Frequently Asked Questions: Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA) and the Intergovernmental Agreement for the Enhanced Exchange of Tax Information under the Canada-U.S. Tax Convention

What is FATCA?

On March 18, 2010, as part of the Hiring Incentives to Restore Employment (HIRE) Act, the United States (U.S.) enacted the provisions known as the Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA).

FATCA requires non-U.S. financial institutions to enter into an agreement with the U.S. Internal Revenue Service (IRS) to report to the IRS accounts held by U.S. residents and U.S. citizens (including U.S. citizens that are residents or citizens of Canada). If a financial institution is not compliant with FATCA, FATCA requires U.S. payors (i.e., corporations and others that pay amounts, such as interest or a dividend) making certain payments of U.S.-source income to the non-compliant financial institution to withhold a tax equal to 30 percent of the payment. The 30 percent FATCA withholding tax can also be levied in respect of a compliant financial institution, on individual accountholders that fail to provide documentation as to whether they are U.S. residents or U.S. citizens, and on passive entities (i.e., entities whose business purpose is to generate passive income) that fail to identify their substantial U.S. owners, if any. In some circumstances, FATCA could require financial institutions to close the accounts of certain clients.

What would be the consequences for Canadians and financial institutions had the intergovernmental agreement (IGA) not been signed?

FATCA has raised a number of concerns in Canada – among both dual Canada-U.S. citizens and Canadian financial institutions. One concern is whether the FATCA reporting requirements, which would compel financial institutions to report information on accountholders that are U.S. residents and U.S. citizens directly to the IRS, would be consistent with Canada’s privacy laws. Another concern is the possibility that, under FATCA, financial institutions would be required to deny services to certain clients in certain situations.

Absent an IGA, obligations for Canadian financial institutions to comply with FATCA would be unilaterally and automatically imposed on them by the U.S. as of July 1, 2014. These obligations would force Canadian financial institutions to choose between:

  • entering into an agreement with the IRS that would require them to report directly to the IRS on accounts held by U.S. residents and U.S. citizens, which would raise concerns about consistency with Canadian privacy laws; or
  • being subject to the 30 percent FATCA withholding tax on certain U.S.-source payments for not complying with FATCA.

Clients at Canadian financial institutions could also be subject to the 30 percent FATCA withholding tax or could have their accounts closed by their financial institution under the rules of FATCA for failing to comply with certain requirements that FATCA imposes on them.

Why is the U.S. interested in signing IGAs?

The intention of FATCA is to combat the use of offshore accounts to evade U.S. taxes by eliciting the transmission of information from non-U.S. financial institutions to the IRS. The U.S. has stated that it does not intend to raise revenues using the 30 percent FATCA withholding tax; this tax is intended solely as a means to induce non-U.S. financial institutions and their clients to comply. However, potential conflicts with the privacy rules in Canada, and a number of other leading economies, may prevent most major non-U.S. financial institutions from complying with FATCA in its original form. This raised the risk that FATCA would fail to achieve its main objective, and would create disruptive effects on financial markets through the imposition of the 30 percent FATCA withholding tax.

The Government of Canada advanced the principle that, in seeking to meet the objectives of FATCA, greater reliance should be placed on the exchange of information provisions that already exist in agreements such as the Canada-U.S. tax treaty. The Government is pleased that the U.S. accepted this principle, which led to the development of the IGA approach and its application worldwide as an alternative to FATCA. This approach fulfills the U.S. objective of enhanced information collection, without entailing the risk that a unilateral U.S. approach could conflict with foreign laws.

What are the benefits to Canada of the IGA?

Under the IGA:

  • Canadian financial institutions will not report any information directly to the IRS. Rather, accountholder information on U.S. residents and U.S. citizens will be reported to the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA). The CRA will transfer the information to the IRS under the authority of the existing provisions of, and protected by the confidentiality safeguards under, the Canada-U.S. tax treaty.
  • The 30 percent FATCA withholding tax will not apply to clients of Canadian financial institutions, and can apply to a Canadian financial institution only if the financial institution is in significant and long-term non-compliance with its obligations under the IGA.
  • The FATCA requirement that Canadian financial institutions be required to close accounts or refuse to offer services to clients in certain circumstances will be eliminated.
  • A number of accounts will be exempt from FATCA reporting, including Registered Retirement Savings Plans, Registered Retirement Income Funds, Registered Disability Savings Plans, and Tax-Free Savings Accounts.
  • Smaller deposit-taking institutions, such as credit unions, with assets of less than $175 million will be exempt from reporting.
  • The IRS will provide the CRA with enhanced and increased information on certain accounts of Canadian residents held at U.S. financial institutions.

