Finance Canada Payments Consultative Committee


Members of FinPay Committee
Name Title Organization
Jeremy Rudin Assistant Deputy Minister Department of Finance
Ron Morrow Chief, Funds Management and Banking Bank of Canada
Lucie Tedesco Deputy Commissioner Financial Consumer Agency of Canada
Gerry Gaetz President and CEO Canadian Payments Association
Terry Campbell President Canadian Bankers Association
Linda Mantia Executive Vice President, Cards and Payment Solutions RBC
Dan Kelly President and CEO Canadian Federation of Independent Business
Diane Brisebois President and CEO Retail Council of Canada
Kirkland Morris V.P. Enterprise Strategy Interac
Betty DeVita President MasterCard Canada
Jim Allhusen Country Manager and President Visa Canada
Darrell MacMullin Managing Director PayPal
Jeff van Duynhoven** President TD Merchant Services
Kurt Eby Director, Regulatory Affairs Canadian Wireless Telecom Association
Stephen Frank VP, Policy Development and Health Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association
Bruce Cran*** President Consumers' Association of Canada
Laurie Campbell*** CEO Credit Canada
Conal Campbell Director, Business Development TIO Networks
Philippe Visintini VP, Banking ADP Canada
John Pals COO Peoples Card Services
Ron Matthews   Independent
David Phillips President & CEO Credit Union Central of Canada

* One rotating seat will be reserved for a member institution, which will be chosen by the CBA
** Intention is to always have 1 acquirer representative on the committee, with the representative rotating every two years amongst the acquirers.
*** Intention is to always have 2 consumer group representatives on the committee, with the representatives rotating every two years amongst consumer groups.

Terms of Reference


FinPay (or the Committee) is a forum of public and private sector representatives that will discuss industry level developments in the Canadian payments system.

FinPay will:

  • Advise Finance Canada on developments related to public policy aspects of payments issues (e.g. competition, innovation, safety, user needs or consumer protection); and
  • Discuss approaches for dealing with emerging and ongoing challenges/opportunities in the payments system.
  • Inform Government policy-making about the Canadian payments system.

Working groups may be established under FinPay as appropriate to further these objectives.


FinPay will be chaired by the General Director, Financial Sector Policy Branch, Finance Canada.


Membership of FinPay will be determined by Finance Canada and include stakeholders from the public and private sectors, representing established payments industry players, newer entrants, corporate users, merchants and consumers. There will be a mix of permanent and renewable term members. For permanent member organizations, individual representatives may change but members will seek to promote some continuity in their representation. For the renewable term positions, efforts will be made to stagger appointments so that annual turnover in membership will be no more than one third of the group.

The Committee may also draw from time to time on experts from the industry to inform the dialogue on select issues. Experts may be invited to meetings on an ad hoc basis.

Frequency of Meetings

FinPay will meet no less frequently than bi-annually. The frequency of meetings may be adjusted as necessary.

Proceedings and Documents

Finance Canada will be present at all Committee and any working group meetings and perform the secretariat duties for FinPay. Finance Canada will distribute meeting materials to members two weeks in advance of each meeting.

Minutes of meetings will be taken on a non-attribution basis and made available to all members. The recorded proceedings of this Committee could be subject to Access to Information requests.

Finance Canada will not ask members to share commercially sensitive information with the Committee, and will foreclose any discussions among members on this topic.

Following the first meeting, each meeting will begin with a tour de table. Members will be encouraged to raise issues that should be considered by the Committee at future meetings.

Members are invited to provide submissions, comments, etc. to Finance Canada at any time on payments-related issues.