Archived - Annual Financial Report of the Government of Canada
Fiscal Year 2006–2007 : 2

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

- Table of Contents - Previous -

Report of the Auditor General on the Condensed Financial Statements of the Government of Canada

To the Minister of Finance

The accompanying condensed statements of operations and accumulated deficit, financial position, change in net debt and cash flow are derived from the complete financial statements of the Government of Canada as at March 31, 2007, and for the year then ended on which I expressed an opinion without reservation in my Report to the House of Commons dated August 24, 2007.

For more complete information, readers should refer to my Report, which will be included in Volume I of the Public Accounts of Canada 2007, expected to be tabled in the House of Commons later this year.

The fair summarization of the complete financial statements is the responsibility of the Government. My responsibility, in accordance with the applicable Assurance Guideline of The Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants, is to report on the condensed financial statements.

In my opinion, the accompanying condensed financial statements fairly summarize, in all material respects, the related complete financial statements in accordance with the criteria described in the Guideline referred to above.

These summarized financial statements do not contain all the disclosures required by Canadian generally accepted accounting principles. Readers are cautioned that these statements may not be appropriate for their purposes. For more information on the Government’s results of operations and accumulated deficit, financial position, change in net debt and cash flow, reference should be made to the related complete financial statements, which will also be included in Volume I of the Public Accounts of Canada 2007.

Sheila Fraser, FCA
Auditor General of Canada

Ottawa, Canada
August 24, 2007


Condensed Financial Statements of the Government of Canada

The fundamental purpose of these condensed financial statements is to provide an overview of the financial affairs and resources for which the Government is responsible under authority granted by Parliament. Responsibility for the integrity and objectivity of these statements rests with the Government.

These financial statements are extracted and condensed from the audited financial statements included in Section 2 of Volume I of the Public Accounts of Canada 2007, which are expected to be tabled in Parliament later this year. As these condensed financial statements are, by their nature, summarized, they do not include all disclosure required for financial reporting by governments in Canada. Readers interested in the disclosure of more detailed data should refer to the audited financial statements in the Public Accounts.

Table 8
Government of Canada
Condensed Statement of Operations and Accumulated Deficit
for the Year Ended March 31, 2007


2007

2006



Budget1

Actual

Actual


($ millions)

Revenues

  Income tax revenues

148,990

153,099

139,944

  Other taxes and duties

43,420

45,317

46,156

  Employment insurance premiums

16,125

16,789

16,535

  Other revenues

18,615

20,761

19,568


Total revenues

227,150

235,966

222,203

Expenses

  Transfer payments

    Old age security benefits and related payments

30,625

30,284

28,992

    Other levels of government

40,075

42,514

40,815

    Employment insurance benefits

14,580

14,084

14,417

    Children’s benefits

11,140

11,214

9,200

    Other transfer payments

27,600

26,844

24,893


    Total transfer payments

124,020

124,940

118,317

  Other program expenses

64,785

63,329

56,896


Total program expenses

188,805

188,269

175,213

  Public debt charges

34,788

33,945

33,772


Total expenses

223,593

222,214

208,985


Annual surplus

3,557

13,752

13,218

Accumulated deficit, beginning of year

481,4992

481,499

494,717

Other comprehensive income (Note 2)

479


Accumulated deficit, end of year

477,942

467,268

481,499


The accompanying notes are an integral part of these statements.
1 Derived from Budget 2006.
2 Adjusted to the actual closing amount of previous year.

Table 9
Government of Canada
Condensed Statement of Financial Position
as at March 31, 2007


2007

2006


($ millions)

Liabilities

  Accounts payable and accrued liabilities

106,511

101,432

  Interest-bearing debt

    Unmatured debt

414,192

421,149

    Pension and other liabilities

185,060

179,924


  Total interest-bearing debt

599,252

601,073


Total liabilities

705,763

702,505

Financial assets

  Cash and accounts receivable

92,586

82,843

  Foreign exchange accounts

44,178

40,827

  Loans, investments and advances

45,094

41,889


Total financial assets

181,858

165,559


Net debt

523,905

536,946

Non-financial assets

  Tangible capital assets

49,036

48,355

  Other

7,601

7,092


Total non-financial assets

56,637

55,447


Accumulated deficit

467,268

481,499


The accompanying notes are an integral part of these statements.