Does the IGA mean that Canada will be enforcing U.S. tax laws?

Legislation to give effect to the provisions of the IGA will be proposed to Parliament in order to ensure that financial institutions can rely on Canadian law when implementing their procedures for complying with the IGA. The CRA, rather than the U.S., will be responsible for administering the IGA. Canadian financial institutions will report information to the CRA.

Will Canada be signing similar agreements with other countries?

The IGA is consistent with the Government’s support for recent G-8 and G-20 commitments to multilateral automatic exchange of information for tax purposes. In September 2013, G-20 Leaders committed to automatic exchange of information as the new global standard and endorsed an OECD proposal to develop a global model for automatic exchange of information. The model being developed is based on due diligence and reporting procedures similar to those in the Canada-U.S. IGA.

Canada is actively participating in the work of the OECD to develop the new multilateral standard.

What are the next steps?

The IGA must be ratified by Canada in order to come into force. In order to ratify the IGA, Canada must first proceed with the implementation of the IGA into Canadian law, which will be carried out through implementing legislation that will be introduced in Parliament in the coming months.

Additional guidance on the implementation of the IGA will be available in the near future, including through the release of draft implementing legislation, which will be issued for comment, and publication by the CRA of detailed guidance for Canadian financial institutions and their clients.

Under the IGA, Canadian financial institutions will be required to begin due diligence procedures starting July 1, 2014, and to report information to the CRA beginning in 2015. The first exchange of information between the CRA and the IRS will be in 2015.

Does the IGA respect the privacy rights of Canadians?

FATCA has raised a number of concerns in Canada – among both dual Canada-U.S. citizens and Canadian financial institutions. One key concern was that the reporting requirements would force financial institutions to report accountholder information directly to the IRS, which would raise concerns about consistency with Canadian privacy laws.

Under the IGA, financial institutions in Canada will not report any information directly to the IRS. Rather, relevant information on U.S. residents and U.S. citizens will be reported to the CRA, similar to existing tax reporting by financial institutions to the CRA on their clients. The exchange of tax information between Canada and the U.S., including on an automatic basis, is already a longstanding practice, is authorized under Article XXVII of the Canada-U.S. tax treaty, and includes safeguards with respect to the use of the exchanged information. The information on U.S. accountholders obtained by the CRA will be exchanged with the IRS through these existing provisions, an approach that is consistent with Canadian privacy laws.

I am a U.S. citizen living in Canada and was not aware that the U.S. wants me to file tax returns. Will the IGA mean that I now have to pay U.S. taxes?

The IGA is strictly an information sharing agreement and does not involve the imposition by the U.S. of any new or higher taxes.

Unlike Canada, the U.S. taxes its citizens who reside in other countries on their worldwide income. The U.S. citizenship-based taxation regime has been in place since 1913, and is not altered by the enactment of FATCA, or the signing of any IGAs. For U.S. citizens resident in Canada, their U.S. tax obligations exist independently of their awareness of these obligations.

Canada respects the sovereign right of the U.S. to use citizenship as a basis for taxation. At the same time, citizenship-based taxation is a departure from the residence-based approach generally followed by Canada and most of the rest of the world, and creates unique challenges for U.S. citizens who reside in other countries. U.S. taxation of its non-resident citizens on their worldwide income, when these individuals are also subject to taxation on their worldwide income by their country of residence, can result in significant compliance burden on these individuals, even when they owe no U.S. tax.

What is the Government doing to protect dual citizens living in Canada against claims by the IRS?

While the Canada-U.S. tax treaty contains a provision that allows a country to collect the taxes imposed by the other country, the treaty does not apply to penalties under laws that impose only a reporting requirement. For example, the CRA will not assist in the collection of U.S. penalties associated with the Report on Foreign Bank and Financial Accounts (commonly known as the FBAR), which is a non-tax form required by the U.S. Treasury under the U.S. Bank Secrecy Act that requires the person filing the form to provide details of assets held at non-U.S. financial institutions.

