, clause by clause, for the assistance of Members of Parliament, taxpayers and their professional advisors.

The Honourable Ralph Goodale, P.C., M.P.,
Minister of Finance


These explanatory notes are provided to assist in an understanding of the proposed amendments to which they relate. These notes are intended for information purposes and should not be construed as an official interpretation of the provisions they describe.


Table of contents


Clause in Legislation Section of Act Topic

Income Tax Act
1 117  Tax rates applicable to individuals
2 118  Personal credits 
3 118  Bill C-67 co-ordinating amendment 


Explanatory Notes

Clause 1

Tax Rates Applicable to Individuals

ITA
117(2)

Subsection 117(2) of the Income Tax Act (the Act) provides the marginal tax rates of federal tax.

Subsection 117(2) is amended to reduce the lowest rate of personal income tax for the 2005 and subsequent taxation years from 16% to 15%. As a result, the "appropriate percentage" used in computing the individual's non-refundable personal tax credits and alternative minimum tax will also reflect the lowered rate.

Clause 2

Personal Credits

ITA
118 (3.1) to (3.3)

Section 118 of the Act provides for the calculation of various personal tax credits. These include the basic personal credit, the credit in respect of a spouse or common-law partner and the credit that a single individual can claim for a wholly dependent relative. These credits are calculated by reference to 15% of the amount used in section 118 to compute the particular credit.

Subsection 118(3.1) provides, in addition to the annual increases provided under the indexing provisions, for annual increases to the amount used to compute an individual's basic personal credit, for 2006 to 2009, inclusive. Subsection 118(3.1) is amended to bring forward $300 of the increases otherwise scheduled to take in effect for each of 2008 and 2009 and to instead apply those amounts to provide for a $500 increase for 2005 and an additional $100 increase, beyond that currently provided by subsection 118(3.1), for 2006.

Subsection 118(3.2) provides, in addition to the annual increases provided under the indexing provisions, for annual increases to the amount used to compute the credit in respect of a spouse or common-law partner and the credit that a single individual can claim for a wholly dependent relative, for 2006 to 2009, inclusive. Subsection 118(3.2) is amended to bring forward $255 of the increases otherwise scheduled to take in effect for each of 2008 and 2009 and to instead apply those amounts to provide for a $425 increase for 2005 and an additional $85 increase, beyond that currently provided by subsection 118(3.2), for 2006.

Subsection 118(3.3) provides, in addition to the annual increases provided under the indexing provisions, for annual increases to the amount used to compute the net income threshold for the credit in respect of a spouse or common-law partner and the credit that a single individual can claim for a wholly dependent relative, for 2006 to 2009, inclusive. Subsection 118(3.3) is amended to bring forward $25.50 of the increases otherwise scheduled to take in effect for each of 2008 and 2009 and to instead apply those amounts to provide for a $42.50 increase for 2005 and an additional $8.50 increase, beyond that currently provided by subsection 118(3.3), for 2006.

ITA
118(9)

New subsection 118(9) of the Act provides for the rounding of amounts to be used in computing the increases described in subsections 118(3.1) to (3.3) of that Act.

These amendments apply to the 2005 and subsequent taxation years.

Clause 3

Bill C-67 Co-ordinating Amendment

ITA
118

This clause concerns provisions of the Income Tax Act that are being amended by both this Act and the Unanticipated Surpluses Act. This clause ensures that on the coming into force of subsections 6(1) and (2) of the Unanticipated Surpluses Act, subsections 118(3.1), (3.2) and (3.3) and 118(9) of the Income Tax Act are amended to reflect the amendments described above and the amendments to subsections 118(9) and (10) under subsection 6(2) of the Unanticipated Surpluses Act.

- News Release 2005-078 -

- Communiqué 2005-078 -

Archivé - Notes explicatives
concernant la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Publiées par
le ministre des Finances
l'honorable Ralph Goodale, c.p., député

Novembre 2005

Version PDF - [42 ko]

Pour consulter un fichier PDF (format de document portable), votre ordinateur doit avoir un lecteur PDF. Si vous n'en avez pas déjà un, il existe de nombreux lecteurs PDF que vous pouvez télécharger gratuitement ou acheter dans Internet.

Préface

Les présentes notes explicatives portent sur les modifications qu'il est proposé d'apporter à la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu. Elles donnent une explication détaillée de chacune des modifications à l'intention des parlementaires, des contribuables et de leurs conseillers professionnels.