Table 10
Government of Canada
Condensed Statement of Change in Net Debt
for the Year Ended March 31, 2007


2007

2006



Budget1

Actual

Actual


($ millions)

Net debt, beginning of year

536,9462

536,946

549,587

Change in net debt during the year

  Annual surplus

-3,557

-13,752

-13,218

  Acquisition of tangible capital assets

4,885

4,789

4,046

  Amortization of tangible capital assets

-4,092

-3,807

-3,904

  Other

-100

208

435


Net decrease in net debt due to operations

-2,864

-12,562

-12,641

Other comprehensive income (Note 2)

-479


Net decrease in net debt

-2,864

-13,041

-12,641


Net debt, end of year

534,082

523,905

536,946


The accompanying notes are an integral part of these statements.
1 Derived from Budget 2006.
2 Adjusted to the actual closing amount of previous year.

Table 11
Government of Canada
Condensed Statement of Cash Flow
for the Year Ended March 31, 2007


2007

2006


($ millions)

Cash provided by operating activities

  Annual surplus

       13,752

13,218

  Items not affecting cash

-1,662

-4,749


12,090

8,469

Cash used by capital investment activities

-4,587

-3,900

Cash provided by investing activities

2,289

466


Total cash generated before financing activities

9,792

5,035

Cash used by financing activities

-8,245

-4,501


Net increase in cash

1,547

534

Cash at beginning of year

21,149

20,615


Cash at end of year

22,696

21,149


Supplementary information

Cash used for interest

20,026

    19,810


The accompanying notes are an integral part of these statements.

Notes to the Condensed Financial Statements of the Government of Canada

1. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

The reporting entity of the Government of Canada includes all departments, agencies, corporations, organizations and funds, which are controlled by the Government. The financial activities of all these entities are consolidated in these financial statements, except for enterprise Crown corporations and other government business enterprises, which are not dependent on the Government for financing their activities. These corporations are reported under the modified equity basis of accounting. The Canada Pension Plan is excluded from the reporting entity because changes to the Plan require the agreement of two thirds of participating provinces and it is therefore not controlled by the Government.

The Government accounts for transactions on an accrual basis, using the Government’s accounting policies that are described in Note 1 to its audited financial statements, which are based on Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector. The use of these stated accounting policies does not result in any significant differences from Canadian generally accepted accounting principles.

Financial assets recorded on the Condensed Statement of Financial Position can provide resources to discharge liabilities or finance future operations and are recorded at the lower of cost or net realizable value. Non-financial assets cannot normally be converted into cash to finance future operations without disrupting government operations; they are recorded at cost less accumulated amortization. Liabilities are recorded at the estimated amount ultimately payable. Within pension and other liabilities, obligations for pension and other employee and veteran future benefits are determined on an actuarial basis. Allowances for valuation are established for loans, investments and advances, as well as for loan guarantees and other obligations.

Some amounts in these statements are based on estimates and assumptions made by the Government. By their nature, such estimates are subject to measurement uncertainty. The effect of changes to such estimates and assumptions in future periods could be significant to the financial statements, although, at the time of their preparation, the Government believes the estimates and assumptions to be reasonable. Some of the more significant estimates used in these financial statements affect the accrual of tax revenues and obligations for pension and other employee and veteran future benefits.

Comparative figures have been reclassified to conform to the current year’s presentation.

2. Change in Accounting Policy

During 2006-2007, the Government adopted the new recommendations of the Public Sector Accounting Board of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants regarding the recording of other comprehensive income resulting from the accounting of certain unrealized gains and losses on financial instruments by enterprise Crown corporations. In accordance with those recommendations, other comprehensive income is excluded from the calculation of the Government’s annual surplus. It is instead recorded directly to the Government’s Condensed Statement of Accumulated Deficit and Condensed Statement of Change in Net Debt.

This accounting policy change has resulted in an increase of $479 million in loans, investments and advances presented on the Condensed Statement of Financial Position and in a corresponding decrease in the balances of the accumulated deficit and of the net debt of the Government.

3. Contractual Obligations

Contractual obligations that will materially affect the level of future expenditures include transfer payment agreements, acquisitions of property and equipment, and goods and services, operating leases and funding of international organizations. At March 31, 2007, contractual obligations amount to $67,954 million ($69,960 million in 2006), of which $14,365 million pertains to fiscal year 2007-2008.

4. Contingent Liabilities

Guarantees by the Government and callable share capital in certain international organizations at March 31, 2007 amount to $165,321 million ($143,991 million in 2006), net of a recorded allowance of $815 million ($1,031 million in 2006). In addition, there are a number of contaminated sites where the Government could be obligated to incur costs.