Furthermore, the CRA will not collect the U.S. tax liability of a Canadian citizen if the individual was a Canadian citizen at the time the liability arose (whether or not the individual was also a U.S. citizen at that time).

Foire aux questions : La Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA) et l’accord intergouvernemental prévoyant l’amélioration de l’échange de renseignements fiscaux en vertu de la Convention fiscale Canada-États-Unis

Qu’est-ce que la FATCA?

Le 18 mars 2010, les États-Unis ont adopté la Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA) dans le cadre de la Hiring Incentives to Restore Employment Act.

La FATCA oblige les institutions financières non américaines à conclure des accords avec l’Internal Revenue Service (IRS) prévoyant la déclaration de renseignements sur les comptes détenus par des résidents américains et des citoyens américains (y compris les citoyens américains qui sont résidents ou citoyens du Canada). Si une institution financière ne se conforme pas à la FATCA, cette dernière oblige les payeurs américains (c.-à-d. des sociétés et d’autres entités qui paient des montants comme des intérêts ou des dividendes) qui versent à cette institution des paiements de source américaine à retenir un impôt équivalant à 30 % du montant du paiement. Cette retenue d’impôt de 30 % peut aussi être prélevée dans le cas d’une institution financière qui se conforme à la FATCA, à l’égard de titulaires de comptes individuels qui négligent de produire des documents indiquant s’ils sont des citoyens ou des résidents des États-Unis, ainsi qu’à l’égard d’entités passives (c.-à-d. des entités dont l’activité commerciale consiste à générer un revenu passif) qui négligent de communiquer l’identité de propriétaires américains importants, le cas échéant. Dans certaines circonstances, la FATCA pourrait obliger les institutions financières à fermer les comptes de certains clients.

Quelles auraient été les conséquences pour les Canadiens et les institutions financières canadiennes si l’accord intergouvernemental (AIG) n’avait pas été signé?

La FATCA a soulevé un certain nombre de préoccupations au Canada, à la fois auprès des personnes ayant la double citoyenneté canadienne et américaine et des institutions financières canadiennes. On s’inquiétait notamment du fait que les obligations en matière de déclaration obligeraient les institutions financières canadiennes à fournir directement à l’IRS des renseignements sur les titulaires de comptes qui sont des résidents américains et des citoyens américains pourraient ne pas être conformes aux lois canadiennes sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Il se pourrait aussi qu’en vertu de la FATCA, des institutions financières soient tenues de refuser des services à certains clients dans certaines situations.

En l’absence d’un accord intergouvernemental, les institutions financières canadiennes se seraient vu imposer unilatéralement et automatiquement par les États-Unis l’obligation de se conformer à la FATCA à compter du 1er juillet 2014. Elles auraient alors été contraintes :

  • soit de signer une entente avec l’IRS prévoyant la déclaration directe à cet organisme de renseignements sur tous les comptes détenus par des résidents et des citoyens des États-Unis, ce qui aurait soulevé des problèmes de cohérence avec les lois canadiennes sur la protection des renseignements personnels;
  • soit de prélever la retenue d’impôt de 30 % prévue par la FATCA sur certains paiements provenant de source américaine pour non-respect de la FATCA.

Les clients d’institutions financières canadiennes auraient pu être assujettis à la retenue d’impôt de 30 % prévue par la FATCA ou voir leur institution financière fermer leurs comptes dans le cas où ils ne se seraient pas conformés à certaines exigences de cette loi.

Pourquoi les États-Unis veulent-ils conclure des AIG?

La FATCA a pour objet de contrer l’utilisation de comptes à l’étranger pour éviter l’impôt aux États-Unis en obligeant les institutions financières de l’extérieur des États-Unis à transmettre des renseignements à l’IRS. Les États-Unis ont indiqué que le but de la retenue d’impôt de 30 % prévue par la FATCA n’était pas de générer des revenus, mais plutôt d‘inciter les institutions financières non américaines et leurs clients à respecter la loi. Toutefois, des conflits potentiels avec les règles du Canada et de certaines autres économies importantes concernant la protection des renseignements personnels pourraient empêcher la plupart des grandes institutions financières de l’extérieur des États-Unis de se conformer à la FATCA dans sa forme originale. Il aurait donc été possible que le principal objectif de la FATCA ne soit pas atteint et que l’imposition de la retenue d’impôt de 30 % qu’elle prévoit vienne perturber les marchés financiers.

