Help the Government of Canada organize its website Canada.ca!
Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Minister of Finance
Financial Risk Management Guidelines For Crown Corporations

August 2009

Introduction

Crown corporations undertake a wide range of corporate activities that engender financial risk, including raising financing, managing investments and using derivatives. It is important that Crown corporations follow a comprehensive, entity-wide approach to risk that allows the entity to identify and manage financial risks on a timely basis across all business lines and areas under corporate control. Crown corporations should also have a culture of risk awareness that is embedded in the way the entity operates and covering all areas and activities.

While many Crown corporations operate at arm’s length from the government, as public institutions, they are ultimately accountable to the government. It is in the government’s and taxpayers’ best interest that prudent and appropriate financial risk management policies and practices are in place.

Section 15, Part I of the Financial Administration Act (FAA) states that "the Minister of Finance is responsible for the supervision, control and direction of all matters relating to the financial affairs of Canada not by law assigned to the Treasury Board or to any other minister". Prudent financial risk management is also supported by various pieces of federal legislation, including Part X of the FAA for most Crown corporations and specific enabling legislation for those Crown corporations exempted from the FAA, that generally call for a system of control and reporting for those entities.

Consistent with this overarching responsibility, the Minister has resolved to provide guidance to Crown corporations on the prudent management of financial risks. Such guidance is informed by leading practices for similar private sector financial intermediaries and other comparable sovereign entities, where applicable, and by applicable Canadian and international regulatory standards, as they evolve. These guidelines also draw from several reports, including the report by the Institute of International Finance Committee (IIF) on Market Best Practices: Principles of Conduct and Best Practice Recommendations, the Report of the Financial Stability Forum on Enhancng Market and Institutional Resilience and the Counterparty Risk Management Policy Group (CRMPG) III Report Containing Systemic Risk: The Road to Reform.

These guidelines apply to a broad spectrum of Crown corporations accountable to the Government of Canada and listed in Schedule III, Parts I and II of the FAA (including those corporations exempted under Part X, section 85 (1))[1], as well as the Canadian Wheat Board, newly-created Crown corporations and any wholly-owned subsidiaries of these entities. The levels of distinction range from non-financial Crown to financial Crown corporations, with those with extensive treasury operations being differentiated from those with liquidity pools (e.g. endowment funds), small cash operations and less sophisticated treasury operations.

These guidelines provide direction from the Minister on prudent risk management policy and practices. It is the responsibility of the governance authority of each entity to develop risk management policies and practices that are appropriate for its corporate and treasury activities and these guidelines. The governance authority responsible for the entity, typically the Board of Directors, may approve exceptions to these guidelines where the nature of the business line or portfolio type warrants it. Under such circumstances, an entity will be deemed as fulfilling the main intent of the guidelines if senior management has advised the governing authority on the deviation from these guidelines, and approval is granted. This stipulation applies to all sections of these guidelines. The Minister of Finance will not play a governance role, but reserves the right to request information relating to Crown corporation financial risk management policies, practices and exposures as needed.

Purpose

The purpose of these guidelines is to set forth a principles-based framework for financial risk management for all Crown corporations. Within this framework, the governance authority is responsible for setting and applying risk management policy and procedures to manage the financial risks and is fully accountable for outcomes. It is expected that Crown corporations will tailor risk management policies and practices to take into account their mandate, scope, size and the nature of their risk exposures. These guidelines set out the position of the Minister of Finance with respect to the standards of financial risk management that are expected to be followed by Crown corporations of the Government of Canada. It is the expectation of the Minister of Finance that all approaches should be consistent with these guidelines and evolving leading practices.

