Archived - Explanatory Notes

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

These explanatory notes are provided to assist in an understanding of the proposed amendments to the Excise Act, 2001 and the Excise Act. These notes are intended for information purposes only and should not be construed as an official interpretation of the provisions they describe.

Related Documents:


Excise Act, 2001 - Duty Relief for 100% Canadian Wine

Clause 1

Bulk wine - relief for 100% Canadian wine

EA, 2001
134(3)

Subsection 134(3) currently provides that duty does not apply to bulk wine produced by an individual for their personal consumption. This subsection is amended to provide that duty will also not apply to bulk wine produced in Canada and composed wholly of agricultural or plant product grown in Canada that is taken for use.

This amendment applies to wine taken for use after June 2006.

Clause 2

Packaged wine - relief for 100% Canadian wine

EA, 2001
135(2)(a)

Subsection 135(2) currently provides that duty is not imposed on wine that is produced and packaged by an individual for their own use, or on wine produced and packaged by a wine licensee if the sales of wine by the licensee did not exceed $50,000 in the previous year.

This subsection is amended to provide that duty will also not apply to wine that is produced and packaged in Canada and composed wholly of agricultural or plant product grown in Canada.

This amendment applies to wine packaged after June 2006.

Excise Act - Duty Relief for Canadian Beer

Clause 3

Definition - person

EA
2

The term "person" is used to refer to governments, individuals and all forms of organizations. This definition is added for clarification and is consistent with the definition of "person" in other federal taxing statutes.

This amendment comes into force on July 1, 2006.

Clause 4

Associated and related persons

EA
2.2 and 2.3

New rules with respect to related and associated persons are introduced for the purposes of determining eligibility for the special rates of duty on beer and malt liquor imposed under new section 170.1 of the Act. The new reduced rates are set out under the new Part II.1 of the schedule to the Act.

Section 2.2 - Related persons

This section provides that persons are generally related to each other for the purposes of the Excise Act if, at a particular time, they are considered to be related person pursuant to subsections 251(2) to (6) of the Income Tax Act.

Section 2.3 - Associated persons

Subsection (1) provides that a particular corporation is associated with another corporation for the purposes of the Excise Act if they are considered to be associated pursuant to subsections 256(1) to (6) of the Income Tax Act.

Subsection (2) provides that a person (other than a corporation) is associated with a particular corporation if that person or a group of associated persons of which the person is a member controls the corporation.

Subsection (3) sets out the circumstances in which a person will be treated as being associated with a partnership and with a trust.

Subsection (4) states that a person is associated with another person if both persons are associated with a third person.

These amendments come into force on July 1, 2006.

Clause 5

Duties

EA
170(1)

Subsection 170(1) currently provides that duty is imposed on beer and malt liquor at the rates set out in the schedule. This subsection is amended to refer to the rates of duty set out in Part II of the schedule. This amendment is consequential to the addition of new Part II.1 of the schedule, which sets out the rates of duty on beer and malt liquor under new section 170.1.

This amendment comes into force on July 1, 2006.

Clause 6

Reduced rates - Canadian beer

EA
170.1

New section 170.1 provides for reduced rates of duty on the first 75,000 hectolitres of Canadian-produced and packaged beer and malt liquor. It also sets out rules determining how the reduced rates will apply to various production and packaging arrangements and changes in business structures.

Subsection (1) imposes duty on the first 75,000 hectolitres of beer and malt liquor produced in Canada per year by a licensed brewer and any related or associated person at the rates set out in the new Part II.1 of the schedule to the Act.

Subsection (2) requires, where beer or malt liquor described in subsection (1) is packaged by a brewer other than the brewer referred to in that subsection, that duty be imposed at the rates that applied to that beer or malt liquor under subsection (1).

Subsection (3) provides that beer or malt liquor that is exported or deemed to be exported, or containing not more than 0.5 % absolute ethyl alcohol by volume, will not be taken into account in determining the first 75,000 hectolitres of beer and malt liquor eligible for the reduced rates of duty set out in new Part II.1 of the schedule.

Subsection (4) sets out rules regarding the contract production of beer or malt liquor. For such beer or malt liquor, the quantity produced shall be considered to have been produced by the brewer who has produced the greater volume of beer and malt liquor during the year up to that time, and duty shall be imposed at the rate that applies to that brewer.

Subsection (5) provides that where there is a family of related or associated brewers, each brewer must file an election in a form and manner satisfactory to the Minster that allocates the 75,000 hectolitre quantity among the brewers. The election must be filed no later than the filing due date of the first return in which the brewer reports duties that are imposed, levied and collected under subsection (1).

Subsection (6) sets out rules regarding a brewer formed by a business combination such as an amalgamation or merger. In such circumstances, the aggregate production of the new and predecessor brewers for that year is used for the purposes of applying subsection (1). The new brewer must determine the amount of duty that would have been imposed, levied and collected on the aggregate production volume, and is liable for (and must report and pay) any difference between the amount that would have been imposed and the amounts actually paid by the predecessor brewers within 60 days of the business combination.