Le gouvernement du Canada a fait valoir le principe selon lequel dans la poursuite des objectifs de la FATCA, il faudrait s’en remettre davantage aux dispositions sur l’échange de renseignements qui existent déjà en vertu d’ententes comme la convention fiscale Canada-États-Unis. Le gouvernement se réjouit de ce que les États-Unis aient accepté ce principe, ce qui a permis de conclure un modèle d’AIG et de l’appliquer à l’échelle internationale comme solution de rechange à la FATCA. Cette démarche permet de réaliser l’objectif des États-Unis de renforcer la collecte de renseignements sans le risque qu’une approche unilatérale de la part de ce pays entre en conflit avec les lois d’autres pays.

Quels sont les avantages de l’AIG pour le Canada?

L’AIG prévoit ce qui suit :

  • Les institutions financières canadiennes ne déclareront pas directement de renseignements à l’IRS. Les renseignements concernant les comptes détenus par des résidents américains et des citoyens américains seront plutôt fournis à l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC). Cette dernière communiquera par la suite les renseignements à l’IRS en vertu des pouvoirs, des dispositions et des limites liées à la confidentialité déjà prévus dans la Convention fiscale Canada-États-Unis.
  • La retenue d’impôt de 30 % prévue par la FATCA ne s’appliquera pas aux clients des institutions financières canadiennes et elle ne pourra s’appliquer à une institution financière que si celle-ci ne respecte pas de manière importante et depuis une longue période ses obligations en vertu de l’accord.
  • L’obligation pour les institutions financières canadiennes de fermer des comptes ou de refuser de fournir des services à des clients dans certaines circonstances en vertu de la FATCA sera éliminée.
  • Un certain nombre de comptes seront exclus des exigences de déclaration de la FATCA, entre autres les comptes de régimes enregistrés d’épargne-retraite, de fonds enregistrés de revenu de retraite et de régimes enregistrés d’épargne-invalidité, de même que les comptes d’épargne libre d’impôt.
  • Les institutions financières de plus petite taille, comme les caisses de crédit, dont les actifs totalisent moins de 175 millions de dollars seront exemptées des obligations de déclaration.
  • L’IRS fournira à l’ARC davantage de renseignements de meilleure qualité sur certains comptes que des résidents canadiens détiennent dans des institutions financières américaines.

Faut-il comprendre que le Canada appliquera les lois fiscales américaines?

La législation donnant effet aux dispositions de l’AIG sera soumise au Parlement pour veiller à ce que les institutions financières puissent s’appuyer sur les lois canadiennes lorsqu’elles mettront en œuvre leurs procédures de conformité avec l’AIG. L’administration de l’AIG relèvera de l’ARC, et non des autorités américaines. Les institutions financières canadiennes communiqueront directement les renseignements à l’ARC.

Le Canada signera-t-il des accords semblables avec d’autre pays?

L’accord intergouvernemental est conforme à l’appui que le Canada a manifesté à l’endroit des récents engagements du Groupe des Huit et du Groupe des Vingt (G-20) concernant le partage automatique de renseignements à des fins fiscales. En septembre 2013, les dirigeants du G-20 se sont engagés à faire de l’échange automatique de renseignements fiscaux la nouvelle norme mondiale, et ils ont appuyé une proposition de l’OCDE visant à élaborer un modèle international pour ce type d’échanges. Le modèle en préparation repose sur des procédures de diligence raisonnable et de déclaration semblables à celles prévues par l’AIG entre le Canada et les États-Unis

Le Canada participe activement aux travaux de l’OCDE en vue d’élaborer la nouvelle norme multilatérale.

Quelles sont les prochaines étapes?

L’AIG doit être ratifié par le Canada avant d’entrer en vigueur. À cette fin, le Canada doit l’intégrer aux lois canadiennes en adoptant des dispositions législatives qui seront déposées au Parlement au cours des prochains mois.

D’autres directives sur la mise en œuvre de l’AIG seront bientôt disponibles, notamment avec la publication de propositions législatives à des fins de commentaires, et la diffusion, par l’ARC, de directives détaillées à l’intention des institutions financières canadiennes et de leurs clients.

