Archived - Summary of Finance Canada’s Privacy Impact Assessment of the Venture Capital Action Plan

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

On January 14, 2013, the Right Honourable Stephen Harper, Prime Minister of Canada and the Honourable James M. Flaherty, Minister of Finance announced the creation of the Venture Capital Action Plan (VCAP). 

The VCAP will make available:

  • $250 million to establish new, large private sector-led national funds of funds (a funds of funds portfolio consists of investments in several venture capital funds) in partnership with institutional and corporate strategic investors, as well as interested provinces;
  • Up to $100 million to recapitalize existing large private sector-led funds of funds, in partnership with willing provinces; and
  • An aggregate investment of up to $50 million in three to five existing high-performing venture capital funds in Canada.

In addition, Economic Action Plan 2013 announced a further $60 million to promote a vibrant venture capital environment in Canada rooted in a strong entrepreneurial culture and well-established networks that link investors to innovative companies.

The Department of Finance is the lead federal government institution responsible for the implementation of the Venture Capital Action Plan. 

Finance Canada conducted a Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) in order to identify any privacy risks related to the Venture Capital Action Plan and to provide mitigation strategies with respect to those risks.  The PIA demonstrated that few privacy risks were associated with the program and that the mitigation strategies are appropriate.

Archivé - Résumé de l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée du Plan d’action sur le capital de risque

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 14 janvier 2013, le très honorable Stephen Harper, Premier ministre du Canada, et l’honorable James M. Flaherty, ministre des Finances, ont annoncé la création du Plan d’action sur le capital de risque. 

Ce plan d’action offrira :

  • 250 millions de dollars pour établir de nouveaux grands fonds de fonds nationaux dirigés par le secteur privé (le portefeuille d’un fonds de fonds est constitué d’investissements dans plusieurs fonds de capital de risque) en partenariat avec des investisseurs stratégiques d’institutions ou d’entreprises, ainsi que les provinces intéressées;
  • Jusqu’à 100 millions de dollars pour recapitaliser des fonds privés existants de grande portée pilotés par le secteur privé, en partenariat avec les provinces qui sont disposées à le faire;
  • un investissement total pouvant aller jusqu’à 50 millions de dollars dans trois à cinq fonds existants de capital de risque à haut rendement au Canada.

De plus, une autre somme de 60 millions de dollars a été annoncée dans le Plan d’action économique 2013 pour la promotion d’un environnement dynamique de capital de risque au Canada, ancré dans une culture entrepreneuriale forte et des réseaux bien établis qui relient les investisseurs et les entreprises innovatrices.

Le ministère des Finances est l’institution fédérale responsable de la mise en œuvre du Plan d’action sur le capital de risque. 

Finances Canada a effectué une évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFVP) pour déterminer les risques d’entrave à la vie privée associés au Plan d’action sur le capital de risque et d’établir au besoin des stratégies d’atténuation en conséquence.  L’EFVP a démontré que le programme comporte peu de risques et que les stratégies d’atténuation conviennent.