- News Release 2005-080 -

Archived - Notice of Ways and Means Motion to Amend the Income Tax Act

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Notice to the reader:

The text in this document is an exact copy of the text found in the PDF version. However, the software used to produce this version cannot fully reproduce the underlining and sidebar features found in the other formats. These formats of the document can be found by clicking on the following link:

PDF Version - [32 KB]

To access a Portable Document Format (PDF) file you must have a PDF reader installed. If you do not already have such a reader, there are numerous PDF readers available for free download or for purchase on the Internet.

That it is expedient to amend the Income Tax Act in accordance with the following proposals:

  1. (1) The Income Tax Act is amended by adding the following after section 143.2:

Expenditures

Definitions

  143.3(1) The definitions in this subsection apply in this section.

"expenditure"

"expenditure" of a taxpayer means an expense, expenditure or outlay made or incurred by the taxpayer, or a cost or capital cost of property acquired by the taxpayer.

"option"

"option" means an option, warrant or similar right, issued or granted by a taxpayer, giving the holder the right to acquire an interest in the taxpayer or in another taxpayer with whom the taxpayer does not, at the time the option, warrant or similar right is issued or granted, deal at arm's length.

"taxpayer"

"taxpayer" includes a partnership.

Options - limitation

  (2) In computing a taxpayer's income, taxable income or tax payable or an amount considered to have been paid on account of the taxpayer's tax payable, an expenditure of the taxpayer is deemed not to include any portion of the expenditure that would - if this Act were read without reference to this subsection - be included in determining the expenditure because of the taxpayer having granted or issued an option on or after Announcement Day.

Shares - limitation

  (3) In computing a corporation's income, taxable income or tax payable or an amount considered to have been paid on account of the corporation's tax payable, an expenditure of the corporation that would - if this Act were read without reference to this subsection - include an amount because of the corporation, or another corporation not dealing at arm's length with the corporation, having issued a share of its capital stock at any particular time on or after Announcement Day is reduced by

(a) if the issuance of the share is not a consequence of the exercise of an option, the amount, if any, by which

(i) the fair market value of the share at the particular time

exceeds

(ii) that portion of the amount of the consideration that the issuing corporation has received for issuing the share that is added to, and not deducted because of a provision of this Act from, the paid-up capital of the class of shares that includes the share; and

(b) if the issuance of the share is a consequence of the exercise of an option, the amount, if any, by which

(i) the fair market value of the share at the particular time

exceeds

(ii) that portion of the amount paid, pursuant to the terms of the option, by the holder to the issuing corporation for issuing the share, that is added to, and not deducted because of a provision of this Act from, the paid-up capital of the class of shares that includes the share.

Other interests - limitation

  (4) In computing a taxpayer's (other than a corporation's) income, taxable income or tax payable or an amount considered to have been paid on account of the taxpayer's tax payable, an expenditure of the taxpayer that would - if this Act were read without reference to this subsection - include an amount because of the taxpayer, or another taxpayer not dealing at arm's length with the taxpayer, having issued an interest in itself at any particular time on or after Announcement Day is reduced by

(a) if the issuance of the interest is not a consequence of the exercise of an option, the amount, if any, by which

(i) the fair market value of the interest at the particular time

exceeds

(ii) the amount of the consideration that the issuing taxpayer has received for issuing the interest; and

(b) if the issuance of the interest is a consequence of the exercise of an option, the amount, if any, by which

(i) the fair market value of the interest at the particular time

exceeds

(ii) the amount paid, pursuant to the terms of the option, by the holder to the issuing taxpayer for issuing the interest.

Clarification

  (5) For greater certainty, subsections (3) and (4) do not apply to reduce an expenditure if the expenditure does not include an amount determined to be an excess under subsection (3), or under subsection (4).

  (2) Subsection (1) applies on and after Announcement Day.

