Help the Government of Canada organize its website Canada.ca!
Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Consultations and Communications Branch

The Consultations and Communications Branch provides communications advice to the Department, handles media relations and public consultations and assists in the development and announcement of policy initiatives, from the signing of tax treaties to the federal budget. The Branch is also responsible for Finance Canada’s web site and multimedia services.

Communications Strategy and Parliamentary Affairs Division

This Division is responsible for developing communications plans, strategies and products, providing communications advice to the Department's policy branches, providing advice on the Department's legislative agenda, monitoring and analysing media coverage including social media, and developing and managing public opinion research and advertising. 

This division comprises the following sections:

Strategic Services

The Strategic Services section develops communications plans and strategies, and provides communications advice and analysis to the policy branches. Much of this work involves drafting press releases, briefing papers, publications and multimedia presentations, including material related to the federal budget and The Economic and Fiscal Update.

Research and Analysis

This section monitors all major Canadian media and select international media for issues of interest to the Minister of Finance, the Parliamentary Secretary and the Department.

Speeches and Presentations

In collaboration with Strategic Services, this section provides writing and editing assistance for speeches, legislative debates and hearings, speaking notes and other presentations by the Minister of Finance, the Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister and senior government officials.

Marketing

This section is responsible for the development, implementation and administrative oversight of all public opinion research and advertising undertaken by the Department of Finance, as well as the provision of strategic communications advice in that regard.

Parliamentary Affairs

This section provides advice to the Minister, Parliamentary Secretary and departmental officials to advance and support the Department's legislative agenda in order to facilitate the passing of bills before Parliament. It is also responsible for the processing of Parliamentary appointments, the tabling of annual reports, and the responses to written questions, petitions, and motions for the production of papers.

Public Affairs and Operations Division

This division manages media relations, external consultations, editing, publishing and ministerial correspondence, as well as domestic and international visits and conferences.

Media Relations and Consultations

This section deals directly with the media and supports the Department's consultations with stakeholders and the public. It provides on-the-record quotes to the media through a departmental spokesperson.

Visits, Conferences and Protocol

This section covers all aspects of meeting, visit and conference organization including planning and logistical arrangements, both domestically and internationally.

Publishing and Operations

Publishing and Operations oversees and coordinates the Department's publishing program in both on-line and paper formats, including all Budget materials.

Language Services

The key role for this section is to ensure that the Department's publications are consistent, accurate, clear, and accessible in both official languages.

Departmental Correspondence

The Departmental Correspondence Unit is responsible for processing correspondence directed to the Minister, as well as calls to the Department's Public Enquiries telephone line.

Web & Multimedia Services

This unit is responsible for communications issues involving the Department's web site, including its development, maintenance and accessibility. It informs Internet users in Canada and worldwide about departmental policies and initiatives, including the federal budget and The Economic and Fiscal Update. This section also oversees public consultations on the web.

Direction des consultations et des communications

La Direction des consultations et des communications fournit des conseils au Ministère en matière de communications. De plus, elle est chargée des relations avec les médias et des consultations publiques du Ministère, et elle contribue à l’élaboration et à la publication d’initiatives stratégiques aussi diverses que la signature de conventions fiscales et le budget fédéral. Elle est également responsable du site Web et de l’offre de services multimédias au Ministère.

Division de la stratégie des communications et des affaires parlementaires

Cette division est chargée d'élaborer des plans, des stratégies et des produits de communication; de donner des conseils en matière de communication aux directions du Ministère chargées des politiques; de donner des conseils au sujet du programme législatif du Ministère; de faire le suivi et l'analyse de la couverture médiatique, y compris des médias sociaux; de préparer et de gérer la recherche sur l'opinion publique et la publicité.

Elle compte les sections suivantes :

Services stratégiques

Cette section élabore des plans et des stratégies de communications, et elle fournit des services de conseil et d'analyse en matière de communications aux directions responsables des politiques. Ces activités consistent en grande partie à rédiger des discours, des communiqués de presse, des documents d'information, des publications et des présentations multimédias, ce qui inclut la documentation relative au budget fédéral et à la Mise à jour économique et financière.

Recherche et analyse

Cette section fait un suivi de tous les principaux médias canadiens et de certains médias étrangers concernant des questions qui présentent de l'intérêt pour le ministre, le secrétaire parlementaire et le ministère des Finances.

Discours et présentations

En collaboration avec la Section des services stratégiques, cette section fournit des services d'aide à la rédaction et à la révision de discours, de présentations lors d'audiences et de débats ayant trait à des instruments législatifs, de notes d'allocution et d'autres présentations du ministre des Finances, de son secrétaire parlementaire et de hauts fonctionnaires.

Marketing

Cette section est responsable de la conception, de l'exécution et de la surveillance administrative de toutes les initiatives de recherche sur l'opinion publique et de publicité du ministère des Finances, en plus de la formulation de conseils en matière de communications stratégiques dans ce domaine.

Affaires parlementaires

Cette section fournit des conseils au ministre, au secrétaire parlementaire et aux fonctionnaires du Ministère dans le but d'appuyer le programme législatif ministériel, de manière à faciliter l'adoption de projets de loi par le Parlement. Elle assure aussi le traitement des nominations parlementaires, le dépôt des rapports annuels et la préparation des réponses aux questions écrites, aux pétitions et aux motions portant production de documents.

Division des affaires publiques et des opérations

Cette division est responsable de la gestion des relations avec les médias, des consultations menées à l'externe, des services de rédaction, des publications, de la correspondance ministérielle ainsi que des conférences et des visites au niveau national et international.

Relations avec les médias et consultations

Cette section traite directement avec les médias et soutient les consultations ministérielles menées auprès des parties prenantes et du public. Elle transmet des déclarations aux médias par l'intermédiaire d'un porte-parole ministériel.

Visites, conférences et protocole

Cette section est responsable de tous les aspects de l'organisation de réunions, de visites et de conférences à l'échelle nationale et internationale, dont la planification et la logistique.

Publications et opérations

Cette section supervise et coordonne le programme de publications du Ministère, qui englobe les documents sur support papier ou électronique ainsi que les documents budgétaires.

Services linguistiques

Le rôle premier de cette section est de veiller à ce que les publications du Ministère soient cohérentes, exactes, claires et accessibles dans les deux langues officielles.

Correspondance ministérielle

Cette unité est responsable du suivi de la correspondance adressée au Ministre ainsi que des appels téléphoniques reçus par le service ministériel de demandes de renseignements du public.

Sites web et services multimédias

Cette unité est responsable des questions reliées aux communications sur le site Web ministériel (élaboration, tenue à jour et accessibilité). Elle informe les utilisateurs d'Internet au Canada et ailleurs au sujet des politiques et des initiatives du Ministère, notamment le budget et la Mise à jour économique et financière. Elle s'occupe également des consultations publiques menées sur le Web.