- News Release 2008-038 -

Archived - Explanatory Notes

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Related Documents:


Income Tax Act

Clause 1

Rules governing international medical charities

ITA
110.1(9)

Section 110.1 of the Act provides for the deductibility, in computing the income of a corporation, of charitable donations and certain other gifts. New subsection 110.1(9) of the Act applies for the purpose of an "eligible medical gift" made by a corporation on or after July 1, 2008 and described in subsection 110.1(8) of the Act, in respect of an opinion made by the Minister for International Cooperation that the donee meets conditions prescribed by regulation.

Paragraph 110.1(9)(a) is introduced concurrently with the introduction of the conditions prescribed by new section 3505 of the Income Tax Regulations. Paragraph 110.1(9)(a) clarifies that nothing in paragraph 110.1(8)(b) modifies the application to a registered charity of those prescribed conditions. In particular, those prescribed conditions make reference to the requirements of the inter-agency Guidelines for Drug Donations issued by the World Health Organization ("WHO Guidelines"). The WHO Guidelines specify that donated drugs generally should have a remaining shelf-life of 12 months upon arrival in a recipient country. The application of those prescribed conditions is not modified by the reference to a six-month period in paragraph 110.1(8)(b) of the Act, which is an absolute period applicable to any eligible medical gift under subsection 110.1(8).

New paragraph 110.1(9)(b) allows that Minister to designate a period of time for which such an opinion will be valid, and to revoke an opinion previously given in respect of a registered charity if the registered charity no longer meets the prescribed conditions or any person has made any misrepresentation that is attributable to neglect, carelessness or wilful default for the purpose of obtaining that Minister’s opinion.

New paragraph 110.1(9)(c) provides that the revocation of an opinion is effective as of the time that notice in writing is issued to the registered charity.

Clause 2

Information may be communicated

ITA
149.1(15)

Subsection 149.1(15) of the Act authorizes the Minister of National Revenue to communicate certain information in respect of charities, such as the prescribed information that is required to be contained in the information return for a taxation year that is mandated under subsection 149.1(14).

New paragraph 149.1(15)(d) of the Act is added concurrently with the introduction of prescribed conditions, referred to in paragraph 110.1(8)(e) of the Act, in respect of a registered charity that receives gifts of medicines for which a deduction is available to a corporation under paragraph 110.1(1)(a.1) of the Act. Upon Royal Assent, new paragraph 149.1(15)(d) provides authority to the Minister of National Revenue or the Minister for International Cooperation to make available to the public a list of registered charities in respect of which an opinion has been formed under paragraph 110.1(8)(e) or revoked under subsection 110.1(9) of the Act.

Income Tax Regulations

Clause 3

Conditions

ITR
3505

New section 3505 of the Income Tax Regulations sets out conditions prescribed for the purpose of paragraph 110.1(8)(e) of the Act. That paragraph generally provides that, for the purpose of an "eligible medical gift" described in subsection 110.1(8) of the Act, the gift must be made to a donee that is a registered charity that, in the opinion of the Minister for International Cooperation, meets these prescribed conditions.

New subsection 3505(1) of the Regulations sets out the following general conditions:

New subsections 3505(2) and (3) of the Regulations provide for minimum criteria in respect of the conditions in subsection 3505(1). Subsection 3505(2) requires that the donee’s directors, trustees, officers or like officials approve a policy and procedural framework, under which the donee is required to act in a manner consistent with the WHO Guidelines, and that those officials declared that the donee is acting in compliance with that policy and procedural framework.

Subsection 3505(3) generally requires that the donee’s programs, for the delivery of medicines, international development assistance and international humanitarian assistance,

Subsection 3505(3) also requires, in the case of a program for international development assistance or international humanitarian assistance, that the donee have policies and practices with respect to monitoring, design and implementation of the program. Furthermore, in the application of the program to situations of international humanitarian crisis (resulting from either natural disaster or complex emergency), the donee must meet the requirements for eligibility to receive funding from the Humanitarian Assistance Programme of the Canadian International Development Agency, unless the donee has declared that it will not deliver medicines in such situations.

New subsection 3505(4) provides that the Minister for International Cooperation may rely on any information or evidence in making a determination under subsection 3505(1), and may require the donee to provide any other information or evidence that that Minister considers relevant and sufficient for the purpose of section 3505.

These amendments apply in respect of an application made by a donee for the purpose of the application of paragraph 110.1(8)(e) of the Act in respect of a gift made on or after July 1, 2008.

- Communiqué 2008-038 -

Archivé - Notes explicatives

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.


Document connexe :


Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu

Article 1

Règles applicables aux organismes d’aide médicale internationale

LIR
110.1(9)

Selon l’article 110.1 de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu (la loi), les dons de bienfaisance et certains autres dons sont déductibles dans le calcul du revenu des sociétés. Le nouveau paragraphe 110.1(9) de la loi s’applique lorsqu’une société fait, après juin 2008, un don de médicaments admissible visé au paragraphe 110.1(8) et que le ministre de la Coopération internationale est d’avis que le donataire remplit les conditions fixées par règlement.