Scope

The principles of these guidelines apply to all sources of financial risk arising from the activities of Crown corporations, and entities they control. The practices of these guidelines apply to treasury management activities, including raising financing, managing investments and using derivatives (hereinafter referred to as "risk-generating activities"). It is expected that entities will also have in place appropriate mechanisms for monitoring and managing the financial risks associated with internally- and externally-managed pension funds, while taking into account laws and arrangements that support differential standards with respect to management and financial risk-taking.[2]

Financial risks that should be covered within the financial risk management framework include credit risk (including settlement risk), liquidity risk, market risk (including foreign exchange and interest rate risk, and other market value-related risks such as equity risk and commodity risk), as well as operational and legal risks related to risk-generating activities. A list of definitions is provided in Annex A.

These Minister of Finance Financial Risk Management Guidelines for Crown Corporations ("FRMG") supercede the Minister of Finance Financial Risk Management Guidelines for Crown Corporations (November 1996); the Minister of Finance Credit Policy Guidelines for Crown Corporations (Swap Downgrade) (March 1995); all other similar guidelines and all side letters and amending letters in respect of all such guidelines, provided that the Minister of Finance Guidelines for Market Borrowings by Crown Corporations (August 1989) ("MBCC") remain in effect except in the case of any inconsistency between the FRMG and the MBCC, where the provisions of the FRMG prevail.

Guiding Principles of the Financial Risk Management Framework

Crown corporations should have policies and procedures in place to monitor and prudently manage the financial risks they incur through their risk-generating activities. Those policies and procedures should be based on the principles listed below. Crown corporations should:

Governance Responsibilities

Ultimate responsibility for each Crown corporation, including the risk management and internal control processes, should rest with the Board of Directors (herein referred to as "the Board") or as otherwise provided by law. All Crown corporations should have documented risk management policies that are approved by the Board, or where no Board exists, the authority responsible for the entity within the government, and supporting procedures approved by senior management.

The governance framework should provide for effective oversight of risk management policies and procedures and, as such, should include a suitable organizational structure and the establishment of oversight committees as deemed appropriate. Robust communication mechanisms should be established so that the Board, senior management, business lines and control functions can effectively exchange information about risk. In fulfilling their responsibilities, the Board should ensure the proper dedication of resources and senior level attention required to support effective and timely risk management and the periodic review of risk management policies and processes.

Board of Directors

While the Board has oversight responsibility for risk management and control, it will delegate, unless already delegated by law, responsibility for the management of financial risks to senior management. The Board should be made regularly aware of any significant financial risks facing the institution, including the consequences of potential significant losses related to those risks. The Board should ensure that there are properly qualified Board members on key Board committees, where possible, or engage appropriate expertise.

The Board should:

Senior Management

Senior management is responsible for the management of financial risks, within the authority delegated to them by the Board or by law and in compliance with applicable guidelines, laws and regulations. As such, senior management should:

Risk Management Function

Each Crown corporation should have a risk management function that is consistent with the breadth and complexity of its operations. Where the breadth or complexity of an entity’s operations does not justify the formation of a separate risk management function, the statement of investment policy (and/or other Board-approved policies and guidelines) and, more specifically, the permitted financial transactions, should be appropriately circumscribed. The risk management function should have appropriate seniority and a reporting line to senior management and/or the Board that is separate from the business activities that generate the risk exposures. This function should be responsible for:

Audit

The Crown corporation’s risk guidelines should be included as part of the internal audit plan (or external as appropriate).

Treasury Risk Management Practices

Financial risks should be managed in a manner commensurate with their complexity and the extent of potential losses. Treasury risk management practices should be consistent with the nature of an entity’s operations and permitted financial transactions. Risk management systems should be adequate to provide accurate, up-to-date measuring, monitoring, controlling and reporting capabilities. Pricing and risk measurement models used in relation to financial risks should be independently reviewed or validated. With respect to the management of the following specific financial risks, the Crown corporation should:

Liquidity Risk

Market Risk

Operational Risk

Legal Risks

Credit Risk

Reporting

All risk-related reporting should occur on a timely and regular basis to appropriate committees and the Board and should provide an independent view of operations.