These amendments come into force on July 1, 2006, except that, for 2006, every reference to "75,000" in new section 170.1 shall be read as a reference to "37,500". This means that for 2006 only the first 37,500 hectolitres of beer and malt liquor produced in Canada by a licensed brewer after July 1, 2006 will qualify for the duty rate imposed under new section 170.1.

Clause 7

Duty on Canadian beer

EA
Schedule, Part II.1

New Part II.1 of the schedule sets out the rates of duty on the first 75,000 hectolitres of beer and malt liquor produced in Canada per year by a licensed brewer under new section 170.1 of the Act. The rates of duty vary based on the production volume of the licensed brewer. The rates also vary depending on the absolute ethyl alcohol volume of the beer or malt liquor being produced.

This amendment comes into force on July 1, 2006, except that, for 2006, the reference to "35,000" in section 4 of Part II.1 of the schedule to the Act shall be read as a reference to "22,500" and section 5 of that schedule does not apply. This means that for 2006 only the first 37,500 hectolitres of beer and malt liquor produced in Canada by a licensed brewer after July 1, 2006 will qualify for the reduced rates.

- News Release 2006-027 -

Archivé - Notes explicatives

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Les présentes notes explicatives ont pour objet de faciliter la compréhension des modifications qu’il est proposé d’apporter à la Loi de 2001 sur l’accise et à la Loi sur l’accise. Elles ne sont publiées qu’à titre d’information et ne constituent pas l’interprétation officielle des dispositions qui y sont résumées.

Documents connexes :


Loi de 2001 sur l’accise – allégement des droits sur le vin fabriqué entièrement à partir de produits cultivés au Canada

Article 1

Vin en vrac – allégement

LA 2001
134(3)

Selon le paragraphe 134(3) de la Loi de 2001 sur l’accise, aucun droit n’est exigible sur le vin en vrac qu’un particulier produit pour sa consommation personnelle. Ce paragraphe est modifié afin que cette règle s’applique aussi au vin en vrac utilisé pour soi qui est produit au Canada et composé entièrement de produits agricoles ou végétaux cultivés au Canada.

Cette modification s’applique au vin utilisé pour soi après juin 2006.

Article 2

Vin emballé –allégement

LA 2001
135(2)a)

Selon le paragraphe 135(2), aucun droit n’est exigible sur le vin produit et emballé par un particulier pour son usage personnel, ni sur le vin produit et emballé par un titulaire de licence de vin dont les ventes de vin n’ont pas dépassé 50 000 $ au cours de l’année précédente.

Ce paragraphe est modifié de façon à prévoir en outre qu’aucun droit n’est exigible sur le vin produit et emballé au Canada qui est composé entièrement de produits agricoles ou végétaux cultivés au Canada.

Cette modification s’applique au vin emballé après juin 2006.

Loi sur l’accise – allégement des droits sur la bière canadienne

Article 3

Définition de « personne »

LA
2

Le terme « personne » désigne les administrations, les particuliers et les organisations sous toutes leurs formes. Cette définition est ajoutée à la Loi sur l’accise par souci de précision et est conforme à la définition de ce terme qui figure dans d’autres lois fiscales fédérales.

Cette modification entre en vigueur le 1er juillet 2006.

Article 4

Personnes liées et associées

LA
2.2 et 2.3

Les nouvelles règles concernant les personnes liées et associées permettent d’établir l’admissibilité aux taux spéciaux des droits sur la bière et la liqueur de malt qui sont imposés en vertu du nouvel article 170.1. Ces nouveaux taux réduits sont établis à la nouvelle partie II.1 de l’annexe de cette loi.

Article 2.2 – Personnes liées

Selon l’article 2.2, des personnes sont généralement liées entre elles pour l’application de la Loi sur l’accise si elles sont considérées comme des personnes liées aux termes des paragraphes 251(2) à (6) de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu.

Article 2.3 – Personnes associées

Selon le paragraphe 2.3(1), des personnes morales sont associées l’une à l’autre pour l’application de la Loi sur l’accise si elles sont considérées comme des personnes associées aux termes des paragraphes 256(1) à (6) de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu.

Le paragraphe 2.3(2) prévoit qu’une personne (sauf une personne morale) est associée à une personne morale si elle la contrôle, seule ou avec un groupe de personnes associées dont elle est membre.

Le paragraphe 2.3(3) prévoit les circonstances dans lesquelles une personne est considérée comme étant associée à une société de personnes ou à une fiducie.

Selon le paragraphe 2.3(4), une personne est associée à une autre personne si elles sont toutes deux associées à un tiers.

Ces modifications entrent en vigueur le 1er juillet 2006.

