Archived - Annual Financial Report of the Government of Canada
Fiscal Year – 2004-2005: 2

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

- Table of Contents - Previous -

Report of the Auditor General on the Condensed Financial Statements of the Government of Canada

To the Minister of Finance:

The accompanying condensed statements of operations and accumulated deficit, financial position, change in net debt and cash flow are derived from the complete financial statements of the Government of Canada as at March 31, 2005, and for the year then ended on which I expressed an opinion without reservation in my Report to the House of Commons dated August 31, 2005.

For more complete information, readers should refer to my Report, which will be included in Volume I of the Public Accounts of Canada 2005, expected to be tabled in the House of Commons later this year.

The fair summarization of the complete financial statements is the responsibility of the Government. My responsibility, in accordance with the applicable Assurance Guideline of The Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants, is to report on the condensed financial statements.

In my opinion, the accompanying condensed financial statements fairly summarize, in all material respects, the related complete financial statements in accordance with the criteria described in the Guideline referred to above.

Since these are condensed financial statements, readers are cautioned that these statements may not be appropriate for their purposes. For more information on the Government’s financial position, results of operations and cash flow, reference should be made to the related complete financial statements, which will also be included in Volume I of the Public Accounts of Canada 2005.


Sheila Fraser, FCA 

Auditor General of Canada

Ottawa, Canada 
August 31, 2005


Condensed Financial Statements of the Government of Canada

The fundamental purpose of these condensed financial statements is to provide an overview of the financial affairs and resources for which the Government is responsible under authority granted by Parliament. Responsibility for the integrity and objectivity of these statements rests with the Government. 

These financial statements are extracted and condensed from the audited financial statements included in Section 2 of Volume I of the Public Accounts of Canada 2005, which are expected to be tabled in Parliament later this year. As these condensed financial statements are, by their nature, summarized, they do not include all disclosure required for financial reporting by governments in Canada. Readers interested in the disclosure of more detailed data should refer to the audited financial statements in the Public Accounts.

Table 11
Government of Canada
Condensed Statement of Operations and Accumulated Deficit
for the Year Ended March 31, 2005


  2005 2004


  Budget1 Actual Actual

  ($ millions)
Revenues      
  Income tax 125,200 132,037 123,530
  Other taxes and duties 41,700 42,857 41,365
  Employment insurance premiums 17,000 17,307 17,546
  Other revenues 16,900 19,457 16,106

Total revenues 200,800 211,658 198,547
Expenses      
  Transfer payments      
    Old age security and related payments 27,900 27,871 26,902
    Other levels of government 30,600 41,955 29,392
    Employment insurance benefits 15,700 14,748 15,058
    Other transfer payments 32,800 33,689 31,026
    Total transfer payments 107,000 118,263 102,378
  Other program expenses 54,400 57,647 51,317

Total program expenses 161,400 175,910 153,695
  Public debt charges 35,400 34,118 35,769

Total expenses 196,800 210,028 189,464

Annual surplus 4,0002 1,630 9,083
Accumulated deficit, beginning of year 501,5003 501,493 510,576

Accumulated deficit, end of year 497,500 499,863 501,493

1 Derived from Budget 2004 and adjusted to a gross basis.

2 Budget 2004 disclosed the budgetary surplus as $4 billion before deducting reserves for contingency ($3 billion) and economic prudence ($1 billion).

3 Adjusted to the actual closing amount of previous year.

Table 12
Government of Canada
Condensed Statement of Financial Position
as at March 31, 2005


2005 2004

($ millions)
Liabilities
  Accounts payable and accrued liabilities 90,473 79,964
  Interest-bearing debt
    Unmatured debt 435,460 440,231
    Pension and other liabilities 179,808 180,898

  Total interest-bearing debt 615,268 621,129

Total liabilities 705,741 701,093
Financial assets
  Cash and accounts receivable 76,281 70,921
  Foreign exchange accounts 40,871 44,313
  Loans, investments and advances 33,860 29,548

Total financial assets 151,012 144,782

Net debt 554,729 556,311
Non-financial assets
  Tangible capital assets 48,207 47,745
  Other 6,659 7,073

Total non-financial assets 54,866 54,818

Accumulated deficit 499,863 501,493

Table 13
Government of Canada
Condensed Statement of Change in Net Debt
for the Year Ended March 31, 2005


  2005 2004


  Budget1 Actual Actual

  ($ millions)
       
