Help the Government of Canada organize its website Canada.ca!
Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Tax Policy Branch

The Tax Policy Branch is responsible for the development and evaluation of federal taxation policies and legislation in the areas of personal income tax, business income tax, and sales and excise tax. The actual collection of taxes and interpretation of tax law are the responsibility of the Canada Revenue Agency.

The Branch consists of five divisions.

Personal Income Tax Division

The Personal Income Tax Division undertakes economic analysis and develops policy proposals and recommendations related to personal income tax and tax-based transfers to individuals and families. It is composed of seven sections.

Strategic Projects

This section focuses on the overall structure of the tax system, including the progressivity of Canada's marginal tax rates and bracket thresholds, levels of tax-free income, definition of the tax base, and the overall tax burden.

Branch Coordination

This section supports the effective management of horizontal issues within the Tax Policy Branch. This includes ensuring that the Branch fulfils its corporate budgeting, planning and reporting obligations.

Social Policy

This section focuses on the areas of children and families, dependent relationships, persons with disabilities and those who care for them, and seniors. This section is also responsible for income tax policy development on issues related to pensions, retirement income and other registered savings plans.

Charities

This section is responsible for the tax treatment of charitable activity. This includes tax measures for individual donations as well as reporting and compliance obligations for charities. The section also has responsibility for the Political Contributions Tax Credit.

Savings and Investment

This section focuses on savings, investment income, real estate, venture capital and unincorporated businesses. Specifically, it develops and evaluates policy proposals relating to the tax treatment of savings, including the Tax-Free Savings Account, and the taxation of capital gains, dividends and interest.

Employment and Education

This section focuses on the tax treatment of employment benefits and expenses (e.g., health benefits and moving expenses), and on tax measures for post-secondary education and training, such as non-taxation of scholarship income, tuition and education credits. It is also responsible for policy issues related to the Working Income Tax Benefit (WITB).

Quantitative Analysis

This section conducts economic and quantitative analysis to support policy analysis and development by other sections. In addition, the section carries out applied research on the economic impact of personal taxes.

Sales Tax Division

The Sales Tax Division is responsible for developing the policies, legislation and regulations associated with federal consumption taxes—the goods and services tax (GST), the harmonized sales tax (HST) and the federal excise duties and taxes—on products such as tobacco, fuel and alcohol. The division consists of seven sections.

Excise Taxation and Legislation

This section is responsible for developing policies and legislation relating to federal excise duties on beer, spirits, wine and tobacco. This section is also responsible for the development of policies and legislation relating to the Air Travellers Security Charge as well as the Green Levy on vehicles, and for federal excise taxes, such as those levied on fuel and certain other goods.

General Operations and Border Issues

This section is responsible for researching and developing GST/HST policy proposals and legislation aimed at ensuring the integrity and responsiveness of the federal sales tax in an evolving global business environment.

Real Property and Financial Institutions

This section is responsible for monitoring, evaluating and recommending improvements to the operation of the GST/HST in the financial services and real property sectors, including GST/HST issues related to housing, banking, investments and pensions.

Public Sector Bodies

This section is responsible for researching, developing and recommending policy changes and the corresponding legislative changes relating to the application of the GST/HST to public sector bodies including governments and municipalities, schools, colleges and universities, hospitals and non-profit organizations and charities.

Strategic Planning

This section is responsible for managing strategic issues relating to the GST/HST including those connected to the federal Harmonized Sales Tax Framework, environmental taxation, sustainable development, and overall tax policy. This section also coordinates sales tax-related material for the annual budget process.

GST Legislation

This section is responsible for overseeing the legislative responsibilities of the Division in the area of the GST/HST and ensuring that government policy in the area of the GST/HST is implemented effectively with appropriate legislative instruments.

Economic Analysis and Revenue Allocation

The section supports policy analysis across the Division with economic, statistical, fiscal and other general quantitative measures.

Business Income Tax Division

The Business Income Tax Division is responsible for conducting analysis and providing advice on all aspects of business taxation. The Division comprises six sections.

