Délįnę Tax Treatment Agreement

BETWEEN:

HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN IN RIGHT OF CANADA, as represented by the Minister of Finance

("Canada")

AND:

THE GOVERNMENT OF THE NORTHWEST TERRITORIES, as represented by the Minister of Finance

("GNWT")

AND:

THE DÉLĮNĘ FIRST NATION BAND, as represented by the Chief of the Délı̨nę First Nation Band and

THE DÉLĮNĘ LAND CORPORATION, as represented by the President of the Délı̨nę Land Corporation

WHEREAS:

  1. Section 22.3.1 of the FSGA provides that the parties will enter into a tax treatment agreement; and
  2. This agreement is the tax treatment agreement referred to in recital 1 and shall be called the "Délı̨nę Tax Treatment Agreement".

NOW THEREFORE, the parties agree as follows:

DÉLĮNĘ TAX TREATMENT AGREEMENT

1 INTERPRETATION

1.1 In this agreement:

"claimant" means:

(a) the DGG; or

(b) a person, other than a financial institution, that is:

(i) a trust, board, commission, tribunal or similar body, established by the DGG;

(ii) an eligible corporation incorporated under federal law or NWT law; or

(iii) a partnership each member of which is a person described in (a) or (i) or (ii);

"Cultural Property Export and Import Act" means the Cultural Property Export and Import Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. C-51;

"eligible corporation" means:

(a) a corporation, all of the shares of which, except director's qualifying shares, or of the capital of which, are owned by the DGG;

(b) a corporation, all of the shares of which, except director's qualifying shares, or of the capital of which, are owned by a corporation that itself is an eligible corporation; or

(c) a corporation all of the shares of which, except director's qualifying shares, or of the capital of which, are owned by any combination of the persons referred to in (a) and (b);

"Excise Tax Act" means the Excise Tax Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. E-15;

"FSGA" means the Délı̨nę Final Self-Government Agreement between and signed by Canada, the GNWT, the Délı̨nę First Nation Band and the Délı̨nę Land Corporation, as amended from time to time;

"Income Tax Act" means the Income Tax Act, R.S.C. 1985 c.1 (5th supp);

"Interpretation Act" means the Interpretation Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. I-21;

"parties" means:

(a) prior to the Effective Date:

(i) the Délı̨nę First Nation Band and the Délı̨nę Land Corporation;

(ii) the GNWT; and

(iii) Canada; and

(b) as of the Effective Date:

(iv) the DGG;

(v) the GNWT; and

(vi) Canada;

"permanent establishment" of a claimant means:

(a) a fixed place of business of the claimant and includes:

(i) a place of management, a branch, an office, a factory, a workshop or other site, and

(ii) a mine, an oil or gas well, a quarry, timberland or any other place of extraction of natural resources;

(b) a fixed place of business of another person (other than a broker, general commission agent or other independent agent acting in the ordinary course of business or any person established by the claimant) who is acting on behalf of the claimant;

(c) a place at which the claimant uses substantial machinery or equipment; or

(d) any real property owned, or supplied on a regular or continuous basis, by the claimant.

"specified activity" of a claimant means:

(a) a business or other activity that has the primary purpose of providing property or services to other claimants, DFN Citizens, or individuals resident on Délı̨nę Lands or any combination of those persons; or

(b) any other business or activity that Canada and DGG agree is a specified activity.

1.2 The Interpretation Act applies to this agreement as if it were an enactment, except that the definition of "government" in subsection 123(1) of the Excise Tax Act does not apply for the purposes of part 4 of this agreement.

1.3 Except as provided in sections 1.1 and 1.4, the definitions of the FSGA, other than the words "authority" and "director", apply to this agreement.

1.4 The definition of "person" in the FSGA does not apply in the definition of "permanent establishment".

2 GENERAL

2.1 This agreement does not form part of the FSGA.

2.2 This agreement does not recognize or affirm any aboriginal or treaty rights and is not a treaty or a land claims agreement within the meaning of section 25 or 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

2.3 This agreement will enure to the benefit of and be binding upon the parties.

2.4 Nothing in this agreement affects any entitlement of DFN Citizens or the DGG to any benefit available under any legislation.

2.5 No term or condition of this agreement, or performance by a party of a covenant under this agreement, will be deemed to have been waived unless the waiver is in writing and signed by the party or parties giving the waiver.

