Archived - Debt Management Strategy 2015–16

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version [173 KB]

To access a Portable Document Format (PDF) file you must have a PDF reader installed. If you do not already have such a reader, there are numerous PDF readers available for free download or for purchase on the Internet.

Overview

The Debt Management Strategy sets out the Government of Canada’s objectives, strategy and plans for the management of its domestic and foreign debt, other financial liabilities and related assets. Borrowing activities support the ongoing refinancing of government debt coming to maturity and the financial operations of the Government. This includes investing in financial assets needed to establish a prudent liquidity position and borrowing on behalf of certain Crown corporations.

The Financial Administration Act requires that the Government table in Parliament, prior to the start of the fiscal year, a report on the anticipated borrowing to be undertaken in the year ahead, including the purposes for which the money will be borrowed.

The Debt Management Strategy for 2015–16 is based on the fiscal and financial projections associated with the Update of Economic and Fiscal Projections released on November 12, 2014. The infrastructure package announced in November 2014 is also included in the baseline.

The Debt Management Strategy for 2015–16 will be updated as part of the upcoming federal budget.

Objectives

The fundamental objective of debt management is to raise stable and low-cost funding to meet the financial needs of the Government of Canada. An associated objective is to maintain a well-functioning market in Government of Canada securities, which helps to keep debt costs low and stable.

Raising Stable Low-Cost Funding

Achieving stable low-cost funding involves striking a balance between the cost and the risk associated with the debt structure.

Over the medium term, debt management decisions will be taken with a view to keeping debt costs low and maintaining risks at prudent levels, while reserving sufficient flexibility to adapt to changing circumstances.

Maintaining a Well-Functioning Government Securities Market

Having access to a well-functioning government securities market ensures that funding can be raised efficiently to meet the Government’s needs regardless of economic conditions. To support a liquid and well-functioning Government of Canada securities market, the Government strives to maintain transparent, regular and diversified borrowing programs.

2015–16 Federal Debt Program

In 2015–16, the Government of Canada will continue to use a variety of instruments to fund its operations:

  • Nominal bonds and Real Return Bonds;
  • Treasury bills; and
  • Retail debt products.

Foreign currency borrowing will continue to be undertaken in order to fund Canada’s foreign exchange reserves.

The plans for the federal debt program included in this document are based on the financial source/requirement projection associated with the fiscal forecast in the November 2014 Update of Economic and Fiscal Projections. The infrastructure package announced in November 2014 is also included in the baseline. The Debt Management Strategy for 2015–16 will be updated as part of the upcoming federal budget.

For 2015–16, the Government has obtained an aggregate borrowing limit from the Governor in Council of $270 billion, unchanged from the borrowing limit granted for 2014–15. Actual borrowing for the year may differ from the projected level due to the uncertainty associated with economic and fiscal projections, the timing of cash transactions and other factors, such as changes in foreign reserve needs and borrowing by Crown corporations. The borrowing limit therefore includes a margin for prudence, enabling debt management operations to respond to changing circumstances without the need for frequent resubmissions to the Governor in Council.

Actual borrowings and uses of funds compared with those forecast will be reported in the 2015–16 Debt Management Report, and detailed information on outcomes will be provided in the 2016 Public Accounts of Canada. Both documents will be tabled in Parliament in the fall of 2016.

Bond Program

Annual gross bond issuance has ranged between $88 billion and $100 billion since 2010–11. For 2015–16, gross bond issuance is expected to be between $85 billion and $90 billion.

Focusing Issuance on Core Sectors

Issuance in the 3-year sector was re-introduced in 2009 in light of significantly higher financial requirements associated with the Extraordinary Financing Framework and the stimulus phase of Canada’s Economic Action Plan.

While auctions for 3-year bonds perform well, the 3-year sector is not a core component of the Government’s debt mix (i.e., 2-, 5-, 10- and 30-year nominal bonds). In this regard, market participants have expressed a preference for the cessation of issuance in the 3-year sector in favour of increased issuance in other sectors, specifically 2- and 5-year bonds.

