Financial Action Task Force

Review of the FATF standards

The Financial Action Task Force (FATF) is the international body responsible for setting anti-money laundering and anti-terrorist financing standards. Canada is an active participant in the FATF and in the fight against money laundering, terrorist financing and other abuses of the global financial system.

The FATF recently published a document entitled, "The Review of the Standards - Preparation for the 4th Round of Mutual Evaluations" and has asked for public comment. The paper proposes options to update and enhance the standards, which have been endorsed by more than 180 countries and are widely accepted as the leading international anti-money laundering and anti-terrorist financing standard. However, since they were last revised in 2003, money laundering and terrorist financing methods have changed and new technologies have been developed.

The consultation paper presents proposals coming out of the first phase of this review over the last year, including the risk-based approach, customer due diligence, reliance on third parties and tax crime as a predicate offence for money laundering.

Closing date: January 7, 2011

Consultation documents:

To respond, send your comments by e-mail to the FATF Secretariat, along with a copy to the Department of Finance, to the addresses below:

FATF Secretariat

fatf.consultation@fatf-gafi.org

Financial Crimes Section - International
Finance Canada

fci-cfi@fin.gc.ca

Groupe d’action financière

Révision des normes du GAFI

Le Groupe d’action financière (GAFI) est l’organisme international chargé de l’établissement de normes pour la lutte contre le blanchiment des capitaux et le financement des activités terroristes. Le Canada participe activement au GAFI et à la lutte contre le blanchiment des capitaux, le financement des activités terroristes et d’autres abus à l’encontre du système financier mondial.

Le GAFI a récemment publié un document intitulé The Review of the Standards - Preparation for the 4th Round of Mutual Evaluations et a fait appel aux commentaires du public. Le document propose des options pour la mise à jour et le renforcement des normes, qui ont été approuvées par plus de 180 pays et qui sont largement acceptées comme norme directrice internationale contre le blanchiment des capitaux et le financement du terrorisme. Toutefois, depuis la révision des normes en 2003, les méthodes de blanchiment des capitaux et de financement du terrorisme ont changé et de nouvelles technologies ont été mises au point.

Le document de consultation publique présente des propositions émergeant de la première phase de révision au cours de la dernière année, incluant l’approche basée sur le risque, le devoir de diligence relatif à la clientèle, le recours à des tiers, et l’évasion fiscale comme infraction préalable au blanchiment de capitaux.

Date limite : 7 janvier 2011

Documents de consultation :

Pour répondre, veuillez envoyer vos commentaires par courriel au Secrétariat du GAFI ainsi qu’une copie au ministère des Finances, aux adresses indiquées ci-dessous :

Secretariat du GAFI

fatf.consultation@fatf-gafi.org

Section des crimes financiers - international
Finances Canada

fci-cfi@fin.gc.ca