  2. (1) Section 220 of the Income Tax Act is amended by adding the following after subsection 220(2.1):

Exception

  (2.2) Subsection (2.1) does not apply in respect of a prescribed form, receipt or document, or prescribed information, that is filed with the Minister on or after the day specified, in respect of the form, receipt, document or information, in subsection 37(11) or paragraph (m) of the definition "investment tax credit" in subsection 127(9).

  (2) Subsection (1) applies in respect of a prescribed form, receipt and document, and prescribed information, filed with the Minister of National Revenue on or after Announcement Day other than a prescribed form, receipt or document, or prescribed information, in respect of which the Minister of National Revenue has received, before Announcement Day, a request made in writing with the Minister that the Minister waive the filing requirements in subsection 37(11) and paragraph (m) of the definition "investment tax credit" in subsection 127(9) that apply, but for any waiver, to the expenditures to which the prescribed form, receipt or document, or prescribed information, relates.


Explanatory Notes 

Clause 1

Expenditure

ITA
143.3

New section 143.3 of the Act reduces, if applicable, the amount of a taxpayer's expenditure by certain amounts for the purposes of computing the taxpayer's income, taxable income and tax payable or an amount considered to have been paid on account of the taxpayer's tax payable.

Definitions

ITA
143.3(1)

New subsection 143.3(1) of the Act provides definitions that apply for the purposes of section 143.3. Those definitions are:

"expenditure" of a taxpayer, which means an expense, expenditure or outlay made or incurred by the taxpayer, or that is a cost or capital cost of property acquired by the taxpayer.

"option", which means an option, warrant or similar right, issued or granted by the taxpayer, giving the holder the right to acquire an interest in the taxpayer or in another taxpayer with which the taxpayer does not, at the time the option, warrant or similar right is issued or granted, deal at arm's length.

"taxpayer", which is defined to include a partnership.

Options - limitation

ITA
143.3(2)

New subsection 143.3(2) of the Act provides that, in computing a taxpayer's income, taxable income or tax payable or an amount considered to have been paid on account of the taxpayer's tax payable, an expenditure of the taxpayer is deemed not to include any portion of the expenditure that would - if the Act were read without reference to subsection 143.3(2) - be included in determining the expenditure because of the taxpayer having granted or issued an option on or after Announcement Day. In essence, the value of an option granted by a taxpayer is not considered to be an expenditure for income tax purposes.

Shares - limitation

ITA
143.3(3)

New subsection 143.3(3) of the Act provides for two reductions that apply to an expenditure that would - if the Act were read without reference to subsection 143.3(3) - include an amount because of a corporation (or another corporation not dealing at arm's length with the corporation) having issued a share of its capital stock at any particular time on or after Announcement Day. The reductions apply to the corporation in computing its income, taxable income or tax payable or an amount considered to have been paid on account of the corporation's tax payable.

New paragraph 143.3(3)(a) applies on the issuance of the share (other than on the exercise of an option). Generally, the corporation is to reduce the related expenditure by the amount, if any, by which

(i) the fair market value of the share

exceeds

(ii) that portion of the amount of the consideration that the issuing corporation has received for issuing the share that is added to, and not deducted because of a provision of the Act from, the paid-up capital of the class of shares that includes the share.

In addition, under new paragraph 143.3(3)(b), if the issuance of the share is a consequence of the exercise of an option, generally the corporation is to reduce the related expenditure by the amount, if any, by which

(i) the fair market value of the share

exceeds

(ii) that portion of the amount paid, pursuant to the terms of the option, by the holder to the issuing corporation for issuing the share, that is added to, and not deducted because of a provision of the Act from, the paid-up capital of the class of shares that includes the share.

EXAMPLE

Facts

In fiscal 2006, Corporation X grants an option to Y in return for $1,000 worth of paintings by a little-known Canadian artist. Corporation X does not give cash or any other consideration for the paintings. The option gives Y the right to acquire one share of Corporation X for $10,000 in 2007. (At the time the option is granted one share of Corporation X has a fair market value of $10,000.)

