Archived - Department of Finance Canada’s Annual Report to Parliament On the Administration of the
Privacy Act

2008–2009

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Table of Contents

Introduction

Purpose of the Privacy Act

Mandate of the Department of Finance

Administration of the Privacy Legislation

Interpretation of Statistical Report

Complaints

Appeals to the Federal Court of Canada

Privacy Impact Assessments (PIAs) and Preliminary Privacy Impact Assessments (PPIAs)

APPENDIX A
Statistical Report on Privacy Act Requests

Introduction

The annual report on the administration of the Privacy Act in the Department of Finance is submitted in accordance with section 72 of the legislation. This report covers the period from April 1, 2008 to March 31, 2009. 

Purpose of the Privacy Act

The Privacy Act protects the privacy of all Canadian citizens and permanent residents regarding personal information held by a federal government institution. In addition, it gives these individuals, including those in Canada who are not permanent residents or citizens, the right to access their own personal information.

Mandate of the Department of Finance

The Department of Finance is the federal government’s central agency responsible for advising on all aspects of Canada’s economic and financial affairs. Concerned with all aspects of the performance of the Canadian economy, it oversees all initiatives that affect the economy, ensuring harmony and following the development of external factors that bear on domestic economic performance.

The department's most visible output is the federal budget. The budget speech provides an authoritative review of past, present, and future economic factors that will affect Canada’s economic performance and finances. The budget reviews government accounts for the past period and presents its fiscal projections for the coming years. These include the government's expenditure program, revenues from existing sources, taxation changes, and debt levels. The minister has a number of statutory responsibilities and plays a significant role as central policy advisor. The following list of ministerial and departmental functions reflects these responsibilities:

Program (or Statutory) Responsibilities and Core Functions

Central Agency Functions

Administration of the Privacy Legislation

Access to Information and Privacy Division

The Access to Information and Privacy Division (ATIP), whose operations are overseen by the Law Branch, is responsible for administering the Privacy Act for the Department of Finance. As a centralized operation, the ATIP Division co‑ordinates the timely processing of requests under the legislation, conducts interdepartmental consultations, handles complaints lodged with the Privacy Commissioner, and responds to informal inquiries. Division staff also provide advice and guidance to departmental officials on matters involving the Privacy Act.  Due to the low volume of personal information and privacy issues managed by the Department of Finance, generally only a few staff are involved in privacy matters during most reporting periods.  However, since the Department recently implemented a Code of Conflict for its employees, a significant amount of time was spent on this initiative during the reporting period and in advance of its implementation, to ensure compliance with the Privacy Act and related policies.

This report presents an overview of the Privacy activities carried out within the Department of Finance during the reporting period April 1, 2008 to March 31, 2009.

Overview of Privacy Activities

Since the legislation was implemented, the Department of Finance Canada has received very few requests under the Privacy Act. Because the department does not collect personal information to administer particular programs, its personal information holdings largely concern departmental employees. Very few privacy requests have been received since effective procedures were put in place for employees to access their personnel records informally. Departmental employees can process and access their leave records through "PeopleSoft" software on their personal computers. These PeopleSoft files are accessible to each employee by an individual password chosen by the employee.

The department also has personal information about contractors who provide personal services to the department, individuals who apply for positions within the department, and correspondence and survey responses from the general public.

Education and Training Activities

Training sessions for new employees are given on a monthly basis. These include an overview of privacy-related activities. Ad-hoc training is also provided as needed or requested by the branches. No privacy specific courses were delivered during the reporting period, however, all of the eleven Access to Information sessions included some information concerning Privacy Act requirements.

Institutional Changes to the Administration of the Privacy Act

Because the department processes very few privacy requests, no institutional changes were made regarding the administration of the Privacy Act this year.

The delegation of authority that was approved on March 31, 2008 remained in effect throughout the reporting period.

Delegation of Authority

During the reporting period, the authority to approve or deny the release of departmental information requested under the Privacy Act was shared among the Deputy Minister, the Associate Deputy Minister and G7 Deputy for Canada, the Associate Deputy Minister, the Assistant Deputy Minister and Counsel to the Department, and the Access to Information and Privacy Director.  Usually the ATIP Director performs this function, with the exception of disclosures of personal information to investigative bodies pursuant to 8(2)(e) of the Privacy Act.  These disclosures are usually performed by the Assistant Deputy Minister of the Corporate Services Branch. 

Privacy Act Designation Order. For details, refer to the preceding paragraph.

