June 30, 2011

Consultation on a Demutualization Framework for Federal Property & Casualty Insurance Companies

Consultations Responses: Please note that the Department of Finance publishes consultation responses in PDF format and language of submission only.

 

Note: A consultation is not a poll. Please do not send multiple or duplicate submissions.

Consultations Documents:

Closing date: July 31, 2011

Who may respond:

These consultations are open to anyone.

Comments regarding any element of this paper are invited and can be emailed to finlegis@fin.gc.ca.

Also, written comments can be forwarded to:

Jane Pearse
Financial Sector Policy Branch
Department of Finance
L’Esplanade Laurier
15th Floor, East Tower
140 O’Connor Street
Ottawa, Canada K1A 0G5

To add to the transparency of the consultation process, the Department of Finance will post submissions on its website, with the consent of the submitting party. We ask that, in providing your submission, you:

  • State whether you consent to posting your submission on the Department of Finance website, and
  • Indicate whether you would like the Department of Finance to include your name and/or the name of the organization you represent with your submission when posting it on the Department of Finance website.

We also request that submissions which are to be posted on the Department of Finance website be provided electronically in PDF format or in plain text. The Department of Finance will not post submissions that do not clearly indicate a preference to be posted on our website and the Department will contact individuals to obtain written consent in cases where submissions are to be posted. Once received by the Department of Finance, all submissions will be subject to the Access to Information Act (ATI Act) and may be disclosed in accordance with its provisions. If a request pertaining to your submission is received under the ATI Act, you will be consulted under Section 27 of the ATI Act.


Demutualization Framework for Federal Property & Casualty Insurance Companies

PDF Version : Demutualization Framework for Federal Property & Casualty Insurance Companies

To access a Portable Document Format (PDF) file you must have a PDF reader installed. If you do not already have such a reader, there are numerous PDF readers available for free download or for purchase on the Internet.

1. Introduction

In the budget tabled on June 6, 2011, the Government announced its plan to introduce a framework to allow federally regulated property and casualty (P&C) mutual insurance companies to convert to share companies. In developing this framework, the Government is consulting broadly to ensure that all affected parties have an opportunity to provide input on this important issue.

The Insurance Companies Act contemplates the demutualization of life and P&C insurance companies. The terms and conditions for demutualization are required to be set out in regulations. While demutualization regulations have been adopted for life companies, none exist for P&C companies. Given the recent interest of some P&C companies to demutualize, the Government has committed to developing a P&C demutualization framework.

2. The Mutual P&C Insurance Landscape

Mutual P&C companies engage in a number of business segments, including automobile, home and commercial insurance.

Relative to the broader P&C insurance sector, the federal P&C mutual sector is small, consisting of a few companies whose operations are predominantly regionally based. Most companies are relatively small, ranging from approximately $20 million to $200 million in equity. However, two companies rank among the top 10 largest P&C insurers in Canada, each having over $1 billion in equity.

In terms of governance structures, companies fall into two categories: those in which all policyholders are entitled to vote on decisions of the company, and those in which some policyholders are entitled to vote and others are not. Voting policies in companies with a dual policyholder structure have not been widely accessible in recent years, due in part to qualification requirements, limited distribution, or the cessation of voting policy issuance.

3. Issues for Consideration

The Government wishes to consult on the development of a demutualization framework for P&C companies. Given that a framework exists for life companies, the Government is seeking views on whether there are unique factors that call for a different approach for P&C companies.

(a) Policy Objectives

The demutualization framework developed for life companies in 1999 was supported by three broad policy objectives: providing fair and equitable treatment to policyholders, maintaining safety and soundness, and enhancing efficiency and competition. The framework sought to establish an orderly and transparent process.

The circumstances for demutualization in the P&C sector may be different than for life companies. As such, the Government is seeking views on the appropriateness of the life company policy objectives for P&C demutualization, and how they should be applied in the P&C context.