In 2007, Y exercises the option and pays Corporation X $10,000 cash for the share. The share has a fair market value of $15,000 at the time of issue.

Corporation X files its 2007 income tax return on the basis that the cost of the paintings is $5,000, representing the difference between the fair market value of the share when it was issued and the cash paid by Y for the share.

Application of section 143.3

1. On granting the option:

2. On the exercise of the option:

  • $15,000 (the fair market value of the share - see subparagraph (b)(i))

exceeds

  • $10,000 (the amount paid for the share - see subparagraph (b)(ii).

However, and as noted in the explanatory note accompanying new subsection 143.3(5), the reductions provided for under subsections 143.3(3) and (4) do not apply to reduce an expenditure if the expenditure itself does not include an amount determined to be excesses described in those subsections.

Other interests - limitation

ITA
143.3(4)

New subsection 143.3(4) of the Act provides for two reductions that apply to a non-corporate taxpayer's expenditure that would - if the Act were read without reference to subsection 143.3(4) - include an amount because the taxpayer (or another taxpayer not dealing at arm's length with the taxpayer) issues an interest in itself at any particular time on or after Announcement Day. The reductions apply to the taxpayer in computing its income, taxable income or tax payable or an amount considered to have been paid on account of the taxpayer's tax payable.

In general terms, under new paragraph 143.3(4)(a), if the issuance of the interest in a taxpayer is a consequence of the exercise of an option, the taxpayer is to reduce the expenditure by the amount, if any, by which

(i) the fair market value of the interest

exceeds

(ii) the amount of the consideration that the issuing taxpayer has received for issuing the interest.

In addition, under new paragraph 143.3(4)(b), if the issuance of the interest is a consequence of the exercise of an option, the taxpayer is to reduce the expenditure by the amount, if any, by which

(i) the fair market value of the interest

exceeds

(ii) the amount paid, pursuant to the terms of the option, by the holder to the issuing taxpayer for issuing the interest.

However, and as noted in the explanatory note accompanying new subsection 143.3(5), the reductions provided for under subsections 143.3(3) and (4) do not apply to reduce an expenditure if the expenditure itself does not include an amount determined to be excesses described in those subsections.

Clarification

ITA
143.3(5)

New subsection 143.3(5) of the Act clarifies that the amounts of reductions provided for in subsections (3) and (4) do not apply to reduce an expenditure if the expenditure did not include such amount as are described in those subsections.

Subsection 143.3(5) recognizes that the jurisprudence that would recognize an expenditure of the type reduced by subsections (3) and (4) currently applies only to scientific research and experimental development (SR&ED) tax credits, and is limited to a single decision of the Tax Court of Canada. It may very well transpire that future jurisprudence may constrain or eliminate any such expenditure that may be considered to arise in these circumstances.

Clause 2

ITA
220

Section 220 of the Act sets out a number of rules relating to the administration and enforcement of the Act.

ITA
220(2.1) and 220(2.2)

Under subsection 220(2.1) of the Act, if a provision of the Act or the regulations requires a person to file a prescribed form, receipt or other document, or to provide prescribed information, the Minister may waive the requirement, but the document or information shall be provided at the Minister's request.

New subsection 220(2.2) provides that subsection 220(2.1) does not extend to a prescribed form, receipt, document or information, or prescribed information, that is filed on or after the day specified - in respect of the form, receipt, document or information - in subsection 37(11) or paragraph (m) of the definition "investment tax credit" in subsection 127(9). Those provisions provide, in general, that a taxpayer's claim and prescribed form must be received by the Minister no later than 12 months after the taxpayer's filing-due date for the taxation year in which the expenditures were made.

The effect of new subsection 220(2.2) is that a person cannot deduct a scientific research and experimental development (SR&ED) expenditure under section 37, or claim an investment tax credit in respect of an expenditure, if the person takes more than the additional 12 months allowed to make a claim with the Minister.

In general, new subsection 220(2.2) applies on and after Announcment Day.