Consistent with the feedback received, there will be no issuance in the 3-year sector in 2015–16. The forgone issuance will be gradually reallocated to the 2- and 5-year sectors. Ceasing issuance in the 3-year sector will allow for the building of larger benchmark sizes in the core 2- and 5-year sectors, which will increase liquidity and support the well-functioning of these important sectors.

Continued Low Long-Term Interest Rates

In 2014, the Government of Canada issued 50-year bonds for the first time, taking advantage of historically low interest rates to lock in low-cost funding. In total, the Government issued $3.5 billion in 50-year bonds over the course of 2014. Given the strong demand for long-term bonds and with long-term yields remaining well below their historical average, the Government may issue additional ultra-long bonds in 2015–16. Any decision to reopen the ultra-long bond would be subject to favourable market conditions and would be communicated by the Government to market participants during the course of the fiscal year.

Maturity Dates and Benchmark Bond Target Range Sizes

Ceasing issuance in the 3-year sector will not change the number and pattern of maturity dates but will allow for the building of larger bond benchmarks. The benchmark bond target range size will be $10 billion to $14 billion for the 2-, 5- and 10-year sectors, and it will be $10 billion to $16 billion for the 30-year and Real Return Bond sectors.1 Note that issuance for the 2-year August 1, 2017 and February 1, 2018 bonds may be lower in 2015–16 due to their fungibility with old outstanding 3-year bonds.

The dates of each auction will continue to be announced through the Quarterly Bond Schedule that is published on the Bank of Canada website prior to the start of each quarter.

Bond Buyback Programs

Both weekly cash management bond buyback operations and buyback operations on a switch basis in the 30-year sector will continue to be used in 2015–16. No regular buyback operations on a cash basis are planned for 2015–16.2

Treasury Bill Program

Bi-weekly issuance of 3-, 6- and 12-month maturities will be continued in 2015–16. The stock of treasury bills is expected to remain above $120 billion throughout the year.

Cash management bills (i.e., short-dated treasury bills) help manage government cash requirements in an efficient manner. These instruments will also continue to be used in 2015–16.

Retail Debt

Around 2.5 million Canadians hold Canada Savings Bonds (CSBs) or Canada Premium Bonds (CPBs). CSBs are offered exclusively through the Payroll Savings Program while CPBs are available for sale through financial institutions and dealers. Investors repeatedly cite the safety and security of CSBs and CPBs as key attributes, with payroll deduction providing a convenient, simple and free automatic savings option.

Further information on the retail debt program is available on the Canada Savings Bonds website.

Foreign Currency Funding

The purpose of the Exchange Fund Account (EFA) is to aid in the control and protection of the external value of the Canadian dollar. Assets held in the EFA are managed to provide foreign currency liquidity, support market confidence, and promote orderly conditions for the Canadian dollar in the foreign exchange markets, if required. Liquid foreign exchange reserves are maintained at a level at or above 3 per cent of nominal gross domestic product, consistent with the Government’s prudential liquidity plan.

The Government plans to fund the purchase of foreign currency assets through multiple sources. These include a short-term US-dollar paper program (Canada bills), medium-term notes, international bond issues (global bonds), purchases and sales of Canadian dollars in foreign exchange markets, and cross-currency swaps involving the exchange of domestic liabilities for foreign-currency-denominated liabilities. Foreign currency funding requirements for 2015–16 are estimated to be around US$9 billion, but may vary as a result of movements in foreign interest and exchange rates.

The Debt Management Strategy for 201516 assumes that all foreign liabilities maturing during the year will be refinanced. The mix of funding sources used to finance the reserves in 2015–16 will depend on a number of considerations, including relative cost, market conditions, and the objective of maintaining a prudent foreign-currency-denominated debt maturity structure.

Further information on foreign currency funding and the foreign reserve assets is available in the Report on the Management of Canada’s Official International Reserves and in The Fiscal Monitor.

Information on Government of Canada Domestic Debt Securities

Information regarding outstanding Government of Canada domestic marketable debt securities is available on the Bank of Canada website. The legal terms and conditions for Canada’s domestic marketable debt securities are posted on the Department of Finance website.