Net debt, beginning of year 556,3002 556,311 564,816
       
Change in net debt during the year      
  Annual surplus (4,000)3 (1,630) (9,083)
  Acquisition of tangible capital assets 4,600 4,619 4,535
  Amortization of tangible capital assets (3,100) (3,696) (3,502)
  Other   (875) (455)
 
Net decrease in net debt (2,500) (1,582) (8,505)
 
Net debt, end of year 553,800 554,729 556,311

1 Derived from Budget 2004.

2 Adjusted to the actual closing amount of previous year.

3 Budget 2004 disclosed the budgetary surplus as $4 billion before deducting reserves for contingency ($3 billion) and economic prudence ($1 billion).

Table 14
Government of Canada
Condensed Statement of Cash Flow
for the Year Ended March 31, 2005


  2005 2004

($ millions)
Cash provided by operating activities
  Annual surplus 1,630 9,083
  Items not affecting cash 4,508 4,031

6,138 13,114
Cash used for capital investment activities (4,475) (4,444)
Cash provided by (used for) investing activities 3,157 (2,425)

Total cash generated 4,820 6,245
Cash used to repay unmatured debt (4,771) (2,185)

Net increase in cash 49 4,060
Cash at beginning of year 20,546 16,486
 
Cash at end of year 20,595 20,546

Notes to the Condensed Financial Statements

1. Significant Accounting Policies

The Government of Canada reporting entity includes all departments, agencies, corporations and funds which are owned or controlled by the Government and which are accountable to Parliament. The financial activities of all these entities are consolidated in these statements, except for enterprise Crown corporations and other government business enterprises, which are not dependent on the Government for financing their activities. These corporations are reported under the modified equity basis of accounting. The Canada Pension Plan is excluded from the reporting entity as it is under the joint control of the Government and participating provinces.

The Government accounts for transactions on an accrual basis. Financial assets recorded on the Condensed Statement of Financial Position can provide resources to discharge liabilities or finance future operations and are recorded at the lower of cost or net realizable value. Non-financial assets cannot normally be converted into cash to finance future operations without disrupting government operations; they are recorded at cost less accumulated amortization. Liabilities are recorded at the estimated amount ultimately payable, with pension and other similar benefits being determined on an actuarial basis. Valuation allowances are established for loan guarantees, concessionary and sovereign loans, and other obligations.

Some amounts in these statements are based on estimates and assumptions made by the Government. By their nature, such estimates are subject to measurement uncertainty, although all of them are believed to be reasonable.

2. Contractual Obligations

Contractual obligations that will materially affect the level of future expenses include transfer payment agreements, acquisitions of goods and services, operating leases and funding of international organizations. At March 31, 2005, contractual obligations amounted to approximately $63 billion ($56 billion in 2004).

3. Contingent Liabilities

Guarantees by the Government amount to $68 billion ($71 billion in 2004) net of any recorded allowance. In addition, there are a number of contaminated sites where the Government could be obligated to incur costs. There are thousands of claims and pending and threatened litigation cases against the Government; the total amount claimed in these instances is significant but the final outcome is not determinable. Where cases are likely to be lost and an estimate of loss can be made, an amount is recorded in the financial statements. Insurance in force relating to self-sustaining insurance programs operated by three enterprise Crown corporations amounted to approximately $719 billion ($688 billion in 2004). The Government expects that it will not incur any costs to cover insurance claims under these programs.

Other Sources of Information

Public Accounts of Canada

The Public Accounts of Canada, as required under section 64(1) of the Financial Administration Act, are tabled in the fall of each year by the President of the Treasury Board. This report is presented in three volumes:

  • Volume I contains the Government’s audited financial statements and supporting schedules and information;
  • Volume II contains details of financial operations by ministry; and
  • Volume III contains additional information and analyses.

Budget

The budget, usually introduced in February, presents the Government’s overall fiscal plan, incorporating revenue projections and spending plans, which combine to determine the resulting budgetary balance. The budget also introduces proposals for changes in taxation.

The Fiscal Monitor

This monthly newsletter produced by the Department of Finance highlights the financial results of the Government together with the reasons underlying major variances.

Debt Management Strategy

This report is tabled annually in Parliament. It provides information on the federal government’s debt management strategy for the coming fiscal year.

Debt Management Report

This annual document provides an accounting of the key elements of federal debt strategy and describes various strategic and operational aspects of the Government’s debt program and cash management activities over the past fiscal year.