- News Release 2005-080 -

- Communiqué 2005-080 - 

Archivé - Avis de motion de voies et moyens visant à modifier la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.


Avis au lecteur : 

Le présent document reproduit fidèlement le texte contenu dans la version PDF. Toutefois, le logiciel utilisé pour produire la présente version ne permet pas de reproduire intégralement les soulignements et les traits verticaux qui se retrouvent dans les autres formats. On peut trouver les autres formats en cliquant sur le lien suivant :

Version PDF - [33 ko]

Pour consulter un fichier PDF (format de document portable), votre ordinateur doit avoir un lecteur PDF. Si vous n'en avez pas déjà un, il existe de nombreux lecteurs PDF que vous pouvez télécharger gratuitement ou acheter dans Internet.

Il y a lieu de modifier comme suit la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu :

  1. (1)  La Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu est modifiée par adjonction, après l'article 143.2, de ce qui suit :

Dépenses

Définitions

  143.3  (1)  Les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent au présent article.

« contribuable »
"taxpayer"

« contribuable » Sont assimilées aux contribuables les sociétés de personnes.

« dépense »
"expenditure"

« dépense » Dépense effectuée ou engagée par un contribuable, ou coût ou coût en capital d'un bien qu'il a acquis.

« option »
"option"

« option » Option, bon de souscription ou droit semblable, émis ou consenti par un contribuable et conférant au détenteur le droit d'acquérir une participation dans le contribuable ou dans un autre contribuable avec lequel celui-ci a un lien de dépendance au moment où l'option, le bon ou le droit est émis ou consenti.

Options - restriction

  (2)  Pour le calcul du revenu, du revenu imposable ou de l'impôt à payer d'un contribuable, ou d'une somme considérée comme payée au titre de son impôt à payer, la dépense du contribuable est réputée ne comprendre nulle partie de celle-ci qui, en l'absence du présent paragraphe, entrerait dans le calcul de la dépense du fait que le contribuable a émis ou consenti une option À LA DATE DE PUBLICATION ou par la suite.

Actions - restriction

  (3)  Pour le calcul du revenu, du revenu imposable ou de l'impôt à payer d'une société, ou d'une somme considérée comme payée au titre de son impôt à payer, la dépense de la société qui, en l'absence du présent paragraphe, comprendrait une somme du fait que la société, ou une autre société avec laquelle celle-ci a un lien de dépendance, a émis une action de son capital-actions À LA DATE DE PUBLICATION ou par la suite est réduite de la somme applicable suivante :

a)  si l'émission de l'action ne fait pas suite à l'exercice d'une option, l'excédent éventuel de la somme visée au sous-alinéa (i) sur la somme visée au sous-alinéa (ii) :

(i)  la juste valeur marchande de l'action au moment de son émission,

(ii)  la partie de la somme que la société émettrice a reçue en contrepartie de l'émission de l'action qui est ajoutée au capital versé au titre de la catégorie d'actions qui comprend l'action en cause, et n'en est pas déduite par l'effet d'une disposition de la présente loi;

b)  si l'émission de l'action fait suite à l'exercice d'une option, l'excédent éventuel de la somme visée au sous-alinéa (i) sur la somme visée au sous-alinéa (ii) :

(i)  la juste valeur marchande de l'action au moment de son émission,

(ii)  la partie de la somme payée par le détenteur à la société émettrice, conformément aux conditions de l'option, pour l'émission de l'action qui est ajoutée au capital versé au titre de la catégorie d'actions qui comprend l'action en cause, mais qui n'en est pas déduite par l'effet d'une disposition de la présente loi.