All public reporting should provide a comprehensive, clear understanding of the entity-wide financial risks to which the entity is or may be exposed, as guided by leading practices.

The existence of appropriate financial risk management guidelines should be reported in the annual report, or another public document if an annual report is not a statutory requirement, on an annual basis.

Review

These guidelines will be reviewed by the Minister of Finance every three years, or more frequently as needed.


Notes:

1. The Canada Pension Plan Investment Board falls outside the ambit of these guidelines [Return to section].

2. For example the federal Pension Benefits Standards Act, the Pension Benefits Act of Ontario or any other applicable legislation [Return to section].

3. Examples include the Treasury Board Corporate Governance Guidelines, Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) Corporate Governance Guidelines and Bank for International Settlements (BIS) Basel II [Return to section].

4. In cases where two or more ratings are the same, for example, Moody’s is AA, S&P is AA, DBRS is AA- and Fitch Ratings is AA-, the rating would be AA (not AA-) [Return to section].

5. Equivalent ratings are A3 in the case of Moody’s Investors Service, Inc and A- for Standard and Poor’s and Fitch Ratings Ltd. [Return to section].


Annex A

Definitions

Risk Management: The process of developing policies, procedures, and practices to be applied in the identification, analysis, assessment, control, and avoidance, minimization, or elimination of financial risks.

Crown Corporation: For purposes of this document, a Crown corporation is considered to be any corporation listed as part of Schedule III, Part I or II of the Financial Administration Act (including those corporations exempted under Part X, section 85 (1)), newly created Crown corporations and any wholly-owned subsidiaries. This document also applies to the Canadian Wheat Board, which is a shared governance corporation.

Subsidiary: A corporation is a subsidiary of another coporation if it is controlled by that other corporation.

Control: A corporation with share capital is controlled by a person if (a) shares of the corporation to which are attached more than fifty per cent of the votes that may be cast to elect directors of the corporation are held, otherwise than by way of security only, by, on behalf of or in trust for that person; and (b) the votes attached to those shares are sufficient, if exercised, to elect a majority of the directors of the corporation.

Treasury Activities: Treasury activities are comprised of raising financing, managing investments (e.g. liquidity and treasury investment portfolios) and use of derivatives to raise funds or manage financial risks. Treasury activities are undertaken in support of a Crown corporation’s corporate activities. Activities of the treasury will be carried out in accordance with policies approved by the Board of Directors.

Investment: An investment transaction is defined as a commitment of funds in expectation of deriving income or profit as defined within the context of individual portfolio objectives approved by the Board and guided by leading practices.

Speculation: An assumption of risk in anticipation of gain but recognizing a higher than average possibility of loss. The distinction from the term investment is one of degree of risk. The treasury should not be a profit centre and thus its activities should not be undertaken with the aim of seeking profit from future market movements.

Derivative: Derivatives are financial instruments whose value changes in response to the changes in underlying variables. The main types of derivatives are futures, options and swaps.

Risk Tolerance: The risk of loss that the firm is willing to accept over a specified time horizon at a given level of confidence.

Financial Risk: Credit (settlement), liquidity, market (i.e. interest rate and foreign exchange) or market-related (equity, commodity), operational and legal risks associated with a Crown corporations risk-generating activities as defined in the introduction of this document.

Credit Risk: The risk that a counterparty will fail to fulfil its contractual obligations.

Liquidity Risk: The risk that a financial instrument cannot be sold quickly and at full market value. It includes market liquidity and funding liquidity risks.

Market Risk: The risk to an institution’s financial condition resulting from adverse movements in the level or volatility of market factors. It includes currency risk, interest rate risk, equity risk and commodity risk.

Currency Risk: The risk that the market value of a financial instrument will fluctuate due to changes in exchange rates.

Interest Rate Risk: The risk that the market value of a financial instrument will fluctuate due to changes in market interest rates.

Equity Risk: The risk that the market value of a financial instrument will fluctuate due to changes in the market value of the underlying equities.

