Help the Government of Canada organize its website Canada.ca!
Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

About Access to Information and Privacy

Both the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act came into force on July 1, 1983.

The Access to Information Act gives every Canadian citizen, permanent resident, individual or corporation present in Canada the right to request access to records that are under the control of federal government institutions regardless of their format.

The purpose of the Privacy Act is to protect the privacy of individuals with respect to their personal information and, so, governs the federal government's collection, retention, use and disclosure of that information. It also provides individuals (including those in Canada who are not permanent residents or citizens) with a right of access to their personal information.

The Access to Information and Privacy Division

The Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Division of the Department of Finance administers the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act on behalf of the Department and, as such, serves as the centre of expertise in those areas. Division personnel process formal requests under the Acts, respond to consultations received from other government institutions, handle complaints lodged with the Information and Privacy Commissioners and respond to informal inquiries. The Division also promotes awareness and provides training with respect to the Acts, and generally supports the Department in meeting its commitments concerning greater openness and transparency.

Contact Us

Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator
Department of Finance Canada

L'Esplanade Laurier, East Tower
140 O'Connor Street, 5th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0G5

Phone: 613-992-6923
Fax: 613-947-8331
E-mail: atip-aiprp@fin.gc.ca

À propos de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels sont entrées en vigueur le 1er juillet 1983.

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information donne à tous les citoyens canadiens, résidents permanents, personnes ou sociétés au Canada le droit d'accéder aux documents — peu importe leur format — dont dispose une institution fédérale.

Le but de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels est de protéger la vie privée des personnes en ce qui concerne leurs renseignements personnels et régit la collecte, la conservation, l'utilisation et la communication de ces renseignements personnels au gouvernement fédéral. Elle accorde également aux personnes (y compris à celles qui se trouvent au Canada et qui ne sont ni des citoyens ni des résidents permanents) le droit d'accéder à leurs renseignements personnels.

Division de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels

La Division de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) du ministère des Finances applique la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels pour le compte du ministère et, à ce titre, est le centre de renseignements et de connaissances spécialisés dans le domaine. Le personnel de la division traite les demandes officielles et les consultations qui sont présentées par les institutions fédérales aux termes de ces lois, s'occupe des plaintes déposées auprès du commissaire à l'information et du commissaire à la protection de la vie privée, et répond aux demandes de renseignements informelles. La division renseigne et offre de la formation au sujet des lois, et appuie de façon générale le ministère dans la réalisation de son engagement en matière d'ouverture et de transparence.

Contactez-nous

Coordonnateur de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels
Finances Canada

90, rue Elgin
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G5

Téléphone : 613-369-3579
Télécopieur : 613-369-3580
Courriel : atip-aiprp@fin.gc.ca