Fair and Equitable Treatment of Policyholders

Mutual companies exist for the benefit of their policyholders. The decision of who should vote on demutualization and how the value of the company should be allocated should be fair and equitable to policyholders. These issues should be objectively assessed, based on relevant factors. Insurance benefits and coverage should be preserved after demutualization.

Maintaining Safety and Soundness

Demutualization should preserve, and not impede, the safety and soundness of a company. Post-demutualization, a company should be able to maintain sufficient capital to sustain current and future operations. Ultimately, demutualization should result in an effective governance structure and allow stakeholders to adequately scrutinize the company’s operations.

Enhancing Efficiency and Competition

Companies should have the flexibility to determine the best structure for having competitive and efficient operations. Canadians should continue to have access to competitively priced products and services.

Orderly and Transparent Process

The demutualization process should result in informed decision-making and transparency for affected parties. The process should not be too complex, time-consuming or costly to undertake.

(b) Demutualization Process

The Insurance Companies Act permits mutual insurance companies to convert to share companies. A company seeking to demutualize must obtain the approval of its policyholders who are eligible to vote on demutualization and the approval of the Minister of Finance, on the recommendation of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions.

While the legislation permits insurance companies to demutualize, the details of the demutualization process are left to be established through regulations. In particular, regulations are required to establish those policyholders that are eligible to vote on demutualization. The regulations can also specify the mechanisms for ensuring that policyholders are treated fairly and equitably, including for determining the value of the company and apportioning the benefits of demutualization.

(c) Impacts of Demutualization

Demutualization will impact the institution, its policyholders and the P&C insurance sector, among others. The conversion to a company with common shares means that the company can be more easily acquired and may result in consolidation of the sector. The demutualization framework that was adopted for life insurance companies in 1999 required large demutualized life insurance companies to remain widely held for a two-year transition period to allow them to adjust to their new form of ownership.

Consideration should also be given to the impacts of demutualization in the regions and communities in which mutual companies operate. Most mutual companies are regionally based and active in their communities—whether as direct employers, through contributions to communities, or through their functions as financial intermediaries to local consumers and businesses.

4. Number of Voting Policyholders in Some Mutual Companies

Currently, federal mutual companies with a dual policyholder structure have a small number of voting policyholders relative to the number of non-voting policyholders. There has been a practice of limiting the issuance of voting policies and, subsequent to the interest in demutualization, issuances have largely ceased. Thus, the voting policyholder base may decline further.

Voting policyholders in a mutual company serve an important governance function. Independent from the demutualization issue, the Government is seeking views on how mutual P&C companies can ensure that they continue to have an effective governance structure, and whether measures need to be taken to increase the number of voting policyholders.

5. Questions for Consultation

The Department of Finance would welcome comments on the following questions:

a) Policy Objectives

The policy objectives for life companies were: a) providing fair and equitable treatment to policyholders, b) maintaining safety and soundness, c) fostering a competitive and efficient sector, and d) establishing an orderly and transparent process.

1. What should be the policy objectives for the demutualization of P&C companies? 

2. Are these also appropriate in the P&C context, and if so, should they be applied to P&C companies in the same manner or differently?

b) Demutualization Process

1. What should be the process for allowing a P&C company to demutualize? In particular, what should be considered in determining who should have the right to vote on, and receive the benefits of, demutualization?

2. What should be considered in ensuring that policyholders are treated fairly and equitably, including for determining the value of the company and apportioning the benefits of demutualization?

c) Impacts of Demutualization

1. What impacts could demutualization have on the P&C sector?

2. Would these need to be addressed, and if so, how?

d) Number of Voting Policyholders in Some Mutual Companies 

1. What implications does a small and declining voting policyholder base have for the effective governance of a mutual company? 

2. How can companies with a dual policyholder structure ensure that they continue to have effective governance structures? 

3. Should measures be taken to increase the number of voting policyholders, and if so, what should those measures consist of?

