Frequently Asked Questions: Taxpayer Protection and Bank Recapitalization Regime

Q1. What are these consultations about?

A1. The Government has announced the establishment of a risk management framework for Canada’s systemically important banks. This consultation sets out a proposal for a key component of this framework: the Taxpayer Protection and Bank Recapitalization regime. This proposed regime would ensure that, in the unlikely event of a bank failure, losses are borne by shareholders and creditors of the failed systemically important bank, rather than taxpayers. The consultation paper seeks feedback from interested parties on the design of this proposed regime.

Q2. What are systemically important banks?

A2. Systemically important banks are banks whose failure could have a detrimental impact on the functioning of the Canadian financial system and economy. 

On March 26, 2013, the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) identified Canada’s six largest banks as being domestic systemically important banks. Further details can be found on OSFI’s website.

Q3. Why is the proposed regime important?

A3. Canada’s financial system is widely considered one of the most resilient and best regulated in the world. In fact, the World Economic Forum has deemed Canada’s financial system to be the strongest in the world for six consecutive years since the 2008 global financial crisis.

Even though Canada has a well-developed and coordinated intervention and resolution toolkit, the Government recognizes the need to manage the risks associated with systemically important banks, given the costs a disorderly failure could have for the economy and for Canadians.

The proposed regime would build on the strengths of the existing resolution toolkit and ensure that losses are borne by shareholders and creditors of a failed systemically important bank, rather than taxpayers, while preserving the critical services the bank provides to its customers. It would also give shareholders and creditors stronger incentives to monitor the banks’ risk-taking activities.

Q4. How would the proposed regime affect Canadians? Will Canadians’ savings be protected?

A4. The proposed regime aims to protect the savings of Canadians without resorting to taxpayer-funded government interventions such as a bail-out.

The regime would protect taxpayers by ensuring that losses are borne by shareholders and creditors of a failed bank, while also preserving the critical services the bank provides to its customers.

The proposed regime focuses on a specific range of liabilities and excludes deposits. Insured deposits would continue to be guaranteed by the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation.

Q5. How can I participate in these consultations?

A5. Comments on the consultation paper can be submitted to the Department of Finance at ConsultationsFSS-SSF@fin.gc.ca or to the address below. The closing date for comments is September 12.

Financial Sector Policy Branch
Department of Finance
140 O’Connor Street,
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0G5

Foire aux questions : Régime de protection des contribuables et de recapitalisation des banques

Q1. En quoi consistent ces consultations?

R1. Le gouvernement a annoncé la mise en place d’un cadre de gestion des risques pour les banques canadiennes d’importance systémique. Cette consultation présente une proposition concernant un élément clé de ce cadre : le régime de protection des contribuables et de recapitalisation des banques. Ce régime proposé ferait en sorte que, dans l’éventualité fort peu probable d'une faillite bancaire, les pertes seraient assumées par les actionnaires et les créanciers de la banque d’importance systémique en faillite, et non par les contribuables. Le document de consultation vise à recueillir des commentaires des parties intéressées au sujet de l’élaboration du régime proposé.

Q2. Qu’est-ce qu’une banque d’importance systémique?

R2. Une banque a une importance systémique si sa faillite avait pour conséquence de nuire au bon fonctionnement du système financier et de l’économie du Canada.

Le 26 mars 2013, le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) a désigné en tant que banques d’importance systémique nationale les six plus grandes du pays. De plus amples détails sont fournis sur le site Web du BSIF.

Q3. Pourquoi le régime proposé est-il important?

R3. Le système financier du Canada est largement reconnu comme l’un des plus résilients et des mieux réglementés au monde. En fait, le Forum économique mondial a déterminé que le système bancaire du Canada est le plus solide au monde, et ce, pour une sixième année de suite depuis la crise financière de 2008.

Même si le Canada dispose d’outils d’intervention et de résolution bien établis et coordonnés, le gouvernement reconnaît le besoin de gérer les risques associés aux banques d’importance systémique, étant donné les coûts qu’une faillite bancaire désordonnée pourrait engendrer pour l’économie et pour les Canadiens.

Le régime proposé prendrait appui sur les atouts des outils de résolution existants et ferait en sorte que les pertes soient assumées par les actionnaires et les créanciers d'une banque d’importance systémique en faillite, et non par les contribuables, tout en permettant de préserver les services essentiels que la banque fournit à ses clients. En outre, le régime proposé inciterait davantage les actionnaires et les créanciers à surveiller les activités associées à la prise de risques des banques.

Q4. En quoi le régime proposé touchera-t-il les Canadiens? Les épargnes des Canadiens seront-elles protégées?

R4. Le régime proposé vise à protéger les épargnes des Canadiens sans avoir recours à des interventions publiques financées par les contribuables, telles qu’un renflouement.

Le régime protégerait les contribuables en faisant en sorte que les pertes soient assumées par les actionnaires et les créanciers d'une banque en faillite, tout en permettant de préserver les services essentiels que la banque fournit à ses clients.

Le régime proposé met l’accent sur une série de passifs et exclut les dépôts. Les dépôts assurés continueraient d’être garantis par la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada.

Q5. Comment puis-je prendre part à ces consultations?

R5. Les intéressés sont invités à faire part de leurs commentaires sur le document de consultation au ministère des Finances par courriel à ConsultationsFSS-SSF@fin.gc.ca ou à l’adresse ci-dessous. Ces commentaires doivent être soumis d’ici le 12 septembre 2014.

Direction de la politique du secteur financier
Ministère des Finances
140, rue O’Connor
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G5