2.6 No written waiver of a term or condition of this agreement, of performance by a party of a covenant under this agreement, or of default by a party of a covenant under this agreement, will be deemed to be a waiver of any other covenant, term or condition, or of any subsequent default.

2.7 This agreement may not be assigned, either in whole or in part, by any party.

2.8 This agreement may be executed at one or more times and in one or more places. Each counterpart will be deemed an original instrument as against any party who has signed it, and the aggregate of the counterparts will be deemed to constitute a single executed document.

2.9 If any provision of this agreement is found or declared by a court of last resort to be void, voidable, invalid, illegal, or unenforceable for whatever reason, the provision shall be severed from the remainder of the agreement but all other provisions of the agreement shall remain in full force and effect and shall be construed as if this agreement had been executed without the invalid, illegal or unenforceable portion.

3 INCOME TAX STATUS OF THE DGG

3.1 For the purpose of paragraph 149(1)(c) of the Income Tax Act, the DGG is deemed to be a public body performing a function of government in Canada.

3.2 For the purposes of paragraphs 149(1)(d.3) to 149(1)(d.6) and subsections 149(1.1) to 149(1.3) and 149(11) of the Income Tax Act, the DGG is deemed to be a public body performing a function of government in Canada whose geographical boundaries are those of Délı̨nę Lands.

3.3 For the purposes of subsections 110.1(1), 118.1(1) and 149.1(1) of the Income Tax Act, the DGG is deemed to be a public body performing a function of government in Canada.

3.4 The DGG will be treated as a public authority designated pursuant to subsection 32(2) of the Cultural Property Export and Import Act and any non-profit organization established by the DGG to receive, store and display cultural objects will be treated as an institution designated under that subsection of that Act, if the DGG or the non-profit organization, as the case may be:

(a) has:

(i) a facility that meets the environmental requirements of the Minister of Canadian Heritage in respect of long-term storage and display of cultural artifacts; or

(ii) the use, by virtue of an agreement with a public authority or an institution, as the case may be, that is designated under subsection 32(2) of the Cultural Property Export and Import Act, of a facility that meets the environmental requirements of the Minister of Canadian Heritage, until such time as the DGG or the non-profit organization has a facility that meets those requirements; and

(b) uses the facility to store or display cultural objects, including any that are donated to it and that are included in "total cultural gifts" within the meaning of subsection 118.1(1) of the Income Tax Act for purposes of computing the income tax liability of the donor.

4 GST REFUND

4.1 A claimant who acquires or imports property or a service in respect of which it pays tax under subsection 165(1) or section 212 or 218 of the Excise Tax Act is entitled to a refund of that portion of the tax that is not recoverable as an input tax credit under Part IX of that Act and is not otherwise recovered under any law, if

(a) the property or service was not acquired or imported for consumption, use or supply in the course of a business or other activity, other than a specified activity, engaged in by the claimant for profit or gain;

(b) the property or service was acquired or imported for consumption, use or supply in the course of performing a function of government under the FSGA or a subsequent agreement between Canada and the GNWT, together or separately, and the DGG; and

(c) the property or service:

(i) is a capital property of the claimant acquired or imported for consumption, use or supply, at any place, primarily in the course of engaging, on Délı̨nę Lands, in a business or any other activity of the claimant;

(ii) is a service in respect of capital property referred to in (i) or is property supplied in conjunction with a service in respect of capital property referred to in (i);

(iii) in the case of property or a service referred to in neither (i) nor (ii), was acquired or imported for consumption, use or supply, at any place, exclusively in the course of engaging, on Délı̨nę Lands, in a business or any other activity of the claimant; or

(iv) is land that has been added to Settlement Lands pursuant to Chapter 24 of the SDMCLCA.

4.2 For the purposes of 4.1(c), where a claimant is engaging in a business or any other activity partly on Délı̨nę Lands and partly at or through one or more permanent establishments of the claimant that are not located on Délı̨nę Lands, the claimant is deemed not to be engaging, on Délı̨nę Lands, in the business or activity:

(a) in the case of a business or activity that involved the making of supplies of real property on a regular or continuous basis by way of lease, licence or similar arrangement, if the property is not, and is not intended to be, located on Délı̨nę Lands; and

(b) in any other case, to the extent to which the claimant is engaging in the business or activity at or through one or more permanent establishments of the claimant that are not located on Délı̨nę Lands.