There are thousands of claims and pending and threatened litigation cases against the Government; the total amount claimed in these instances is significant but the final outcome is not determinable. The Government has recorded an allowance for claims and litigation where it is likely that there will be a future payment and a reasonable estimate of the loss can be made.

At March 31, 2007, insurance in force relating to self-sustaining insurance programs operated by three agent enterprise Crown corporations amounted to $897,490 million ($839,382 million in 2006). The Government expects that all three corporations will cover the cost of both current claims and possible future claims.

5. Subsequent Event

On August 20, 2007, the Government of Canada announced that it has entered into an agreement for the sale of nine office buildings and their subsequent lease-back for a period of twenty-five years. The office complexes and land that are located in six major cities across Canada will be sold for an amount approximating $1,600 million. The impact of this agreement, once finalized, will be reflected in the 2007-2008 financial statements.

Other Sources of Information

Public Accounts of Canada

The Public Accounts of Canada, as required under section 64(1) of the Financial Administration Act, are tabled in the fall of each year by the President of the Treasury Board. This report is presented in three volumes:

  • Volume I contains the Government’s audited financial statements and supporting schedules and information.
  • Volume II contains details of financial operations by ministry.
  • Volume III contains additional information and analyses.

Budget

The budget, usually introduced in February, presents the Government’s overall fiscal plan, incorporating revenue projections and spending plans, which combine to determine the resulting budgetary balance. The budget also introduces proposals for changes in taxation.

The Fiscal Monitor

This monthly newsletter produced by the Department of Finance highlights the financial results of the Government together with the reasons underlying major variances.

Debt Management Strategy

This report is tabled annually in Parliament. It provides information on the federal government’s debt management strategy for the coming fiscal year.

Debt Management Report

This annual document provides an accounting of the key elements of federal debt strategy and describes various strategic and operational aspects of the Government’s debt program and cash management activities over the past fiscal year.

Estimates

Each year the Government prepares Estimates in support of its request to Parliament for authority to spend public monies. This request is formalized through the tabling of appropriation bills in Parliament. The Estimates are tabled in the House of Commons by the President of the Treasury Board and consist of three parts:

Part I—The Government Expenditure Plan provides an overview of federal spending and summarizes the relationship of the key elements of the Main Estimates to the Expenditure Plan set out in the budget.

Part II—The Main Estimates directly support the Appropriations Act.

Part III—Departmental Expenditure Plans, which consist of two components—Reports on Plans and Priorities and Departmental Performance Reports.

- Table of Contents - Previous -

Archivé - Rapport financier annuel du gouvernement du Canada
Exercice 2006-2007 : 2

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

- Table des matières - Précédent -

Rapport de la vérificatrice générale sur les états financiers condensés du gouvernement du Canada

Au ministre des Finances

Les états financiers condensés ci-joints des résultats et du déficit accumulé, de la situation financière, de la variation de la dette nette et des flux de trésorerie ont été établis à partir des états financiers complets du gouvernement du Canada au 31 mars 2007 et pour l’exercice clos à cette date sur lesquels j’ai formulé une opinion sans réserve dans mon rapport à la Chambre des communes daté du 24 août 2007.

Pour obtenir plus d’information, les lecteurs sont invités à lire mon rapport, qui sera publié dans le volume I des Comptes publics du Canada 2007, lesquels doivent être déposés à la Chambre des communes plus tard cette année.

La présentation d’un résumé fidèle des états financiers complets relève de la responsabilité du gouvernement. Ma responsabilité, en conformité avec la note d’orientation pertinente concernant la certification, publiée par l’Institut Canadien des Comptables Agréés, consiste à faire rapport sur les états financiers condensés.

À mon avis, les états financiers condensés ci-joints donnent, à tous les égards importants, un résumé fidèle des états financiers complets correspondants selon les critères décrits dans la note d’orientation susmentionnée.

Ces états financiers condensés ne contiennent pas toutes les informations requises selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus. Le lecteur doit garder à l’esprit qu’ils risquent de ne pas convenir à ses fins. Pour obtenir de plus amples informations sur les résultats d’exploitation et du déficit accumulé, la situation financière, la variation de la dette nette et les flux de trésorerie du gouvernement, le lecteur devra se reporter aux états financiers complets correspondants, qui seront inclus dans le volume I des Comptes publics du Canada 2007.