1 This includes an estimate for inflation adjustment.

2 Bond buyback operations on a cash basis and on a switch basis involve the purchase of bonds with a remaining term to maturity of 12 months to 25 years. Bond buyback operations on a cash basis involve the exchange of a bond for cash. Bond buyback operations on a switch basis involve the exchange of one bond for another, on a duration-neutral basis (e.g., an off-the-run bond for the building benchmark bond).

Archivé - Stratégie de gestion de la dette 2015-2016

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

pdf Version PDF [177 Ko]

Pour consulter un fichier PDF (format de document portable), votre ordinateur doit avoir un lecteur PDF. Si vous n'en avez pas déjà un, il existe de nombreux lecteurs PDF que vous pouvez télécharger gratuitement ou acheter dans Internet.

Aperçu

La Stratégie de gestion de la dette énonce les objectifs, la stratégie et les plans du gouvernement du Canada au chapitre de la gestion de ses emprunts sur les marchés intérieur et extérieur, de ses autres passifs financiers et de ses actifs connexes. Les opérations d’emprunt servent à assurer le refinancement des titres du gouvernement du Canada qui arrivent à échéance ainsi que l’exécution d’autres opérations financières du gouvernement, notamment les placements dans les actifs financiers requis pour établir une position de liquidité prudente et les emprunts pour le compte de certaines sociétés d’État.

Aux termes de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, le gouvernement doit déposer au Parlement, avant le début de l’exercice, un rapport faisant état des emprunts qu’il prévoit contracter au cours du prochain exercice et de l’utilisation qu’il compte faire des fonds empruntés.

La Stratégie de gestion de la dette de 2015-2016 est fondée sur les projections budgétaires et financières associées à la Mise à jour des projections économiques et budgétaires publiée le 12 novembre 2014. Ces chiffres tiennent compte de la série de mesures en matière d’infrastructure annoncée en novembre 2014.

La Stratégie de gestion de la dette de 2015-2016 sera mise à jour dans le cadre du prochain budget fédéral.

Objectifs

L’objectif fondamental de la gestion de la dette consiste à obtenir un financement stable à faible coût permettant de combler les besoins financiers du gouvernement du Canada. Un objectif connexe consiste à assurer le bon fonctionnement du marché des titres du gouvernement du Canada, ce qui contribue à assurer la stabilité et la modicité des frais de la dette.

Obtention d’un financement stable à faible coût

L’obtention d’un financement stable à faible coût exige un équilibre entre le coût et les risques liés à la structure de la dette.

À moyen terme, les décisions relatives à la gestion de la dette seront prises de façon à ce que les coûts de la dette restent peu élevés et que les risques restent faibles, tout en maintenant la souplesse voulue pour répondre à toute évolution de la conjoncture.

Maintenir le bon fonctionnement du marché des titres du gouvernement

La capacité d’obtenir de façon efficiente des fonds pour combler les besoins du gouvernement, peu importe la situation économique, dépend de l’accès à un marché des titres du gouvernement qui fonctionne bien. Le gouvernement du Canada s’efforce de recourir à des programmes d’emprunts transparents, ordonnés et diversifiés afin de maintenir la liquidité et le bon fonctionnement du marché de ses titres.

Programme d’emprunt fédéral de 2015-2016

En 2015-2016, le gouvernement du Canada continuera d’utiliser divers instruments pour financer ses activités :

  • Obligations à rendement nominal et obligations à rendement réel;
  • Bons du Trésor;
  • Produits de titres au détail.

Le gouvernement du Canada continuera d’avoir recours aux emprunts en devises dans le but de financer les réserves de change du Canada.

Les plans relatifs au programme d’emprunt fédéral qui figurent dans le présent document sont fondés sur les projections des ressources ou des besoins financiers associés aux prévisions budgétaires de la Mise à jour des projections économiques et budgétaires de novembre 2014. Ils tiennent compte de la série de mesures en matière d’infrastructure annoncée en novembre 2014. La Stratégie de gestion de la dette de 2015-2016 sera mise à jour dans le cadre du prochain budget fédéral.