Autres participations - restriction

  (4)  Pour le calcul du revenu, du revenu imposable ou de l'impôt à payer d'un contribuable, à l'exception d'une société, ou d'une somme considérée comme payée au titre de son impôt à payer, la dépense du contribuable qui, en l'absence du présent paragraphe, comprendrait une somme du fait que le contribuable, ou un autre contribuable avec lequel celui-ci a un lien de dépendance, a émis une de ses propres participations À LA DATE DE PUBLICATION ou par la suite est réduite de la somme applicable suivante :

a)  si l'émission de la participation ne fait pas suite à l'exercice d'une option, l'excédent éventuel de la somme visée au sous-alinéa (i) sur la somme visée au sous-alinéa (ii) :

(i)  la juste valeur marchande de la participation au moment de son émission,

(ii)  la somme que le contribuable émetteur a reçue en contrepartie de l'émission de la participation;

b)  si l'émission de la participation fait suite à l'exercice d'une option, l'excédent éventuel de la somme visée au sous-alinéa (i) sur la somme visée au sous-alinéa (ii) :

(i)  la juste valeur marchande de la participation au moment de son émission,

(ii)  la somme que le détenteur a versée au contribuable émetteur, conformément aux conditions de l'option, pour l'émission de la participation.

Précision

  (5)  Il est entendu que les paragraphes (3) et (4) n'ont pas pour effet de réduire les dépenses qui ne comportent pas de sommes correspondant aux excédents visés à ces paragraphes.

  (2)  Le paragraphe (1) s'applique à compter de la DATE DE PUBLICATION.

   2.  (1)  L'article 220 de la même loi est modifié par adjonction, après le paragraphe (2.1), de ce qui suit :

Exception

  (2.2)  Le paragraphe (2.1) ne s'applique pas au formulaire prescrit, au reçu ou au document, ni aux renseignements prescrits, qui sont présentés au ministre à l'expiration du délai fixé au paragraphe 37(11) ou à l'alinéa m) de la définition de « crédit d'impôt à l'investissement » au paragraphe 127(9), ou par la suite, relativement aux formulaire, reçu, document ou renseignements.

  (2)  Le paragraphe (1) s'applique relativement aux formulaires prescrits, reçus et documents, et aux renseignements prescrits, présentés au ministre du Revenu national À LA DATE DE PUBLICATION ou par la suite, sauf s'il s'agit d'un formulaire prescrit, d'un reçu ou d'un document, ou de renseignements prescrits, relativement auxquels le ministre a reçu, avant cette date, une demande écrite le priant de renoncer aux exigences de production prévues au paragraphe 37(11) et à l'alinéa m) de la définition de « crédit d'impôt à l'investissement » au paragraphe 127(9), qui s'appliqueraient, en l'absence de la renonciation, aux dépenses auxquelles le formulaire prescrit, le reçu ou le document, ou les renseignements prescrits, se rapportent.


Notes explicatives 

Article 1

Dépenses

LIR
143.3

Par l'effet du nouvel article 143.3 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (la loi), certaines sommes sont appliquées en réduction de la dépense d'un contribuable, s'il y a lieu, en vue du calcul de son revenu, revenu imposable et impôt à payer, ou d'une somme considérée comme payée au titre de son impôt à payer.

Définitions

LIR
143.3(1)

Le nouveau paragraphe 143.3(1) de la loi définit certains termes pour l'application de l'article 143.3.

« contribuable »

La définition précise que les sociétés de personnes sont assimilées aux contribuables.

« dépense »

Le terme « dépense » s'entend d'une dépense effectuée ou engagée par un contribuable, ou du coût ou du coût en capital d'un bien qu'il a acquis.

« option »

Il s'agit d'une option, d'un bon de souscription ou d'un droit semblable, émis ou consenti par un contribuable, qui confère au détenteur le droit d'acquérir une participation dans le contribuable

ou dans un autre contribuable avec lequel celui-ci a un lien de dépendance au moment où l'option, le bon ou le droit est émis ou consenti.