La vérificatrice générale du Canada,

 

Sheila Fraser, FCA

Ottawa, Canada
Le 24 août 2007


États financiers condensés du gouvernement du Canada

Le but fondamental de ces états financiers condensés est de fournir un aperçu des activités et des ressources financières dont le gouvernement est responsable conformément aux pouvoirs conférés par le Parlement. C’est au gouvernement qu’il incombe d’assurer l’intégrité et l’objectivité de ces états.

Les présents états financiers sont extraits et condensés à partir des états financiers vérifiés inclus à la section 2 du volume I des Comptes publics du Canada de 2007, qui devraient être déposés au Parlement plus tard cette année. Les états financiers condensés étant par nature des résumés, ils ne contiennent pas tous les renseignements nécessaires à la présentation de l’information financière par les gouvernements au Canada. Le lecteur désireux d’obtenir des renseignements plus détaillés est prié de consulter les états financiers vérifiés contenus dans les Comptes publics.

Tableau 8
Gouvernement du Canada
État condensé des résultats et du déficit accumulé
Exercice clos le 31 mars 2007


2007

2006



Budget1

Réel

Réel


(millions de dollars)

Revenus

  Impôt sur le revenu

148 990

153 099

139 944

  Autres taxes et droits

43 420

45 317

46 156

  Cotisations d’assurance-emploi

16 125

16 789

16 535

  Autres revenus

18 615

20 761

19 568


Total des revenus

227 150

235 966

222 203

Charges

  Paiements de transfert

    Prestations de sécurité de la vieillesse et
     paiements connexes

30 625

30 284

28 992

    Autres paliers de gouvernement

40 075

42 514

40 815

    Prestations d’assurance-emploi

14 580

14 084

14 417

    Prestations pour enfants

11 140

11 214

9 200

    Autres paiements de transfert

27 600

26 844

24 893


    Total des paiements de transfert

124 020

124 940

118 317

  Autres charges de programmes

64 785

63 329

56 896


Total des charges de programmes

188 805

188 269

175 213

  Frais de la dette publique

34 788

33 945

33 772


Total des charges

223 593

222 214

208 985


Excédent annuel

3 557

13 752

13 218

Déficit accumulé au début de l’exercice

481 4992

481 499

494 717

Autres éléments du résultat étendu (note 2)

479


Déficit accumulé à la fin de l’exercice

477 942

    467 268

    481 499


Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante de ces états.
1 Tirés du budget de 2006.
2 Redressé au solde réel de fermeture de l’exercice précédent.

Tableau 9
Gouvernement du Canada
État condensé de la situation financière
au 31 mars 2007


2007

2006


(millions de dollars)

Passifs

  Créditeurs et charges à payer

106 511

101 432

  Dette portant intérêt

    Dette non échue

414 192

421 149

    Régimes de retraite et autres passifs

185 060

179 924


  Total de la dette portant intérêt

599 252

601 073


Total des passifs

705 763

702 505

Actifs financiers

  Encaisse et créances

92 586

82 843

  Comptes d’opérations de change

44 178

40 827

  Prêts, placements et avances

45 094

41 889


Total des actifs financiers

181 858

165 559


Dette nette

523 905

536 946


Actifs non financiers

  Immobilisations corporelles

49 036

48 355

  Autres

7 601

7 092


Total des actifs non financiers

56 637

55 447


Déficit accumulé

467 268

481 499


Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante de ces états.

Tableau 10
Gouvernement du Canada
État condensé de la variation de la dette nette
Exercice clos le 31 mars 2007


2007

2006


Budget1

Réel

Réel


(millions de dollars)

Dette nette au début de l’exercice

536 9462

    536 946

    549 587

Variation de la dette nette au cours de l’exercice

  Excédent annuel

-3 557

-13 752

-13 218

  Acquisitions d’immobilisations corporelles

4 885

4 789

4 046

  Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles

-4 092

-3 807

-3 904

  Autres

- 100

208

435


Diminution nette de la dette nette due
 au fonctionnement

-2 864

-12 562

-12 641

Autres éléments du résultat étendu (note 2)

-479


Diminution nette de la dette nette

-2 864

-13 041

-12 641


Dette nette à la fin de l’exercice

534 082

523 905

536 946


Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante de ces états.
1 Tirés du budget de 2006.
2 Redressé au solde réel de fermeture de l’exercice précédent.

