Help the Government of Canada organize its website Canada.ca!
Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Economic Development and Corporate Finance Branch

The Economic Development and Corporate Finance (EDCF) Branch is responsible for advising the Minister on microeconomic, regional and sectoral issues and policies that contribute to higher productivity and economic growth in Canada. The Branch provides advice to support the Minister’s participation in Cabinet, and the development of the government’s budget.

To accomplish this, EDCF is organized in two divisions.

Microeconomic Policy Analysis Division

Industry and the Knowledge Economy

This section is responsible for policy analysis and advice on issues related to: Canada's innovation performance, university-based research, federal science and technology, and various manufacturing and service sectors.

Resources, Energy, and Environment

The section covers a broad range of issues including: climate change; energy policy and mining; water; biodiversity; and sustainable development planning.

Policy Analysis and Coordination

This section provides policy analysis and advice on proposals related to small business issues and financing, including the Business Development Bank of Canada, venture capital and the Small Business Loans Act; regulatory efficiency; regional economic development policies and agencies; and the forestry sector.

Corporate Finance & Asset Management

The section is responsible for the development and implementation of the Corporate Asset Management Review, an ongoing systematic analysis of the government’s corporate holdings. It advises on the operations and holdings of the Canada Development Investment Corporation. The section also provides analysis and advice on government support for large private sector projects.

Toronto Waterfront Revitalization Initiative

The Toronto Waterfront Revitalization Initiative Secretariat administers the government's contributions to the Toronto Waterfront Revitalization Initiative, and contributions to the Harbourfront Centre, a not-for-profit organization whose mandate is to manage cultural and educational programming activities on the Toronto waterfront.

Sectoral Policy Analysis Division

Agriculture and Fisheries

The section provides advice on agriculture and fishery issues including: international market and price conditions, incomes, the food safety system, environmental planning, and rural development.

Transport And Corporate Analysis

The Transport and Corporate Analysis section is responsible for analysis and policy advice regarding Canada's road, rail and air transportation systems; the federal government's involvement in public infrastructure and the use of public-private partnerships.

Defence And Crown Corporations

The Defence and Crown Corporations section is responsible for providing analysis and advice on matters pertaining to National Defence, Security and Emergency Preparedness and select Crown corporations.

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web Canada.ca!
Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Direction du développement économique et des finances intégrées

La Direction du développement économique et des finances intégrées est responsable de conseiller le Ministre au sujet de questions de politique et de dossiers microéconomiques, régionaux et sectoriels en vue de contribuer à la croissance de la productivité et de l’économie du Canada. Elle formule des conseils à l’appui de la participation du Ministre aux travaux du Cabinet et de l’élaboration du budget du gouvernement.

Pour accomplir ses fonctions, la Direction est formée de deux divisions.

Division de l'analyse des politiques microéconomiques

Industrie et économie du savoir

Cette section est responsable des analyses stratégiques et de la formulation de conseils au sujet de questions reliées aux résultats du Canada sur le plan de l’innovation, à la recherche universitaire, aux activités fédérales en matière de sciences et technologie et à différents éléments des secteurs de la fabrication et des services.

Ressources Naturelles, Énergie et Environnement

Cette section se penche sur un large éventail de dossiers, dont les changements climatiques, la politique énergétique et l’exploitation des ressources minières, les ressources hydriques, la biodiversité et la planification du développement durable.

Analyse et coordination des politiques

Cette section mène des analyses stratégiques et fournit des conseils au sujet de propositions portant sur les petites entreprises et leur financement, notamment en ce qui concerne la Banque de développement du Canada, le capital de risque et la Loi sur les prêts aux petites entreprises, ainsi que l’efficience de la réglementation, la politique et les organismes de développement économique régional, et le secteur forestier.

Finances intégrées et gestion d’actifs

Cette section est responsable de la préparation et de l’exécution de l’examen de la gestion des actifs du gouvernement, une analyse systématique permanente des actifs détenus par l’État fédéral. Elle formule des conseils sur les activités et les actifs de la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada, et elle fournit analyses et conseils concernant le soutien public à des projets importants du secteur privé.

Initiative de revitalisation du secteur riverain de Toronto

Le Secrétariat de l’Initiative de revitalisation du secteur riverain de Toronto gère la contribution du gouvernement fédéral à cette initiative et au Harbourfront Centre, organisme à but non lucratif dont le mandat consiste à gérer les activités menées dans le cadre de programmes culturels et éducatifs qui se déroulent dans le secteur riverain de Toronto.

Division de l'analyse des politiques sectorielles

Agriculture et pêches

Cette section fournit des conseils au sujet de questions relatives à l’agriculture et aux pêches et océans, par exemple la conjoncture du marché et les prix des produits à l’échelle internationale, les revenus, le système d’assurance de la salubrité des aliments, la planification environnementale et le développement rural.

Analyse des transports et des sociétés

Cette section a pour tâche d’effectuer des analyses et de fournir des conseils concernant les réseaux de transport routier, ferroviaire et aérien du Canada, la participation fédérale dans l’infrastructure publique et les partenariats public-privé.

Défense et sociétés d’état

Cette section effectue des analyses et formule des conseils sur des questions relatives aux ministères de la Défense nationale et de la Sécurité publique ainsi qu’à certaines sociétés d’État.