Commodity Risk: The risk that the market value of a financial instrument will fluctuate due to changes in the price of the commodities.

Operational Risk: The risk that deficiencies in the information systems or internal controls will result in unexpected loss. Operations risk can be assessed through periodic review of procedures, documentation requirements, data processing systems, contingency plans and other operating practices.

Legal Risk: The risk that counterparty contracts may not be legally enforceable or appropriately documented and executed (e.g. the use of inadequate master agreements). Legal risk can also arise from the institution not having ensured that its counterparties have the legal and necessary authority (capacity) to engage in the relevant transactions and from not having ensured that the terms of any contract governing its activities with a counterparty are legally sound (including any netting provisions).

Marking-to-Market: The process of revaluing a position, portfolio, or transaction on the basis of prevailing market prices.

Non-Standard Covenants: Examples of non-standard covenants include waiver of sovereign immunity, dividend-limiting clauses and pledging of real assets.

Stress Testing: A risk management method used to examine the potential effects on a firm’s financial condition of a set of specified changes in risk factors, corresponding to exceptional but plausible events.

Risk Management Framework: The risk management system is the total set of rules and measures used to monitor and protect against risks.

Lignes directrices du ministre des Finances sur la gestion des risques financiers pour les sociétés d’État

Août 2009

Introduction

Les sociétés d’État mènent une vaste gamme d’activités qui génèrent des risques financiers, y compris l’obtention de fonds, la gestion des placements et le recours à des instruments dérivés. En matière de risque, elles doivent adopter une approche visant l’ensemble de leur organisation, afin de pouvoir cerner et gérer, en temps opportun, les risques financiers dans tous les secteurs d’activités qui relèvent de leurs compétences. En outre, les sociétés d’État doivent intégrer à leur mode de fonctionnement une culture de sensibilisation aux risques pour tous leurs secteurs et activités.

Un bon nombre de sociétés d’État fonctionnent sans ingérence du gouvernement, mais il n’en demeure pas moins qu’à titre d’institutions publiques, elles sont responsables en dernier ressort devant le gouvernement. Il est donc dans l’intérêt du gouvernement et des contribuables que soient mises en œuvre des politiques et des pratiques prudentes et pertinentes de gestion des risques financiers.

Selon l’article 15 de la Partie I de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques (LGFP), le ministre des Finances « assure la direction et la gestion du ministère, ainsi que la gestion du Trésor; de lui relèvent également, en matière de finances publiques, toutes les questions non attribuées de droit au Conseil du Trésor ou à un autre ministre ». D’autres textes législatifs confirment également la nécessité d’une gestion prudente des risques financiers, notamment la Partie X de la LGFP pour la majorité des sociétés d’État et des lois habilitantes particulières pour les sociétés d’État non assujetties à la LGFP et qui exigent généralement pour ces sociétés un système de contrôle et de reddition des comptes.

Conformément à cette responsabilité globale, le ministre a décidé d’établir pour les sociétés d’État des directives sur la gestion prudente des risques financiers. Ces directives reposent sur les pratiques exemplaires d’intermédiaires financiers similaires du secteur privé et d’autres entités souveraines, s’il y a lieu, et des normes réglementaires canadiennes et internationales mises à jour à mesure qu’elles évoluent. En outre, les lignes directrices s’inspirent de divers rapports, y compris celui du comité sur les pratiques exemplaires du marché de l’Institut de finances internationales, intitulé Principles of Conduct and Best Practice Recommendations, le Report of the Financial Stability Forum on Enhancng Market and Institutional Resilience du Forum sur la stabilité financière et le rapport Containing Systemic Risk: The Road to Reform, du Counterparty Risk Management Policy Group (CRMPG) III.