Schedule 2
Designation Order—Privacy Act
Powers, Duties or Functions Section Deputy Minister Associate DM Associate DM and
G7 Deputy  for Canada
Assistant DM, Corporate Services Branch
To disclose personal information to an investigative body specified in the regulations, on the written request of the body, for the purpose of enforcing any law of Canada or a province or carrying out a lawful investigation, if the request specifies the purpose and describes the information to be disclosed 8(2)(e) Yes Yes Yes Yes

 

Powers, Duties or Functions Section Deputy Minister Associate DM Associate DM and
G7 Deputy  for Canada
ADM and Counsel,
Law Branch
Director, ATIP ATIP Team Leader
Senior ATIP Analyst
To disclose personal information when satisfied that the purpose for which the information is disclosed cannot reasonably be accomplished unless the information is provided in a form that identifies the person to whom it relates and obtain a written undertaking that no subsequent disclosure of the information will be made in a form that could reasonably be expected to identify the individual to whom it relates 8(2)(j) Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No
To disclose personal information when public interest outweighs invasion of privacy or when disclosure benefits the individual 8(2)(m) Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No
To keep copies of requests made under 8(2)(e), keep records of information disclosed pursuant to such requests and to make those copies and records available to Privacy Commissioner 8(4) Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
To notify the Privacy Commissioner in writing of disclosure under paragraph 8(2)(m) 8(5) Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No
To retain a record of use of personal information. 9(1) Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
To notify the Privacy Commissioner of consistent use of personal information and update index accordingly 9(4) Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
To include personal information in personal information banks 10 Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
To give written notice as to whether or not access will be given 14(a) Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No
To give access to requester 14(b) Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No
To extend time limit and give notice of extension 15 Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
To determine the necessity for a translation or interpretation of a record 17(2)(b) Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
To determine whether a record should be provided in an alternative format 17(3) Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
To refuse to disclose personal information referred to in that section 18(2) Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No
To refuse to disclose personal information referred to in that section 19(1) Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No
To disclose, with consent, personal information referred to in that subsection 19(2) Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No
To refuse to disclose personal information referred to in that section 20 Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No
To refuse to disclose personal information referred to in that section 21 Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No
To refuse to disclose personal information referred to in that section 22 Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No
To refuse to disclose personal information referred to in that section 22.3 Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No
To refuse to disclose personal information referred to in that section 23 Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No
To refuse to disclose personal information under that section 24 Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No
To refuse to disclose personal information under that section 25 Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No
To refuse to disclose personal information under that section 26 Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No
To refuse to disclose personal information under that section 27 Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No
To refuse to disclose personal information under that section 28 Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No
To receive notice of investigation by the
Privacy Commissioner
31 Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No
To make representations to the Privacy Commissioner 33(2) Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
To receive the report of findings of the investigation and give notice of action taken or proposed to be taken or reasons why no action has been or is proposed to be taken 35(1) Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
To provide access to personal information 35(4) Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes No
To receive the report of findings of the investigation of files in exempt banks 36(3) Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
To receive the report of findings after investigation in respect of personal information 37(3) Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
To request that the matter be heard and determined in the National Capital Region 51(2)(b) Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
To request the opportunity to make representations ex parte 51(3) Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
To prepare annual report for submission to Parliament 72(1) Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
To carry out responsibilities conferred on the Head of the institution by regulations made under section 77, not included above 77 Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes

Disclosures under Section 8 of the Privacy Act

Paragraph 8(2)(e) of the Act allows for disclosures "to an investigative body specified…for the purpose of enforcing any law". During the reporting period, one request for information was received and processed from an investigative body pursuant to paragraph 8(2)(e).

The department made no disclosures of personal information pursuant to the provisions of 8(2)(f), (g) or (m) during the reporting period.

Data Matching and Sharing Activities

No new data-matching or sharing activities were undertaken during the year.

Exempt Banks

The nature of information contained in personal information banks under the control of the Department of Finance Canada is such that no bank has been designated as an exempt bank within the meaning of section 18 of the Privacy Act.

Interpretation of Statistical Report

Disposition of Requests

The department carried forward two requests from the previous fiscal year and received six Privacy Act requests for personal information during the reporting period.  Eight requests were completed in the reporting period and none was carried forward to fiscal year 2009–10.