Le 30 juin 2011

Consultations au sujet d’un cadre pour la démutualisation des sociétés d’assurances multirisques fédérales

Réponses du public : Veuillez noter que les réponses reçues dans le cadre des consultations publiques menées par le ministère des Finances paraissent dans la langue dans lesquels elles ont été soumises et dans le format PDF seulement.

 

Remarque : Une consultation n'est pas un sondage. N'envoyez donc pas d'observations multiples ou en double.

Documents des consultations :

Date de clôture : Le 31 juillet 2011

Qui peut participer :

Ces consultations sont ouvertes à tous.

Le gouvernement invite les parties intéressées à soumettre leurs commentaires concernant tout élément du présent document par courriel, à l’adresse finlegis@fin.gc.ca.

On peut aussi faire parvenir des commentaires par écrit à l’adresse suivante :

Jane Pearse
Direction de la politique du secteur financier
Ministère des Finances
L’Esplanade Laurier
15e étage, tour Est
140, rue O’Connor
Ottawa, Canada  K1A 0G5

Sous réserve du consentement de leur auteur, les commentaires seront affichés sur le site Web du ministère des Finances, afin de favoriser la transparence du processus de consultation. Nous vous demandons d'indiquer, lorsque vous envoyez vos commentaires, si vous :

En ce qui concerne les commentaires à afficher sur le site Web du ministère des Finances, nous vous demandons également de nous les faire parvenir par voie électronique en format PDF ou en fichier texte. Le ministère des Finances n'affichera pas sur son site Web les commentaires de ceux et celles qui ne lui ont pas indiqué clairement leur préférence à cet égard, et il communiquera avec les auteurs concernés afin d'obtenir leur consentement écrit avant que leurs commentaires soient affichés. Une fois reçus par le ministère des Finances, tous les commentaires seront assujettis à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et pourront être communiqués conformément aux dispositions de ladite loi. Si nous recevons une demande concernant vos commentaires en vertu de cette loi, nous vous consulterons en vertu de l'article 27 de cette dernière.


Cadre pour la démutualisation des sociétés d'assurances multirisques fédérales

Version PDF : Cadre pour la démutualisation des sociétés d'assurances multirisques fédérales

Pour consulter un fichier PDF (format de document portable), votre ordinateur doit avoir un lecteur PDF. Si vous n’en avez pas déjà un, il existe de nombreux lecteurs PDF que vous pouvez télécharger gratuitement ou acheter dans Internet.

1. Introduction

Dans son budget du 6 juin 2011, le gouvernement a annoncé son intention d’instaurer un cadre permettant aux sociétés mutuelles d’assurances multirisques sous réglementation fédérale de se transformer en sociétés par actions. Afin d’élaborer ce cadre, le gouvernement tient de vastes consultations pour offrir à toutes les parties visées l’occasion de donner leur avis sur cette importante question.

La démutualisation des sociétés d’assurance‑vie et d’assurances multirisques relève de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances. Les modalités de démutualisation doivent être établies par règlement. Alors qu’un règlement sur la démutualisation a été adopté à l’égard des sociétés d’assurance‑vie, il n’en existe pas dans le cas des sociétés d’assurances multirisques. Comme certaines de ces dernières ont récemment manifesté un intérêt pour la démutualisation, le gouvernement s’est engagé à mettre au point un cadre pour la démutualisation des sociétés d’assurances multirisques.

2. Les sociétés mutuelles d’assurances multirisques

Les sociétés mutuelles d’assurances multirisques sont actives dans divers secteurs, comme l’assurance automobile, habitation et commerciale.

Par rapport à l’ensemble du secteur des assurances multirisques, celui des mutuelles d’assurances multirisques fédérales est modeste; il regroupe quelques sociétés dont les activités sont surtout de portée régionale. La plupart des sociétés sont de taille relativement modeste et leurs capitaux propres totalisent entre 20 millions et 200 millions de dollars. Par contre, deux sociétés comptent parmi les dix plus importants assureurs multirisques au Canada et détiennent chacune pour plus de 1 milliard de dollars de capitaux propres.