Tableau 11
Gouvernement du Canada
État condensé des flux de trésorerie
Exercice clos le 31 mars 2007


2007

2006


(millions de dollars)

Encaisse générée par les activités de
 fonctionnement

  Excédent annuel

13 752

13 218

  Éléments sans effet sur l’encaisse

-1 662

-4 749


12 090

8 469

Encaisse utilisée par les activités
 d’investissement en immobilisations

-4 587

-3 900

Encaisse générée par les
 activités d’investissement

2 289

466


Total de l’encaisse générée avant les
 activités de financement

9 792

5 035

Encaisse utilisée par les activités de financement

-8 245

-4 501


Augmentation nette de l’encaisse

1 547

534

Encaisse au début de l’exercice

21 149

20 615


Encaisse à la fin de l’exercice

    22 696

    21 149


Renseignement supplémentaire


Encaisse utilisée pour les intérêts

20 026

19 810


Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante de ces états.

Notes afférentes aux états financiers condensés du gouvernement du Canada

1. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

Le périmètre comptable du gouvernement du Canada comprend tous les ministères, organismes, sociétés, organisations et fonds qui sont sous le contrôle du gouvernement. Les activités financières de toutes ces entités sont consolidées dans les présents états financiers, sauf pour ce qui est des sociétés d’État entreprises et autres entreprises publiques, lesquelles ne dépendent pas de crédits parlementaires pour financer leurs activités. Ces sociétés sont présentées selon la méthode modifiée de la comptabilisation à la valeur de consolidation. Le Régime de pensions du Canada est exclu du périmètre comptable parce que les changements au Régime nécessitent l’accord de deux tiers des provinces participantes, il n’est donc pas contrôlé par le gouvernement.

Le gouvernement comptabilise ses opérations selon la comptabilité d’exercice, conformément aux conventions comptables du gouvernement définies à la note 1 afférente à ses états financiers vérifiés, lesquelles s’appuient sur les principes comptables généralement reconnus au Canada pour le secteur public. L’utilisation de ces conventions comptables énoncées ne donne lieu à aucune différence importante par rapport aux principes comptables généralement reconnus au Canada.

Les actifs financiers présentés à l’état condensé de la situation financière peuvent générer des ressources permettant d’acquitter des obligations ou de financer des activités futures, et ils sont inscrits au moindre du coût ou de leur valeur de réalisation nette. Les actifs non financiers ne peuvent normalement être convertis en espèces pour financer les activités futures, sans perturber les activités gouvernementales; ils sont inscrits au coût moins l’amortissement cumulé. Les passifs sont inscrits au montant estimatif payable ultimement. Dans les régimes de retraite et aux autres passifs, les obligations découlant des régimes de retraite et des autres avantages futurs des employés et anciens combattants sont établies selon une méthode actuarielle. Des provisions pour moins-value sont établies pour les prêts, placements et avances ainsi que pour les garanties d’emprunt et les autres obligations.

Certains montants des présents états sont fondés sur des estimations et des hypothèses établies par le gouvernement. Compte tenu de leur nature, ces estimations sont sujettes à l’incertitude relative à la mesure. Des modifications à ces estimations et hypothèses au cours d’exercises futurs pourraient avoir des incidences importantes sur les états financiers. Cependant, au moment de la préparation de ces états, le gouvernement considère que ces estimations et hypothèses sont raisonnables. Certaines des estimations les plus importantes utilisées dans les présents états financiers touchent la comptabilisation selon la comptabilité d’exercice des revenus fiscaux et les obligations découlant des régimes de retraite et des autres avantages futurs des employés et anciens combattants.

Les chiffres comparatifs ont été reclassés afin de se conformer à la présentation de l’exercice en cours.

2. Modification de convention comptable

En 2006-2007, le gouvernement a adopté les nouvelles recommandations du Conseil sur la comptabilité dans le secteur public de l’Institut Canadien des Comptables Agréés concernant l’inscription des autres éléments du résultat étendu qui découlent de la comptabilisation par les sociétés d’État entreprises de certains gains non réalisés ou de certaines pertes non réalisées sur les instruments financiers. Conformément à ces recommandations, les autres éléments du résultat étendu sont exclus du calcul de l’excédent annuel du gouvernement. Ils sont cependant inscrits directement à l’état condensé du déficit accumulé et à l’état condensé de la variation de la dette nette du gouvernement.

Cette modification de convention comptable a donné lieu à une augmentation de 479 millions de dollars de la valeur des prêts, placements et avances présentée à l’état condensé de la situation financière ainsi qu’à une diminution correspondante du solde du déficit accumulé et du solde de la dette nette du gouvernement.