Options - restriction

LIR
143.3(2)

Le nouveau paragraphe 143.3(2) de la loi prévoit que, pour le calcul du revenu, du revenu imposable ou de l'impôt à payer d'un contribuable, ou d'une somme considérée comme payée au titre de son impôt à payer, la dépense du contribuable est réputée ne comprendre nulle partie de celle-ci qui, en l'absence du paragraphe 143.3(2), entrerait dans le calcul de la dépense du fait que le contribuable a émis ou consenti une option à la date de publication ou par la suite. En d'autres termes, la valeur d'une option consentie par un contribuable n'est pas considérée comme une dépense pour les fins de l'impôt sur le revenu.

Actions - restriction

LIR
143.3(3)

Selon le nouveau paragraphe 143.3(3) de la loi, la dépense qui, en l'absence de ce paragraphe, comprendrait une somme du fait qu'une société, ou une autre société avec laquelle celle-ci a un lien de dépendance, a émis une action de son capital-actions à la date de publication ou par la suite fait l'objet de deux réductions, que la société applique dans le calcul de son revenu, revenu imposable ou impôt à payer ou dans le calcul d'une somme considérée comme payée au titre de son impôt à payer.

Le nouvel alinéa 143.3(3)a) s'applique au moment de l'émission de l'action (sauf si elle est émise par suite de l'exercice d'une option). De façon générale, la société doit appliquer en réduction de la dépense en cause l'excédent éventuel de la somme visée au sous-alinéa (i) sur la somme visée au sous-alinéa (ii) :

(i) la juste valeur marchande de l'action;

(ii) la partie de la somme que la société émettrice a reçue en contrepartie de l'émission de l'action qui est ajoutée au capital versé au titre de la catégorie d'actions qui comprend l'action, et n'en est pas déduite par l'effet d'une disposition de la loi.

Si l'émission de l'action fait suite à l'exercice d'une option, le nouvel alinéa 143.3(3)b) prévoit, de façon générale, que la société doit appliquer en réduction de la dépense en cause l'excédent éventuel de la somme visée au sous-alinéa (i) sur la somme visée au sous-alinéa (ii) :

(i) la juste valeur marchande de l'action;

(ii) la partie de la somme payée par le détenteur à la société émettrice, conformément aux conditions de l'option, pour l'émission de l'action, qui est ajoutée au capital versé au titre de la catégorie d'actions qui comprend l'action en cause, mais qui n'en est pas déduite par l'effet d'une disposition de la loi.

Exemple

Faits :

En 2006, Société X consent une option à Y en échange de tableaux d'un peintre canadien peu connu d'une valeur de 1 000 $. Elle ne donne pas d'espèces ni d'autres biens en contrepartie des tableaux. L'option confère à Y le droit d'acquérir une action de Société X pour la somme de 10 000 $ en 2007. (Au moment où l'option est consentie, la juste valeur marchande d'une action de Société X s'établit à 10 000 $.)

En 2007, Y exerce l'option et verse 10 000 $ en espèces à Société X en paiement de l'action. La juste valeur marchande de l'action s'établit à 15 000 $ au moment de son émission.

Dans la déclaration d'impôt sur le revenu qu'elle produit pour 2007, Société X fixe le coût des tableaux à 5 000 $, ce qui représente la différence entre la juste valeur marchande de l'action au moment de son émission et la somme versée par Y pour l'action.

Application de l'article 143.3 :

1. Au moment de l'octroi de l'option :

2. Au moment de l'exercice de l'option :

Il est à noter que les réductions prévues aux paragraphes 143.3(3) et (4) ne sont pas opérées si la dépense proprement dite ne comporte pas une somme correspondant à l'un ou l'autre des excédents visés à ces paragraphes. Pour plus de détails, voir les notes concernant le nouveau paragraphe 143.3(5).

Autres participations - restriction

LIR
143.3(4)

Selon le nouveau paragraphe 143.3(4) de la loi, la dépense d'un contribuable autre qu'une société qui, en l'absence de ce paragraphe, comprendrait une somme du fait que le contribuable, ou un autre contribuable avec lequel il a un lien de dépendance, a émis une de ses propres participations à la date de publication ou par la suite fait l'objet de deux réductions, que le contribuable applique dans le calcul de son revenu, revenu imposable ou impôt à payer ou dans le calcul d'une somme considérée comme payée au titre de son impôt à payer.

