Federal Support to Provinces and Territories

Major Federal Transfers

The Government of Canada provides significant financial support to provincial and territorial governments on an ongoing basis to assist them in the provision of programs and services. There are four main transfer programs: the Canada Health Transfer (CHT), the Canada Social Transfer (CST), Equalization and Territorial Formula Financing (TFF).

The CHT and CST are federal transfers which support specific policy areas such as health care, post-secondary education, social assistance and social services, early childhood development and child care.

The Equalization and TFF programs provide unconditional transfers to the provinces and territories. Equalization enables less prosperous provincial governments to provide their residents with public services that are reasonably comparable to those in other provinces, at reasonably comparable levels of taxation. TFF provides territorial governments with funding to support public services, in recognition of the higher cost of providing programs and services in the north.

Federal Transfers to Provinces and Territories – 2005-06 to 2015-16

(Updated December 2014)

The Canada Health Transfer and the Canada Social Transfer

Equalization and Territorial Formula Financing

Other Transfers

Fiscal Balance

Soutien fédéral aux provinces et aux territoires

Principaux transferts généralités

Le gouvernement du Canada fournit en permanence un important soutien financier aux provinces et aux territoires pour les aider à dispenser des programmes et des services. Il y a quatre grands programmes de transfert : le Transfert canadien en matière de santé (TCS), le Transfert canadien en matière de programmes sociaux (TCPS), la péréquation et la formule de financement des territoires (FFT).

Le TCS et le TCPS sont des transferts fédéraux appuyant des domaines de politique précis comme les soins de santé, l'éducation postsecondaire, l'aide sociale et les services sociaux, le développement de la petite enfance et les services de garde.

Le Programme de péréquation et la FFT fournissent des transferts sans condition aux provinces et aux territoires. La péréquation permet aux gouvernements provinciaux moins prospères de fournir à leurs résidents des services publics sensiblement comparables à ceux d'autres provinces à des niveaux d'imposition sensiblement comparables. La FFT assure une aide financière aux territoires qui tient compte des coûts plus élevés associés à la prestation des programmes et des services dans le Nord canadien.

Transferts fédéraux aux provinces et aux territoires – 2007-2008 à 2016-2017

(mise à jour octobre 2016)

Le Transfert canadien en matière de santé et le Transfert canadien en matière de programmes sociaux

Péréquation et Formule de financement des territoires

Autres transferts

Équilibre fiscal

Liens connexes