The following summary table indicates the disposition of the 8 Privacy requests completed during this reporting period:

Disposition Number of Requests Percentage of Requests

Documents all disclosed 0 N/A
Disclosed in part 1 12.5%
Nothing disclosed 0 N/A
Transferred 0 N/A
Unable to process 6 75%
Abandoned 1 12.5%
Treated informally 0 N/A

Total 8 100%

Disclosed in Full

N/A

Disclosed in Part

One applicant was provided with total access to his personal information; only personal information concerning other individuals was withheld.

Disclosed No Records

N/A

Transferred

N/A

Unable to Process

No relevant records were found to respond to 6 requests (75 per cent of requests).

Abandoned

One applicant abandoned her request upon learning that the records of former employees were under the control of Libraries and Archives Canada.

Treated Informally

N/A

Exemptions Invoked and Exclusions Cited

During the reporting period, section 26 was invoked on one request to protect the personal information of individuals other than the requestor and no exclusions were cited pursuant to the Privacy Act.

Completion Time and Extensions

During the reporting period, 7 requests were completed within 30 days and 1 request was completed within 60 days.  A 30 day extension was applied to one file in order to conduct consultations with other institutions.

Translations

During the reporting period, the department received no requests for translations.

Method of Access

In response to the one request where personal information was disclosed, the requester was given copies of the records.

Corrections and Notations

During the reporting period, no requests for corrections or notations were received by the department.

Costs

Costs incurred during the reporting period are calculated based on the average salaries of ATIP Division members (1) and administrative expenses associated with the administration of the Privacy Act.  See Appendix A for cost details.

Complaints

No Privacy Act complaints were received during the reporting period.

Appeals to the Federal Court of Canada

No appeals to the Federal Court were made in this reporting period.

Privacy Impact Assessments (PIAs) and
Preliminary Privacy Impact Assessments (PPIAs)

One Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) was completed during the reporting period.  It deals with the conflict of interest code for departmental employees.  A summary of the PIA can be located on the department’s website at:  http://www.fin.gc.ca/disclose-divulgation/pia-efvp-eng.asp .    No Preliminary Privacy Impact Assessments (PPIA) were completed during the reporting period.

APPENDIX A
Statistical Report on Privacy Act Requests

Statistical Report on Privacy Act Requests

Archivé - Ministère des Finances du Canada Rapport annuel au Parlement sur l'application de la
Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

2008-2009

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Table des matières

Introduction

Objet de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Mandat du ministère des Finances

Application de la Loi

Interprétation du rapport statistique

Plaintes

Appels devant la Cour fédérale du Canada

Évaluations des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFVP) et évaluations préliminaires des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EPFVP)

ANNEXE A
Rapport statistique sur les demandes présentées en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Introduction

Le rapport annuel sur l'application de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels au sein du ministère des Finances est présenté conformément à l'article 72 de la Loi. Le présent rapport vise la période allant du 1er avril 2008 au 31 mars 2009. 

Objet de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels protège la vie privée de tous les citoyens canadiens et résidents permanents en ce qui concerne les renseignements personnels dont dispose une institution gouvernementale. En outre, la Loi accorde à ces personnes, ainsi qu'à celles qui se trouvent au Canada et qui ne sont ni des citoyens ni des résidents permanents, le droit d'accéder à leurs renseignements personnels.

Mandat du ministère des Finances

Le ministère des Finances est l'organisme central du gouvernement fédéral chargé de donner des conseils sur tous les aspects des questions économiques et financières au Canada. Il se préoccupe également de toutes les facettes du rendement de l'économie canadienne. Il surveille toutes les initiatives touchant l'économie afin d'en assurer la cohérence et de suivre l'évolution des facteurs externes qui influent sur la performance économique du pays.

Le budget fédéral est la publication la plus connue du Ministère. Le discours du budget présente un examen faisant autorité des facteurs économiques passés, présents et futurs qui influeront sur la performance économique du pays et sur les finances de l'État. Le budget contient une analyse des comptes publics de l'exercice précédent et des projections financières pour les exercices à venir. Ces projections portent entre autres sur le programme de dépenses publiques, les revenus tirés de sources existantes, les changements en matière d'imposition et les niveaux d'endettement. Le Ministre exerce un certain nombre de responsabilités prévues par la loi et joue un rôle prépondérant en tant que principal conseiller stratégique. La liste qui suit des fonctions du Ministre et du Ministère illustre ces responsabilités:

Responsabilités à l'égard des programmes (ou prévues par la loi) et principales fonctions

  • Politique budgétaire et monétaire
  • Préparation et planification du budget
  • Politique fiscale
  • Gestion de la dette et du fonds des changes
  • Tarifs et certains aspects de la politique commerciale et tarifaire
  • Politique du secteur financier
  • Accords financiers internationaux
  • Accords financiers fédéraux-provinciaux (gestion des politiques et des programmes)
  • Politique sur les régimes de retraite privés et financement des régimes de retraite publics
  • Privatisation.