Les lignes directrices visent un grand éventail de sociétés d’État responsables devant le gouvernement du Canada et inscrites à l’annexe III des Parties I et II et de la LGFP (y compris les sociétés exemptées aux termes du paragraphe (1) de la Partie X)[1], ainsi que la Commission canadienne du blé, les sociétés d’État nouvellement créées et les filiales à cent pour cent de ces entités. Les entités sont classées en diverses catégories, allant de sociétés d’État sans vocation financière à celles ayant une telle vocation; de même, celles effectuant un grand nombre d’opérations de trésorerie se distinguent de celles dotées de fonds communs de capitaux, comme des fonds de dotation, ou de celles effectuant peu d’opérations de trésorerie ou de telles opérations moins complexes.

Dans ces lignes directrices, le ministre établit une orientation en matière de politiques et de pratiques sur la gestion prudente des risques. Il incombe à l’instance de gouvernance de chaque société d’élaborer des politiques et des pratiques de gestion des risques pertinentes pour les activités commerciales et de trésorerie et conformes aux lignes directrices. Cette instance de gouvernance, en général le conseil d’administration, peut accorder des exceptions aux lignes directrices, si la nature du secteur d’activités ou le type de portefeuille le justifie. On déterminera alors que l’entité se conforme à l’intention des lignes directrices, dans la mesure où la haute direction a avisé l’instance de gouvernance qu’une exception a été accordée et que l’approbation de celle-ci est obtenue. Cette mesure s’applique à toutes les sections des présentes lignes directrices. Le ministre des Finances n’a aucune fonction de gouvernance, mais il se réserve le droit de demander à une société d’État de lui fournir des renseignements sur ses politiques et pratiques concernant la gestion des risques financiers ainsi que son exposition à ces risques, s’il y a lieu.

Objet

Les lignes directrices ont comme objectif d’établir un cadre fondé sur des principes en matière de gestion des risques financiers pour toutes les sociétés d’État. À la lumière de ces lignes directrices, l’instance de gouvernance doit établir une politique et des procédures de gestion des risques, afin de gérer les risques financiers et doit rendre des comptes sur les résultats obtenus. On s’attend à ce que les sociétés d’État adapteront les politiques et pratiques de gestion des risques afin de tenir compte de leur mandat, portée, taille et nature de leur exposition aux risques. Dans ces lignes directrices, le ministre des Finances énonce sa position à l’égard des normes de gestion des risques financiers que doivent respecter les sociétés d’État du gouvernement du Canada et il s’attend à ce que toutes les approches adoptées sont conformes aux principales lignes directrices et aux pratiques exemplaires en évolution.

Portée

Les principes régissant les présentes lignes directrices s’appliquent à tous les types de risques financiers découlant des activités des sociétés d’État et des entités sous leur contrôle. Les pratiques mentionnées dans les lignes directives englobent les activités de trésorerie, y compris recueillir des fonds, gérer les placements et utiliser des instruments dérivés (ci-après les « activités génératrices de risques »). On s’attend en outre à ce que les entités se dotent de mécanismes efficaces de surveillance et de gestion des risques financiers liés aux caisses de retraite gérées à l’interne et à l’externe, en tenant compte des lois et des mécanismes supplémentaires en matière de gestion et de prise de risques financiers[2].

Le cadre de gestion des risques financiers doit inclure les risques financiers suivant : risque de crédit (y compris le risque de non-règlement), le risque de liquidité, le risque du marché (y compris le risque de change et le risque de taux d’intérêt ainsi que les autres risques liés à la valeur marchande, comme le risque sur actions et le risque sur marchandises), de même que les risques opérationnels et juridiques liés aux activités de prise de risque. L’annexe A fournit les définitions de ces termes.