Estimates

Each year the Government prepares Estimates in support of its request to Parliament for authority to spend public monies. This request is formalized through the tabling of appropriation bills in Parliament. The Estimates are tabled in the House of Commons by the President of the Treasury Board and consist of three parts:

Part I – The Government Expenditure Plan provides an overview of federal spending and summarizes the relationship of the key elements of the Main Estimates to the Expenditure Plan set out in the budget.

Part II – The Main Estimates directly support the Appropriations Act.

Part III – Departmental Expenditure Plans, which consist of two components—Reports on Plans and Priorities and Departmental Performance Reports.

- Table of Contents - Previous -

Archivé - Rapport financier annuel du gouvernement du Canada
Exercice 2004-2005 : 2

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

- Table des matières - Précédent -

Rapport de la vérificatrice générale sur les états financiers condensés du gouvernement du Canada

Au ministre des Finances,

Les états financiers condensés ci-joints des résultats et du déficit accumulé, de la situation financière, de la variation de la dette nette et des flux de trésorerie ont été établis à partir des états financiers complets du gouvernement du Canada au 31 mars 2005 et pour l'exercice clos à cette date sur lesquels j'ai formulé une opinion sans réserve dans mon rapport à la Chambre des communes daté du 31 août 2005.

Pour obtenir plus d'information, les lecteurs sont invités à lire mon rapport, qui sera publié dans le volume I des Comptes publics du Canada 2005, lesquels doivent être déposés à la Chambre des communes plus tard cette année.

La présentation d'un résumé fidèle des états financiers complets relève de la responsabilité du gouvernement. Ma responsabilité, en conformité avec la note d'orientation pertinente concernant la certification, publiée par l'Institut Canadien des Comptables Agréés, consiste à faire rapport sur les états financiers condensés.

À mon avis, les états financiers condensés ci-joints donnent, à tous les égards importants, un résumé fidèle des états financiers complets correspondants selon les critères décrits dans la note d'orientation susmentionnée.

Comme ces états financiers sont condensés, le lecteur doit garder à l'esprit qu'ils risquent de ne pas convenir à ses fins. Pour obtenir de plus amples informations sur la situation financière, les résultats des opérations et les flux de trésorerie du gouvernement, le lecteur devra se reporter aux états financiers complets correspondants, qui seront inclus dans le volume I des Comptes publics du Canada 2005.


La vérificatrice générale du Canada,

Sheila Fraser, FCA

Ottawa, Canada
Le 31 août 2005


Les états financiers condensés du gouvernement du Canada

Le but fondamental de ces états financiers condensés est de fournir un aperçu des activités et des ressources financières dont le gouvernement est responsable conformément aux pouvoirs conférés par le Parlement. C'est au gouvernement qu'il incombe d'assurer l'intégrité et l'objectivité de ces états.

Les présents états financiers sont extraits et condensés à partir des états financiers vérifiés inclus à la section 2 du volume I des Comptes publics du Canada de 2005, qui devraient être déposés au Parlement plus tard cette année. Les états financiers condensés étant par nature des résumés, ils ne contiennent pas tous les renseignements nécessaires à la présentation de l'information financière par les gouvernements au Canada. Le lecteur désireux d'obtenir des renseignements plus détaillés est prié de consulter les états financiers vérifiés contenus dans les Comptes publics.

Tableau 11
Gouvernement du Canada
État condensé des résultats et du déficit accumulé
pour l'exercice clos le 31 mars 2005


  2005 2004


  Budget1 Réel Réel

  (M$)
Revenus        
  Impôt sur le revenu 125 200   132 037 123 530
  Autres taxes et droits 41 700   42 857 41 365
  Cotisations d'assurance-emploi 17 000   17 307 17 546
  Autres revenus 16 900   19 457 16 106

Total des revenus 200 800   211 658 198 547
Charges        
  Paiements de transfert        
    Prestations de sécurité de la vieillesse        
      et paiements connexes 27 900   27 871 26 902
    Autres paliers de gouvernement 30 600   41 955 29 392
    Prestations d'assurance-emploi 15 700   14 748 15 058
    Autres paiements de transfert 32 800   33 689 31 026
    Total des paiements de transfert 107 000   118 263 102 378
  Autres charges de programmes 54 400   57 647 51 317

Total des charges de programmes 161 400   175 910 153 695
  Frais de la dette publique 35 400   34 118 35 769

Total des charges 196 800   210 028 189 464

Excédent annuel 4 0002   1 630 9 083
Déficit accumulé au début de l'exercice 501 5003   501 493 510 576

Déficit accumulé à la fin de l'exercice 497 500   499 863 501 493

1 Tirés du budget de 2004 et rajustés en fonction des chiffres bruts.

2 Le budget de 2004 a divulgué un excédent budgétaire de 4 milliards de dollars avant la 
déduction de la réserve pour éventualités (3 milliards de dollars) et de la mesure de prudence 
économique (1 milliard de dollars).