Pour 2015-2016, le gouverneur en conseil a accordé au gouvernement un plafond global d’emprunt de 270 milliards de dollars, soit le même montant qui a été accordé en 2014-2015. Les emprunts réels pour l’exercice pourraient différer des prévisions en raison de l’incertitude liée aux projections économiques et budgétaires, du moment particulier où sont effectuées les opérations de trésorerie ainsi que d’autres facteurs, notamment la variation des besoins au titre des réserves de change et des emprunts des sociétés d’État. Par conséquent, le plafond d’emprunt comprend une marge de prudence pour que les opérations de gestion de la dette puissent tenir compte de l’évolution de la situation, et ce, afin d’éviter que de nouvelles requêtes soient soumises de façon fréquente au gouverneur en conseil.

Le Rapport sur la gestion de la dette de 2015-2016 présentera des données réelles sur les emprunts et l’utilisation des fonds par rapport aux prévisions, et des renseignements détaillés sur les résultats seront fournis dans les Comptes publics du Canada de 2016. Ces deux documents seront déposés au Parlement à l’automne 2016.

Programme d’obligations

Les émissions brutes annuelles d’obligations se situent entre 88 milliards et 100 milliards de dollars depuis 2010-2011. Pour 2015-2016, les émissions brutes d’obligations devraient s’établir entre 85 milliards et 90 milliards.

Cibler les émissions dans les segments de base

En 2009, les émissions d’obligations à 3 ans ont été rétablies dans le contexte des besoins financiers beaucoup plus élevés associés au Cadre de financement exceptionnel et à la phase de stimulation du Plan d’action économique du Canada.

Bien que les adjudications des obligations à 3 ans affichent de bons résultats, ce segment n’est pas un élément de base de la composition de la dette du gouvernement (c.-à-d. les obligations à rendement nominal à 2, 5, 10 et 30 ans). À cet égard, les participants au marché ont fait part d’une préférence pour une cessation des émissions d’obligations à 3 ans en vue d’accroître les émissions d’autres segments, plus précisément les obligations à 2 ans et à 5 ans.

Par suite des commentaires reçus, aucune obligation à échéance de 3 ans ne sera émise en 2015-2016. Ces émissions auxquelles le gouvernement renonce seront graduellement réaffectées aux segments de 2 ans et de 5 ans. La cessation des émissions d’obligations à 3 ans permettra d’établir des fourchettes d’obligations de référence de plus grande taille dans les segments de base de 2 ans et de 5 ans, ce qui viendra accroître les liquidités et soutenir le bon fonctionnement dans ces segments importants.

Maintien de faibles taux d’intérêt à long terme

En 2014, le gouvernement du Canada a effectué sa toute première émission d’obligations à 50 ans, de manière à tirer parti de taux d’intérêt se situant près de leurs planchers historiques pour s’assurer d’obtenir un financement stable à faible coût. Au total, le gouvernement a émis pour 3,5 milliards de dollars d’obligations à 50 ans en 2014. Compte tenu de la forte demande d’obligations à long terme et du fait que les rendements à long terme demeurent bien en deçà de leur moyenne historique, le gouvernement pourrait émettre de nouvelles émissions d’obligations à très longue échéance en 2015-2016. Toute décision visant à rouvrir l’émission à très longue échéance dépendra de conditions du marché favorables et sera communiquée par le gouvernement aux participants au marché au cours de l’exercice.

Dates d’échéance et fourchettes cibles des obligations de référence

La cessation des émissions d’obligations à 3 ans ne changera pas le nombre ni le profil des dates d’échéance, mais permettra d’établir des obligations de référence de plus grandes tailles. La fourchette cible des obligations de référence sera de 10 milliards à 14 milliards de dollars pour les segments de 2, 5 et 10 ans, et de 10 milliards à 16 milliards pour le segment de 30 ans et le segment des obligations à rendement réel1. Il est à noter que les émissions des obligations à 2 ans du 1er août 2017 et du 1er février 2018 peuvent être inférieures en 2015-2016 en raison de la fongibilité de ces obligations avec d’anciennes obligations à 3 ans en circulation.

Les dates de chaque adjudication continueront d’être annoncées dans le Calendrier trimestriel des obligations que la Banque du Canada affiche avant chaque trimestre sur son site Web.

