Law Branch

Divisions

The Law Branch manages and administers all legal services to the Department of Finance. It provides legal advice and legislative services with respect to a range of areas, including financial institutions, federal financial transfers to the provinces and territories, tax policy, trade issues, securities and capital markets regulation, financial administration and Crown corporations, as well as the development and implementation of the federal budget. It also instructs on and monitors major litigation of concern to the Department, including litigation with potential significant fiscal implications.

Divisions

Office of the Assistant Deputy Minister and Counsel to the Department of Finance

The Assistant Deputy Minister and Counsel to the Department of Finance serves as chief legal adviser to the Department and oversees the work of the four divisions of the Law Branch. The Assistant Deputy Minister is also Head of the Central Agencies Portfolio of the Department of Justice, which comprises the legal services units located in Finance Canada, the Treasury Board, the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions, the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada, the Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada, and the Public Service Commission of Canada.

General Legal Services Division

The General Legal Services Division serves all branches of the Department, with the exception of the Tax Policy Branch, through the provision of legal advice. Its responsibilities include:

  • Identifying legal issues and providing legal advice in all matters within the jurisdiction of the Minister, other than those related to tax;
  • Providing legal advice on, and assisting in, the drafting and implementation of non-tax budgetary measures;
  • Assisting in the drafting and the preparation of legislation and regulations within the mandate of the Minister, other than tax measures; and
  • Assisting in the development of policy options.

Tax Counsel Division

The Tax Counsel Division primarily serves the Tax Policy Branch of the Department of Finance through the provision of legal advice and legislative drafting. The Tax Counsel Division team is composed of both legal counsel and legislative drafters. Among its many responsibilities are:

  • Providing advice to officials and the Minister on legal issues relating to tax policy;
  • Participating in the drafting of tax legislation, regulations and amendments;
  • Providing advice on tax collection agreements and provincial tax law; and
  • Assisting litigation counsel on cases where tax legislation is an issue.

Access to Information and Privacy Division

The Access to Information and Privacy Division is responsible for administering the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act for the Department. The Division also provides advice and guidance to departmental officials on matters that concern the legislation.

Values and Ethics Division

This division is responsible for the development, implementation, monitoring, and improvement of plans to ensure compliance with the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Sector and the Department of Finance Code of Conduct. It also provides advice and guidance to employees on values and ethics issues. It is also responsible for the disclosures of wrongdoing under the Public Service Disclosure Protection Act.

Direction juridique

Divisions

La Direction juridique est responsable de la gestion et de la prestation de tous les services juridiques à l'intention du ministère des Finances. Elle fournit des conseils juridiques et des services législatifs touchant un éventail de domaines, comme les institutions financières, les transferts financiers fédéraux aux provinces et aux territoires, la politique fiscale, les questions commerciales, la réglementation des valeurs mobilières et des marchés de capitaux, la gestion financière et les sociétés d'État ainsi que l'élaboration et l'exécution du budget fédéral. Elle procède à l'instruction et au suivi des affaires contentieuses importantes pour le Ministère, notamment les dossiers qui peuvent avoir des répercussions financières substantielles.

Bureau du sous-ministre adjoint et avocat du ministère des Finances

La sous-ministre adjointe et avocate du ministère des Finances est la conseillère juridique principale du Ministère. Elle supervise les travaux des quatre divisions de la Direction juridique. Elle est également à la tête du Portefeuille des organismes centraux du ministère de la Justice, qui englobe les services juridiques du ministère des Finances du Canada, du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières, de l'Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada, du Centre d'analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada et de la Commission de la fonction publique du Canada.

Division des services juridiques généraux

Cette division fournit des conseils juridiques à toutes les directions du Ministère, exception faite de la Direction de la politique de l'impôt. Elle a notamment pour tâches :

  • de mettre en lumière les aspects juridiques et de fournir des conseils juridiques concernant toute question relevant de la compétence du Ministre, à l'exception des questions relatives à la fiscalité;
  • de fournir des conseils juridiques et un appui aux fins de la rédaction et de la mise en œuvre de mesures budgétaires de nature non fiscale;
  • d'aider à la rédaction et à l'élaboration d'instruments législatifs et réglementaires s'inscrivant dans le mandat du Ministre, à l'exception des mesures fiscales;
  • d'appuyer la formulation d'options stratégiques.

Division du droit fiscal

Cette division a pour principal client la Direction de la politique de l'impôt du Ministère, à laquelle elle offre des conseils juridiques et des services de rédaction législative. Elle est composée de conseillers juridiques et de rédacteurs de lois. Elle remplit de nombreuses responsabilités, notamment :

  • la formulation de conseils à l'intention des fonctionnaires et du Ministre au sujet de questions juridiques reliées à la politique fiscale;
  • la participation à la rédaction de nouvelles lois et de nouveaux règlements du domaine fiscal, ainsi que de modifications aux lois et règlements existants;
  • la formulation de conseils sur les accords de perception fiscale et le droit fiscal provincial;
  • le soutien des avocats plaidants dans les dossiers qui mettent en cause les lois fiscales.

Division de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels

Cette division assure l'application de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels pour le compte du Ministère. Elle fournit aussi des conseils et des services d'orientation aux fonctionnaires du Ministère sur des questions où ces lois entrent en jeu.

Division des valeurs et de l'éthique

Cette division est chargée des activités d'élaboration, de mise en application, de surveillance et d'amélioration de plans visant à assurer le respect du Code de valeurs et d'éthique du secteur publique et du Code de Conduite du Ministère des Finances. Elle offre aussi des conseils et une orientation aux employés concernant les questions reliées aux valeurs et à l'éthique ainsi que sur la divulgation d'actes répréhensibles suite à la Loi sur la protection des fonctionnaires divulgateurs d'actes répréhensibles.