3 Redressé au solde réel de fermeture de l'exercice précédent.

Tableau 12 
Gouvernement du Canada
État condensé de la situation financière
au 31 mars 2005


2005 2004

(M$)
Passifs
  Créditeurs et charges à payer 90 473 79 964
  Dette portant intérêt
    Dette non échue 435 460 440 231
    Régimes de retraite et autres passifs 179 808 180 898

   Total de la dette portant intérêt 615 268 621 129

Total des passifs 705 741 701 093
Actifs financiers
  Encaisse et débiteurs 76 281 70 921
  Comptes d'opérations de change 40 871 44 313
  Prêts, placements et avances 33 860 29 548

Total des actifs financiers 151 012 144 782

Dette nette 554 729 556 311
Actifs non financiers
  Immobilisations corporelles 48 207 47 745
  Autres 6 659 7 073

Total des actifs non financiers 54 866 54 818

Déficit accumulé 499 863 501 493

Tableau 13
Gouvernement du Canada
État condensé de la variation de la dette nette 
pour l'exercice clos le 31 mars 2005


2005 2004


Budget1 Réel Réel 

(M$)
Dette nette au début de l'excercice 556 3002 556 311 564 816
Variation de la dette nette au cours de l'excercice
  Excédent annuel (4 000)3 (1 630) (9 083)
  Acquisitions d'immobilisations corporelles 4 600 4 619 4 535
  Amortissement d'immobilisations corporelles (3 100) (3 696) (3 502)
  Autres (875) (455)
Diminution nette de la dette nette (2 500) (1 582) (8 505)
Dette nette à la fin de l'excercice 553 800 554 729 556 311

1 Tirés du budget de 2004.

2 Redressé au solde réel de fermeture de l'exercice précédent.

3 Le budget de 2004 a divulgué un excédent budgétaire de 4  milliards de dollars avant la déduction de la réserve pour éventualités (3 milliards de dollars) et de la mesure de prudence économique (1 milliard de dollars).

Tableau 14
Gouvernement du Canada
État condensé des flux de trésorerie 
pour l'exercice clos le 31 mars 2005


2005 2004

(M$)
Encaisse générée par les activités de fonctionnement
  Excédent annuel 1 630 9 083
  Éléments sans incidence sur l'encaisse 4 508 4 031

6 138 13 114
Encaisse utilisée par les activités  
d'investissement en immobilisations
(4 475) (4 444)
Encaisse générée (utilisée) par les activités d'investissement 3 157 (2 425)

Total de l'encaisse généré 4 820 6 245
Encaisse utilisée pour rembourser la dette non échue (4 771) (2 185)

Augmentation nette de l'encaisse 49 4 060
Encaisse au début de l'exercice 20 546 16 486

Encaisse à la fin de l'exercice 20 595 20 546

Notes aux états financiers condensés

1. Principales conventions comptables

Le périmètre comptable du gouvernement du Canada comprend tous les ministères, organismes, sociétés et fonds qui appartiennent au gouvernement ou qui sont sous son contrôle et qui doivent rendre compte au Parlement. Les activités financières de toutes ces entités sont consolidées dans ces états, à l'exception des sociétés d'État entreprises et autres entreprises publiques, lesquelles ne dépendent pas de crédits parlementaires pour financer leurs activités. Ces sociétés sont présentées selon la méthode modifiée de comptabilisation à la valeur de consolidation. Le Régime de pensions du Canada est exclu du périmètre comptable parce qu'il est contrôlé conjointement par le gouvernement fédéral et les provinces participantes.