Au chapitre des structures de gouvernance, les sociétés se répartissent entre deux groupes : celles dont tous les souscripteurs ont le droit de vote à l’égard des décisions de la société, et celles dont certains d’entre eux ont le droit de vote et les autres, non. Les polices avec droit de vote des sociétés mutuelles à deux catégories de souscripteurs ne sont pas répandues depuis quelques années, notamment en raison de leurs critères d’admissibilité, de leur distribution limitée ou de la cessation de l’émission de polices de ce type.

3. Questions à examiner

Le gouvernement souhaite tenir des consultations en vue d’élaborer un cadre de démutualisation pour les sociétés d’assurances multirisques. Comme il existe un cadre semblable pour les sociétés d’assurance‑vie, le gouvernement sollicite des commentaires pour déterminer si des facteurs particuliers justifieraient l’adoption d’une approche différente à l’égard des sociétés d’assurances multirisques.

(a) Objectifs de politique publique

Le cadre de démutualisation élaboré en 1999 à l’intention des sociétés d’assurance‑vie reposait sur trois grands objectifs stratégiques : garantir un traitement juste et équitable aux souscripteurs, maintenir la santé financière, et renforcer l’efficience et la concurrence. Il visait en outre à instaurer un processus ordonné et transparent.

Il se peut que les circonstances de la démutualisation dans le secteur des assurances multirisques diffèrent de celles dans le secteur de l’assurance-vie. Par conséquent, le gouvernement souhaite demander des avis concernant la pertinence des objectifs de politique des sociétés d’assurance-vie dans le cadre de la démutualisation des sociétés d’assurances multirisques et leur application dans le contexte de l’assurance multirisques.

Garantir un traitement juste et équitable aux souscripteurs

Les sociétés mutuelles sont constituées pour servir les intérêts de leurs souscripteurs. Les décisions quant aux personnes appelées à se prononcer sur la démutualisation et à l’attribution de la valeur de la société devraient être justes et équitables envers les souscripteurs. Ces questions doivent être évaluées de manière objective, à la lumière de facteurs pertinents. Les indemnités et les protections d’assurances doivent être maintenues après la démutualisation.

Maintenir la santé financière

La démutualisation doit préserver – et non restreindre – la santé financière des sociétés. Après la démutualisation, les sociétés doivent pouvoir maintenir un capital suffisant pour financer leurs activités actuelles et futures. En fin de compte, la démutualisation doit déboucher sur une structure de gouvernance efficace et permettre aux souscripteurs d’examiner adéquatement les activités de la société.

Renforcer l’efficience et la concurrence

Les sociétés devraient pouvoir déterminer la structure qui favorisera le plus la compétitivité et l’efficience de leurs activités. Les Canadiennes et les Canadiens doivent continuer d’avoir accès à des produits et des services à des prix concurrentiels.

Instaurer un processus ordonné et transparent

La démutualisation doit se traduire par des décisions éclairées et par un régime transparent pour les parties visées. Le processus de démutualisation ne doit pas être démesurément complexe, fastidieux ou coûteux.

(b) Processus de démutualisation

La Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances permet aux mutuelles d’assurances de se transformer en sociétés par actions. Une société cherchant à se démutualiser doit obtenir l’accord de ses souscripteurs admissibles à voter sur le projet de démutualisation, ainsi que du ministre des Finances sur recommandation du surintendant des institutions financières.

Bien que la Loi permette aux sociétés d’assurances de se démutualiser, les modalités du processus de démutualisation doivent être établies par règlement. Il faut notamment des mesures réglementaires pour désigner les souscripteurs admissibles à voter sur le projet de démutualisation. Le règlement peut également établir des mécanismes pour assurer le traitement juste et équitable des souscripteurs, y compris pour déterminer la valeur de la société et attribuer les avantages de la démutualisation.

(c) Répercussions de la démutualisation

La démutualisation aura notamment des répercussions sur la société, ses souscripteurs et le secteur des assurances multirisques. La transformation en une société avec actions ordinaires facilite l’acquisition de cette dernière et peut donner lieu à la consolidation du secteur. Le cadre de démutualisation adopté pour les sociétés d’assurance‑vie en 1999 obligeait les grandes sociétés démutualisées à demeurer largement détenues au cours d’une période de transition de deux ans pour leur permettre de s’ajuster à leur nouveau régime de propriété.

Il faut également tenir compte des répercussions de la démutualisation dans les régions et les collectivités où les sociétés mutuelles sont actives. La plupart de ces dernières sont de portée régionale et actives dans leurs collectivités, que ce soit à titre d’employeurs directs ou par l’entremise de leurs contributions à ces collectivités ou de leurs fonctions d’intermédiaires financiers auprès des consommateurs et des entreprises à l’échelle locale.

4. Nombre de souscripteurs habiles à voter dans certaines sociétés mutuelles

Actuellement, les sociétés mutuelles fédérales dotées d’une structure à deux catégories de souscripteurs affichent un faible nombre de souscripteurs habiles à voter par rapport au nombre de souscripteurs sans droit de vote. Il est maintenant d’usage de limiter l’émission de polices avec droit de vote et, compte tenu de l’intérêt pour la démutualisation, on a en grande partie cessé d’en émettre. Par conséquent, le nombre de souscripteurs avec droit de vote pourrait diminuer davantage.

Dans une société mutuelle, les souscripteurs ayant le droit de vote exercent une fonction importante de gouvernance. Indépendamment de la question de la démutualisation, le gouvernement sollicite des commentaires sur la façon dont les sociétés mutuelles d’assurances multirisques peuvent s’assurer de maintenir une structure de gouvernance efficace et sur les mesures qu'il conviendrait de prendre pour augmenter le nombre de souscripteurs avec droit de vote.

5. Questions aux fins des consultations

Le ministère des Finances aimerait recevoir des commentaires en réponse aux questions suivantes :

(a)  Objectifs de politique publique

Les objectifs de politique pour les sociétés d'assurance-vie étaient de : a) garantir un traitement juste et équitable aux souscripteurs; b) maintenir la santé financière; c) renforcer l'efficience et la concurrence du secteur; et d) instaurer un processus ordonné et transparent.

1. Quels devraient être les objectifs de politique de la démutualisation des sociétés d'assurances multirisques?

2. Les objectifs visant les sociétés d'assurance-vie sont-ils adéquats pour les sociétés d'assurances multirisques?  Y aurait-il des facteurs particuliers qui justifieraient l'adoption d'une approche différente à l'égard des sociétés d'assurances multirisques?

(b) Processus de démutualisation

1. Quel devrait être le processus de démutualisation des sociétés d'assurances multirisques? Plus particulièrement, quels facteurs devrait-on considérer pour déterminer qui devrait pouvoir voter sur le projet de démutualisation et en recevoir les avantages?

2. Quels facteurs devrait-on prendre en considération pour assurer le traitement juste et équitable des souscripteurs, y compris pour déterminer la valeur de la société et répartir ces avantages?

(c) Répercussions de la démutualisation

1. Quelles répercussions la démutualisation pourrait-elle avoir sur le secteur des assurances multirisques?

2. Devrait-on adopter des mesures face à celles-ci? Si oui, lesquelles?

(d) Nombre de souscripteurs habilités à voter dans certaines sociétés mutuelles

1. Quelles conséquences un nombre restreint et en baisse de souscripteurs avec droit de vote a-t-il sur la gouvernance efficace d'une société mutuelle?

2. Comment les sociétés à deux catégories de souscripteurs peuvent-elles s'assurer de maintenir une structure de gouvernance efficace?

3. Des mesures doivent-elles être prises pour accroître le nombre de souscripteurs avec droit de vote et, si oui, lesquelles?