Article 5

Droits

LA
170(1)

Selon le paragraphe 170(1), des droits calculés aux taux fixés à l’annexe sont imposés sur la bière et la liqueur de malt. La modification apportée à ce paragraphe consiste à préciser que ces taux sont fixés à la partie II de l’annexe. Cette modification fait suite à l’ajout de la partie II.1 de l’annexe, qui fixe le taux des droits sur la bière et la liqueur de malt prévus au nouvel article 170.1.

Cette modification entre en vigueur le 1er juillet 2006.

Article 6

Taux réduits – bière canadienne

LA
170.1

Selon le nouvel article 170.1, les 75 000 premiers hectolitres de bière et de liqueur de malt produits et emballés au Canada sont assujettis à des taux réduits de droits. Cet article prévoit par ailleurs les modalités d’application de ces taux dans le cas où il existe des arrangements particuliers de production et d’emballage ou en cas de regroupement d’entreprises.

Selon le paragraphe 170.1(1), un droit est exigible sur les 75 000 premiers hectolitres de bière et de liqueur de malt produits annuellement au Canada par un brasseur muni de licence et par toute personne qui lui est liée ou associée. Ce droit est calculé selon les taux fixés à la nouvelle partie II.1 de l’annexe.

Selon le paragraphe 170.1(2), dans le cas où la bière ou la liqueur de malt visée au paragraphe (1) est emballée par un brasseur autre que celui visé à ce paragraphe, le droit en question est imposé aux taux applicables à la bière ou à la liqueur de malt selon le paragraphe (1).

Le paragraphe 170.1(3) prévoit que la bière ou la liqueur de malt qui est exportée, ou réputée l’être, ou qui contient au plus 0,5 % d’alcool éthylique absolu par volume n’est pas prise en compte dans le calcul des 75 000 premiers hectolitres de bière et de liqueur de malt qui sont admissibles aux taux réduits de droits fixés à la nouvelle partie II.1 de l’annexe.

Le paragraphe 170.1(4) prévoit des règles concernant la production contractuelle de bière ou de liqueur de malt. Dans ce cas, la quantité produite est considérée comme ayant été produite par le brasseur qui a produit la plus grande quantité de bière et de liqueur de malt au cours de l’année jusqu’au moment considéré, et le droit est imposé au taux qui s’applique à ce brasseur.

Selon le paragraphe 170.1(5), les brasseurs qui sont liés ou associés les uns aux autres sont chacun tenus de présenter au ministre, en la forme et selon les modalités qu’il estime acceptables, un document faisant état de leur choix quant à la répartition entre eux de la quantité de 75 000 hectolitres. Ce document doit être produit au plus tard à la date d’échéance de production de la première déclaration dans laquelle le brasseur déclare les droits imposés, prélevés et perçus en vertu du paragraphe (1).

Le paragraphe 170.1(6) prévoit les règles qui s’appliquent dans le cas où un brasseur est issu d’un regroupement d’entreprises, telle une fusion ou une unification. Dans ces circonstances, la production globale du nouveau brasseur et des brasseurs remplacés pour l’année en cause est utilisée pour l’application du paragraphe (1). Le nouveau brasseur est tenu de déterminer les droits qui auraient été imposés, prélevés et perçus sur la production globale et est redevable du montant de tout écart entre la somme qui aurait été imposée et les sommes réellement payées par les brasseurs remplacés. Il doit déclarer le montant de cet écart, et le payer, dans les 60 jours suivant le regroupement d’entreprises.

Ces modifications entrent en vigueur le 1er juillet 2006. Toutefois, en ce qui concerne 2006, la mention de « 75 000 » au nouvel article 170.1 vaut mention de « 37 500 ». En d’autres termes, seuls les 37 500 premiers hectolitres de bière et de liqueur de malt produits au Canada entre le 1er juillet 2006 et la fin de l’année par un brasseur muni de licence seront admissibles aux taux imposés selon le nouvel article 170.1.

Article 7

Droits sur la bière canadienne

LA
Annexe, partie II.1

La nouvelle partie II.1 de l’annexe prévoit le taux des droits applicables aux 75 000 premiers hectolitres de bière et de liqueur de malt produits annuellement au Canada par les brasseurs munis de licence selon le nouvel article 170.1. Ces taux varient selon le volume de production du brasseur, ainsi que selon la teneur en alcool éthylique absolu de la bière ou de la liqueur de malt qui est produite.

Cette modification entre en vigueur le 1er juillet 2006. Toutefois, en ce qui concerne 2006, la mention « 35 000 » à l’article 4 de la partie II.1 de l’annexe vaut mention de « 22 500 », et l’article 5 de cette partie ne s’applique pas. En d’autres termes, seuls les 37 500 premiers hectolitres de bière et de liqueur de malt produits au Canada entre le 1er juillet 2006 et la fin de l’année par un brasseur muni de licence seront admissibles aux taux réduits.

- Communiqué 2006-027 -