Annual Reports and Privacy Impact Assessments

Under section 72(1) of the Access to Information Act and section 72(1) of the Privacy Act, the heads of government institutions are required to prepare annual reports to Parliament concerning their administration of the Acts for the fiscal year. The following are annual reports produced by the Department of Finance:

Annual Reports

Current

2013-14

Archived

2012-13

2011-12

2010-11

2009-10

2008-09

Privacy Impact Assessments

Many federal institutions and agencies are implementing electronic methods to deliver services to Canadians. To ensure that such initiatives comply with privacy requirements, institutions are required to conduct Privacy Impact Assessments in order to identify and evaluate any risks to the personal information at issue. The assessments assist managers and decision-makers to avoid or mitigate privacy risks and to promote fully informed policy, program and system design choices.

Once a Privacy Impact Assessment has been done, institutions are required to produce a summary of the results of the Assessment. It must be made available to the public in a timely manner, in plain language, and in both official languages.

Summaries of Privacy Impact Statements

Related Links

Access to Information Act
Access to Information Regulations
Policy on Access to Information
Access to Information Manual
Access to Information Act Request Form
Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada

Privacy Act
Privacy Regulations
Policy on Privacy Protection
Directive on Privacy Impact Assessment
Privacy Act Request Form
Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada
Record Correction Request Form

Info Source Publications
Access to Information and Privacy Coordinators

Library and Archives Canada
Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Department of Justice Canada

Rapports annuels et les évaluations des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée

En vertu du paragraphe 72(1) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et du paragraphe 72(1) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, à la fin de chaque exercice, chacun des responsables d’une institution fédérale établit pour présentation au Parlement le rapport d’application des lois en ce qui concerne son institution. Les rapports annuels produits par le ministère des Finances sont les suivants :

Rapports annuels

En cours

2013-2014

Archivé

2012-2013

2011-2012

2010-2011

2009-2010

2008-2009

Évaluations des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée

De nombreuses institutions et de nombreux organismes fédéraux mettent en oeuvre des méthodes électroniques de prestation de services aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens. Pour s’assurer que ces initiatives soient conformes aux exigences en matière de protection de la vie privée, les institutions sont tenues d’effectuer des évaluations des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée afin de cerner et d’évaluer les risques visant les renseignements personnels communiqués. Elles aident les gestionnaires et les décideurs à éviter ou à réduire les risques d'atteinte à la vie privée et à promouvoir des choix pleinement éclairés au moment de la conception de politiques, de programmes et de systèmes.

Une fois qu’elles ont effectué une évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée, les institutions sont tenues de produire un résumé des résultats de l’évaluation. Les institutions doivent communiquer au public ces résumés des résultats en temps opportun, dans un langage simple et dans les deux langues officielles.

Résumés des évaluations des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée

Liens connexes

Loi sur l’accès à l’information
Règlement sur l’accès à l’information
Politique sur l'accès à l'information
Manuel de l’accès à l’information
Formulaire de demande d'accès à l'information
Commissariat à l’information du Canada

Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels
Règlement sur la protection des renseignements personnels
Politique sur la protection de la vie privée
Directive sur l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée
Formulaire de demande d'accès à des renseignements personnels
Commissariat à l’information du Canada
Formulaire de demande de correction de dossier

Publications d'Info Source
Coordonnateurs de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Ministère de la Justice Canada