3. Obligations contractuelles

Les obligations contractuelles qui auront un effet important sur le niveau des dépenses futures comprennent les accords de paiements de transfert, les acquisitions de biens et matériel et de produits et services, les contrats de location-exploitation et le financement des organisations internationales. Au 31 mars 2007, les obligations contractuelles s’élevent à 67 954 millions de dollars (69 960 millions de dollars en 2006), dont 14 365 millions de dollars se rapportent à l’exercice financier 2007-2008.

4. Passif éventuel

Au 31 mars 2007, les garanties accordées par le gouvernement et le capital sujet à appel dans certaines organisations internationales s’élèvent à 165 321 millions de dollars (143 991 millions de dollars en 2006), nette d’une provision de 815 millions de dollars (1 031 millions de dollars en 2006). En outre, il y a un certain nombre de sites contaminés pour lesquels le gouvernement pourrait devoir engager des coûts.

Il existe des milliers de cas de réclamations et causes en instance et imminentes contre le gouvernement. Bien que le montant total visé par ces recours soit important, leur dénouement ne peut pas être évalué. Le gouvernement a inscrit une provision pour les réclamations et les causes pour lesquelles un paiement futur est probable et qu’une estimation raisonnable de la perte peut être effectuée.

Au 31 mars 2007, les couvertures en vigueur relatives à des programmes d’assurance autonomes administrés par trois sociétés d’État entreprises mandataires s’élèvent à 897 490 millions de dollars (839 382 millions de dollars en 2006). Le gouvernement prévoit que les trois sociétés pourront combler le coût des réclamations courantes et éventuelles.

5. Événement postérieur à la date des états financiers

Le 20 août 2007, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé la conclusion d’une entente pour la vente de neuf immeubles à bureaux et leur reprise à bail subséquente pour une période de vingt-cinq ans. Les complexes immobiliers et les terrains qui sont situés dans six grandes villes à travers le Canada seront vendus pour un montant approximatif de 1 600 millions de dollars. L’incidence de cette entente, une fois finalisée, sera reflétée dans les états financiers de 2007-2008.

Autres sources de renseignements

Comptes publics du Canada

Les Comptes publics du Canada, conformément au paragraphe 64(1) de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, sont déposés chaque automne par le président du Conseil du Trésor. Ils se présentent en trois volumes :

  • le volume I renferme les états financiers vérifiés du gouvernement du Canada ainsi que des tableaux et des renseignements à l’appui;
  • le volume II fournit des détails sur les opérations financières par ministère;
  • le volume III renferme des renseignements et des analyses supplémentaires.

Budget

Le budget, qui est habituellement déposé en février, présente le plan global du gouvernement en matière de revenus et de dépenses, dont le résultat détermine le solde budgétaire. Le budget présente également les propositions de modifications fiscales.

La revue financière

Ce bulletin mensuel produit par le ministère des Finances expose les faits saillants des résultats financiers du gouvernement fédéral ainsi que les raisons des principales variations.

Stratégie de gestion de la dette

Ce rapport est déposé chaque année au Parlement. Il fournit des renseignements sur la stratégie de gestion de la dette du gouvernement fédéral pour l’exercice à venir.

Rapport sur la gestion de la dette

Ce document annuel expose les principaux éléments de la stratégie qu’applique le gouvernement fédéral en matière de dette publique et décrit les divers aspects stratégiques et opérationnels du programme de gestion de la dette ainsi que des activités de gestion de la trésorerie au cours du dernier exercice.

Budget des dépenses

Chaque année, le gouvernement établit son Budget des dépenses, qui présente l’information à l’appui des autorisations de dépenser demandées au Parlement pour l’affectation des fonds publics. Ces demandes d’autorisations sont présentées officiellement au moyen d’un projet de loi de crédits déposé au Parlement. Le Budget des dépenses est déposé à la Chambre des communes par le président du Conseil du Trésor. Il comporte trois parties :

Partie I – Le Plan de dépenses du gouvernement présente un aperçu des dépenses fédérales et résume les rapports entre les principaux éléments du Budget principal des dépenses et le Plan de dépenses qui figure dans le budget.

Partie II – Le Budget principal des dépenses étaye directement la Loi de crédits.

Partie III – Le Plan de dépenses de chaque ministère est divisé en deux documents : le rapport sur les plans et les priorités et le rapport ministériel sur le rendement.

- Table des matières - Précédent -