Help the Government of Canada organize its website Canada.ca!
Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

- Restoring Fiscal Balance in Canada Consultations -

Invitation by the Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance

On behalf of Canada’s new government, I invite you to participate in our national online consultations on fiscal balance. Our plan is to build a stronger economy by ensuring that governments have the resources and clarity they need to deliver the services Canadians want, and people in every corner of the country should have the opportunity to provide their thoughts on how we proceed.

These consultations represent an important opportunity to continue the dialogue on restoring fiscal balance—a dialogue we committed to pursuing in the government’s Budget 2006 paper, Restoring Fiscal Balance in Canada.

This past spring Canada’s new government made a commitment to consult Canadians on this important issue, and we are delivering on that commitment.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely, Jim.


Background

Cooperation and collaboration between the Government of Canada and the provinces and territories have been critical to the development of the Canadian federation. All governments, working together, have created a network of programs covering health, education, social services, infrastructure, justice and a range of economic and social policies designed both to improve the quality of life of Canadians and to enhance the economic performance of the country.

Debates over fiscal arrangements in Canada are not new. We have always had to adapt to evolving fiscal circumstances and changing roles and responsibilities of governments.

All orders of government faced difficult financial circumstances in the early and mid-1990s, forcing governments to reduce spending in order to bring their finances under control. And while the return to sound fiscal management was necessary and has generated many benefits for Canada and Canadians, it also contributed to federal-provincial tensions.

There are four major sets of concerns at the heart of the debate on fiscal balance:

1. Concerns over transparency in federal fiscal planning

A series of unanticipated federal surpluses in recent years has generated concern over the transparency of federal budget planning. Unanticipated surpluses can also contribute to significant year-end spending, at times in ways that are not consistent with initial budget plans presented to parliamentarians and to the Canadian population. Unplanned year-end spending has also contributed to federal-provincial tensions, particularly in light of the fact that some of this spending occurred in areas of primarily provincial responsibility.

2. Concerns over blurred accountability due to reduced clarity in roles and responsibilities

Increased federal spending in areas of primarily provincial responsibility and a lack of focus on areas of clear federal responsibility have made it difficult for Canadians to know with confidence which level of government to hold accountable for specific policies and initiatives.

3. Concerns over predictable, long-term fiscal arrangements

Debates about the Equalization and Territorial Formula Financing programs, the appropriate level of the federal contributions to national priorities (such as health care, infrastructure and social programs), and targeted federal spending to address regional needs are by no means new. Over the past decade, however, concerns have been raised that the stability, predictability and fairness of some transfers and other investments were being compromised. While overall transfer levels have been restored, concerns remain that not all transfers have been put on a principle-based, long-term, predictable funding track, including those supporting post-secondary education and training.The recently released reports of the Expert Panel on Equalization and Territorial Formula Financing (the O’Brien reports) provided important insight into these two programs. To learn more about the details of these transfers, please visit the transfers subsection of the Department of Finance website.

4. Concerns over a competitive and efficient Canadian economy

Although Canada is experiencing one of the longest periods of uninterrupted economic growth in its history, challenges still remain. To strengthen and enhance the efficiency and competitiveness of the Canadian economy, all governments will have to work together better, especially with respect to internal trade and labour mobility, employment for immigrants, efficiency of capital markets and tax harmonization.

Canada’s new government is committed to a renewed relationship with provincial and territorial governments, based on collaboration in restoring fiscal balance and supporting the provision of quality services to Canadians. The government has set out a multi-pronged strategy, designed to ensure balanced fiscal arrangements in which all governments have access to the resources they need to meet their responsibilities.

The government’s approach to addressing concerns related to fiscal balance will be guided by five principles:

Your Views

- Restoring Fiscal Balance in Canada Consultations -

- Consultations sur le rétablissement de l’équilibre fiscal au Canada -

Invitation de l’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances

Au nom du gouvernement fédéral, je vous invite à participer à des consultations nationales en ligne sur l’équilibre fiscal. Notre plan est de bâtir une économie plus forte en assurant aux gouvernements les ressources et la transparence nécessaires pour offrir les services que les Canadiens désirent, et les gens de toutes les régions du pays doivent pouvoir soumettre leurs réflexions sur notre façon de faire.

Ces consultations représentent une importante occasion de continuer le dialogue sur le rétablissement de l’équilibre fiscal – un dialogue que nous nous sommes engagés à poursuivre dans le budget de 2006, Rétablir l’équilibre fiscal au Canada.

Le nouveau gouvernement du Canada, élu au printemps dernier, s’était engagé à consulter les Canadiens sur cet important enjeu, et il donne suite à cet engagement.

C’est avec plaisir que j’attends vos commentaires.

Je vous remercie sincèrement.
Jim


Contexte

La collaboration entre le gouvernement du Canada et les provinces et territoires a été déterminante dans l’évolution de la fédération canadienne. Tous les gouvernements, en travaillant de concert, ont créé un ensemble de programmes axés sur la santé, l’éducation, les services sociaux, l’infrastructure, la justice et un éventail de politiques économiques et sociales visant à améliorer la qualité de vie des Canadiens et à accroître la performance économique du pays.

Les débats sur les arrangements fiscaux au Canada ne sont pas nouveaux. Nous avons toujours dû nous adapter à l’évolution du contexte fiscal ainsi qu’aux rôles et responsabilités changeants des gouvernements.

Tous les ordres de gouvernement se sont trouvés dans une situation financière difficile au début et au milieu des années 90, ce qui les a obligés à réduire leurs dépenses pour exercer un contrôle sur leurs finances. Le retour à une saine gestion des finances était nécessaire et a procuré de nombreux avantages au Canada et aux Canadiens, mais il a aussi été source de tensions entre le gouvernement fédéral et les provinces.

Quatre grands regroupements de préoccupations sont au cœur du débat sur l’équilibre fiscal :

1. Préoccupations quant à la transparence de la planification financière fédérale

Une série d’excédents budgétaires imprévus enregistrés ces dernières années ont suscité des préoccupations quant à la transparence de la planification budgétaire fédérale. Des surplus imprévus peuvent aussi occasionner d’importantes dépenses de fin d’année, qui sont parfois engagées d’une manière qui ne correspond pas aux plans budgétaires initiaux présentés aux parlementaires et à la population canadienne. Des dépenses de fin d’année non planifiées ont aussi ajouté aux tensions fédérales-provinciales, en particulier en regard du fait que certaines de ces dépenses se sont faites dans des secteurs relevant principalement des provinces.

2. Préoccupations quant à la responsabilité découlant du manque de clarté des rôles et des responsabilités

Face à des dépenses fédérales accrues dans des champs de responsabilité essentiellement provinciale et à l’attention insuffisante accordée aux domaines relevant clairement du gouvernement fédéral, il est devenu difficile pour les Canadiens de déterminer avec confiance quel ordre de gouvernement devrait avoir à rendre des comptes au sujet d’une politique ou d’une initiative donnée.

3. Préoccupations quant au financement prévisible et à long terme des arrangements fiscaux

Les débats entourant le Programme de péréquation, la formule de financement des territoires, le niveau approprié des contributions fédérales aux priorités nationales (comme les soins de santé, l’infrastructure et les programmes sociaux) ainsi que les dépenses fédérales ciblées en vue de répondre à des besoins régionaux ne sont certes pas nouveaux. Cependant, au cours de la dernière décennie, des craintes que la stabilité, la prévisibilité et l’équité de certain transferts et d’autres investissements soient compromis ont été soulevées. Bien que le niveau global des transferts ait été rétabli, des préoccupations demeurent quant au fait que certains transferts n’ont pas été replacés sur une trajectoire de financement à long terme, prévisible et fondée sur des principes établis, notamment les transferts qui visent à soutenir l’enseignement postsecondaire et la formation. Les récents rapports du Groupe d’experts sur la péréquation et la formule de financement des territoires (les rapports O’Brien) contenaient des données importantes sur ces deux programmes. Pour plus de détails sur ces transferts, veuillez consulter la sous-section des transferts du site Web du ministère des Finances.

4. Préoccupations au sujet d’une économie canadienne concurrentielle et efficiente

Bien que le Canada connaisse l’une des plus longues périodes de croissance économique ininterrompue de son histoire, des défis demeurent. Pour renforcer et accroître l’efficience et la compétitivité de l’économie canadienne, tous les gouvernements devront mieux collaborer, surtout en ce qui a trait au commerce intérieur et à la mobilité de la main-d’œuvre entre les provinces, à l’emploi pour les immigrants, à l’efficacité des marchés de capitaux ainsi qu’à l’harmonisation fiscale.

Le nouveau gouvernement du Canada est déterminé à renouveler ses liens avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux en misant sur la collaboration pour rétablir l’équilibre fiscal et appuyer la prestation de services de qualité aux Canadiens. Le gouvernement a mis au point une stratégie à plusieurs volets qui vise à rétablir des arrangements fiscaux équilibrés garantissant à tous les gouvernements un accès aux ressources dont ils ont besoin pour s’acquitter de leurs responsabilités.

L’approche du gouvernement pour répondre aux préoccupations touchant l’équilibre fiscal reposera sur cinq principes :

Vos observations

- Consultations sur le rétablissement de l’équilibre fiscal au Canada -