Fonctions à titre d'organisme central

  • Élaboration du cadre financier
  • Préparation des perspectives et des prévisions économiques
  • Analyse et évaluation des principales initiatives et options stratégiques
  • Supervision partagée des sociétés d'État et des organismes
  • Coordination du travail du Ministère avec d'autres organismes centraux en ce qui a trait aux principaux dossiers.

Application de la Loi sur l'accè à l'information

Division de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels

La Division de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP), dont les activités sont surveillées par la Direction juridique, est chargée de l'application de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels pour le ministère des Finances. En tant que service centralisé, la Division coordonne le traitement, dans les meilleurs délais, des demandes qui sont présentées en vertu de la Loi. Par ailleurs, elle mène des consultations interministérielles, traite les plaintes déposées auprès du Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée et répond aux demandes d'information non officielles. Le personnel de la Division donne également, aux fonctionnaires du Ministère, des conseils et des indications touchant la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. En raison du faible volume de renseignements personnels et de dossiers reliés à la protection des renseignements personnels qui sont gérés par le ministère des Finances, le nombre d'employés affectés à ces questions lors de la plupart des périodes visées est généralement peu élevé. Toutefois, le ministère a récemment instauré un Code régissant les conflits d'intérêts à l'intention de ses employés, et une somme de temps importante a été consacrée à ce dossier durant la période et en prévision de la mise en œuvre de ce code, de manière à garantir la conformité à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et aux politiques connexes.

Le présent rapport offre un aperçu des activités relatives à la protection des renseignements personnels qui ont été menées au ministère des Finances pendant la période visée, soit du 1er avril 2008 au 31 mars 2009.

Aperçu des activités relatives à la protection des renseignements personnels

Depuis la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, le ministère des Finances du Canada a reçu très peu de demandes en vertu de la Loi. Étant donné que le Ministère ne recueille pas de renseignements personnels pour administrer des programmes donnés, ses fonds de renseignements personnels ont trait en grande partie à ses employés. Le Ministère reçoit très peu de demandes de communication de renseignements personnels puisque des procédures efficaces sont en place pour permettre aux employés ministériels d'avoir accès de façon non officielle à leurs dossiers personnels. Le logiciel « PeopleSoft », qui est installé sur l'ordinateur des employés, permet à ces dernier de consulter leurs registres de congés. Seul l'employé peut avoir accès à son dossier sur PeopleSoft, grâce à un mot de passe qu'il choisit lui‑même.

Le Ministère détient également des renseignements personnels sur les entrepreneurs qui fournissent des services personnels au Ministère, les candidats qui postulent un poste ministériel et la correspondance et les réponses aux enquêtes de la part du grand public.

Activités de sensibilisation et de formation

Des séances de formation pour les nouveaux employés sont offertes sur une base mensuelle. Celles-ci contiennent un aperçu des activités relatives à la protection des renseignements personnels. Des séances de formation ponctuelles sont aussi organisées au besoin ou à la demande des directions. Il n'y a pas eu de cours portant spécifiquement sur la protection des renseignements personnels durant la période visée par le rapport, mais des renseignements sur les exigences de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels ont été fournis lors de chacune des onze séances organisées au sujet de l'accès à l'information.

Changements institutionnels apportés à l'application de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Comme le Ministère traite très peu de demandes de communication de renseignements personnels, aucun changement institutionnel n'a été apporté à l'application de la Loi au cours de l'année.

La délégation de pouvoirs approuvée le 31 mars 2008 est demeurée en vigueur tout au long de la période.

Délégation des pouvoirs

Pendant la période visée, le pouvoir d'approuver ou de refuser la communication de renseignements ministériels demandés en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels a été partagé entre le sous-ministre, le sous-ministre délégué et représentant du Canada au G7, le sous-ministre délégué, le sous-ministre adjoint et conseiller juridique du Ministère, et le directeur de la Division de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels.  Habituellement, le directeur de la Division de l'AIPRP exécute cette fonction, sauf lorsque des renseignements personnels sont communiqués à des organismes d'enquête, conformément à l'alinéa 8(2)e) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.  Le sous-ministre adjoint de la Direction des services ministériels communique généralement ces renseignements.

Arrête sur la délégation en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Pour avoir des détails, reportez-vous au paragraphe précédent.

Tableau 2
Arrêté sur la délégation en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels
Pouvoirs, devoirs ou fonctions Article Sous-ministre Sous-ministre délégué Sous-ministre délégué et représentant du Canada auprès du G7 Sous-ministre adjoint, Direction des services ministériels
Communiquer des renseignements personnels à un organisme d'enquête déterminé par règlement et qui en fait la demande par écrit, en vue de faire respecter des lois fédérales ou provinciales ou pour la tenue d'enquêtes licites, pourvu que la demande précise les fins auxquelles les renseignements sont destinés et la nature des renseignements demandés 8(2)e) Oui Oui Oui Oui

 

Pouvoirs, devoirs ou fonctions Article Sous-ministre Sous-ministre délégué Sous-ministre délégué et représentant du Canada au G7 Sous-ministre adjoint et conseiller juridique, Direction juridique Directeur AIPRP Chef d'équipe, AIPRPAnalyste principal, AIPRP
Communiquer des renseignements personnels lorsque les fins auxquelles ils sont communiqués ne peuvent être normalement atteintes que si les renseignements sont donnés sous une forme qui permette d'identifier l'individu qu'ils concernent et obtenir un engagement par écrit à s'abstenir de toute communication ultérieure des renseignements tant que leur forme risque vraisemblablement de permettre l'identification de l'individu qu'ils concernent 8(2)j) Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Non
Communiquer des renseignements personnels dans les cas où des raisons d'intérêt public justifieraient une violation de la vie privée ou lorsque l'individu concerné en tirerait un avantage 8(2)m) Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Non
Conserver une copie des demandes reçues en vertu de l'alinéa 8(2)e) ainsi qu'une mention des renseignements communiqués, et mettre cette copie et cette mention à la disposition du Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée 8(4) Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui
Dans le cas prévu à l'alinéa 8(2)m), donner un préavis écrit de la communication des renseignements personnels au Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée) 8(5) Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Non
Faire un relevé des cas d'usage de renseignements personnels. 9(1) Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui
Aviser le Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée de l'usage compatible de renseignements personnels et mettre à jour le répertoire en conséquence 9(4) Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui
Verser les renseignements personnels dans des fichiers de renseignements personnels 10 Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui
Aviser par écrit la personne qui a fait la demande de ce qu'il sera donné ou non communication des renseignements personnels 14a) Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Non
Procéder à la communication 14b) Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Non
Proroger le délai et faire part du nouveau délai à la personne qui a fait la demande 15 Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui
Juger nécessaire de faire traduire des renseignements personnels ou de fournir à la personne qui a fait la demande des services d'interprète 17(2)b) Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui
Déterminer si la communication des renseignements personnels devrait être faite sur un support de substitution 17(3) Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui
Refuser la communication des renseignements personnels visés par cet article 18(2) Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Non
Refuser la communication des renseignements personnels visés par cet article 19(1) Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Non
Communiquer, avec consentement, les renseignements personnels visés par ce paragraphe 19(2) Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Non
Refuser la communication des renseignements personnels visés par cet article 20 Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Non
Refuser la communication des renseignements personnels visés par cet article 21 Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Non
Refuser la communication des renseignements personnels visés par cet article 22 Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Non
Refuser la communication des renseignements personnels visés par cet article 22.3 Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Non
Refuser la communication des renseignements personnels visés par cet article 23 Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Non
Refuser la communication des renseignements personnels visés par cet article 24 Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Non
Refuser la communication des renseignements personnels visés par cet article 25 Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Non
Refuser la communication des renseignements personnels visés par cet article 26 Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Non
Refuser la communication des renseignements personnels visés par cet article 27 Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Non
Refuser la communication des renseignements personnels visés par cet article 28 Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Non
Recevoir un avis d'enquête par le Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée 31 Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Non
Présenter des observations au Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée 33(2) Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui
Recevoir les conclusions de l'enquête et aviser le Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée soit des mesures prises ou envisagées pour la mise en œuvre de ses recommandations, soit des motifs invoqués pour ne pas y donner suite 35(1) Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui
Accorder l'accès à des renseignements personnels 35(4) Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Non
Recevoir les conclusions de l'enquête sur des dossiers dans des fichiers inconsultables 36(3) Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui
Recevoir les conclusions après l'enquête sur des renseignements personnels 37(3) Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui
Demander une audition dans la région de la capitale nationale 51(2)b) Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui
Demander le droit de présenter des arguments en l'absence d'une autre partie 51(3) Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui
Établir un rapport annuel pour présentation au Parlement 72(1) Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui
S'acquitter des responsabilités conférées au responsable de l'institution par des règlements établis en vertu de l'article 77 dont il n'est pas question ci-dessus 77 Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui

Communication aux termes de l'article 8 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

L'alinéa 8(2)e) autorise la communication de renseignements personnels « à un organisme d'enquête déterminé […] en vue de faire respecter des lois ». Au cours de la période visée, une demande d'information provenant d'un organisme d'enquête a été traitée en vertu de l'alinéa 8(2)e).

Le Ministère n'a communiqué aucun renseignement personnel en vertu des alinéas 8(2)f), g) ou m) pendant la période visée.

Activités de couplage et de partage de données

Aucune nouvelle activité de couplage ni de partage de données n'a été entreprise pendant l'année.

Fichiers inconsultables

La nature de l'information figurant dans les fichiers de renseignements personnels qui relèvent du ministère des Finances du Canada est telle qu'aucun fichier n'a été désigné inconsultable au sens de l'article 18 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Interprétation du rapport statistique

Dispositions prises à l'égard des demandes

Le Ministère avait reporté deux demandes de renseignements personnels reçues au cours du précédent exercice en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et a reçu six demandes pendant la période visée. Il a traité huit demandes pendant la période visée et n'en a reporté aucune à l'exercice 2009‑2010.

Le tableau sommaire suivant indique quelles dispositions ont été prises à l'égard des huit demandes de renseignements personnels traitées pendant la période visée:

Disposition Nombre de demandes Pourcentage des demandes

Communication totale 0 s.o.
Communication partielle 1 12,5%
Aucune communication 0 s.o.
Demandes transmises à une autre institution 0 s.o.
Traitement impossible 6 75%
Abandon de la demande 1 12,5%
Traitement informel 0 s.o.

Total 8 100%

Communication totale

s.o.

Communication partielle

Une personne a eu accès à tous ses renseignements personnels; seuls les renseignements personnels concernant d'autres personnes ne lui ont pas été communiqués.

Aucune communication

s.o.

Demandes transmises à une autre institution

s.o.

Traitement impossible

Aucun document pertinent ne permettait de répondre à six demandes (75 % des demandes).

Abandon de la demande

Une personne a abandonné sa demande après avoir appris que les dossiers des anciens employés étaient sous le contrôle de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.

Traitement non officiel

s.o.

Exemptions ou exclusions invoquées

Pendant la période visée, on a invoqué l'article 26 à l'égard d'une demande afin de protéger les renseignements personnels de personnes autres que l'auteur de la demande; aucune exclusion n'a été invoquée en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Délai de traitement et prorogations

Pendant la période visée, sept demandes ont été traitées dans un délai de 30 jours et une, dans un délai de 60 jours. Il y a eu une prorogation de 30 jours pour un dossier de manière à pouvoir consulter d'autres institutions.

Traduction

Pendant la période visée, le Ministère n'a reçu aucune demande de traduction.

Mode de communication

En réponse à la demande où des renseignements personnels ont été communiqués, la personne s'est vu remettre une copie des documents.

Corrections et mentions de correction

Pendant la période visée, le Ministère n'a reçu aucune demande de correction ni de mention de correction.

Coûts

Les dépenses engagées pendant la période visée sont calculées en fonction de la moyenne des salaires des employés (1) de la Division de l'AIPRP et des frais administratifs associés à l'application de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Pour en savoir plus, voir l'annexe A.

Plaintes

Aucune plainte n'a été déposée en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels pendant la période visée.

Appels devant la Cour fédérale du Canada

Aucun appel n'a été déposé devant la Cour fédérale pendant la période visée.

Évaluations des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFVP) et évaluations préliminaires des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EPFVP)

Une évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFVP) a été effectuée au cours de la période visée par le rapport. Elle avait trait au Code régissant les conflits d'intérêts élaboré à l'intention des employés ministériels. On trouvera un résumé de cette EFVP sur le site Web du Ministère à l'adresse http://www.fin.gc.ca/disclose-divulgation/pia-efvp-fra.asp .  Aucune évaluation préliminaire des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EPFVP) n'a été effectuée lors de la période visée.

ANNEXE A
Rapport statistique sur les demandes présentées en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Rapport statistique sur les demandes présentées en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels