December 21, 2010

Archived - Department of Finance Consultation on Official Development Assistance, 2010

:

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Consultation documents:

Note: A consultation is not a poll. Please do not send multiple or duplicate submissions.

Who may respond:

The consultation period will end on February 18, 2011. Canadian civil society organizations, governments, international agencies and other participants will need to provide the following information when e-mailing their comments:

  • Full name of the official
  • Name of the organization
  • Full mailing address, including postal code
  • Telephone number, including area code; and
  • Reply e-mail address.

Submissions should be e-mailed to: APD-consultation-ODA@fin.gc.ca.


Department  of Finance Consultation on Official Development Assistance, 2010

The Department of Finance today launches an online consultation on Official Development Assistance disbursements, giving Canadian stakeholders an opportunity to comment on whether the disbursements meet criteria stated under the Official Development Assistance Accountability Act.

The Official Development Assistance Accountability Act came into force on June 28, 2008. Its purpose is to ensure that Canadian Official Development Assistance is provided in a manner that:

  • Contributes to poverty reduction;
  • Takes into account the perspectives of the poor; and
  • Is consistent with international human rights standards.

The Department of Finance currently makes different kinds of international assistance payments:

World Bank 

International Development Association 

The International Development Association (IDA) is the World Bank’s principal financing tool for the world’s poorest countries, providing them with interest-free loans and grants. IDA allocates its resources primarily through a performance-based allocation mechanism, which includes measures of a country’s social inclusion (e.g. social protection, gender equality, etc.) and governance. The higher countries rate on these indicators, the more IDA resources they can receive.

Additionally, IDA bases its approach on country-driven Poverty Reduction Strategies, which involve broad-based participation by civil society and the private sector. These strategies are focused on results and they are partnership-oriented in that they encourage the coordinated involvement of bilateral, multilateral and non-governmental organizations. They also recognize that tackling poverty requires a comprehensive approach, including improvements in people’s access to opportunities, security and voice for decision making.

The Department of Finance provides $384 million per year to IDA. This financing supports IDA’s efforts to enhance its focus on effective delivery of aid, financing for large regional projects like infrastructure, and special assistance for fragile states such as Afghanistan and Haiti, while ensuring countries do not take on unsustainable levels of debt.

More information on the IDA is available at www.worldbank.org/ida.

International Bank for Reconstruction and Development 

The International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) is the World Bank’s principal financing tool for middle-income and creditworthy developing countries. It promotes sustainable development through loans, guarantees, risk management products and analytical and advisory services. In April 2010, the Development Committee of the World Bank, a body that includes the Government of Canada, endorsed an US$86-billion capital increase. If ratified, Canada’s share of this increase would be US$1.6 billion, of which US$98 million would be paid-in, with the remainder provided by way of financial guarantee. Ratification is anticipated in early 2011, with Canada’s payments commencing in fiscal year 2011–12.

This recapitalization will support higher lending levels from the IBRD, supporting core programs and priorities such as education, health care, social protection, agriculture and rural development, tackling climate change, promotion of gender equality, and infrastructure improvements.

Canada’s equity investment in the IBRD also assists the world’s poorest countries through significant transfers of net income to the IDA. In 2009–10, this transfer of net income amounted to US$383 million.

More information on the IBRD is available at www.worldbank.org/ibrd.

International Monetary Fund (IMF) 

Contributions to the Poverty Reduction and Growth Trust 

To make its financial support more flexible and tailored to the diversity of poor countries, the IMF has established the Poverty Reduction and Growth Trust (PRGT) as its concessional lending framework. The PRGT’s assistance and conditionality is guided by a country’s Poverty Reduction Strategy, which is, as noted above, country-specific and involves broad-based participation by civil society and the private sector.

In Budget 2010, Canada delivered $800 million in loan resources and $40 million in subsidy resources to the PRGT to support its activities in low-income countries, which is consistent with the commitments made at the G-20 London Summit.