Les présentes lignes directrices du ministre des Finances sur la gestion des risques financiers à l’intention des sociétés d’État (LDGRF) remplacent les Lignes directrices du ministre des Finances concernant la gestion des risques financiers pour les sociétés d’État (novembre 1996), les Lignes directrices du ministre des Finances sur la politique de crédit des sociétés d’État (déclassement de swaps) datant de mars 1995, toutes les autres lignes directrices semblables et les lettres connexes et de modifications concernant ces lignes directrices. Cela dit, les Lignes directrices du ministre des Finances sur les emprunts des sociétés d’État sur le marché (LDESM) (août 1989) demeurent en vigueur, sauf en cas d’incompatibilité entre les LDGRF et les LDESM; les premières auront alors préséance sur les secondes.

Principes directeurs du cadre de gestion des risques financiers

Les sociétés d’État doivent se doter de politiques et de pratiques afin d’assurer la surveillance et la gestion prudente des risques financiers auxquels elles s’exposent lors de leurs activités génératrices de risques. Ces politiques et procédures doivent s’appuyer sur les principes décrits ci-dessous. Une société d’État devrait notamment :

Responsabilités en matière de gouvernance

Le conseil d’administration de chaque société d’État (ci-après « le Conseil ») est responsable en dernier ressort de la gouvernance, sauf sur disposition contraire de la loi. Chaque société d’État doit avoir des politiques de gestion des risques approuvées par le Conseil, ou en l’absence de celui-ci, par l’autorité gouvernementale responsable de l’entité, ainsi que des procédures connexes approuvées par la haute direction.

Le cadre de gouvernance doit permettre une surveillance efficace des politiques et des procédures de gestion des risques et prévoir une structure organisationnelle pertinente et des comités de surveillance, lorsque nécessaire. La société doit également avoir de solides mécanismes de communication afin que le Conseil, la haute direction, les secteurs d’activités et les fonctions de contrôle puissent s’échanger aisément de l’information sur les risques. Dans l’exercice de ses responsabilités, le Conseil doit s’assurer que les ressources nécessaires sont présentes et que la haute direction est attentive à la situation; cela est essentiel pour soutenir une gestion des risques efficace et opportune, ainsi qu’un examen périodique des politiques et processus de gestion des risques.

Conseil d’administration

Le Conseil est chargé de la surveillance de la gestion et du contrôle des risques, mais il déléguera à la haute direction, si cela n’est pas déjà fait par la loi, ses responsabilités en matière de gestion des risques financiers. Le Conseil doit être régulièrement informé de tous les risques financiers majeurs auxquels est confrontée l’institution, y compris les conséquences d’éventuelles pertes d’importance. Dans la mesure du possible, le Conseil doit s’assurer que des membres hautement qualifiés siègent à ses principaux comités ou faire appel à des experts-conseils.

Le Conseil doit :

Haute direction

Il incombe à la haute direction d’assurer la gestion des risques financiers, selon les pouvoirs qui lui ont été délégués par le Conseil ou la loi, et conformément aux lignes directrices, lois et règlements pertinents. Dans cette perspective, la haute direction doit :

Fonction de gestion des risques

Chaque société d’État doit avoir une fonction de gestion des risques adaptée à l’ampleur et à la complexité de ses opérations. Si l’ampleur ou la complexité des opérations de l’entité ne justifie pas la création d’une fonction distincte de gestion des risques, l’Énoncé de politique de placement (et/ou d’autres politiques et lignes directrices approuvées par le Conseil), en particulier sur les opérations financières autorisées, doit clairement baliser les activités. La fonction de gestion des risques doit relever d’un palier supérieur compétent et avoir des rapports hiérarchiques avec la haute direction et/ou le Conseil supérieur distincts de ceux des activités génératrices de risques. La fonction est responsable :

Vérification

Les lignes directrices sur la gestion des risques de la société d’État doivent faire partie du plan de vérification interne, ou de vérification externe, s’il y a lieu.

Pratiques de gestion des risques de trésorerie

La gestion des risques financiers doit être proportionnée à la complexité de ceux-ci et à l’ampleur des pertes possibles. De plus, les pratiques de gestion des risques de trésorerie doivent être compatibles avec le type d’opérations de la société et les opérations financières autorisées. Les systèmes de gestion des risques doivent assurer des capacités d’évaluation, de surveillance, de contrôle et de production de rapports exacts et à jour, tandis que les modèles d’établissement des prix et des risques utilisés pour la gestion des risques financiers doivent être examinés ou validés par un tiers externe. En ce qui concerne la gestion des risques financiers suivants, la société d’État doit prendre les mesures suivantes.

Risque de liquidité

Risque du marché

Risque opérationnel

Risques juridiques

Risque de crédit

Production de rapports

Des rapports sur les risques doivent être soumis régulièrement et au moment opportun aux comités pertinents et au Conseil. Les rapports doivent brosser un tableau indépendant des activités de la société.

Les rapports publics doivent expliquer clairement tous les risques financiers auxquels est confrontée la société, ou pourrait l’être, selon l’orientation donnée par les pratiques exemplaires.

Le rapport annuel, ou tout autre document public si la présentation d’un tel rapport n’est pas exigée par la loi, doit mentionner l’existence de lignes directrices pertinentes sur la gestion des risques financiers.

Examen

Le ministre des Finances passera en revue les présentes lignes directrices tous les trois ans, ou plus fréquemment s’il y a lieu.


1. L’Office d’investissement du régime de pensions du Canada n’est pas assujetti à ces lignes directrices [Retour au texte].

2. Notons par exemple la Loi sur les normes de prestation de pension du gouvernement fédéral, la Loi sur les régimes de retraite de l’Ontario et les autres lois pertinentes [Retour au texte].

3. Les Lignes directrices sur la régie des sociétés d’État et autres entreprises publiques du Conseil du Trésor, Les lignes directrices sur la gouvernance d’entreprise du Bureau du surintenant des institutions financières (BSIF) et l’accord de Bâle II de la Banque des règlements internationaux (BRS) [Retour au texte].

4. Si deux cotes ou plus sont identiques, par exemple, la cote de Moody est AA, celle de S&P est AA, celle de DBRS est AA- et celle de Fitch Ratings est AA-, la cote est AA (et non AA-) [Retour au texte].

5. Dans le cas de Moody’s Investors Service, Inc, la cote cote équivalente est A3, et celle de Standard and Poor’s et de Fitch Ratings Ltd, A- [Retour au texte].


Annexe A

Définitions

Gestion des risques : Démarche visant l’élaboration de politiques, de procédures et de pratiques à mettre en œuvre pour la définition, l’analyse, l’évaluation, le contrôle, l’évitement fiscal, l’atténuation ou l’élimination des risques financiers.

Société d’État : Aux fins du présent document, est considérée une société d’État toute société mentionnée à l’annexe III de la Partie I ou II de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, y compris celles exemptées aux termes du paragraphe 85(1) de la Partie X, ainsi que les sociétés d’État récemment créées et les filiales à cent pour cent. Ce document touche également la Commission canadienne du blé, une société à régie partagée.

Filiale : Une société est une filiale d’une autre société si elle est contrôlée par cette société.

Contrôle : Une personne a le contrôle d’une société ayant un capital-actions si, à la fois : a) elle détient, autrement qu’à titre de garantie seulement, plus de cinquante pour cent des actions de la société assorties de droits de vote permettant d’élire les administrateurs de celle-ci, ou si ces actions sont détenues en son nom ou en fiducie pour elle; b) ces droits de vote suffisent, s’ils sont exercés, à l’élection de la majorité des administrateurs de la société.

Activités de trésorerie : Ces activités incluent recueillir des fonds, gérer les placements (p. ex. portefeuilles de liquidités et d’actions) et utiliser des instruments dérivés pour obtenir des fonds ou gérer les risques financiers. Les activités de trésorerie doivent être menées à l’appui des activités de la société d’État et conformément aux politiques approuvées par le Conseil.

Placement : Un placement est un engagement de fonds dans l’espoir d’en tirer un revenu ou un bénéfice, tel que défini dans les objectifs propres à un portefeuille, qui sont approuvés par le Conseil et s’inspirent des pratiques exemplaires.

Spéculation : Comportement impliquant un pari sur l’évolution du marché dans l’espoir de réaliser un gain, mais avec une possibilité supérieure à la moyenne de subir une perte. Par rapport à un placement, la spéculation affiche un degré de risque plus élevé. La trésorerie ne doit pas être considérée un centre de profit et les activités liées à celle-ci ne doivent pas viser à tirer un profit de l’évolution du marché.

Produit dérivé : Instrument financier dont la valeur est fonction de variations des variables sous-jacentes, comme les contrats à terme, les contrats d’option et les swaps.

Tolérance au risque : Risque de perte que la société est prête à accepter sur une période donnée et à un niveau de confiance donné.

Risque financier : Tout risque que présentent les activités génératrices de risque de la société d’État, décrites dans l’introduction du document. Il peut s’agir du risque de crédit (non-règlement), de risque de liquidité, de risque du marché (c.-à-d. taux d’intérêt et taux de change), ou lié au marché (actions, marchandises), ou encore de risque opérationnel ou juridique.

Risque de crédit : Risque qu’une contrepartie ne respecte pas ses obligations contractuelles.

Risque de liquidité : Risque de ne pouvoir vendre rapidement et à la pleine valeur marchande un instrument financier. Il comprend les risques de liquidité liés au financement et au marché.

Risque du marché : Risque de variation de la valeur de marché d’un instrument financier en raison des fluctuations du cours du change (risque de change), de l’évolution des taux d’intérêt (risque de taux), ou encore des variations des prix ou des cours (risque sur actions ou risque sur marchandises).

Risque de change : Risque que des variations des taux de change nuisent à la valeur marchande des instruments financiers détenus par la société d’État.

Risque de taux d’intérêt : Risque que des variations du rendement nuisent à la valeur marchande des instruments financiers détenus par la société d’État.

Risque sur actions : Risque que des variations de la valeur marchande des actions sous-jacentes nuisent à la valeur marchande des instruments financiers détenus par la société d’État.

Risque sur marchandises : Risque que des variations du prix des marchandises nuisent à la valeur marchande des instruments financiers détenus par la société d’État.

Risque opérationnel : Risque que les faiblesses des systèmes d’information ou des contrôles internes n’entraînent des pertes imprévues. Ce genre de risque peut être évalué en menant des examens périodiques des procédures, des exigences en matière de documentation, des systèmes de traitement des données, des plans d’urgence et d’autres pratiques d’exploitation.

Risque juridique : Risque que les contrats de contrepartie puissent ne pas avoir force exécutoire ou ne pas être documentés et exécutés convenablement (exemple, le recours à des ententes cadres inadéquates). Le risque juridique peut également découler du fait que l’institution n’a pas vérifié si ses contreparties avaient le pouvoir juridique et nécessaire (capacité) de participer aux transactions appropriées ou encore si les conditions du contrat régissant ses activités menées avec une contrepartie sont fondées sur le plan juridique (y compris les dispositions de positionnement).

Évaluation à la valeur du marché : Processus consistant à réévaluer une position, un portefeuille ou une transaction en fonction des prix courants du marché.

Clauses restrictives non conventionnelles : Il peut s’agir d’une renonciation à l’immunité absolue, de clauses restrictives à l’égard des dividendes ou d’une mise en gage d’actifs réels.

Test de tension : Méthode de gestion des risques utilisée pour examiner les répercussions potentielles sur la situation financière d’une société, d’un ensemble de variations précises des facteurs de risques qui correspondent à des événements exceptionnels, mais plausibles.

Cadre de gestion des risques : Système de gestion des risques qui comprend l’ensemble des règles et des mesures servant à la surveillance et à la protection contre les risques.