Le gouvernement comptabilise ses opérations selon la comptabilité d'exercice. Les actifs financiers présentés à l'état condensé de la situation financière peuvent générer des ressources permettant d'acquitter des obligations ou de financer des opérations futures, et ils sont inscrits au moindre du coût ou de leur valeur de réalisation nette. Les actifs non financiers ne peuvent normalement être convertis en espèces pour financer les opérations futures, sans perturber les activités gouvernementales; ils sont inscrits au coût moins l'amortissement cumulé. Les passifs sont inscrits au montant estimatif payable ultimement, et les obligations relatives aux régimes de retraite et aux autres avantages similaires sont établies selon une méthode actuarielle. Des provisions pour moins-value sont établies pour les garanties d'emprunt, les prêts à des conditions de faveur et les prêts aux États souverains ainsi que pour les autres obligations.

Certains montants des présents états sont fondés sur des estimations et des hypothèses établies par le gouvernement. Compte tenu de leur nature, ces estimations sont sujettes à l'incertitude relative à la mesure, bien qu'elles soient toutes jugées raisonnables.

2. Obligations contractuelles

Les obligations contractuelles qui auront un effet important sur le niveau des charges futures comprennent les accords de paiements de transfert, les acquisitions de biens et services, les contrats de location-exploitation et le financement des organisations internationales. Au 31 mars 2005, les obligations contractuelles s'élevaient à environ 63 milliards de dollars (56 milliards de dollars en 2004).

3. Passif éventuel

Les garanties accordées par le gouvernement s'établissent à 68  milliards de dollars (71 milliards de dollars en 2004) nettes de toute provision inscrite. En outre, il y a un certain nombre de sites contaminés pour lesquels le gouvernement pourrait devoir engager des coûts. Il existe des milliers de cas de réclamations et causes en instance et imminentes contre le gouvernement. Bien que le montant total visé par ces recours soit important, leur dénouement ne peut pas être évalué. Lorsque des cas représentent vraisemblablement des pertes et qu'une estimation de ces pertes peut être effectuée, un montant est inscrit dans les états financiers.  Les couvertures en vigueur relatives à des programmes d'assurance autonomes administrés par trois sociétés d'État entreprises s'élèvent à environ 719 milliards de dollars (688 milliards de dollars en 2004). Le gouvernement prévoit ne pas avoir à engager de coûts pour faire face aux réclamations d'assurance de ces programmes.

Autres sources de renseignements

Comptes publics du Canada

Les Comptes publics du Canada, conformément au paragraphe 64(1) de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, sont déposés chaque automne par le président du Conseil du Trésor. Ils se présentent en trois volumes : 

  • le volume I renferme les états financiers vérifiés du gouvernement du Canada ainsi que des tableaux et des renseignements à l'appui;
  • le volume II fournit des détails sur les opérations financières par ministère;
  • le volume III renferme des renseignements et des analyses supplémentaires.

Budget

Le budget, qui est habituellement déposé en février, présente le plan global du gouvernement en matière de revenus et de dépenses, dont le résultat détermine le solde budgétaire. Le budget présente également les propositions de modifications fiscales.

La revue financière

Ce bulletin mensuel produit par le ministère des Finances expose les faits saillants des résultats financiers du gouvernement fédéral ainsi que les raisons des principales variations.

Stratégie de gestion de la dette

Ce rapport est déposé chaque année au Parlement. Il fournit des renseignements sur la stratégie de gestion de la dette du gouvernement fédéral pour l'exercice à venir.

Rapport sur la gestion de la dette

Ce document annuel expose les principaux éléments de la stratégie qu'applique le gouvernement fédéral en matière de dette publique et décrit les divers aspects stratégiques et opérationnels du programme de gestion de la dette ainsi que des activités de gestion de la trésorerie au cours du dernier exercice.

Budget des dépenses

Chaque année, le gouvernement établit son Budget des dépenses, qui présente l'information à l'appui des autorisations de dépenser demandées au Parlement pour l'affectation des fonds publics. Ces demandes d'autorisations sont présentées officiellement au moyen d'un projet de loi de crédits déposé au Parlement. Le Budget des dépenses est déposé à la Chambre des communes par le président du Conseil du Trésor. Il comporte trois parties :

Partie I – Le Plan de dépenses du gouvernement présente un aperçu des dépenses fédérales et résume les rapports entre les principaux éléments du Budget principal des dépenses et le Plan de dépenses qui figure dans le budget.

Partie II – Le Budget principal des dépenses étaye directement la Loi de crédits.

Partie III – Le Plan de dépenses de chaque ministère est divisé en deux documents : le rapport sur les plans et les priorités et le rapport ministériel sur le rendement.

- Table des matières - Précédent -