Frequently Asked Questions About Tax Information Exchange Agreements

Why is Canada signing tax information exchange agreements?

The signature of a tax information exchange agreement (TIEA) is consistent with the efforts of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) to implement the effective exchange of tax information to combat international tax evasion—an initiative endorsed by the G-20.

The Government of Canada regards the ability to exchange tax information between countries as an important means of improving the ability of tax authorities to administer and enforce tax laws in order to prevent international tax evasion.

TIEAs also strengthen bilateral ties between signatory countries by enabling the tax authorities of both jurisdictions to co-operate in the exchange of tax information.

How does a TIEA work?

A TIEA is a bilateral agreement pursuant to which two countries undertake to exchange tax information relevant to the administration and enforcement of their domestic tax laws as a way of fighting international tax evasion.

TIEAs concluded by Canada all incorporate the OECD standard on exchange of tax information. Under a TIEA, a jurisdiction can be requested to exchange tax information if it is needed by the other country to administer its own tax laws.

In Canada, TIEAs are administered by the Canada Revenue Agency.

By improving the ability of the Canadian tax authorities to enforce Canadian tax laws, TIEAs protect the revenues of the federal and provincial governments, as well as the integrity of the tax system.

How are privacy concerns addressed?

TIEAs contain robust provisions to ensure that taxpayers’ information is treated as confidential, and that it can only be used by the tax authorities for the purposes of applying tax laws. TIEAs are fully consistent with existing confidentiality provisions contained in Canadian tax laws.

Foire aux questions sur les accords d’échange de renseignements fiscaux

Pourquoi le Canada signe-t-il des accords d’échange de renseignements fiscaux?

La signature d’un accord d’échange de renseignements fiscaux (AERF) s’inscrit dans les efforts que déploie l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) pour mettre en œuvre un échange efficace de renseignements fiscaux afin de lutter contre l’évasion fiscale, un projet appuyé par le G-20.

Selon le gouvernement du Canada, la capacité d’échanger des renseignements fiscaux entre pays constitue un moyen important pour améliorer la capacité des autorités fiscales de mettre en œuvre et d’appliquer les lois fiscales afin de lutter contre la fraude fiscale à l’échelle internationale.

Les AERF renforcent également les liens bilatéraux entre les pays signataires, en permettant aux autorités fiscales de ces pays de coopérer à l’échange de renseignements fiscaux.

Quel est le mode de fonctionnement d’un AERF?

Un AERF est un accord bilatéral aux termes duquel deux pays s’entendent pour échanger des renseignements fiscaux pertinents pour mettre en œuvre et appliquer leurs lois fiscales afin de lutter contre l’évasion fiscale.

Les AERF conclus par le Canada intègrent la norme de l’OCDE sur l’échange de renseignements fiscaux. Aux termes d’un AERF, un pays peut demander à une administration de lui fournir les renseignements nécessaires pour appliquer ses lois fiscales.

L’Agence de revenu du Canada est responsable de l’administration des AERF au Canada.

En améliorant la capacité des autorités fiscales canadiennes d’appliquer les lois fiscales du pays, les AERF assurent la protection des revenus des gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux, ainsi que l’intégrité du régime fiscal.

De quelle façon donne-t-on suite aux préoccupations en matière de protection des renseignements personnels?

De rigoureuses dispositions sont prises dans les AERF pour assurer la confidentialité des renseignements des contribuables et leur utilisation uniquement par les autorités fiscales aux fins d’application des lois fiscales. Les AERF sont parfaitement conformes aux dispositions en matière de confidentialité des lois fiscales canadiennes.