L’ajout de l’alinéa 110.1(9)a) à la loi s’accompagne de l’ajout des conditions fixées par règlement qui sont énoncées au nouvel article 3505 du Règlement de l’impôt sur le revenu. Cet alinéa précise que l’alinéa 110.1(8)b) n’a pas pour effet de modifier l’application de ces conditions aux organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés. Ces conditions renvoient aux Principes directeurs interinstitutions applicables aux dons de médicaments publiés par l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (« Principes directeurs de l’OSM »). Or, selon ces principes, les médicaments qui font l’objet de dons doivent, en règle générale, avoir une durée de conservation d’au moins douze mois à leur arrivée dans le pays bénéficiaire. La mention à l’alinéa 110.1(8)b) de la loi d’une période de six mois, laquelle constitue une période absolue qui s’applique à tout don de médicaments admissible fait en vertu du paragraphe 110.1(8), est donc sans incidence sur l’application des conditions fixées par règlement.

Le nouvel alinéa 110.1(9)b) permet au ministre de la Coopération internationale de fixer la durée de validité de l’avis qu’il a émis selon l’alinéa 110.1(8)e) et de révoquer cet avis si l’organisme de bienfaisance enregistré à l’égard duquel il a été émis ne remplit plus les conditions fixées par règlement ou si une personne quelconque a fait une présentation erronée des faits par négligence, inattention ou omission volontaire en vue d’obtenir l’avis.

Le nouvel alinéa 110.1(9)c) prévoit que la révocation de l’avis entre en vigueur au moment où l’organisme de bienfaisance enregistré est informé de la révocation par écrit.

Article 2

Communication de renseignements

LIR
149.1(15)

Selon le paragraphe 149.1(15) de la loi, le ministre du Revenu national est autorisé à communiquer certains renseignements concernant les organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés, notamment les renseignements prescrits qui doivent figurer dans la déclaration de renseignements que ces organismes sont tenus de produire pour une année d’imposition aux termes du paragraphe 149.1(14).

L’ajout de l’alinéa 149.1(15)d) à la loi s’accompagne de l’ajout des conditions fixées par règlement, mentionnées à l’alinéa 110.1(8)e) de la loi, qui s’appliquent aux organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés qui reçoivent des dons de médicaments à l’égard desquels une société peut obtenir une déduction en application de l’alinéa 110.1(1)a.1) de la loi. Dès la sanction du nouvel alinéa 149.1(15)d) de la loi, le ministre du Revenu national ou le ministre de la Coopération internationale sera autorisé à mettre à la disposition du public la liste des organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés à l’égard desquels un avis a été émis pour l’application de l’alinéa 110.1(8)e) ou révoqué en vertu du paragraphe 110.1(9) de la loi.

Règlement de l’impôt sur le revenu

Article 3

Conditions

LIR
3505

Le nouvel article 3505 du Règlement de l’impôt sur le revenu (le règlement) prévoit les conditions qui sont fixées pour l’application de l’alinéa 110.1(8)e) de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu. Cet alinéa prévoit, de façon générale, que les dons de médicaments admissibles visés au paragraphe 110.1(8) de la loi doivent être faits à des donataires qui sont des organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés qui, de l’avis du ministre de la Coopération internationale, remplissent les conditions fixées par règlement.

Les conditions générales ci-après sont énoncées au nouveau paragraphe 3505(1) du règlement :

Les nouveaux paragraphes 3505(2) et (3) du règlement prévoient les critères minimaux applicables aux conditions énoncées au paragraphe 3505(1). Selon le paragraphe 3505(2), les administrateurs, fiduciaires, dirigeants ou autres responsables du donataire doivent, d’une part, approuver un cadre stratégique et méthodologique selon lequel le donataire est tenu d’agir de manière conforme aux Principes directeurs de l’OMS et, d’autre part, déclarer que le donataire agit en conformité avec ce cadre stratégique et méthodologique.

Le paragraphe 3505(3) prévoit, de façon générale, que les programmes de distribution de médicaments, d’aide au développement international et d’assistance humanitaire internationale du donataire doivent, à la fois :

Le paragraphe 3505(3) prévoit par ailleurs que, dans le cas d’un programme d’aide au développement international ou d’assistance humanitaire internationale, le donataire doit disposer de politiques et de pratiques en matière de conception, de mise en œuvre et de contrôle du programme. En outre, pour ce qui est de l’application du programme à des situations de crise humanitaire internationale (découlant d’un désastre naturel ou d’une situation d’urgence complexe), le donataire doit satisfaire aux critères d’admissibilité pour l’obtention de fonds du Programme d’assistance humanitaire de l’Agence canadienne de développement international, sauf s’il a déclaré qu’il ne livrerait pas de médicaments dans de telles situations.

Selon le nouveau paragraphe 3505(4), le ministre de la Coopération internationale peut se fonder sur tout renseignement ou élément de preuve pour rendre la décision mentionnée au paragraphe 3505(1) et peut exiger du donataire qu’il fournisse tout autre renseignement ou élément de preuve que ce ministre juge pertinent et suffisant pour l’application de l’article 3505.

Ces modifications s’appliquent relativement aux demandes de donataires présentées pour l’application de l’alinéa 110.1(8)e) de la loi à l’égard de dons faits après juin 2008.