Programmes de rachat d’obligations

Les opérations hebdomadaires de rachat d’obligations aux fins de gestion de la trésorerie et les opérations de rachat assorti d’une conversion à l’égard d’obligations à 30 ans continueront d’avoir lieu en 2015-2016. Aucune opération de rachat régulier d’obligations au comptant n’est prévue pour 2015-20162.

Programme des bons du Trésor

L’émission aux deux semaines des bons du Trésor à 3 mois, 6 mois et 12 mois sera reconduite en 2015-2016. L’encours des bons du Trésor devrait se maintenir au-dessus de 120 milliards de dollars tout au long de l’exercice.

Les bons de gestion de la trésorerie, qui sont des bons du Trésor à court terme, aident à gérer de manière efficiente les besoins de trésorerie du gouvernement. Ces instruments continueront également d’être utilisés en 2015-2016.

Titres sur le marché de détail

Environ 2,5 millions de Canadiennes et de Canadiens détiennent des Obligations d’épargne du Canada (OEC) ou des Obligations à prime du Canada (OPC). Les OEC sont offertes exclusivement dans le cadre du programme d’épargne-salaire, tandis que les OPC sont vendues par l’entremise d’institutions financières et de courtiers. Les investisseurs ne cessent de vanter la sécurité et la sûreté, qui constituent les principaux attributs des OEC et des OPC, et les retenues sur le salaire qui représentent une option d’épargne automatique pratique, simple et gratuite.

Le site Web des Obligations d’épargne du Canada contient de plus amples renseignements sur le programme de placement de titres sur le marché de détail.

Financement en devises

L’objet du Compte du fonds des changes (CFC) est d’aider à contrôler et à préserver la valeur du dollar canadien sur les marchés internationaux. Les actifs détenus dans le CFC sont gérés de façon à permettre au gouvernement de maintenir des liquidités en devises, à soutenir la confiance du marché et, s’il y a lieu, à contribuer au maintien de conditions favorables au dollar canadien sur le marché des changes. Les réserves de change liquides sont maintenues à un niveau minimal de 3 % du produit intérieur brut nominal, conformément au plan de liquidité prudentielle du gouvernement.

Le gouvernement entend recourir à différentes sources pour financer l’achat d’actifs en devises, dont les effets à court terme libellés en dollars américains (bons du Canada), les billets à moyen terme, les émissions obligataires internationales (obligations multimarchés), l’achat et la vente de dollars canadiens sur le marché des changes et les swaps de devises, qui permettent d’échanger des passifs libellés en dollars canadiens contre des passifs libellés en devises. On estime les besoins de financement en devises pour 2015-2016 à environ 9 milliards de dollars américains; ce montant pourrait varier sous l’effet des fluctuations des taux d’intérêt étrangers et des taux de change.

La Stratégie de gestion de la dette de 2015-2016 part du principe que tous les passifs libellés en devises qui arrivent à échéance pendant l’année seront refinancés. Un certain nombre de facteurs orienteront le choix des moyens de financement des réserves en 2015-2016, notamment le coût relatif, les conditions du marché et l’objectif de conserver une structure prudente des échéances de titres d’emprunt libellés en devises.

Pour en savoir davantage sur le financement en devises et les actifs des réserves de change, veuillez consulter le Rapport sur la gestion des réserves officielles de liquidités internationales du Canada et La revue financière.

Renseignements sur les titres d’emprunt émis par le gouvernement du Canada sur le marché intérieur

Des renseignements sur les titres d’emprunt négociables en circulation émis par le gouvernement du Canada sur le marché intérieur sont affichés sur le site Web de la Banque du Canada. Les conditions légales applicables aux titres d’emprunt négociables émis par le gouvernement du Canada sur le marché intérieur sont affichées sur le site Web du ministère des Finances du Canada.


1 Cela comprend une estimation du rajustement en fonction de l’inflation.

2 Les rachats au comptant ou assortis d’une conversion portent sur des obligations dont le terme à courir se situe entre 12 mois et 25 ans. Les rachats au comptant consistent à échanger des titres contre de l’argent et les rachats assortis d’une conversion, à effectuer l’échange d’une obligation contre une autre sans effet sur la durée (p. ex., une ancienne obligation contre une obligation faisant partie d’une émission de référence en cours de constitution).