Archived - Supporting Stable Financing – Consultations on Leasing 

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Consultations Responses: Please note that the Department of Finance publishes consultation responses in PDF format and language of submission only.

Closing date:  May 8, 2009

Who may respond: 

These consultations are open to anyone. 

Comments regarding any element of this paper are invited and can be emailed to finlegis@fin.gc.ca

Also, written comments can be forwarded to:

Jane Pearse
Financial Sector Policy Branch
Department of Finance
L'Esplanade Laurier
15th Floor, East Tower
140 O'Connor Street
Ottawa, Canada K1A 0G5

Subject to the consent of the submitting party, comments will be posted on the Department of Finance website to add to the transparency of the process.  Once received by the Department of Finance, all submissions will be subject to the Access to Information Act and may be disclosed in accordance with its provisions.  Should you express a desire that your submission be considered confidential, the Department will make all efforts to protect this information within the requirements of the law.

Supporting Stable Financing

1.  Introduction

The financial markets turmoil that has prevailed since 2007 has reduced the availability of affordable financing for Canadian households and businesses.  It is also giving rise to a new financial market landscape; one where non-bank entities are playing a smaller role in the lending system. In the past year the Government has taken a number of measures to provide liquidity to the financial system and support access to financing.  This policy consultation is an extension of those efforts.

Chief among the areas where access to affordable financing is an issue as a result of the financial market turmoil is financing for vehicles and equipment for consumers and businesses.  To address this shortage, Budget 2009 announced the Canadian Secured Credit Facility (CSCF), which will support the purchase of up to $12 billion in term asset-backed securities backed by loans and leases on vehicles and equipment.  The CSCF is only a temporary measure.  To ensure that the private sector supports a diverse range of financing alternatives, available on a stable basis over time for consumers and businesses, structural policy initiatives also need to be considered. 

In Budget 2009, the Government of Canada announced the intention to consult market participants on the potential merits of changing the legislative and regulatory regime governing leasing activities by federally regulated financial institutions. These consultations seek to determine whether broadening the potential suppliers of lease financing will support the availability of financing and, in the medium term, contribute to a competitive and well-functioning financial system.   

2. Lease Financing Landscape

Use of Financial Leasing

Lease financing1 represents an important form of financing for consumers and businesses.  In a lease, the consumer (lessee) acquires the property for the term of the lease, while the financer (lessor) retains the ownership of the property throughout the period of the lease.

As a financing option, leasing has been important for Canadian consumers and businesses. In recent years, vehicle leasing has accounted for on average one-third of vehicle sales in Canada, and as much as half of vehicle sales in some years.  Tighter credit conditions resulted in leasing falling to about 20% of vehicle sales in late 2008.  Consumers and businesses are currently finding it difficult to obtain lease and loan financing at a reasonable price, as many lease and finance companies have pulled back or stopped offering loans and leases.  

Providers of Lease Financing 

Providers of financial leases fall into four categories.  Captive finance companies of the automakers are the most common provider in the auto sector, where they account for about 90 per cent of leases in the sector.  Second, independent finance companies offer loan and lease financing for a variety of machinery, equipment, vehicles and other property.  Third, retailers and auto dealers may directly offer leasing to customers, financing these leases through capital or credit facilities with banks and other lenders.  Fourth, provincially regulated financial institutions can offer leases for certain types of equipment, automobile and household property.

All of these providers have been affected by the turmoil in financial markets, which has severely restricted the availability of funding for their activities.  The asset-backed securities market has traditionally provided much of the funding for auto leasing companies. On a flow basis, auto-related asset-backed securitization in Canada has fallen from $17.1 billion in 2007 to $8.2 billion in 2008. 

The current regulatory framework allows federally regulated financial institutions to offer financial leasing of personal property, except for light vehicles2 and personal household property.  At the same time, federally regulated financial institutions provide an increasingly important source of other forms of financing for consumers and businesses.  They provide a wide range of financial services, including consumer and commercial lending. 

At issue in these consultations is whether federally regulated financial institutions could and would provide a stable source of lease financing for consumers and businesses.  It is important to note that the current framework does not support federally-regulated financial institutions engaging in leasing activities other than financial leasing, and this consultation process does not anticipate a change to the restriction on operational leasing.

3. Market Participants' Views

Market participants have been consulted on the issue of lease financing in the past in the context of the 1998 Task Force on the Future of the Canadian Financial Services Sector, as well as other financial sector policy reviews undertaken by the Department of Finance.  Market participants had identified prudential and policy concerns.  Such concerns range from regulated financial institutions engaging in the retailing of vehicles, to the prudential risk associated with the residual value of vehicles and household property at the end of the lease.  These concerns would need to be fully addressed as the priority will remain the stability of the overall financial system. 

