December 2008

- Consulting with Canadians : Active Consultations -

Archived - Department of Finance Consultations on International Aid

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


The Official Development Assistance Accountability Act (formerly Bill C-293) came into force on June 28, 2008. Its purpose is to ensure that Canadian Official Development Assistance is provided in a manner that:

  • Contributes to poverty reduction;
  • Takes into account the perspectives of the poor; and
  • Is consistent with international human rights standards.

This Web consultation has been introduced as a pilot project as a result of the Act. Any feedback on how the process can be improved will be considered for future consultations.

The Department of Finance currently makes four kinds of international assistance payments.

International Development Association

The International Development Association (IDA) is the World Bank’s principal financing tool for the world’s poorest countries, providing them with interest-free loans and grants. In December 2007, the Government of Canada announced that it would provide $1.3 billion to IDA over the next three years, under the institution’s fifteenth replenishment.

This financing will allow IDA to enhance its focus on effective delivery of aid, financing for large regional projects like infrastructure, and special assistance for fragile states such as Afghanistan and Haiti, while ensuring countries do not take on unsustainable levels of debt.

More information on IDA is available at www.worldbank.org/ida.

Bilateral Debt Relief

Canada has led the developed world in the area of poverty reduction by forgiving over $1 billion in debt owed to it by the world’s poorest, most indebted countries. Specifically, Canada forgives up to 90 per cent of the bilateral debt owed to it by eligible countries under the Heavily Indebted Poor Countries (HIPC) Initiative, whose aim is to reduce poor countries’ debts to sustainable levels. Canada delivers this debt relief through its participation in the Paris Club. Moreover, Canada goes beyond the requirements of the HIPC Initiative through the Canadian Debt Initiative, under which Canada forgives 100 per cent of the debts that eligible poor countries owe it.

This complete debt relief for HIPCs allows recipient countries to use funds that would have gone to debt payments for more productive investments that support long-term economic development in areas such as education, infrastructure and health care.

Canada’s provision of debt relief varies substantially from year to year, as international debt relief initiatives make debt cancellation conditional on debtor countries meeting International Monetary Fund (IMF) and World Bank mandated program targets. If a country’s performance does not meet the required target, debt relief is withheld until adequate reforms are made.

More information on bilateral debt relief is available at http://www.clubdeparis.org/, http://go.worldbank.org/85B908KVE0 and http://www.fin.gc.ca/toc/2005/cdre0105_-eng.asp.

Multilateral Debt Relief

Under the Multilateral Debt Relief Initiative (MDRI), the IMF, IDA and the African Development Fund (ADF) have agreed to cancel 100 per cent of the eligible debts owed by HIPCs to free up resources to help these countries achieve the Millennium Development Goals.

At the Group of Eight (G8) Summit in Gleneagles in 2005, Canada and other donor countries agreed to fully compensate these institutions for the debts they will cancel on behalf of poor countries, so that the MDRI would not undermine their ability to provide financial support to low-income countries. Canada’s total commitment over the 50-year lifespan of the MDRI is $2.5 billion.

More information on the MDRI is available at

pdf http://www.g7.utoronto.ca/summit/2005gleneagles/africa.pdf (paragraph 29), http://imf.org/external/np/exr/facts/mdri.htm and pdf http://www.fin.gc.ca/bretwood/pdf/bretwd07_e.pdf (page 47).

Arrears Clearance

Prior to receiving debt relief under the HIPC Initiative and the MDRI, countries must establish a sound track record of reform, but must be in good standing with the IMF, IDA and the ADF to do so (i.e. debts owed to these institutions must not be in arrears). There are currently low-income countries that may be eligible for the HIPC Initiative and the MDRI that are in arrears to these institutions. Given their precarious situations and their low-income status, these countries do not have the financial resources to fully clear their arrears to the institutions, which presents a barrier to the process of reform and to the benefits of debt relief.

Most recently, Canada contributed C$44 million to cancel Liberia’s arrears to the IMF, IDA and the ADF and actively encouraged other donors to do their part. In early 2008, adequate funding was secured, which helped Liberia gain access to US$3 billion in debt relief under the HIPC and MDRI initiatives.

The international community has recognized that efforts are needed to help these countries clear their arrears. The clearance of arrears is considered up-front debt relief and the G8, with Canada playing a strong role, has led the way in contributing resources to IDA, the IMF and the ADF to help these countries continue on the path to development. Canada’s participation in arrears clearance demonstrates our strong commitment to debt relief and ensuring that resources in low-income countries are directed towards areas of need.

More information on arrears clearance is available at

pdf http://www.fin.gc.ca/bretwood/pdf/bretwd07_e.pdf (pages 9, 47, and 51) and http://www.imf.org/external/np/sec/pr/2008/pr0855.htm.

Comments on whether these four types of payments meet the criteria for Canadian Official Development Assistance listed above are welcome.

The consultation period is December 5-31, 2008.

Canadian civil society organizations, governments, international agencies and other participants will need to provide the following information when e-mailing their comments:

  • Full name of the official; 
  • Name of the organization; 
  • Full mailing address, including postal code; 
  • Telephone number, including area code; and  
  • Reply e-mail address. 

Submissions should be e-mailed to: APD-consultation-ODA@fin.gc.ca.

Décembre 2008

- Consultation auprès des Canadiens et des Canadiennes : Consultations en cours -

archivé - Consultations du ministère des Finances sur l’aide internationale

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.


La Loi sur la responsabilité en matière d’aide au développement officielle (projet de loi C-293) est entrée en vigueur le 28 juin 2008. La Loi prévoit que l’aide au développement officielle fournie par le Canada doit :

  • contribuer à la réduction de la pauvreté;
  • tenir compte des points de vue des pauvres;
  • être compatible avec les normes internationales en matière de droits de la personne.

Cette consultation sur le Web est lancée à titre de projet pilote découlant des exigences de la Loi. Les commentaires reçus sur les moyens d’améliorer le processus seront pris en considération aux fins des consultations futures.

À l’heure actuelle, le ministre des Finances verse quatre types de paiements au titre de l’aide internationale.

Association internationale de développement

L’Association internationale de développement (AID) est le principal mécanisme de financement que la Banque mondiale met à la disposition des pays les plus pauvres. Elle fournit à ces derniers des prêts sans intérêt et des subventions. En décembre 2007, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé qu’il contribuerait 1,3 milliard de dollars sur trois ans à l’IDA dans le cadre de la 15e reconstitution des ressources de l’institution.

Ces fonds permettront à l’IDA de mettre l’accent sur la prestation efficace de l’aide, sur le financement de grands projets régionaux axés notamment sur l’infrastructure ainsi que sur le soutien spécial des États fragiles comme l’Afghanistan et Haïti, tout en évitant que la dette des pays ne devienne insoutenable.

On peut obtenir des précisions au sujet de l’IDA en cliquant sur le lien suivant : IDA.

Allégement de la dette bilatérale

Le Canada est devenu le chef de file des pays industrialisés au chapitre de la réduction de la pauvreté en annulant plus de 1 milliard de dollars de dettes que les pays les plus pauvres et les plus endettés avaient envers lui. Plus précisément, le Canada renonce à 90 % de la dette bilatérale de pays admissibles à l’Initiative des pays pauvres très endettés (IPPTE), laquelle vise à réduire la dette des pays pauvres à des niveaux soutenables, par l’entremise de sa participation au Club de Paris. En outre, le Canada excède les exigences de l’IPPTE grâce à l’Initiative canadienne d’allégement de la dette (ICAD), par laquelle le Canada remet la totalité de la dette des pays pauvres admissibles.

L’annulation complète de la dette des PPTE permet aux pays bénéficiaires d’utiliser les sommes qui auraient été affectées au paiement de la dette à des investissements plus productifs qui appuient le développement économique à long terme dans des domaines tels que l’éducation, l’infrastructure et les soins de santé.

L’ampleur de l’allégement de la dette par le Canada varie de façon substantielle d’une année à l’autre puisque les initiatives internationales en la matière assujettissent l’annulation de la dette à la réalisation, par les pays débiteurs, de certains objectifs de programme établis par le Fonds monétaire international (FMI) et la Banque mondiale. Si un pays donné n’atteint pas les cibles fixées, l’allégement de sa dette est suspendu jusqu’à ce que des réformes appropriées soient adoptées.

On trouve de plus amples renseignements sur l’allégement de la dette bilatérale aux adresses suivantes : http://www.clubdeparis.org/http://go.worldbank.org/85B908KVE0 (en anglais seulement) et http://www.fin.gc.ca/toc/2005/cdre0105_-fra.asp.

Allégement de la dette multilatérale

Aux termes de l’Initiative d’allégement de la dette multilatérale (IADM), le FMI, l’IDA et Fonds africain de développement (FAD) ont convenu d’annuler la totalité de la dette des pays pauvres très endettés afin de débloquer des ressources pour aider ces pays à réaliser les Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement.

Lors du Sommet du Groupe des Huit (G8) tenu à Gleneagles en 2005, le Canada et d’autres pays donateurs ont accepté de dédommager entièrement ces institutions à l’égard des dettes qu’elles annulent au profit des pays pauvres afin d’éviter que l’IADM limite leur capacité à offrir un soutien financier aux pays à faible revenu. L’engagement du Canada pendant les 50 ans que durera l’IADM totalise 2,5 milliards de dollars.

On trouve de plus amples renseignements sur l’IADM aux adresses suivantes :

pdf http://www.g7.utoronto.ca/summit/2005gleneagles/africa.pdf (paragraphe 29) (en anglais seulement); http://imf.org/external/np/exr/facts/fre/mdrif.htm, et pdf http://www.fin.gc.ca/bretwood/pdf/bretwd07_f.pdf (page 47).

Élimination des arriérés

Avant de bénéficier d’un allégement de leur dette par le biais de l’IPPTE et de l’IADM, les pays doivent présenter de solides antécédents au chapitre des réformes et être en règle auprès du FMI, de l’IDA et du FAD (c.-à-d. que la dette envers ces institutions ne doit pas comporter d’arriérés). À l’heure actuelle, certains pays à faible revenu qui ont des arriérés face à ces institutions pourraient peut-être bénéficier de l’IPPTE et de l’IADM. Compte tenu de leur situation précaire et de la faiblesse de leurs revenus, ces pays n’ont pas les ressources financières requises pour rembourser entièrement ces arriérés, ce qui fait obstacle au processus de réforme et aux avantages de l’allégement de la dette.

Tout récemment, le Canada a contribué 44 millions de dollars canadiens pour annuler les arriérés du Libéria auprès du FMI, de l’IDA et du FAD, et a activement encouragé d’autres pays donateurs à prendre part à cet effort. Au début de 2008, des fonds suffisants avaient été obtenus, ce qui a aidé le Libéria à bénéficier d’un allégement de la dette de 3 milliards de dollars américains dans le cadre de l’IPPTE et de l’IADM.

La communauté internationale reconnaît que des efforts s’imposent pour aider ces pays à acquitter leurs arriérés. L’élimination des arriérés est considérée comme une première étape de l’allégement de la dette et le G8, sous l’aiguillon du Canada, a prêché d’exemple en contribuant des ressources à l’IDA, au FMI et au FAD pour aider ces pays à poursuivre leur développement. En participant à l’élimination des arriérés, le Canada démontre son ferme engagement à l’égard de l’allégement de la dette et sa volonté que les pays à faible revenu consacrent des ressources à leurs besoins.

On trouve de plus amples renseignements sur l’élimination des arriérés aux adresses suivantes :

pdf http://www.fin.gc.ca/bretwood/pdf/bretwd07_f.pdf (pages 9, 46 et 51);

http://www.imf.org/external/np/sec/pr/2008/pr0855.htm (en anglais seulement).

Nous vous invitons à formuler des commentaires concernant le caractère adéquat de ces quatre types de paiements par rapport aux critères susmentionnés de l’aide au développement officielle.

La période de consultation va du 5 au 31 décembre 2008.

Les organisations de la société civile du Canada, les gouvernements, les agences internationales et les autres participants doivent annexer les renseignements suivants à leurs commentaires transmis par courriel :

  • le nom complet du responsable; 
  • le nom de l’organisation; 
  • l’adresse postale complète, y compris le code postal;
  • le numéro de téléphone, y compris l’indicatif régional;
  • l’adresse courriel de réponse. 

Veuillez faire parvenir vos commentaires par courriel à l’adresse suivante : APD-consultation-ODA@fin.gc.ca.