4.3 Despite paragraph 141.1(1)(b), subsection 200(3), section 1 of Part V.1 of Schedule V and sections 2 and 25 of Part VI of that Schedule, of the Excise Tax Act, and section 2.4 of this agreement, if a claimant makes a supply by way of sale of property that is capital property of the claimant and in respect of which the claimant was entitled to receive a refund under section 4.1, the supply is deemed, for the purposes of Part IX of that Excise Tax Act, to be made in the course of a commercial activity of the claimant.

4.4 A refund of tax under section 4.1 will not be paid unless an application for the refund is filed with the Minister of National Revenue within four years after the tax was paid.

4.5 The provisions of Part IX of the Excise Tax Act apply, with such modifications as the circumstances require, in respect of claims under section 4.1 and in respect of amounts paid or payable as a refund under that section, as though the refund provided for under that section were a rebate provided for under Division VI of Part IX of the Excise Tax Act.

5 DISPUTE RESOLUTION

5.1 The parties desire and expect that most disagreements will be resolved by informal discussion, between or among the parties, without the necessity of invoking a dispute resolution mechanism.

5.2 Except for a dispute under parts 3 and 4, in the event of a dispute between any of the parties arising under this agreement, the parties involved in the dispute will use the mediation process set out in part 27.5 of the FSGA before pursuing any other legal remedy.

6 TERM OF THIS AGREEMENT

6.1 This agreement comes into effect on the Effective Date and, unless the parties agree otherwise, terminates on March 31st of the second calendar year following the year in which a party notifies the others that it wants the agreement to terminate.

6.2 A party may not give notice that it wants this agreement to terminate before the fiscal year in which the 15th anniversary of the Effective Date occurs.

6.3 At least one year before this agreement is expected to terminate, the parties shall use best efforts to negotiate a new tax treatment agreement.

7 AMENDMENT AND REVIEW

7.1 Any amendment to this agreement must be in writing and executed by all parties.

7.2 Any party may at any time request the other parties to review this agreement and to consider amendments to this agreement and the other parties will not unreasonably withhold consent to the review.

7.3 For greater certainty, nothing in section 7.2 requires any party to agree to amend this agreement.

8 NOTICES

8.1 Unless otherwise provided, a notice, document, request, approval, authorization, consent or other communication (each a "communication") required or permitted to be given or made under this agreement must be in writing and may be given or made in one or more of the following ways:

(a) delivered personally or by courier;

(b) transmitted by facsimile transmission; or

(c) mailed by prepaid registered post in Canada.

8.2 A communication will be considered to have been received:

(a) if delivered personally or by courier, at the start of business on the next business day after the business day on which it was received by the addressee or a responsible representative of the addressee;

(b) if sent by facsimile transmission and if the sender receives confirmation of the transmission, at the start of business on the next business day after the business day on which it was transmitted; or

(c) if mailed by prepaid registered post in Canada, when the postal receipt is acknowledged by the addressee.

8.3 A communication must be delivered, transmitted to the facsimile number or mailed to the address of the intended recipient set out below:

For Canada:
Attention:
Minister of Finance
House of Commons
Confederation Building
OTTAWA ON K1A 0A6
Fax number: (613) 995-1534

For Northwest Territories:
Attention:
Minister of Finance
Government of the Northwest Territories
Legislative Assembly
YELLOWKNIFE NT X1A 2L9
Fax number: (867) 873-0596

For Délįnę Got'ı̨nę Government:
Attention:
ʔekw'ahtı̨dé
DÉLĮNĘ NT X0E 0J0
Fax number: (867) 589-8101

8.4 A party may change its address or facsimile number by giving a notice of the change to the other Parties in the manner set out above in 8.1.

For the Délı̨nę First Nation Band and Délı̨nę Land Corporation

Signed at Deline, Northwest Territories, this 18th day of February, 2015.

Leonard Kenny
Chief, Délı̨nę First Nation Band

Witness

Gina Dolphus
President, Délı̨nę Land Corporation

Witness

For the Government of Canada

Signed at Ottawa, Ontario, this 11th day of February, 2015.

Joe Oliver
Minister of Finance

Witness

For the Government of the Northwest Territories

Signed at Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, this 18th day of February, 2015.

J. Michael Miltenberger
Minister of Finance

Witness

Accord sur le traitement fiscal de Délįnę

ENTRE

SA MAJESTÉ LA REINE DU CHEF DU CANADA, représentée par le ministre des Finances,

(le « Canada »)

ET

LE GOUVERNEMENT DES TERRITOIRES DU NORD-OUEST, représenté par le ministre des Finances,

(le « GTNO »)

ET

LA BANDE DE LA PREMIÈRE NATION DE DÉLĮNĘ, représentée par le chef de la bande de la Première Nation de Délįnę, et

LA SOCIÉTÉ FONCIÈRE DE DÉLĮNĘ, représentée par le président de la société foncière de Délįnę.

ATTENDU :

  1. que le paragraphe 22.3.1 de l'ADAG prévoit que les parties concluront un accord sur le traitement fiscal;
  2. que le présent accord est l'accord sur le traitement fiscal visé au premier attendu et s'intitule « Accord sur le traitement fiscal de Délįnę »,

POUR CES MOTIFS, les parties conviennent de ce qui suit :

ACCORD SUR LE TRAITEMENT FISCAL DE DÉLĮNĘ

1 DÉFINITIONS ET INTERPRÉTATION

1.1 Les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent au présent accord.

« activité déterminée » Est une activité déterminée d'un requérant :

a) l'entreprise ou autre activité dont l'objet principal consiste à fournir des biens ou des services à d'autres requérants, aux citoyens de la PND, aux particuliers résidant sur les terres de Délįnę ou à toute combinaison de ces personnes;

b) toute autre entreprise ou activité dont le Canada et le GGD conviennent qu'elle constitue une activité déterminée. (specified activity)

« ADAG » L'Accord définitif sur l'autonomie gouvernementale de Délįnę conclu et signé entre le Canada, le GTNO, la bande de la Première Nation de Délįnę et la société foncière de Délįnę, et ses modifications successives. (FSGA)

« établissement stable » Est un établissement stable d'un requérant :

a) le lieu fixe d'affaires du requérant, y compris :

(i) un siège de direction, une succursale, un bureau, une usine, un atelier ou un autre lieu,

(ii) une mine, un puits de pétrole ou de gaz, une carrière, une terre à bois ou tout autre lieu d'extraction d'une ressource naturelle;

b) le lieu fixe d'affaires d'une autre personne (sauf un courtier, un commissionnaire général ou tout autre agent indépendant agissant dans le cours normal d'une entreprise et toute personne établie par le requérant) qui agit pour le compte du requérant;

c) le lieu où le requérant utilise des machines ou de l'équipement importants;

d) tout bien réel qui appartient au requérant ou qu'il fournit de façon régulière ou continue. (permanent establishment)

« Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu » La Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu, L.R.C. 1985, ch. 1 (5e suppl.). (Income Tax Act)

« Loi d'interprétation » La Loi d'interprétation, L.R.C. 1985, ch. I-21. (Interpretation Act)

« Loi sur la taxe d'accise » La Loi sur la taxe d'accise, L.R.C. 1985, ch. E-15. (Excise Tax Act)

« Loi sur l'exportation et l'importation de biens culturels » La Loi sur l'exportation et l'importation de biens culturels, L.R.C. 1985, ch. C-51. (Cultural Property Export and Import Act)

« parties »

a) Avant la date d'entrée en vigueur :

(i) la bande de la Première Nation de Délįnę et la société foncière de Délįnę,

(ii) le GTNO,

(iii) le Canada;

b) à compter de la date d'entrée en vigueur :

(i) le GGD,

(ii) le GTNO,

(iii) le Canada. (parties)

« requérant »

a) Le GGD;

b) toute personne, à l'exception d'une institution financière, qui est :

(i) une fiducie, un conseil, une commission, un tribunal ou un organisme similaire, établi par le GGD,

(ii) une société admissible constituée sous le régime des lois fédérales ou des lois des T.N.‑O.,

(iii) une société de personnes dont chacun des associés est une personne visée à l'alinéa a) ou aux sous-alinéas (i) ou (ii). (claimant)

« société admissible »

a) Société dont l'ensemble des actions, à l'exception des actions conférant l'admissibilité aux postes d'administrateurs, ou du capital sont la propriété du GGD;

b) société dont l'ensemble des actions, à l'exception des actions conférant l'admissibilité aux postes d'administrateurs, ou du capital sont la propriété d'une société qui est elle-même une société admissible;

c) société dont l'ensemble des actions, à l'exception des actions conférant l'admissibilité aux postes d'administrateurs, ou du capital sont la propriété de toute combinaison des personnes visées aux alinéas a) et b). (eligible corporation)

1.2 La Loi d'interprétation s'applique au présent accord comme s'il s'agissait d'un texte. Toutefois, la définition de « gouvernement », au paragraphe 123(1) de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise, ne s'applique pas dans le cadre de la partie 4 du présent accord.

1.3 Sauf disposition contraire énoncée aux articles 1.1 et 1.4, les définitions figurant dans l'ADAG, à l'exception des définitions de « directeur » et « pouvoir », s'appliquent au présent accord.

1.4 La définition de « personne » figurant dans l'ADAG ne s'applique pas dans le cadre de la définition de « établissement stable ».

2 DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES 

2.1 Le présent accord ne fait pas partie de l'ADAG.

2.2 Le présent accord n'est pas un traité ni un accord sur des revendications territoriales et ne reconnaît ni ne confirme des droits ancestraux ou issus de traités au sens des articles 25 et 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

2.3 Le présent accord avantage et lie les parties.

2.4 Le présent accord n'a pas pour effet de limiter le droit des citoyens de la PND ou du GGD à tout avantage conféré par tout texte législatif.

2.5 Ni les modalités ou conditions du présent accord, ni l'exécution par l'une des parties d'un engagement prévu à cet accord, ne sont réputées avoir fait l'objet d'une renonciation à moins que la renonciation ne soit faite dans un document écrit signé par la ou les parties qui donnent la renonciation.

2.6 Nulle renonciation écrite à une modalité ou condition du présent accord, à l'exécution par l'une des parties d'un engagement prévu à cet accord ou aux conséquences d'un défaut par l'une des parties d'exécuter un tel engagement n'est réputée être une renonciation à une autre modalité ou condition, à un autre engagement ou à l'effet d'un défaut ultérieur.

2.7 Le présent accord ne peut être cédé, ni en totalité ni en partie, par l'une des parties.

2.8 Le présent accord peut être signé à un ou à plusieurs moments et endroits. Chaque exemplaire est réputé constituer un document original opposable à toute partie signataire, et l'ensemble des exemplaires est réputé constituer un seul document signé.

2.9 Toute disposition du présent accord qui est reconnue ou déclarée nulle, annulable, invalide, illégale ou non exécutoire pour quelque raison que ce soit par un tribunal de dernier ressort est retranchée de l'accord. Les autres dispositions de l'accord demeurent toutefois en vigueur et sont interprétées comme si l'accord avait été signé sans la disposition en question.

3 STATUT FISCAL DU GGD

3.1 Pour l'application de l'alinéa 149(1)c) de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu, le GGD est réputé être un organisme public remplissant une fonction gouvernementale au Canada.

3.2 Pour l'application des alinéas 149(1)d.3) à d.6) et des paragraphes 149(1.1) à (1.3) et (11) de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu, le GGD est réputé être un organisme public remplissant une fonction gouvernementale au Canada dont les limites géographiques sont celles des terres de Délįnę.

3.3 Pour l'application des paragraphes 110.1(1), 118.1(1) et 149.1(1) de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu, le GGD est réputé être un organisme public remplissant une fonction gouvernementale au Canada.

3.4 Le GGD est considéré comme une administration désignée en vertu du paragraphe 32(2) de la Loi sur l'exportation et l'importation de biens culturels, et tout organisme à but non lucratif qu'il crée en vue de recevoir, d'entreposer et de présenter des objets culturels est considéré comme un établissement désigné en vertu de ce paragraphe, dans la mesure où le GGD ou l'organisme :

a) d'une part, selon le cas :

(i) ont une installation qui satisfait aux exigences environnementales du ministre du Patrimoine canadien en matière d'entreposage à long terme et de présentation d'objets culturels,

(ii) ont l'usage, aux termes d'un accord conclu avec une administration ou un établissement, selon le cas, désigné en vertu du paragraphe 32(2) de la Loi sur l'exportation et l'importation de biens culturels, d'une installation qui satisfait aux exigences environnementales du ministre du Patrimoine canadien, jusqu'à ce qu'ils aient une installation qui satisfait à ces exigences;

b) d'autre part, utilisent l'installation pour entreposer ou présenter des objets culturels, y compris ceux qui leur ont été donnés et qui sont visés à la définition de « total des dons de biens culturels » au paragraphe 118.1(1) de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu en vue du calcul de l'impôt sur le revenu dont le donateur est redevable.

4 REMBOURSEMENT DE LA TPS

4.1 Le requérant qui acquiert ou importe un bien ou un service relativement auquel il paie la taxe prévue au paragraphe 165(1) ou aux articles 212 ou 218 de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise a droit au remboursement de la partie de cette taxe qui n'est pas recouvrable à titre de crédit de taxe sur les intrants en vertu de la partie IX de cette loi et qui n'est pas recouvrée par ailleurs en vertu d'une loi quelconque si, à la fois :

a) le bien ou le service n'a pas été acquis ou importé pour consommation, utilisation ou fourniture dans le cadre d'une entreprise ou d'une autre activité, à l'exception d'une activité déterminée, que le requérant exploite ou exerce en vue d'un profit ou d'un gain;

b) le bien ou le service a été acquis ou importé pour consommation, utilisation ou fourniture dans le cadre de l'exécution d'une fonction gouvernementale prévue par l'ADAG ou par un accord ultérieur conclu entre le Canada et le GTNO, conjointement ou séparément, et le GGD;

c) le bien ou le service :

(i) est une immobilisation du requérant acquise ou importée pour consommation, utilisation ou fourniture, dans un endroit quelconque, principalement en vue d'exploiter ou d'exercer, sur les terres de Délįnę, une entreprise ou toute autre activité du requérant,

(ii) est un service relatif à une immobilisation visée au sous-alinéa (i) ou est un bien fourni avec un tel service,

(iii) est un bien ou un service qui n'est pas visé aux sous-alinéas (i) ou (ii), mais qui a été acquis ou importé pour consommation, utilisation ou fourniture, dans un endroit quelconque, exclusivement en vue d'exploiter ou d'exercer, sur les terres de Délįnę, une entreprise ou toute autre activité du requérant;

(iv) est un fonds de terre qui a été ajouté aux terres visées par le règlement conformément au chapitre 24 de l'ERTGDMS.

4.2 Pour l'application de l'alinéa 4.1c), le requérant qui exploite ou exerce une entreprise ou toute autre activité en partie sur les terres de Délįnę et en partie dans un ou plusieurs de ses établissements stables qui ne sont pas situés sur ces terres, ou par l'intermédiaire de ces établissements, est réputé ne pas exploiter ou exercer cette entreprise ou activité sur ces terres :

a) si, s'agissant d'une entreprise ou d'une activité comportant la fourniture d'un bien réel de façon régulière ou continue par bail, licence ou accord semblable, le bien réel n'est pas situé sur les terres de Délįnę et n'est pas censé l'être;

b) dans la mesure où, s'agissant d'une entreprise ou d'une activité d'un autre ordre, il l'exploite ou l'exerce dans un ou plusieurs de ses établissements stables qui ne sont pas situés sur les terres de Délįnę, ou par l'intermédiaire de ces établissements.

4.3 Malgré l'alinéa 141.1(1)b) et le paragraphe 200(3) de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise, l'article 1 de la partie V.1 de l'annexe V de cette loi et les articles 2 et 25 de la partie VI de cette annexe et malgré l'article 2.4 du présent accord, si un requérant effectue la fourniture par vente d'un bien qui compte parmi ses immobilisations et à l'égard duquel il a droit à un remboursement en vertu de l'article 4.1, la fourniture est réputée, pour l'application de la partie IX de cette loi, être effectuée dans le cadre de ses activités commerciales.

4.4 Le remboursement de taxe prévu à l'article 4.1 n'est versé que si une demande à cette fin est présentée au ministre du Revenu national dans les quatre ans suivant le paiement de la taxe.

4.5 La partie IX de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise s'applique, avec les adaptations nécessaires, aux demandes découlant de l'application de l'article 4.1, ainsi qu'aux sommes payées ou à payer à titre de remboursement en vertu de cet article, comme si ce remboursement était un remboursement prévu à la section VI de la partie IX de cette loi.

5 RÈGLEMENT DES DIFFÉRENDS

5.1 Les parties souhaitent que la plupart des désaccords se règlent par des discussions informelles entre les parties ou deux d'entre elles, sans qu'il soit nécessaire d'invoquer une procédure de règlement des différends, et s'attendent à qu'ils se règlent ainsi.

5.2 Dans l'éventualité d'un différend entre les parties découlant du présent accord, sauf s'il porte sur les parties 3 et 4, les parties au différend recourent au processus de médiation mentionné à la partie 27.5 de l'ADAG avant de se prévaloir de tout autre recours juridique.

6 DURÉE

6.1 Le présent accord prend effet à la date d'entrée en vigueur et, sauf accord contraire entre les parties, prend fin le 31 mars de la deuxième année civile suivant celle au cours de laquelle l'une des parties avise les autres qu'elle souhaite le résilier.

6.2 La partie qui souhaite résilier le présent accord ne peut donner d'avis à cette fin avant l'exercice qui comprend le quinzième anniversaire de la date d'entrée en vigueur.

6.3 Les parties s'efforcent de négocier en vue de la conclusion d'un nouvel accord sur le traitement fiscal au moins une année avant la date prévue de résiliation du présent accord.

7 MODIFICATION ET RÉVISION

7.1 Toute modification du présent accord est faite par écrit et est signée par toutes les parties.

7.2 Toute partie peut, en tout temps, demander aux autres parties de réviser le présent accord et d'envisager d'y apporter des modifications. Les autres parties ne peuvent déraisonnablement refuser de consentir à la révision.

7.3 Il est entendu que l'article 7.2 n'a pas pour effet d'exiger des parties qu'elles modifient le présent accord.

8 AVIS

8.1 Sauf disposition contraire, toute communication – avis, document, demande, approbation, autorisation, consentement ou autre – qui doit ou peut être donnée ou faite en application du présent accord doit être donnée ou faite par écrit selon l'une ou plusieurs des méthodes suivantes :

a) livraison en personne ou par messagerie;

b) transmission par télécopieur;

c) mise à la poste par courrier recommandé affranchi au Canada.

8.2 Une communication est considérée comme ayant été reçue :

a) si elle est livrée en personne ou par messagerie, à l'ouverture des affaires le jour ouvrable suivant celui où elle a été reçue par le destinataire ou son représentant responsable;

b) si elle est transmise par télécopieur et si l'expéditeur reçoit une confirmation de la transmission, à l'ouverture des affaires le jour ouvrable suivant celui où elle a été transmise;

c) si elle est postée par courrier recommandé affranchi au Canada, au moment où le récépissé postal est signé par le destinataire.

8.3 Une communication doit être livrée, transmise au numéro de télécopieur ou postée à l'adresse du destinataire visé figurant ci-après :

Pour le Canada
À l'attention de :
Ministre des Finances
Chambre des communes
Édifice de la Confédération
OTTAWA ON K1A 0A6
Télécopieur : 613-995-1534

Pour les Territoires du Nord-Ouest
À l'attention de :
Ministre des Finances
Gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest
Assemblée législative
YELLOWKNIFE NT X1A 2L9
Télécopieur : 867-873-0596

Pour le Gouvernement Got'įnę de Délįnę
À l'attention de :
ʔekw'ahtı̨dé
DÉLĮNĘ NT X0E 0J0
Télécopieur : 867-589-8101

8.4 Une partie peut changer d'adresse ou de numéro de télécopieur en donnant avis aux autres parties de la manière indiquée à l'article 8.1.

Pour la bande de la Première Nation de Délįnę et la société foncière de Délįnę

Signé à Deline, Northwest Territories, le 18e jour de February 2015

Leonard Kenny
Chef, Bande de la Première Nation de Délįnę

Témoin

Gina Dolphus
Président, Société foncière de Délįnę

Témoin

Pour le gouvernement du Canada

Signé à Ottawa, Ontario, le 11e jour de février 2015

Joe Oliver
Ministre des Finances

Témoin

Pour le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Signé à Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, le 18e jour de February 2015

J. Michael Miltenberger
Ministre des Finances

Témoin