En vertu de l’AIG, les institutions financières canadiennes devront appliquer leurs procédures de diligence raisonnable à compter du 1er juillet 2014, et commencer à transmettre les renseignements à l’ARC en 2015. Le premier échange de renseignements entre l’ARC et l’IRS s’effectuera en 2015.

Est-ce que l’AIG respecte les exigences en matière de protection de la vie privée des Canadiens?

La FATCA a soulevé un certain nombre de préoccupations au Canada, à la fois auprès des personnes ayant la double citoyenneté canadienne et américaine et des institutions financières canadiennes. L’une de ces préoccupations concernait le fait que les obligations découlant de la FATCA forceraient les institutions financières à fournir directement à l’IRS des renseignements sur les titulaires de comptes, ce qui soulevait des inquiétudes relativement au respect des lois canadiennes en matière de protection des renseignements personnels.

Conformément à l’accord intergouvernemental, les institutions financières canadiennes ne déclareront pas directement de renseignements à l’IRS. Les renseignements pertinents concernant des résidents américains et des citoyens américains seront plutôt fournis à l’ARC, de manière semblable aux déclarations de renseignements fiscaux que les institutions financières communiquent déjà à l’ARC au sujet de leurs clients. L’échange de renseignements de nature fiscale entre le Canada et les États-Unis, y compris de façon automatique, est une pratique de longue date autorisée par l’article XXVII de la Convention fiscale Canada-États-Uni, qui comporte des mesures de protection relativement à l’utilisation de l’information échangée. Les renseignements au sujet des titulaires de compte américains recueillis par l’ARC seront échangés avec l’IRS conformément aux dispositions existantes, ce qui est conforme aux lois canadiennes sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Je suis un citoyen américain vivant au Canada. Je ne savais pas que les États-Unis veulent que je produise une déclaration de revenus. L’AIG aura-t-il pour effet de m’obliger à payer de l’impôt aux États-Unis?

L’AIG porte strictement sur l’échange de renseignements, et non sur l’imposition de charges fiscales nouvelles ou plus élevées par les États-Unis

Contrairement au Canada, les États-Unis imposent leurs citoyens qui résident à l’étranger sur leurs revenus provenant de tout pays. Le régime fiscal américain fondé sur la citoyenneté est en vigueur depuis 1913 et ne sera pas modifié par la FATCA ou par la signature d’AIG. Les obligations fiscales des citoyens américains qui résident au Canada envers les États-Unis demeurent, que ces personnes en soient conscientes ou non.

Le Canada respecte le droit souverain des États-Unis de fonder son régime fiscal sur la citoyenneté. Il reste que cette approche diffère de celle fondée sur la résidence qu’appliquent le Canada et la plupart des autres pays, et qu’elle crée des problèmes particuliers pour les citoyens américains qui résident à l’étranger. L’imposition, par les États-Unis, du revenu de toutes sources de ses citoyens non résidents alors que ces particuliers sont déjà assujettis à l’impôt sur ce même revenu dans leur pays de résidence peut se traduire pour ces derniers par un lourd fardeau de conformité même s’ils ne doivent aucun impôt aux États-Unis

Que fait le gouvernement afin de mettre les détenteurs de la double citoyenneté qui résident au Canada à l’abri des réclamations de l’IRS?

Bien que la Convention fiscale Canada-États-Unis renferme une disposition permettant à l’un des États de percevoir les impôts payables à l’autre État, elle ne s’applique pas aux pénalités imposées en vertu de lois qui ne prévoient qu’une exigence de déclaration. Par exemple, l’ARC ne participera pas au recouvrement de pénalités associées au Report on Foreign Bank and Financial Accounts, qui est un formulaire non fiscal exigé par le Trésor américain en vertu de la Bank Secrecy Act des États-Unis, qui oblige la personne qui doit remplir ce formulaire à fournir des renseignements sur les actif détenus dans une institution financière autre que des États-Unis.

En outre, l’ARC ne percevra pas l’impôt des États-Unis qu’un citoyen canadien doit payer si cette personne était un citoyen canadien au moment où l’impôt est devenu exigible (que la personne ait été citoyen américain ou non à ce moment-là).