Si l'émission de la participation fait suite à l'exercice d'une option, le nouvel alinéa 143.3(4)a) prévoit, de façon générale, que le contribuable doit appliquer en réduction de la dépense en cause l'excédent éventuel de la somme visée au sous-alinéa (i) sur la somme visée au sous-alinéa (ii) :

(i) la juste valeur marchande de la participation;

(ii) la somme que le contribuable émetteur a reçue en contrepartie de l'émission de la participation.

Si l'émission de la participation fait suite à l'exercice d'une option, le nouvel alinéa 143.3(4)b) prévoit que le contribuable doit appliquer en réduction de la dépense en cause l'excédent éventuel de la somme visée au sous-alinéa (i) sur la somme visée au sous-alinéa (ii) :

(i) la juste valeur marchande de la participation;

(ii) la somme que détenteur a versée au contribuable émetteur, conformément aux conditions de l'option, pour l'émission de la participation.

Il est à noter que les réductions prévues aux paragraphes 143.3(3) et (4) ne sont pas opérées si la dépense proprement dite ne comporte pas une somme correspondant à l'un ou l'autre des excédents visés à ces paragraphes. Pour plus de détails, voir les notes concernant le nouveau paragraphe 143.3(5).

Précision

LIR
143.3(5)

Le nouveau paragraphe 143.3(5) de la loi précise qu'une dépense ne fait pas l'objet des réductions prévues aux paragraphes 143.3(3) et (4) si elle ne comporte pas de sommes correspondant aux excédents visés à ces paragraphes.

Le paragraphe 143.3(5) reconnaît que la jurisprudence qui pourrait s'appliquer à une dépense d'un type visé par les réductions prévues aux paragraphes 143.3(3) et (4) ne s'applique actuellement qu'aux crédits d'impôt pour recherche scientifique et développement expérimental et est limitée à une seule décision de la Cour canadienne de l'impôt. Il n'est pas exclu que des décisions futures des tribunaux aient pour effet de limiter ou d'éliminer toute dépense semblable qui pourrait se produire dans ces circonstances.

Article 2

Application et exécution

LIR
220

L'article 220 de la loi prévoit certaines règles concernant l'application et l'exécution de la loi.

LIR
220(2.1) et (2.2)

Selon le paragraphe 220(2.1) de la loi, le ministre du Revenu national peut renoncer à exiger qu'une personne produise un formulaire prescrit, un reçu ou un autre document, ou fournisse des renseignements prescrits, aux termes d'une disposition de la loi ou de son règlement. La personne est toutefois tenue de produire le document ou les renseignements à la demande du ministre.

Le nouveau paragraphe 220(2.2) prévoit que le paragraphe 220(2.1) ne s'applique pas aux formulaires prescrits, reçus, documents ou renseignements, ni aux renseignements prescrits, qui sont produits à l'expiration du délai fixé au paragraphe 37(11) ou à l'alinéa m) de la définition de « crédit d'impôt à l'investissement » au paragraphe 127(9), ou par la suite, relativement aux formulaires, reçus, documents ou renseignements en cause. Ces dernières dispositions prévoient, de façon générale, que la demande et le formulaire prescrit du contribuable doivent parvenir au ministre au plus tard douze mois après la date d'échéance de production qui est applicable au contribuable pour l'année d'imposition au cours de laquelle la dépense est effectuée.

Par l'effet du paragraphe 220(2.2), la personne qui n'en fait pas la demande au ministre dans le délai additionnel de douze mois qui lui est accordé ne pourra déduire une dépense pour recherche scientifique et développement expérimental en vertu de l'article 37 ni demander un crédit d'impôt à l'investissement au titre d'une dépense.

De façon générale, le nouveau paragraphe 220(2.2) s'applique à compter de la date de publication.

- Communiqué 2005-080 -