4. Consultation Questions

The Department of Finance would welcome comments from market participants on this important policy issue, in particular responses to the following questions:

  1. How do you view the role and prospects of lease financing of vehicles in the coming years? 
  2. Are the existing restrictions on regulated financial institutions with regard to lease financing appropriate in the future financing environment?  If not, how should these restrictions be amended to support broad access to financing in a stable framework?
  3. If federally regulated financial institutions were allowed to provide lease financing, would you expect these entities to participate in leasing?  Do you believe such participation would result in a significant increase in the availability of lease financing?  
  4. Does financial leasing of vehicles and personal household property pose risks to financial institutions?  If so, how can those risks be managed?

1 Lease financing is distinguished from operational leasing.  Lease financing involves the lessor providing only the financing aspect of the transaction, and no additional services.  Operational leases include some services beyond just the financing, such as combined retailing and financing, and maintenance. 

2 i.e., motor vehicles weighing less than 21 tonnes.

archivé - Soutenir la stabilité du financement – Consultations sur le crédit-bail

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Réponses du public : Veuillez noter que les réponses reçues dans le cadre des consultations publiques menées par le ministère des Finances paraissent dans la langue dans lesquels elles ont été soumises et dans le format PDF seulement.

Date de clôture : 8 mai 2009

Public visé :

Les consultations s'adressent à tous. 

Les intéressés sont priés de faire parvenir par courriel leurs commentaires concernant l'un ou l'autre élément du présent document à l'adresse suivante : finlegis@fin.gc.ca

Ils peuvent également transmettre leurs commentaires par écrit à :

Jane Pearse
Direction de la politique du secteur financier
Ministère des Finances
L'Esplanade Laurier
15e étage, tour Est
140, rue O'Connor
Ottawa (Canada) K1A 0G5

Sous réserve du consentement de leur auteur, les commentaires seront affichés sur le site Web du ministère des Finances, pour rehausser la transparence de la démarche. Une fois reçus par le ministère des Finances, les commentaires seront assujettis à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et pourront être communiqués conformément aux dispositions de ladite loi. Si l'auteur d'une présentation désire que celle-ci soit jugée confidentielle, le Ministère fera tout en son pouvoir pour protéger l'information qu'elle contient, sous réserve des exigences législatives applicables.

Soutenir le financement stable

1. Introduction

En raison de la tourmente qui s'abat sur les marchés financiers depuis 2007, les ménages et les entreprises au Canada ont moins facilement accès à du financement à prix abordable. Cette tourmente a également modifié le paysage du marché financier, réduisant l'importance du rôle que jouent les entités non bancaires dans le système de prêt. Au cours de la dernière année, le gouvernement a pris de nombreuses mesures pour injecter des liquidités dans le système financier et soutenir l'accès au financement. La présente consultation constitue le prolongement de ces efforts.

La turbulence sur les marchés financiers a surtout réduit l'accès des consommateurs et des entreprises à du financement à prix abordable pour l'acquisition de véhicules et de matériel. Pour corriger ce problème, le gouvernement a annoncé dans le budget de 2009 la mise sur pied de la Facilité canadienne de crédit garanti (FCCG), une mesure temporaire dotée d'un budget d'au plus 12 milliards de dollars visant l'achat de titres adossés à des actifs nouvellement émis et garantis par des prêts ou des baux sur des véhicules ou du matériel. Afin que le secteur privé offre un vaste éventail de solutions de rechange stables aux consommateurs et aux entreprises, il faut envisager des initiatives de nature structurelles. 

Dans son budget de 2009, le gouvernement du Canada a fait part de son intention de consulter les participants au marché concernant les éventuels avantages à tirer des modifications apportées au cadre législatif et réglementaire régissant les activités de crédit-bail des institutions financières fédérales. Les présentes consultations contribueront à savoir si l'élargissement du bassin des fournisseurs de crédit-bail permettra de soutenir la disponibilité du financement et, à moyen terme, contribuera à la compétitivité et au bon fonctionnement du système financier.  

2. Contexte du crédit-bail

Recours au crédit-bail

Le crédit-­bail1 constitue une forme importante de financement pour les consommateurs et les entreprises. Dans le cadre d'un bail, le consommateur (locataire) acquiert le bien pour la durée du bail, tandis que le financier (locateur) conserve les droits de propriété sur le bien tout au long de la durée du bail.

À titre d'option de financement, le crédit-bail est important pour les consommateurs et les entreprises au Canada. Ces dernières années, le crédit-bail automobile a été utilisé en moyenne lors du tiers des ventes d'automobiles au Canada, atteignant même la moitié des ventes certaines années.  Le resserrement des conditions du crédit a fait cependant chuter à environ 20 % le pourcentage des ventes d'automobiles par crédit-­bail à la fin de 2008. Les consommateurs et les entreprises éprouvent actuellement de la difficulté à obtenir à prix raisonnable du financement par prêt ou par crédit-bail étant donné que nombre de sociétés de prêt et de financement ont réduit, voire cessé, leurs activités de prêt et de crédit-bail. 

Fournisseurs de crédit-bail

Les fournisseurs de crédit-bail se regroupent en quatre catégories. Les sociétés de financement captives des constructeurs d'automobiles qui représentent le fournisseur le plus commun dans le secteur, détenant environ 90 % des contrats du secteur. Viennent ensuite les sociétés de financement indépendantes qui offrent du financement par prêt et par crédit-bail pour un éventail de machines, de matériel, de véhicules et d'autres biens. Arrivent en troisième place les détaillants et les concessionnaires d'automobiles qui peuvent offrir directement du crédit-bail aux clients et financer ces contrats par l'entremise de facilités de capital ou de crédit auprès de banques et d'autres institutions de prêt. Au quatrième rang se trouvent les institutions financières provinciales qui peuvent offrir du crédit-bail sur certains genres de matériel, d'automobiles et de biens meubles.

Tous ces fournisseurs ont été touchés par les bouleversements des marchés financiers, qui ont nettement restreint leur capacité de financer leurs activités. Le marché des titres adossés à des créances a toujours fourni une large part du financement aux sociétés de crédit-bail automobile. La titrisation adossée à des créances dans le domaine automobile au Canada a reculé, passant de 17,1 milliards de dollars en 2007 à 8,2 milliards en 2008. 

Le cadre de réglementation actuel permet aux institutions financières fédérales d'offrir du crédit-bail au titre de biens personnels, autres que des véhicules légers2 et des biens meubles. De même, ces institutions constituent une source de plus en plus importante d'autres formes de financement pour les consommateurs et les entreprises. De fait, elles procurent un vaste éventail de services financiers englobant les prêts aux consommateurs et les prêts commerciaux. 

Les consultations se pencheront sur la question de savoir si les institutions financières fédérales peuvent offrir une source stable de crédit-bail aux consommateurs et aux entreprises et si elles la fourniraient de fait. Il importe de signaler que le cadre actuel ne leur permet pas de participer à des activités de crédit-bail autres que le crédit-bail financier. La présente série de consultations ne prévoit pas de changement de la restriction s'appliquant aux contrats de service.

3. Impressions des participants aux marchés 

Dans le passé, les participants du marché ont été consultés sur la question du crédit-bail dans le cadre des travaux du Groupe de travail sur l'avenir du secteur des services financiers canadien de 1998, ainsi que d'autres examens de la politique sur le secteur financier menés par le ministère des Finances. Ils ont alors fait connaître des préoccupations de nature prudentielle et stratégique, qui portaient notamment sur la participation des institutions financières réglementées à la vente au détail de véhicules et sur le risque prudentiel associé à la valeur résiduelle des véhicules et des meubles meublants à la fin du bail. Il faudrait régler entièrement ces préoccupations puisque la stabilité du système financier global demeure la priorité des consultations. 

4. Questions des consultations

Le ministère des Finances aimerait recevoir les commentaires des participants au marché sur cet important dossier de politique, notamment des réponses aux questions suivantes :

  1. À votre avis, quel sont le rôle et les perspectives du crédit-bail de véhicules dans les années à venir? 
  2. Les restrictions qui s'appliquent actuellement aux institutions financières réglementées concernant le crédit-bail conviennent­elles au milieu de financement de demain? Dans la négative, quelles modifications devraient y être apportées pour soutenir un vaste accès au financement dans un cadre stable?
  3. Si les institutions financières fédérales devaient être autorisées à offrir du crédit-bail, vous attendez­vous à ce qu'elles soient intéressées à le faire? À votre avis, une telle participation augmenterait­elle nettement l'offre du crédit-bail?  
  4. Le crédit-bail pour l'acquisition de véhicules et des biens meubles présente­t­il des risques pour les institutions financières? Dans l'affirmative, comment ces risques peuvent­ils être gérés?

1 Le crédit-bail se distingue du contrat de service, en ce sens qu'il prévoit la fourniture par le locateur du seul volet de financement de l'opération et non d'autres services. Le contrat de service, pour sa part, comprend certains services autres que le simple financement, comme des activités combinées relatives à la vente au détail et au financement, et à l'entretien. 

2 Autrement dit, des véhicules automobiles de plus de 21 tonnes.