L'honorable Ralph Goodale, c.p., député
Ministre des Finances


Les présentes notes explicatives ont pour but de faciliter la compréhension des modifications proposées à la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu. Elles ne sont publiées qu'à titre d'information et ne constituent pas l'interprétation officielle des dispositions qui y sont résumées.


Table des matières


Article du projet de loi Article de la loi Sujet

Impôt sur le revenu
1 117  Taux d'imposition des particuliers
2 118  Crédits personnels 
3 118  Dispositions de coordination - projet de loi C-67


Notes explicatives concernant la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu

Article 1

Taux d'imposition des particuliers

LIR
117(2)

Le paragraphe 117(2) de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (la loi) prévoit les taux marginaux d'impôt fédéral.

La modification apportée à ce paragraphe consiste à ramener de 16 % à 15 % le taux le plus faible d'impôt sur le revenu des particuliers pour les années d'imposition 2005 et suivantes. Ce taux de 15 % deviendra le « taux de base pour l'année » qui entre dans le calcul des crédits d'impôt personnels non remboursables et de l'impôt minimum de remplacement des particuliers.

Article 2

Crédits personnels

LIR
118(3.1) à (3.3)

L'article 118 de la loi permet de calculer divers crédits d'impôt personnels, notamment le crédit personnel de base, le crédit pour époux ou conjoint de fait et le crédit qu'une personne seule peut demander à l'égard d'un proche entièrement à sa charge. Le montant de chacun de ces crédits correspond à 15 % de la somme qui entre dans le calcul des crédits selon l'article 118.

Le paragraphe 118(3.1) prévoit, outre la majoration annuelle découlant de l'indexation, la hausse annuelle de la somme qui entre dans le calcul du crédit personnel de base d'un particulier pour les années 2006 à 2009 inclusivement. La modification apportée à ce paragraphe consiste à amputer de 300 $ chacune des hausses devant prendre effet en 2008 et 2009 et à appliquer cette somme aux années 2005 et 2006. Cela permet de hausser de 500 $ le crédit prévu pour 2005 et de majorer de 100 $ la hausse prévue pour 2006 selon le paragraphe 118(3.1).

Le paragraphe 118(3.2) prévoit, outre la majoration annuelle découlant de l'indexation, la hausse annuelle de la somme qui entre dans le calcul du crédit pour époux ou conjoint de fait et du crédit qu'une personne seule peut demander à l'égard d'un proche entièrement à sa charge, pour les années 2006 à 2009 inclusivement. La modification apportée à ce paragraphe consiste à amputer de 255 $ chacune des hausses devant prendre effet en 2008 et 2009 et à appliquer cette somme aux années 2005 et 2006. Cela permet de hausser de 425 $ le crédit prévu pour 2005 et de majorer de 85 $ la hausse prévue pour 2006 selon le paragraphe 118(3.2).

Le paragraphe 118(3.3) prévoit, outre la majoration annuelle découlant de l'indexation, la hausse annuelle de la somme qui entre dans le calcul du seuil de revenu net applicable au crédit pour époux ou conjoint de fait et au crédit qu'une personne seule peut demander à l'égard d'un proche entièrement à sa charge, pour les années 2006 à 2009 inclusivement. La modification apportée à ce paragraphe consiste à amputer de 25,50 $ chacune des hausses devant prendre effet en 2008 et 2009 et à appliquer cette somme aux années 2005 et 2006. Cela permet de hausser de 42,50 $ le seuil de revenu net prévu pour 2005 et de majorer de 8,50 $ la hausse prévue pour 2006 selon le paragraphe 118(3.3).

ITA
118(9)

Le nouveau paragraphe 118(9) de la loi porte sur l'arrondissement des sommes qui entrent dans le calcul des hausses prévues aux paragraphes 118(3.1) à (3.3) de la loi.

Ces modifications s'appliquent aux années d'imposition 2005 et suivantes.

Article 3

Dispositions de coordination - projet de loi C-67

LIR
118

Cet article porte sur des dispositions de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu qui sont modifiées à la fois par la loi qui fait l'objet des présentes notes et par la Loi sur les excédents budgétaires imprévus. Il garantit que, à l'entrée en vigueur des paragraphes 6(1) et (2) de cette dernière loi, le libellé des paragraphes 118(3.1), (3.2), (3.3) et (9) de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu reflètera les modifications exposées ci-dessus ainsi que les modifications apportées aux paragraphes 118(9) et (10) par le paragraphe 6(2) de la Loi sur les excédents budgétaires imprévus.

- Communiqué 2005-078 -