More information on the PRGT and Canada’s commitment is available at:
http://www.budget.gc.ca/2010/pdf/budget-planbudgetaire-eng.pdf (p. 144)
http://www.imf.org/external/np/exr/facts/concesslending.htm
http://www.imf.org/external/np/exr/facts/prsp.htm
http://www.imf.org/external/np/exr/facts/poor.htm

Debt Relief 

Canada remains a leader in the area of debt relief. Debt relief allows recipient countries to channel additional resources, which otherwise would have been used to make debt payments, into investments that are consistent with a country’s Poverty Reduction Strategy. Canada provides debt relief through its participation in international debt relief initiatives, such as the Heavily Indebted Poor Countries (HIPC) Initiative and the Multilateral Debt Relief Initiative (MDRI), and through its participation at the Paris Club.

HIPC and MDRI debt cancellations are only provided once an eligible poor country has completed the HIPC process. The time needed by countries to do so varies according to the implementation timing of their Poverty Reduction Strategy, the macroeconomic stability they can sustain under PRGT-supported programs and whether they carry out required key structural and social reforms. The IMF and World Bank Executive Boards are jointly responsible for reviewing that progress and are responsible for determining when a country has completed all of the tasks necessary to receive HIPC and MDRI debt relief.

More information on the HIPC and MDRI process is available at:
http://go.worldbank.org/76G2TJJO30
http://go.worldbank.org/ZZBSXIICM0

Bilateral Debt Relief 

Canada provides 100 per cent debt forgiveness to eligible Heavily Indebted Poor Countries, which has led to over $1 billion forgiven in bilateral debt owed to it by the world’s poorest, most indebted countries. Provision of debt relief varies substantially from year to year depending on countries’ eligibility and the amount of debt Canada holds from these countries. For example, in fiscal year 2009–10, Canada provided $57.1 million in Official Development Assistance-eligible debt relief to Haiti ($2.4 million), the Republic of Congo-Brazzaville ($7.8 million) and the Ivory Coast ($46.8 million).

More information on bilateral debt relief is available at:
http://www.clubdeparis.org/
http://www.fin.gc.ca/treas/evaluations/ecidri-eiiadc-eng.asp.

Multilateral Debt Relief 

The International Monetary Fund, the International Development Association and the African Development Fund have agreed under the Multilateral Debt Relief Initiative (MDRI) to cancel 100 per cent of eligible debts owed by Heavily Indebted Poor Countries. At the G-8 Summit in Gleneagles in 2005, Canada and other donor countries agreed to fully compensate these institutions for the debts they will cancel on behalf of poor countries, so as not to undermine their ability to provide new financial support to all low-income countries.

Canada’s total commitment over the 50-year lifespan of the MDRI is $2.5 billion. In 2009–10, disbursement was $51.2 million. Canada also passed legislation contained in Section 18(1) of the 2009 Economic Recovery Act that solidified its MDRI commitment and allowed the multilateral institutions to better leverage this commitment in order to provide resources to low-income countries.

The Economic Recovery Act also provided the Government of Canada with the ability to respond quickly to the tragic earthquake that hit Haiti in January 2010. While Canada had already cancelled all bilateral debts owed to it by Haiti prior to the earthquake, following the tragedy, Canada led a G-20 consensus to forgive over US$825 million Haiti owed to international institutions. Canada was the first country to make all of the payments required to cancel Haiti’s debt, totalling US$32.6 million.

More information on the MDRI and Haiti debt relief is available at:
http://www.imf.org/external/pp/longres.aspx?id=4481 http://www2.parl.gc.ca/HousePublications/Publication.aspx?Docid=4115871&file=4  http://www.fin.gc.ca/treas/evaluations/ecidri-eiiadc-eng.asp
http://pm.gc.ca/eng/media.asp?id=3482
http://pm.gc.ca/eng/media.asp?id=3483

Other New Initiatives 

In addition to its traditional support to multilateral development institutions and debt relief, the Department of Finance is supporting initiatives to leverage private sector investment for development through the World Bank Group’s International Finance Corporation (IFC). Investments in each of the programs described below support the Sustainable Economic Growth Pillar of Canada’s international assistance effort, and have a strong results focus. The IFC’s Development Outcome Tracking System (DOTS) is a standardized measurement system that allows the IFC to measure the development results of all projects throughout their life, including such variables as economic performance (contributing to poverty reduction) and environmental and social performance (taking into account the perspectives of the poor and human rights standards, including labour and working conditions, indigenous peoples and cultural heritage).

The Department of Finance is currently engaged in the following projects through the IFC:

  • International Climate Change – Canada is supporting developing countries’ efforts to reduce their emissions and adapt to climate change. As part of this effort, the Department of Finance is delivering $291.5 million in concessional support for a broad portfolio of clean energy projects through the IFC. This contribution supports the Sustainable Economic Growth Pillar of Canada’s international assistance by enabling low-carbon energy development, a key component of sustainable economic growth. Of this, a grant financing component of $5.8 million will support the IFC's Advisory Services, aimed at building technical expertise in developing countries to support clean energy investments. This combination of concessional private sector financing and technical capacity-building is expected to catalyze significant clean energy investments in developing countries in the short term, while supporting their institutional capacity for environmentally sustainable development over the long term.

More information on Canada’s international climate change support can be found at http://www.climatechange.gc.ca/default.asp?lang=En&n=5F50D3E9-1

  • Private Sector Window of the Global Agriculture and Food Security Program – Achieving food security is a growing challenge in the developing world and critical to alleviating poverty. As part of the international effort to address the global food security crisis, Canada announced that it would increase funding towards agriculture development by $600 million over three years. This funding provides resources to enhance agricultural productivity and to improve long-term food security for poor and vulnerable populations. Of Canada’s $600 million, it was agreed that $230 million would be directed to the Global Agriculture and Food Security Program—a new facility managed by the World Bank to boost sustainable agriculture and food security assistance to low-income countries. The Department of Finance is leading Canada’s $50-million contribution to the Private Sector Window of this facility, which is managed by the International Finance Corporation. The Private Sector Window seeks to fill a significant gap in financing available to small and medium-sized agri-businesses and farmers in developing countries. By supplying different types of innovative financing, the Private Sector Window seeks to increase the commercial potential of these groups and incorporate them into the local, national and global agricultural distribution chain.
  • Small and Medium-Sized Enterprise (SME) Finance Challenge – Support of growth-oriented SMEs in developing countries is a significant contributor to poverty reduction through job creation. As host of the 2010 G-20 Leaders Summit in Toronto, Canada launched the SME Finance Challenge as an innovative and web-based competition in search of mechanisms for supporting small and medium-sized businesses. A panel of international experts examined hundreds of proposals submitted from around the world and identified the 14 best proposals. Canada will provide $20 million as part of a global effort to implement and scale up these 14 best proposals. Funding will be delivered through the SME Finance Innovation Fund, announced by the G-20, to be established with the IFC acting as trustee.

More information on the SME Finance Challenge, including information about the top-ranked proposals, is available online at www.changemakers.com/SME-Finance.

The consultation period will end on February 18, 2011. Canadian civil society organizations, governments, international agencies and other participants will need to provide the following information when e-mailing their comments:

  • Full name of the official
  • Name of the organization
  • Full mailing address, including postal code
  • Telephone number, including area code; and
  • Reply e-mail address.

Submissions should be e-mailed to: APD-consultation-ODA@fin.gc.ca.

Le 21 décembre 2010

archivé - Consultations menées par le ministère des Finances au sujet de l’aide au développement officielle 2010

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents de consultation :

Remarque : Une consultation n'est pas un sondage. N'envoyez donc pas d'observations multiples ou en double.

Qui peut participer :

Les consultations prendront fin le 18 février 2011. Les organisations de la société civile du Canada, les gouvernements, les organismes internationaux et les autres participants doivent joindre les renseignements suivants à leurs commentaires transmis par courriel :

  • le nom complet du responsable;
  • le nom de l’organisation;
  • l’adresse postale complète, y compris le code postal;
  • le numéro de téléphone et l’indicatif régional;
  • l’adresse de courriel à laquelle une réponse peut être envoyée.

Les présentations doivent être transmises par courriel à l’adresse suivante : APD-consultation-ODA@fin.gc.ca.


Consultations menées par le ministère des Finances au sujet de l’aide au développement officielle 2010

Le ministère des Finances a lancé aujourd’hui des consultations en ligne sur les paiements qu’il verse au titre de l’aide au développement officielle. Ces consultations donneront aux intervenants canadiens l’occasion de formuler des commentaires relativement au respect des critères prévus par la Loi sur la responsabilité en matière d’aide au développement officielle.

Cette loi, entrée en vigueur le 28 juin 2008, vise à faire en sorte que l’aide au développement officielle fournie par le Canada :

  • contribue à la réduction de la pauvreté;
  • prenne en compte les points de vue des pauvres;
  • respecte les normes internationales en matière des droits de la personne.

Le ministère des Finances effectue un large éventail de paiements au titre de l’aide internationale :

Banque  mondiale

Association internationale de développement

L’Association internationale de développement (IDA) constitue le principal outil par lequel la Banque mondiale fournit du financement aux pays les plus pauvres, en leur octroyant des subventions et des prêts sans intérêt. L’IDA affecte ses ressources principalement par un mécanisme d’allocation des fonds axé sur le rendement, qui comprend des mesures d’inclusion sociale d’un pays (p. ex. protection sociale, égalité des sexes, etc.) et de gouvernance. Plus la valeur de ces indicateurs est élevé, plus l’IDA affecte de ressources au pays en question.

En outre, l’IDA fonde son approche sur les stratégies de réduction de la pauvreté mises de l’avant par les pays, qui prévoient une large participation de la société civile et du secteur privé. Ces stratégies nationales sont axées sur les résultats et les partenariats, en ce sens qu’elles favorisent l’engagement coordonné d’organisations bilatérales, multilatérales et non gouvernementales. Elles tiennent également compte du fait que la lutte à la pauvreté nécessite une approche globale qui ouvre des possibilités aux populations, accroît leur sécurité et leur donne un plus grand rôle dans le processus décisionnel.

Le ministère des Finances verse 384 millions de dollars par année à l’IDA. Ce financement appuie les efforts de celle-ci afin d’assurer une prestation plus efficace de l’aide, le financement de grands projets régionaux touchant notamment l’infrastructure et l’offre d’un soutien spécial aux États fragiles comme l’Afghanistan et Haïti, tout en évitant que le niveau d’endettement des pays devienne insoutenable.

On trouvera de plus amples renseignements sur l’IDA à l’adresse Internet suivante : www.banquemondiale.org/ida.

Banque internationale pour la reconstruction et le développement

La Banque internationale pour la reconstruction et le développement (BIRD) est le principal instrument par lequel la Banque mondiale accorde du financement aux pays solvables à revenu moyen ou en développement. La BIRD appuie le développement durable au moyen de prêts, de garanties, de produits de gestion du risque et de services analytiques et consultatifs. En avril 2010, le Comité du développement de la Banque mondiale, dont fait partie le gouvernement du Canada, a donné son aval à un accroissement de 86 milliards de dollars américains du capital de la BIRD. Si cette décision est ratifiée, la part de cet accroissement qui sera assumée par le Canada se chiffrera à 1,6 milliard de dollars américains, dont 98 millions au titre d’une contribution directe et le solde sous forme de garanties financières. La ratification devrait avoir lieu au début de 2011, et les paiements requis du Canada débuteraient au cours de l’exercice 2011-2012.

Cette recapitalisation permettra de hausser la capacité de prêt de la BIRD à l’appui de ses programmes et priorités de base, notamment l’éducation, les soins de santé, la protection sociale, l’agriculture et le développement rural, la lutte contre les changements climatiques, la promotion de l’égalité des sexes et les améliorations de l’infrastructure. 

La participation financière du Canada dans la BIRD aide également les pays les plus pauvres du monde par le truchement d’importants transferts du revenu net de la BIRD à l’IDA. En 2009-2010, le transfert de revenu net totalisait 383 millions de dollars américains.

On trouvera de plus amples renseignements sur la BIRD à l’adresse Internet suivante : www.banquemondiale.org/bird.

Fonds monétaire international

Contributions au Fonds de fiducie pour la réduction de la pauvreté et pour la croissance

Afin d’assouplir son soutien financier et de mieux l’adapter à la diversité des pays pauvres, le Fonds monétaire international (FMI) a créé le Fonds de fiducie pour la réduction de la pauvreté et pour la croissance (FFRPC), son cadre de prêts assortis de conditions de faveur (prêts concessionnels). L’aide et la concessionnalité du FFRPC sont fondés sur la stratégie de réduction de la pauvreté particulière du pays concerné, qui prévoit une large participation de la société civile et du secteur privé.

Dans le cadre de son budget de 2010, le Canada a fourni au FFRPC 800 millions de dollars en fonds à prêter et 40 millions destinés aux conditions de faveur et aux subventions connexes à l’appui de ses activités dans les pays à faible revenu, conformément à l’engagement pris lors du Sommet de Londres du G-20.

On trouvera de plus amples renseignements sur le FFRPC et l’engagement du Canada aux adresses Internet suivantes :
www.budget.gc.ca/2010/pdf/budget-planbudgetaire-fra.pdf (p. 162)
www.imf.org/external/np/exr/facts/fre/concesslendingf.htm
www.imf.org/external/np/exr/facts/fre/prspf.htm
www.imf.org/external/np/exr/facts/fre/poorf.htm

Allègement de la dette

Le Canada demeure un chef de file au chapitre de l’allègement de la dette. Les pays qui bénéficient de tels allègements peuvent diriger des ressources, qui auraient autrement été affectées au remboursement de leur dette, vers des investissements cadrant dans leur stratégie de réduction de la pauvreté. Le Canada contribue à l’allègement de la dette grâce à sa participation aux initiatives internationales en ce sens, notamment l’Initiative en faveur des pays pauvres très endettés (IPPTE) et l’Initiative d’allégement de la dette multilatérale (IADM), et par l’intermédiaire de sa participation au Club de Paris.

L’annulation de dette prévue par l’IPPTE et l’IADM n’est offerte que lorsqu’un pays pauvre admissible a atteint le point d’achèvement du processus de l’IPPTE. Le délai pour qu’un pays y parvienne varie selon le calendrier de mise en œuvre de la stratégie de réduction de la pauvreté du pays, la capacité de celui-ci de maintenir la stabilité macroéconomique tout en appliquant les programmes appuyés par le FFRPC et la poursuite ou non des principales réformes structurelles et sociales nécessaires. Les conseils d’administration du FMI et de la Banque mondiale sont conjointement responsables de l’examen des progrès réalisés, et il leur incombe de déterminer quand un pays a accompli les efforts nécessaires pour bénéficier de l’allègement de la dette prévue par l’IPPTE et l’IADM.

On trouvera de plus amples renseignements sur le processus de l’IPPTE et de l’IADM aux adresses Internet suivantes :
http://go.worldbank.org/76G2TJJO30
http://go.worldbank.org/ZZBSXIICM0

Allègement de la dette bilatérale

Le Canada annule complètement la dette des pays pauvres très endettés admissibles; il a ainsi renoncé à plus de 1 milliard de dollars de créances bilatérales des pays les plus pauvres et les plus endettés de la planète. La valeur des allègements accordés varie sensiblement d’une année à l’autre, selon les pays admissibles et le montant de la dette contractée par ces pays auprès du Canada. Par exemple, en 2009-2010, le Canada a annulé, au titre de l’aide au développement officielle, à 57,1 millions de dollars de dette admissible d’Haïti (2,4 millions), de la République du Congo (Brazzaville) (7,8 millions) et de la Côte d’Ivoire (46,8 millions).

Pour en savoir plus sur l’allègement de la dette bilatérale, on peut consulter les sites suivants :
www.clubdeparis.org/
www.fin.gc.ca/treas/evaluations/ecidri-eiiadc-fra.asp

Allègementde la dette multilatérale

Le FMI, l’IDA et le Fonds africain de développement ont convenu, aux termes de l’IADM, d’annuler la totalité de la dette admissible des pays pauvres très endettés (PPTE) à leur égard. Lors du Sommet du G-8 tenu Gleneagles en 2005, le Canada et d’autres pays donateurs ont convenu de rembourser à ces institutions le montant intégral de la dette ainsi annulée, pour éviter de restreindre la capacité de ces institutions d’offrir un soutien financier à l’ensemble des pays à faible revenu.
L’engagement du Canada pendant les 50 ans que durera l’IADM totalise 2,5 milliards de dollars. En 2009-2010, il a versé 51,2 millions à ce titre. Le paragraphe 18(1) de la Loi sur la reprise économique (mesures incitatives), adopté par le Parlement en 2009, raffermit l’engagement du Canada à l’égard de l’IADM de telle sorte que les institutions multilatérales puissent mobiliser plus des ressources destinées aux pays à faible revenu.

La Loi sur la reprise économique a par ailleurs donné au gouvernement du Canada la capacité de réagir rapidement à la suite du tremblement de terre qui a dévasté Haïti en janvier 2010. Même si le Canada avait déjà annulé la totalité de la dette bilatérale d’Haïti à son égard avant le tremblement de terre, suivant la tragédie, il a œuvré afin de dégager un consensus au sein du G-20 afin d’annuler la dette contractée par ce pays auprès des grandes institutions financières internationales, qui totalisait plus de 825 millions de dollars américains. Le Canada a été le premier pays à effectuer sa part des paiements requis en vue de l’annulation de la dette d’Haïti, part qui s’établissait à 32,6 millions de dollars américains.

On trouvera de plus amples renseignements sur l’IADM et l’allègement de la dette d’Haïti aux adresses Internet suivantes :
www.imf.org/external/pp/longres.aspx?id=4481
www2.parl.gc.ca/HousePublications/Publication.aspx?Docid=4115871&file=4
www.fin.gc.ca/treas/evaluations/ecidri-eiiadc-fra.asp
pm.gc.ca/fra/media.asp?id=3482
pm.gc.ca/fra/media.asp?id=3483

Autres nouvelles initiatives

Outre son soutien traditionnel aux institutions multilatérales de développement et aux initiatives d’allègement de la dette, le ministère des Finances appuie différentes initiatives visant à mobiliser les investissements du secteur privé pour contribuer au développement, par l’intermédiaire de la Société financière internationale (SFI) de la Banque mondiale. Les investissements dans chaque programme décrit ci-après appuient le volet croissance économique durable des efforts d’aide internationale du Canada, et sont fortement axés sur les résultats. Le système de suivi des résultats en matière de développement de la SFI, un système de mesure normalisé, permet à celle-ci de mesurer les résultats de tous les projets sur la durée de leur cycle de vie; il comprend des variables comme le rendement économique (contribuant à la réduction de la pauvreté) et le rendement environnemental et social (tenant compte des perspectives des pauvres et des normes en matière des droits de la personne, notamment les conditions de travail, les peuples indigènes et le patrimoine culturel). 

Actuellement, le ministère des Finances participe aux activités suivantes par le truchement de la SFI :   

  • Initiatives internationales de lutte contre les changements climatiques – Le Canada appuie les efforts des pays en développement visant à réduire leurs émissions et à s’adapter aux changements climatiques. Dans le cadre de cet appui, le ministère des Finances fournit 291,5 millions de dollars en financement concessionnel pour un important portefeuille de projets d’énergie propre par le truchement de la SFI. Cette contribution appuie le volet croissance économique durable des efforts d’aide internationale du Canada en permettant le développement d’énergie à faibles émissions de carbone, un élément clé de la croissance économique durable. De cette somme, une tranche de financement par subventions de 5,8 millions de dollars soutiendra les services consultatifs de la SFI, lesquels visent à développer une expertise technique dans les pays en développement à l’appui des investissements dans l’énergie propre. Cette combinaison de financement concessionnel destiné au secteur privé et de développement de la capacité technique devrait permettre de mobiliser d’importants investissements dans l’énergie propre dans les pays en développement à court terme, tout en appuyant la capacité institutionnelle à long terme en matière de développement durable sur le plan de l’environnement.

On trouvera de plus amples renseignements sur l’appui du Canada aux initiatives internationales de la lutte contre les changements climatiques à l’adresse suivante : www.changementsclimatiques.gc.ca/default.asp?lang=Fr&n=5F50D3E9-1.

  • Volet du secteur privé du Programme mondial pour l’agriculture et la sécurité alimentaire – La réalisation de la sécurité alimentaire, qui constitue un élément critique de l’atténuation de la pauvreté, pose un défi de plus en plus grand dans les pays en développement. Dans le cadre des efforts internationaux visant à surmonter la crise de sécurité alimentaire mondiale, le Canada a annoncé qu’il hausserait de 600 millions de dollars sur trois ans son octroi de fonds consacrés au développement agricole. Ce financement fournit des ressources en vue de hausser la productivité agricole et d’améliorer la sécurité alimentaire à long terme chez les pauvres et dans les populations vulnérables. Il a été convenu que 230 millions de dollars de cette enveloppe de 600 millions serait affectée au Programme mondial pour l’agriculture et la sécurité alimentaire, une nouvelle facilité gérée par la Banque mondiale qui vise à accroître l’aide accordée aux pays à faible revenu pour l’agriculture durable et la sécurité alimentaire. Le ministère des Finances verse la contribution canadienne s’élevant à 50 millions de dollars au volet du secteur privé de cette facilité, géré par la SFI. Le volet du secteur privé a pour objet de combler des lacunes importantes dans le financement mis à la disposition des petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) agricoles ainsi que des agriculteurs dans les pays en développement. À l’aide de modes de financement variés et innovateurs, le volet du secteur privé cherche à hausser le potentiel commercial de ces producteurs et à les intégrer aux chaînes de distribution agricole locales, nationales et mondiale.
  • Défi pour le financement des PME – L’appui des PME axées sur la croissance dans les pays en développement contribue grandement à la réduction de la pauvreté grâce à la création d’emplois. À titre d’hôte du Sommet des dirigeants du G-20 de 2010 à Toronto, le Canada a lancé le défi de financement des PME, qui se veut un concours novateur sur Internet à la recherche de mécanismes de soutien à ces entreprises. Un groupe de spécialistes internationaux a examiné des centaines de propositions reçues des quatre coins du globe, retenant les 14 meilleures. Le Canada fournira 20 millions de dollars dans le cadre d’un effort mondial pour mettre en œuvre ces 14 meilleures propositions à plus grande échelle. Le financement connexe proviendra du fonds d’innovation pour le financement des petites et moyennes entreprises, annoncé par le G-20, dont la SFI agira à titre de fiduciaire.

On trouvera de plus amples renseignements sur le défi de financement des PME, et notamment sur les propositions les mieux cotées, à l’adresse suivante : www.changemakers.com/node/84752.

Les consultations prendront fin le 18 février 2011. Les organisations de la société civile du Canada, les gouvernements, les organismes internationaux et les autres participants doivent joindre les renseignements suivants à leurs commentaires transmis par courriel :

  • le nom complet du responsable;
  • le nom de l’organisation;
  • l’adresse postale complète, y compris le code postal;
  • le numéro de téléphone et l’indicatif régional;
  • l’adresse de courriel à laquelle une réponse peut être envoyée.

Les présentations doivent être transmises par courriel à l’adresse suivante : APD-consultation-ODA@fin.gc.ca.