Strategic Projects

This section is responsible for developing tax policies and advice relating to the overall structure of the corporate tax system, its international competitiveness, and small businesses. The section also conducts special research projects on a variety of issues related to corporate taxation.

Resource and Environmental Taxation

This section is responsible for analysis and development of corporate income tax policy with respect to the natural resource industries (e.g., oil and gas, and mining) and the use of corporate tax measures to achieve environmental objectives, such as clean energy.

Financial Institutions

This section is responsible for corporate tax policy development pertaining to the financial sector, including institutions such as banks, credit unions, pension funds, insurance companies and their policy holders.

International Taxation

This section is responsible for corporate tax policy developments related to the taxation of foreign affiliates and their shareholders, the taxation of Canadian enterprises carrying on business abroad, the taxation of non-residents carrying on business in Canada, and withholding taxes on cross-border payments.

Economic Development

This section is responsible for a range of business tax issues, including capital cost allowances (CCA), tax credits, scientific research and experimental development (SR&ED) tax incentives, sector-specific issues, and the deductibility of expenses.

Quantitative Analysis

This section is responsible for carrying out studies on a range of policy issues related to business taxation. This includes the development and maintenance of various databases and micro-simulation models used in the assessment of the economic and financial impacts of existing and proposed taxation policies.

Intergovernmental Tax Policy, Evaluation and Research Division

The Intergovernmental Tax Policy, Evaluation and Research Division is responsible for the examination, development and management of issues related to federal-provincial and Aboriginal tax policy matters. The division comprises three sections.

Federal-Provincial Taxation

This section has policy and administrative responsibility for the federal-provincial Tax Collection Agreements and Reciprocal Taxation Agreements. It also provides advice on federal-provincial tax policy issues.

Aboriginal Tax Policy

This section is responsible for developing tax policy related to Aboriginal issues, monitoring Aboriginal tax court cases, negotiating the tax elements of comprehensive land claim and self-government agreements, and negotiating and administering Tax Administration Agreements with Aboriginal governments.

Evaluation and Research

This section evaluates tax measures to determine if existing tax provisions continue to be relevant and if they are having the intended impact in a cost-effective manner. The section also undertakes research relating to all aspects of the tax system.

Tax Legislation Division

The Tax Legislation Division drafts income tax legislation and supports its passage through Parliament, in consultation with the Department of Justice Canada and the Canada Revenue Agency. As well, the Division analyzes tax developments in other countries and is responsible for policy changes to Canadian international taxation rules and the negotiation of tax treaties and Tax Information Exchange Agreements with other countries. The Division is also a key point of contact between the Department of Finance and the private-sector tax profession.

The Tax Legislation Division is currently organized into six sections.

Business, Property and Personal Income

This section is responsible for a broad range of personal, business and certain corporate income tax issues, including those relating to the computation of income for individuals and businesses, and the taxation of capital gains. This section is also responsible for shareholder taxation, charities, cultural issues and tax administration issues.

Deferred Income Plans

This section is responsible for all legislative matters relating to deferred income plans such as pensions, Registered Retirement Savings Plans, Registered Education Savings Plans, and Registered Disability Savings Plans. It is also responsible for the legislation that governs tax-free savings accounts (TFSAs).

Domestic Corporations and Resource Income

This section is responsible for a number of areas relating to the definition and taxation of corporate income taxation and the tax treatment of corporate re-organizations. It is also responsible for legislative issues relating to the taxation of resource income and the scientific research and experimental development (SR&ED) tax incentive regime.

Financial Intermediaries and Trusts

This section is responsible for a range of legislative issues relating to the income taxation of financial institutions (e.g., banks and insurance companies), financial instruments and specialty corporations such as co-operative corporations. It is also responsible for matters relating to the income taxation of both resident and non-resident trusts, and of investors in foreign investment entities.

International Corporations And Foreign Income

This section is responsible for foreign tax credits, foreign affiliates, and all other matters relating to the taxation of income earned outside Canada. It is also responsible for legislative matters relating to the taxation of non-residents, changes in residents, and transfer pricing for cross-border related party transactions.

Tax Treaties

This section is responsible for all matters relating to the negotiation and the implementation of Canada's international tax treaties and Tax Information Exchange Agreements. The members of this section also contribute, through their participation in the relevant OECD bodies, to the formulation of international policy with respect to tax treaties.

Direction de la politique de l'impôt

La Direction de la politique de l’impôt est chargée d’élaborer et d’évaluer les politiques et lois fiscales fédérales qui régissent l’impôt sur le revenu des particuliers, l’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés et les taxes de vente et d’accise. C’est cependant à l’Agence du revenu du Canada qu’il incombe de percevoir les impôts et les taxes ainsi que d’interpréter les lois fiscales.

La Direction se compose de cinq divisions.

Division de l'impôt des particuliers

Cette division effectue des analyses économiques et prépare des propositions et des recommandations stratégiques concernant l’impôt sur le revenu des particuliers et les transferts aux particuliers et aux familles dans le cadre du régime fiscal. Elle se compose de sept sections.

Projets stratégiques

Cette section s’intéresse principalement à la structure globale du régime fiscal, notamment la progressivité des taux marginaux d’imposition en vigueur au Canada et les seuils des fourchettes d’imposition, le montant de revenu pouvant être gagné en franchise d’impôt, la définition de l’assiette fiscale et le fardeau fiscal total.

Coordination de la Direction

Cette section contribue à la bonne gestion des dossiers horizontaux de la Direction de la politique de l’impôt. Elle veille notamment à ce que la Direction s’acquitte de ses responsabilités au chapitre du budget ministériel, de la planification et de la production de rapports.

Politique sociale

Cette section se concentre sur les questions relatives aux enfants et aux familles, aux personnes à charge, aux personnes handicapées et à leurs aidants naturels ainsi qu’aux aînés. Elle est également responsable des aspects de la politique de l’impôt sur le revenu qui touchent les pensions, le revenu de retraite et les régimes enregistrés d’épargne.

Organismes de Bienfaisance

Cette section est responsable du traitement fiscal des activités de bienfaisance, ce qui inclut les dons de bienfaisance, et également des obligations des organismes de bienfaisance en matière de rapports et d’observation. Ses responsabilités s’étendent aussi au crédit d’impôt pour contributions politiques.

Épargne et investissement

Cette section s’intéresse principalement à l’épargne, au revenu de placement, aux biens immobiliers, au capital de risque et aux entreprises non constituées en personnes morales. De façon plus précise, elle élabore et évalue des propositions stratégiques ayant trait au traitement fiscal de l’épargne (ce qui inclut le compte d’épargne libre d’impôt) et à l’imposition des gains en capital, des dividendes et des intérêts.

Emploi et éducation

Cette section s’intéresse principalement au traitement fiscal des avantages et des dépenses se rattachant à l’emploi (prestations de maladie, frais de déménagement, etc.) ainsi qu’aux mesures fiscales reliées aux études postsecondaires et à la formation, par exemple l’exonération des bourses d’études et les crédits d’impôt pour frais de scolarité et pour études. Elle est également responsable des questions stratégiques liées à la Prestation fiscale pour le revenu de travail (PFRT).

Analyse quantitative

Cette section effectue des analyses économiques et quantitatives à l’appui des travaux d’analyse et d’élaboration de politique menés par d’autres sections, de même que des travaux de recherche appliquée sur l’incidence économique de l’impôt sur le revenu des particuliers.

Division de la taxe de vente

Cette division est responsable d’élaborer les politiques, les lois et les règlements régissant les taxes fédérales à la consommation : la taxe sur les produits et services (TPS), la taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH), de même que les taxes et les droits d’accise fédéraux sur des produits comme le tabac, les carburants et l’alcool. Elle se compose de sept sections.

Accise – taxes et législation

Cette section est responsable de l’élaboration des politiques et lois relatives aux droits d’accise fédéraux sur la bière, les spiritueux, le vin et le tabac, ainsi qu’au droit pour la sécurité des passagers du transport aérien, à l’écoprélèvement sur les véhicules et aux taxes d’accise fédérales comme celles prélevées sur le carburant et certains autres biens.

Opérations générales et questions frontalières

Cette section a comme tâche d’effectuer des recherches et d’élaborer des propositions stratégiques et législatives sur la TPS/TVH pour garantir l’intégrité et l’adaptabilité de la taxe de vente fédérale, à la lumière de l’évolution des pratiques d’affaires à l’échelle mondiale.

Immeubles et institutions financières

Cette section surveille et évalue l’application de la TPS/TVH dans les secteurs des services financiers et des biens immobiliers (logement, services bancaires, placements et pensions), et elle en recommande des améliorations.

Organismes du secteur public

Cette section effectue des recherches et élabore et recommande des modifications à la politique et aux lois relativement à l’application de la TPS/TVH aux organismes du secteur public, ce qui englobe les administrations publiques, les municipalités, les écoles, les collèges et les universités ainsi que les hôpitaux, tout comme les organismes à but non lucratif et les organismes de bienfaisance.

Planification stratégique

Cette section gère les questions stratégiques reliées à la TPS/TVH, entre autres celles qui concernent le cadre fédéral de la TVH, les écotaxes, le développement durable et la politique fiscale générale. Elle coordonne également la documentation relative aux taxes de vente dans le cadre du processus budgétaire annuel.

Législation de la TPS

Cette section exerce une surveillance au regard des responsabilités législatives de la Division en ce qui concerne la TPS/TVH, et elle assure une mise en œuvre efficace de la politique gouvernementale en matière de TPS/TVH au moyen d’outils législatifs appropriés.

Analyse économique et répartition des revenus

Cette section appuie les travaux d’analyse stratégique de la Division en employant des techniques de mesure économiques, statistiques et financières ainsi que d’autres mesures quantitatives générales.

Division de l'impôt des entreprises

Cette division effectue des analyses et fournit des conseils sur tous les aspects entourant l’imposition des entreprises. Elle regroupe six sections.

Projets stratégiques

Cette section élabore des politiques fiscales et formule des conseils concernant la structure d’ensemble du régime d’impôt des sociétés – y compris sa compétitivité par rapport aux autres pays – et les petites entreprises. Elle exécute aussi des projets de recherche spéciaux portant sur une foule de sujets reliés à l’impôt des sociétés.

Impôt en matière de ressources et d'environnement

Cette section est responsable de l’analyse et de l’élaboration du volet de la politique en matière d’impôt des sociétés qui concerne les secteurs de l’exploitation des ressources naturelles (p. ex., hydrocarbures, mines) et l’utilisation de mesures relatives à l’impôt des sociétés pour atteindre des objectifs environnementaux, par exemple en matière d’énergie propre.

Institutions financières

Cette section est responsable de l’élaboration du volet de la politique en matière d’impôt des sociétés qui concerne le secteur financier, ce qui comprend des institutions comme les banques, les coopératives de crédit, les caisses de retraite ainsi que les sociétés et les souscripteurs de polices d’assurances.

Fiscalité internationale

Cette section est responsable du volet de la politique en matière d’impôt des sociétés qui concerne l’imposition des sociétés étrangères affiliées et de leurs actionnaires, des sociétés canadiennes exploitant des entreprises à l’étranger et des non-résidents exploitant des entreprises au Canada, de même que les retenues d’impôt sur les paiements transfrontaliers.

Développement économique

Cette section est responsable de toute une gamme de dossiers relatifs à l’impôt des sociétés, entre autres les déductions pour amortissement (DPA), les crédits d’impôt, les encouragements fiscaux à la recherche scientifique et au développement expérimental (RS&DE), les questions sectorielles et la déductibilité des dépenses.

Analyse quantitative

Cette section mène des études sur diverses questions stratégiques se rapportant à l’impôt des sociétés. Notamment, elle constitue et tient à jour des bases de données et des modèles de microsimulation servant à évaluer les effets économiques et financiers de mesures de politique fiscale existantes ou envisagées.

Division de la politique fiscale intergouvernementale, de l'évaluation et de la recherche

Cette division examine, développe et gère les dossiers rattachés aux politiques fiscales fédérales-provinciales et autochtones. La Division se compose de trois sections.

Politique fiscale fédérale-provinciale

Cette section est responsable des questions stratégiques et administratives entourant les accords fédéraux-provinciaux de perception fiscale et les accords de réciprocité fiscale. Elle fournit aussi des conseils sur les questions relatives à la politique fiscale fédérale-provinciale.

Politique fiscale Autochtone

Cette section est responsable de l’élaboration du volet de la politique fiscale qui a trait aux Autochtones, du suivi des causes touchant les Autochtones devant les tribunaux de l’impôt, de la négociation des éléments fiscaux des ententes de règlement de revendications territoriales globales et des ententes d’autonomie gouvernementale, et de la négociation et de la mise en application des accords d’application fiscale conclus avec des administrations autochtones.

Évaluation et recherche

Cette section évalue des dispositions fiscales afin de s’assurer qu’elles demeurent pertinentes et produisent les effets attendus de façon efficiente. Elle mène aussi des recherches portant sur tous les aspects du régime fiscal.

Division de la législation de l'impôt

Cette division rédige des dispositions législatives en matière fiscale et appuie leur adoption au Parlement, en consultation avec le ministère de la Justice du Canada et l’Agence du revenu du Canada. Également, elle analyse l’évolution des régimes fiscaux étrangers et est responsable de l’apport de modifications stratégiques aux règles canadiennes en matière de fiscalité internationale, ainsi que de la négociation de conventions fiscales et d’accords d’échange de renseignements en matière fiscale avec d’autres pays. Elle remplit aussi une fonction de liaison clé entre le ministère des Finances et les fiscalistes du secteur privé.

Cette division compte actuellement six sections.

Revenu d’entreprise, revenu tiré de biens et revenu des particuliers

Cette section est responsable d’un large éventail de questions touchant l’impôt sur le revenu des particuliers et de certaines questions ayant trait à l’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés, entre autres le calcul du revenu des particuliers et des sociétés et l’imposition des gains en capital. Ses responsabilités englobent aussi le traitement fiscal réservé aux actionnaires, les organismes de bienfaisance, les questions culturelles et les enjeux reliés à l’administration de l’impôt.

Régimes de revenu différé

Cette section est responsable de toutes les questions d’ordre législatif touchant les régimes de revenu différé, comme les régimes de retraite, les régimes enregistrés d’épargne-retraite, les régimes enregistrés d’épargne-études et les régimes enregistrés d’épargne-invalidité. Elle est en outre responsable de la législation applicable aux comptes d’épargne libre d’impôt (CELI).

Sociétés canadiennes et revenu tiré de l’exploitation des ressources

Cette section est responsable de différentes questions qui ont trait à la définition et à l’imposition du revenu des sociétés ainsi qu’au traitement fiscal applicable en cas de réorganisations d’entreprises, de même que de questions d’ordre législatif liées à l’imposition du revenu tiré de l’exploitation des ressources et du programme d’encouragement fiscal à la recherche scientifique et au développement expérimental (RS&DE).

Intermédiaires financiers et fiducies

Cette section est responsable d’un ensemble de questions d’ordre législatif qui concernent l’imposition du revenu des institutions financières (comme les banques et les sociétés d’assurances), les instruments financiers et les sociétés dites spécialisées (p. ex. les sociétés coopératives). Ses responsabilités comprennent aussi les questions reliées à l’imposition du revenu des fiducies résidentes et non-résidentes ainsi que des investisseurs dans des entités de placement étrangères.

Sociétés internationales et revenu étranger

Cette section est responsable des questions relatives au crédit pour impôt étranger, aux sociétés étrangères affiliées et à l’imposition du revenu gagné à l’étranger, et également des questions d’ordre législatif qui concernent l’impôt des non-résidents, le changement du statut de résidence et l’établissement des prix de cession interne applicables aux opérations transfrontalières entre apparentés.

Conventions fiscales

Cette section est responsable de toutes les questions entourant la négociation et la mise en œuvre des conventions fiscales internationales et des accords d’échange de renseignements en matière fiscale conclus par le Canada. Ses membres prennent part également à la formulation de la politique internationale sur les conventions fiscales, de par leur participation aux travaux des organismes pertinents de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE).