Backgrounder - Additional Tax Relief for Canadian Armed Forces Personnel and Police Officers

The Government of Canada provides tax relief to members of the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) and police officers deployed on international high- and moderate-risk operational missions. This tax relief recognizes the special contribution that CAF members and police officers make to international peace and stability while serving their country abroad.

Eligible CAF members and police officers may claim a deduction against taxable income in respect of income earned while deployed on such missions. The maximum amount that an individual may deduct in a taxation year cannot exceed the highest level of pay earned by a non-commissioned member of the CAF.

For personnel deployed on high-risk missions i.e., missions assessed by the Department of National Defence as carrying a risk score between 2.50 and 4.00 tax relief is automatically provided for the period over which the mission is assessed as being high-risk. For moderate-risk missions i.e., missions carrying a risk score between 2.00 and 2.49 tax relief is provided when the mission has been designated by the Minister of Finance, and for the period over which the mission is assessed as being moderate-risk.

The deduction is currently not available for CAF members and police officers deployed on international operational missions carrying a risk score lower than 2.00.

Proposal for Additional Tax Relief

The Government proposes to extend this tax deduction automatically to all CAF members and police officers for the period over which they are deployed on an international operational mission, regardless of the risk score associated with the mission.

In addition, the Government proposes to increase the maximum amount that an individual may deduct in a taxation year to the highest level of pay earned by a Lieutenant-Colonel of the CAF.

These measures will apply to the 2017 and subsequent taxation years.

Cost

It is estimated that these measures will provide additional federal tax relief totalling $85 million over the 2017-18 to 2021-22 period.

Document d'information – Allègement fiscal supplémentaire pour le personnel des Forces armées canadiennes et les policiers

Le gouvernement du Canada offre un allègement fiscal aux membres des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) et aux policiers affectés à des missions opérationnelles internationales à risque modéré ou élevé. Cet allègement fiscal reconnaît la contribution spéciale qu'apportent les membres des FAC et les policiers à la paix et à la sécurité internationales alors qu'ils servent leur pays à l'étranger.

Les membres des FAC et les policiers admissibles peuvent demander une déduction de leur revenu imposable relativement au revenu gagné dans le cadre d'une telle mission. Pour une année d'imposition donnée, le montant que le contribuable peut déduire ne doit pas dépasser le montant qu'il aurait gagné s'il avait été rémunéré au taux le plus élevé d'un militaire du rang des FAC.

Pour ce qui est du personnel affecté à des missions à risque élevé, c'est-à-dire les missions ayant un niveau de risque de 2,50 à 4,00 selon le ministère de la Défense nationale, l'allègement fiscal est automatiquement accordé pour la période où la mission présente un risque élevé. Quant aux missions à risque modéré, c'est-à-dire les missions ayant un niveau de risque de 2,00 à 2,49, l'allègement fiscal est accordé pour la période de risque modéré, lorsque la mission est désignée par le ministre des Finances.

Actuellement, la déduction n'est pas accordée aux membres des FAC et aux policiers qui participent à des missions opérationnelles internationales dont le niveau de risque est inférieur à 2,00.

Proposition d'allègement fiscal supplémentaire

Le gouvernement propose d'accorder automatiquement cette déduction d'impôt à tous les membres des FAC et policiers pour la période où ils sont affectés à une mission opérationnelle internationale, peu importe le niveau de risque de la mission.

Il propose aussi d'accroître le montant maximum que le contribuable peut déduire pour une année d'imposition pour le faire correspondre au niveau de rémunération le plus élevé d'un lieutenant-colonel des FAC.

Ces mesures s'appliqueront à compter de l'année d'imposition 2017.

Coûts

On estime que ces mesures entraîneront des allègements d'impôt supplémentaires totalisant 85 millions de dollars pour la période de 2017-2018 à 2021-2022.